We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dogwood Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dogwood Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Dogwood Bed and Breakfast
12615 Wright Avenue | P,O, Box 284, Summerland, British Columbia V0H 1Z0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 Summerland B&B and Inns
Great Falls, Montana
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The room was clean, quiet, and spacious. The hosts were very friendly and answered all the questions we threw at them. The room had a small fridge, which came in very handy. Ann is a very good cook and Don is a good helper. The views from the lower balcony were limited, but nice. The B&B is in a residential area and within walking distance to downtown Summerland.

Room Tip: Upper room probably has better view of the two rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed at Dogwood for one night July 2012 and it was one of the highlights of our trip. The room was hotel-quality, the owners are friendly and helpful not to mention very accommodating of our request for vegetarian and vegan breakfasts! I highly recommend this B&B to anyone staying in Summerland or Penticton!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann D, Owner at Dogwood Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
We were delighted to look after such a lovely couple. Thank you so much for your kind review. This is priceless for a small business. We hope to welcome you again to Dogwood Bed & Breakfast.
Best regards,
Ann & Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

A great five days at "Dogwood" B&B August 2011. This was our first trip to attend the Penticton Ironman Canada Triathlon (my husband did his first full Ironman Canada). We stayed in Eagle's Nest Suite, and found it cosy, very clean, quiet and very private with a separate entrance. It's only a 15 minute drive to Penticton, and a very pleasant commute. Ann prepares the best breakfast you can ever have, the black forrest ham/cheddar cheese stratta, banana stuffed french toast, quiche, freshly-baked muffins, and the herbs, all freshly picked right from their own garden. Each day something different for breakfast. To the really comfy bed, the relaxing outdoor patio and the wonderful birds. Ann and Don our lovely hosts made it all enjoyable, relaxing, comfortable and a memorable experience. Have enjoyed our stay and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We stayed two nights in the Quail's Landing Suite. We found it to be immaculately clean and very comfortable. The room was spacious and accommodated three of us very well (my daughter slept on a cot). We slept very well since it is located in a very quiet part of Summerland well away from traffic. Breakfasts were delicious and beautifully presented - - lovely fresh fruit cups with yoghurt and melt-in-your-mouth muffins right out of the oven. Ann and Don make you feel like you are visiting old friends and engage in cheerful conversation as they serve you breakfast. They are also very helpful in recommending sights to see and events to attend in the area. I would not hesitate to recommend the Dogwood Bed & Breakfast to any traveller.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Our room was new and spacious, breakfast yummy and served outdoors on a patio by our very friendly hosts. Summerland is on Lake Okanagan and we could see the hills on the other side of the lake from our own balcony. This is a great place to stay if you want a bit of peace and quiet off the highway, and our hosts made us feel so welcome - we would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and were absolutely delighted with the accommodation which is in a newly built extension to the owner's house. Both suites have a private entrance and a deck with chairs - we were travelling as 2 couples and were provided with extra chairs for one deck so we could all sit outside in the evening and sample the lovely Okanagan wine together. Inside the rooms are light, airy, spacious and modern with extras such as a fridge and coffee machine. The owners, Don and Ann, were so welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them. Ann's breakfasts were truly legendary, and their advice on what to do and where to go was extremely helpful.
We renamed Summerland 'Slumberland' as the whole town seems to close down about 5pm and the streets are deserted. There wasn't a lot of choice of decent places to go for an evening meal but if you've got a car you can venture further afield. Although quiet it is a good centre for that end of the Okanagan and there are plenty of places to visit if you use it as a base. I would thoroughly recommend Dogwood B&B to anybody - five star in every way.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dogwood Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dogwood Bed and Breakfast

Address: 12615 Wright Avenue | P,O, Box 284, Summerland, British Columbia V0H 1Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Summerland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Summerland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dogwood Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dogwood Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.