We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Keefer Mansion Inn

Keefer Mansion Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Keefer Mansion Inn to your Saves list
Keefer Mansion Inn
14 St. Davids St. West | Niagara, Thorold, Ontario L2V 2K9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Thorold B&B and Inns
Kingston, Canada
1 review
“A lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

A great old-fashioned inn, with a charming atmosphere. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, the room was comfortable, and the breakfast was great. They even filled up my travel mug before I left! One of the best inns I have experienced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    8
    6
    4
    7
See reviews for
12
35
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Fantastic find. I was in St. Catharines on business. It was an unexpected trip and I didn't book a hotel before the trip. Since is was October I didn't think it would be a problem to get a room at the hotel I normally stay at. It was. The desk agent suggested Keefer Mansion. I was extremely impressed with the stay. Close to the city centre, great staff, great service, very comfortable room.

Will stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My Name is Jeff, a new addition to The Keefer Mansion Inn , I assure you my number one goal is to provide fresh , exciting and high quality food. YOU are my number one in my list of priorities and look so forward to having you return or visit us for the first time .. i personallyThank You

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Excellent place for an event or just visiting with friends and family. Staff is friendly and helpful. Enjoyed a wine tour with Crush tours who picked us up at the Inn.
This is the second time we have stayed at the Inn and will be returning.

Room Tip: select a room with a view of the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The staff and food are amazing! Best weekend trip ever. We go back every year! Beautiful ... you will not be disapointed. We celebrated my parents 50th Anniversary there and just recently went shopping at Niagara-on-the-lake and did a wine tour. Perfect location for both and great value for your money!

Room Tip: Every room is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is my third time at the Keefer. I love the intimate surroundings, the grounds, the dining experience and the accommodations. We had the beef tenderloin last night at it was wonderful. The service is friendly and attentive as well. Follow it up with a wine tour as well. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our room was graciously elegant, comfortable and very large-lots of room!!. Lynn welcomed us upon our arrival to the Mansion and was very friendly and helpful.
Two other couples joined us dinner The meals were delicious, cooked perfectly, and beautifully presented. The servers were tastefully attired, gracious while being friendly and helpful, and had excellent knowledge of the menu choices. We will go again

Room Tip: The George Keefer room is on the first floor and has a view of the Welland CanaL
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Keefer Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keefer Mansion Inn

Address: 14 St. Davids St. West | Niagara, Thorold, Ontario L2V 2K9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thorold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Thorold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built 120 years ago, the Keefer mansion is a Niagara Region landmark. The Keefer's went on to become Canada's most important engineering dynasty.Sized at 9,000 sq ft the mansion has been restored to reflect the "privileged life" of its prosperous builders.The Inn hosts eight beautiful guest suites with licensed, full service fine dining. Gorgeos atmosphere and excellent cuisine.Located minutes from Niagara Falls in the heart of Niagara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Keefer Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keefer Mansion Hotel Thorold
Keefer Mansion Inn Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keefer Mansion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.