We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location and ok food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Local Lounge & Grille

Local Lounge & Grille
12817 Lakeshore Dr. S, Summerland, British Columbia V0H 1Z1, Canada
+1 250-494-8855
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Local Lounge & Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 31 Restaurants in Summerland
Price range: $6 - $29
Cuisines: Steakhouse, International, Canadian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: There is no public bus service in Summerland. Taxi service is available.
Description: We're a multifaceted food and wine concept that merges casual sophistication with an upbeat urban style. We feature a large local BC wine selection coupled with a menu that blends classic styles with seasonal local ingredients. The atmosphere is often described as an urban retreat with amazing views of the water and natural elements. Local focuses on creating an comfortable and enjoyable dining experience. We serve Brunch and Dinner daily. We open at 10:30am. With a stunning Lounge, Local features full bar service and the cocktails are unique and inventove twists on age old classics. Local also has the largest "Wine by the Glass" preservation system in the Okanagan Valley. Featuring over 14 wines by the glass and 8 draught beers taps featuring the finest Local Craft Beers in the Valley. Executive Chef Lee Humphries joined Local June 1, 2013. Since that time Lee has embraced the Local Philosophy. With a new addition to the family, Lee desired a return to the lifestyle of his roots and the healthy environment of an agriculture region. In the Okanagan, he's found an extraordinary community of sustainably minded farmers, truly handcrafted microbrews, boutique wineries, and a breathtakingly beautiful valley with a more simple approach to life. An avid fly fisherman, Lee is also enthusiastic about the recreational lifestyle opportunities available nearby. Lee's menus predominately take a fresh approach to seasonal, local cuisine. His culinary philosophy is based on the integrity of ingredients that are seasonally inspired, sustainably raised and locally grown. "I want food to be authentic yet sophisticated, with an emphasis on the bounty sourced from nearby farmers. Food should simply taste like it is supposed to. Local is such a perfect fit for me, as they're all about taste. As a chef, this is Nirvana. No waiting for deliveries from a truck in the city, the ingredients are literally right down the road. It truly is farm to fork. Local is much more than a name, it's a way of living.
Canada
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
302 helpful votes 302 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and ok food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Our waitress was nice and the view is gorgeous. You sit right on the lake. However, the food was overpriced and not very tasty. The entrees are also a la carte. I ordered the prawn and goat cheese pasta but it wasn't very good at all.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    69
    34
    20
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Exactly what we wanted and much much more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My wife and I were celebrating our 5th anniversary and were travelling through Penticton. We wanted a really nice dinner to celebrate...and we got it!
The food was amazing. Staff were helpful with the menu and friendly. Location was great, as it sits right on the lake with indoor or outdoor seating. This place knocked it out of the park for us, and are itching to go back next time we pass through the area. Definitely recommend if you are looking for a nice dinner and want to make an evening of it. ENJOY!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Since I live in Kelowna why haven't I tried this restaurant before? Went with friends for lunch on the hottest day of the year and sat on the patio. It was wonderful. The starter fish tacos are more than enough for lunch and were served with panache! The pizza was very good as well. hope to go again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not my idea of value”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I had been recommended this restaurant. The service was very slow from the easy drinks , a beer, 2 glasses of wine. The fish tacos were okay, small serving for 14 dollars. ( mine are better ) the two slider burgers came impaled on a giant metal skewer. It was kind of ridiculous looking to say the least. The burger was rubbery and soggy with the beets. Im not going back. Ever.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quite nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We went there with some friends on a Sunday afternoon, we ordered three separate dishes eggs Benedict, cob salad and fish tacos. All three meals were very nice the eggs bennie has lots of melon and teens and the cob salad ws delicious. I had the fish tacos, the only down side to he tacos was the fish was dee fried, however I mad sure they would have pan fied for us had we known and asked. The staff was very friendly and very accommodating as the weather was not quite cooperating. They came out with a squeegee and dried the table and made sure the umbrellas were not dripping anymore as it was raining off and on during brunch. The sticky toffee pudding was amazing. We will go back for sure.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Local Lounge & Grille also viewed

Summerland, Okanagan Valley
Summerland, Okanagan Valley
 
Summerland, Okanagan Valley
Summerland, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Local Lounge & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Local Lounge & Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.