We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great clean hotel with friendly service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canalta Hotel Provost

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Canalta Hotel Provost to your Saves list
Canalta Hotel Provost
3611 - 57 Ave, Provost, Alberta T0B 3S0, Canada (Formerly Super 8 Provost)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Provost
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“Great clean hotel with friendly service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were recently snow-stayed in Provost for two days and were lucky enough to get a room at the Canalta. We were pleased with so many aspects of our stay: friendly helpful staff, clean room with lots of amenities, free use of computer with internet, and continental breakfast every morning. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMProvost, Manager at Canalta Hotel Provost, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
THank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post your review of our property. Thank you for your very kind comments; I will be sure to share them with all of our staff. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
3
3
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Was sent to provost by my company and had no hopes to find a good hotel. But then Canalta proved me wrong. Staff is friendly and professional. Rooms are spacious and well equipped. Clean and nice. Thanks

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights midweek and was lucky enough to get a suite with a whirlpool bath. The room was a little tired decor-wise, but was clean & tidy and the staff were friendly. The king bed was SO comfortable and the room also had a large sitting area with a huge gas fire and TV/DVD. The bathroom was really small tho, which seemed odd in such a big room! The buffet breakfast (included) had the usual suspects: cereal, bagels, muffins, toast, fruit, yoghurt and some hot food. Provost is a small town, so I was pleasantly surprised to find such a nice and well-run hotel.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Nice Clean rooms, wireless internet, decent breakfast.

No complaints

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Nice stay here again, consistance service at this hotel. Do not hesitate to stay here. Wanted to write a new review because I notice now that there are few restaurants that offer delivery to the hotel. They are Top 20, PMI,& Silver Sticks. Nice for the business traveller.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Canalta Hotel Provost, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to write this review. I hope to see you next time you are in Provost
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

It's all about value, and based on the price paid and what little expectation I had it was a very good stay.
The room was spacious and had all amenities one would expect from a budget hotel in the middle of nowhere. Room was clean, amenities of decent quality. As with most low-rise hotels these days, it was build with chip-wood and drywall, nothing was sound proof and we could hear people rumbling down the hallway all night.
Staff at reception were very friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast was ok, although half of the dispensing units did not work. Brekkie could have been a bit better organized and laid out.
The gym was small, unfortunately, 3 people were a crowd.
Still a comfy place in Provost, will consider again.

Note: The hotel does not have a restaurant an dining options are extremely limited in Provost. There is an A&W next door.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Canalta Hotel Provost, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to write this review. Thank you for bringing to my attention the problems with the breakfast dispensing units; I would like you to know that those problems have been fixed. Again, thank you the kind words regarding your last stay. If there is anything else I can help you with, please feel free to contact me at 1-866-753-2896, I hope to see you next time you are in Provost.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

I travel to Provost at least twice a year and stay here. I was there last week and had a nice stay again. It used to be a Super 8 so follows that model. I had a King room on the second floor and it had very high ceilings and a great business desk. The bed is god and I managed to use 4 of the 5 pillows by myself. I would like a duvet, but they just have the regular blanket and bedspread.
Upon arrival I noticed they had complementary smokies with buns and all the fixings. I didn't have one though. I did have the breakfast and they had a good assortment and it was decently stocked and the attendant kept on top of things.
I will stay here again. I like the second floor. If you do stay on the first floor, note that many if not all those rooms have the secondary exterior door. This may be a positive or a negative depending on your opinion.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canalta Hotel Provost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canalta Hotel Provost

Address: 3611 - 57 Ave, Provost, Alberta T0B 3S0, Canada (Formerly Super 8 Provost)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Provost
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Provost
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home when traveling! The convenience of comfort and service - complimentary WI-FI. We are the only hotel in Provost with a gym and a hot tub. Your comfort is our #1 job. Alberta Hotel and Lodging Association Housekeeping Awards: 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010 & 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Canalta Hotel Provost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Provost Super Eight
Provost Super 8
Canalta Hotel Provost Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canalta Hotel Provost, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.