We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous views and accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13011 Lakeshore Dr. S, Summerland, British Columbia V0H 1Z1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Summerland
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous views and accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Beautiful view overlooking Lake Okanagan, the dock and the yacht club. Extremely clean. Great layout and design. Liked the pond and the restored waterfront. Nice sand beaches for smaller children. Parking a little tight for larger vehicles -- get in early to get a good spot.

Room Tip: Please kStayed in suite 234. Two bedroom, two level. Had every amenity. Huge, well-appointed bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    180
    61
    22
    19
See reviews for
175
248
7
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

What can I say. We found this place to be above our expectations. Get room, kitchnette, pool, etc, etc. Price is above what we normally spend, but it was very nice. My only complaint although small is that there was always a shortage of pool towels.

Room Tip: Bring some food to cook , excellent kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We booked here because we wanted to stay at a lakefront luxury hotel that would also allow our dog, and had a good experience here previously. There were limited options by the time I booked so I reluctantly agreed to the $400/night + tax charge for 4 nights at this resort. The charge was partially excusable because 2 nights were on the August long weekend, but there was no reduction for the other 2 nights. When I checked in I was disappointed that despite requesting a high room, we were placed on the first floor. I specifically asked the check in clerk if we would still be able to see the lake (from our lake view room) and he replied “oh yes”. Well in reality you could not see the lake from the room at all; you essentially had to stand on your tip-toes to get a small view of the lake over the marsh grass obstructing the view. There were no other rooms available so we stayed put.
Given the $400/night charge we expected pretty phenomenal service. We were disappointed on several fronts. We requested non feather pillows – told the resort didn’t have them. Asked for early house cleaning, house cleaning never came by till between 3 and 4 PM. House cleaning was poor quality. Pool was supposed to have an Adults only policy from 8 PM till 10 PM but wasn’t enforced ever. Requested a late check out (normal check out time is that annoyingly early 11 AM) denied.
Room was nice with kitchenette and one bedroom, patio was adequate. Great warm location.
I’ve stayed all over the world in many 4 star resorts and rarely paid over $300/night even for ocean view rooms in Hawaii and Europe. This location hardly seemed worth it…

Room Tip: get a high room, lower rooms (first floor) have no view and are noisy next to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed for a week with our family, 2 boys, in a lakeview 2 bed suite. There is a pet-friendly policy which is great if you have a dog, but not so good if your suite smells of animals as ours did. It was also very very smal, with the dining area squeezed into the kitchen, and room for a small sofa and armchair. The balcony wa also tiny. I think that the size of the suites varies tremendously so check out the bigger ones if you have teenage children as you will need the extra space they have. If you don't like animals, ask for a pet-free suite (if they have one!).

The pool area was clean, and busy with families. They tried to impose a rule that no children use the pool after 8pm but luckily this was ignored by all and not enforced by hotel staff. There were insuffient loungers or towels though.

The restaurant next door was beautiful and had a limited but high quality menu - it is so unfortunate that they do not welcome children, as the resort is filled with families and the restaurant sat empty most of the time. We would have eaten there every day if it was.

Also, in the school holidays this is firmly a family resort - so there will be inflatables in the pool, noise from excitable children, lots of children in the hot tub - we loved it but there were older couples who did not approve.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner suite - more space and big balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We met friends in Summerland and stayed here. We had booked a two bedroom suite with a lake view so that we could make the most of our time together, cook meals, etc. When we arrived we were informed that we would have the room we reserved for one night and then we would be moved to two seperate rooms because the hotel was overbooked (note that we booked months before). We were disapointed but were told that our luggage would be moved and we would not have to worry about anything. The next day we get our things together and find call to move to our room. We are told that someone will come help us but no one ever came. We found a porter trolley ourselves and loaded our items as we had plans for the day and had already wasted a couple hours. While we were moving our things a manager walked by and we shared our frustration. She said she would get something done for us. We never heard from her. At the front desk we were told that we were "lucky" as they were only going to charge us the value of the room we booked, not the two rooms that we ended up. Lucky us? Except that is not what we booked and we weren't really feeling thankful. We were also told that if we had any additional concerns we would have to send an email as there was nothing we could do. Pretty poor service, waste of part of our day and a generally upsetting situation on a 3 day getaway.
Besides this the hotel was nice, allowed dogs, was on the water and had a nice restaurant where we had amazing service.
It is disapointing that they could not rectify the situation. Things happen but they could have done quite a bit more to make it better for us - in the end they did nothing and we gave up trying.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

First of all I booked this hotel with very high expectations and when you do this places have a lot to live up to... unfortunately Summerland Waterfront resort did not live up to my expectations.

I had booked a one bedroom lakeview with the assumption that we would be directly facing the lake, instead we were facing the side of the hotel with only a partial lakeview. I also thought the property would be a bit smaller and more 'boutique style'. Don't get me wrong the interiors are very nice and modern... but to me a boutique hotel should be smaller and a bit more quaint.

Also, a word of caution for those couples wanting a romantic quiet get-away. I'm not sure if you are going to get it here. We arrived after a long drive in hopes to have a peaceful cocktail on our 'lakeview' deck and instead we were welcomed to a 'partial' lakeview and the screaming of kids running and playing on the side yard of the hotel. We did not lie by the pool as we walked by around 7:30 at night and there were a lot of screaming kids there as well... I can only imagine what it would be like during the day.

They also charge 2.50 for the bottled water... I don't know for the price of the hotel (one bedroom upwards of 400.00/night) I would think they could offer a couple of bottles of water per day for the guests.

It was not all bad though... once again the rooms are very nice and modern, and the bed was 'extremely' comfortable.

It's just not our cup of tea nor a place we would go again for a 'quiet' romantic get-away.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

I have no idea why we did this, but we greyhound-ed from vancouver (bad idea it was like 8 hours long)
if you are going to do this though, it isn't absolutely impossible. you get dropped off in the town and you have to walk maybe 20 mins to the water (you have to cross the highway b/c the resort is on the other side). once you get there you can rent scooters to get around!

the resort was really nice, the pool was kept well, the rooms were nice and the beach was not too bad. It was relaxing and there's a spa just beside the resort.

I recommend you head over to peachland or Kelowna because there really wasn't much to do in this town. I much prefer Kelowna (bigger city) or even Peachland (better beaches).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa

Address: 13011 Lakeshore Dr. S, Summerland, British Columbia V0H 1Z1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Summerland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Summerland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of British Columbia's Okanagan Valley is the beautiful town of Summerland - A hidden gem with a distinct Old English theme complete with its very own Town Crier. There's lots to see and do here - whether you are looking to play golf in the summer, hit the slopes in the winter, or go for a tour of the wineries or enjoy one of the many festivals throughout the year. Summerland's newest addition and the regions premier vacation property is the Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa on Okanagan Lake. The Resort was designed so that you and your family can enjoy the total Okanagan experience. Over 75% of the resort guestrooms & Suites have spectacular lakeside views, and all suites come with full kitchens, dining and living room areas, fireplaces and soaker tubs. Rooms range in size to comfortably accommodate 2 to 6 family members. You Will also find an outdoor pool and hot tub, exercise facilities and water sport rentals right at the hotel's doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerland Waterfront Resort And Spa
Summerland Waterfront Hotel Summerland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.