We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sundial Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sundial Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Sundial Bed & Breakfast
12007 Trayler Place, Summerland, British Columbia V0H 1Z7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 Summerland B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Great value and location. Wonderful hosts. I would definitely return. The breakfast was fantastic too.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
19
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

Came for Easter in April as a family. Activities were so plentiful and reception so warm we came in June again, this time with friends. Contemplating now making it an annual deal: it's that easy,fun and affordable. If you are after "Fairmont" idea in B&B world keep looking, if you are after an incredible service, serenity yet proximity to all the action, you have arrived and look no further. B&B is secluded from the rest of the house with immediate access to a huge patio and a hot tub. Ample breakfast with as European cup coffee as one can get in Canada plus beauty of the location will wake you up on the right side of your bed. There is a dog in the house for those who need to be aware. Mike & Larissa,Surrey,BC,Canada

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2009

We finished our September trip around the national parks of BC and Alberta in the Okanagan valley, and picked Sundial B&B for a two-night stay. We were welcomed by the friendly hosts, Gerd and Meggie, and their family dog Amigo – as friendly as his name suggests :)). The house is relatively new, clean, and comfortable, with internet access available and a nice patio outside with a hot tub. The best thing about Sundial B&B is, however, not only its physical condition and good location (uptown, quiet and close to the trailhead to Giant’s Head, which provides unparalleled views of the Okanagan valley), but the hospitality of its owners. Gerd, Meggie and their children made us feel really at home there. The breakfasts were unbelievably delicious – we had a wide selection of various breakfast choices, and most of them were organic. The German wurst and the coffee were simply out of this world!!! Meggie and Gerd were great sources of information about local attractions, wineries, and places to dine. They are a well-traveled family, and have translated their experience into an excellent bed and breakfast place – a true gem, home away from home!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

We travelled through southern British Columbia in June with 3 young children and were a little apprehensive about staying at B&Bs.
Sundial Bed and Breakfast was just perfect for us. The host family made us feel at home with their easy hospitality. Super breakfasts with something for every taste and a charming garden, where we ended up sitting under a tree enjoying some Okanagan wine on a warm evening. Perfect quietness, a moonlit mountain right next door and a soak in the Hot Tub when it got colder. What more could we wish for?
Our hosts had many interesting stories to tell and were helpful in sharing information about Summerland an the area. That made travelling for us a lot easier. The hosts twin daughters were even avaliable for babysitting!
We ended up staying longer than we had planned and will definitely recommend Sundial to our friends!
Peter and Jenny, Germany.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

Beautiful people in a great location. The Bambey family have proved once again to be great and able to give helpful tips for our short trip.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2008

The house seems to be rather new and is in a very good shape, the rooms and the bathroom are in a comfortable size. Sundial is located above the nice little village of Summerland, Penticton is pretty close. The family was very friendly, we got a lot of very usefull recommendations what to do or where to go. The check-in and check-out precedure was easy. The breakfast was one of the best, top quality coffee, everything fresh prepared. During our time it was warm and sunny and we enjoyed the evenings in the garden. Aircondition worked fine and the beds (european-style)are the best we had during our three weeks trip in West-Canada.
We hope to get back to this lovely place soon.

  • Liked — bed, breakfast and everything else
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creston, BC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

We arrived from Osoyoos on the last half of our four day golf and wine tasting trip and received a warm welcome from Meggie, Gerd and Amigo! This is a nice, clean, friendly B & B in an upscale part of Summerland and as reviewed by jumBonn the views of lakes and mountains are fantastic. They have two nicely appointed rooms in the basement with a shared bath and high speed wireless internet is available. The breakfast is very European and the coffee is to die for! Gerd is a former air force pilot and airline captain and he now just flies the kitchen and is quite a good cook! Meggie is a very charming, bright and outgoing lady and she made us feel right at home. They are knowledgeable on things to see in the area and gave us a few good tips for our next trip to Germany. On our last night we had a glass of wine with them and enjoyed exchanging bear tales and travel adventures! This is a very happy, well travelled family and provide a clean, quiet and lovely B & B. Connie, Miriam and Simon are the most polite, well dressed kids we have ever met. Thank you Meggie and Gerd we hope to see you again soon!

  • Liked — clean, quiet location with good european style breakfast and interesting hosts
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sundial Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundial Bed & Breakfast

Address: 12007 Trayler Place, Summerland, British Columbia V0H 1Z7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Summerland
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Summerland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run Bed and Breakfast, within walking distance to downtown Summerland and restaurants,2 tastefully decorated bedrooms with access to shared bathroom, guests' own TV room with access to the landscaped garden, patios and swing, customized, 3-course breakfast with many local and organic ingredients. We are family-friendly, board games, small library,basketball,bathrobes and much more. We also speak French, German and Spanish. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sundial Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundial Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.