We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finding their Way...and Serving Great Food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Twisted Cork Cafe

The Twisted Cork Cafe
3525 Honduras, Frenchtown 00802, St. Thomas
340-775-2675
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 7 Restaurants in Frenchtown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $36
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Cajun & Creole, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Twisted Cork Cafe, located in the heart of Frenchtown,offers a relaxing, comfortable, yet elegant atomosphere while providing gracious service and exceptional cuisine.Utilizing fresh local fish and produce when available(on premise garden coming in 2013).In addition, our bar is always warm and inviting for our regular patrons, or guests passing through who wish to imbibe their favorite libation in a cozy and friendly environment.
St. Thomas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Finding their Way...and Serving Great Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We recently visited Twisted Cork for the 2nd time in the past several months. We have been pleasant pleased with the quality of the food and how well and consistently it is prepared.
But, the Twisted Cork is still trying to define their place among all the other dining options in Frenchtown. Based on the current menu options [which the Chef is in the process of updating], it's now clear whether they want to emphasize a more fine dining experience or whether they are more focused on the burger and salad crowd. Time will only tell as they continue to come into their own. We hope they choose the first path!

We really enjoyed our dinner on this visit. Our favorite starter is the fried chicken livers. Outstanding. I chose the Jambalaya pasta and my husband had the Mahi-Mahi seafood special. Both were very good.
Service was a little unbalanced on this evening even though the restaurant was not crowded. It seemed that one server had two tables and bar service and the other had all the rest of the tables. With two servers, we think that they should share the load instead of having diners waiting for one person while the other is standing around.

Our only other comments are that the noise from the bar can be a little distracting for those in the dining room. Lots of former "Craig and Sally" bar regulars still come to the Twisted Cork for a cocktail or a quick bite at the bar, so it can get a bit noisy. We also didn't like the fact that there seemed to be too much loud idle chatter with friends, and staff behind a half-wall partition in the back of the restaurant. People seemed to be wandering in and out of the kitchen at will. Not sure why that was the case. Based on the position of our table. We could see and hear it all.

Overall, we do like the Twisted Cork and will go back to see where their journey to find their own way will take them.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    35
    10
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yumm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

It's a little off the beaten path but worth finding. We had the blueberry salad, smoked ribs, mahi special with a sauce to die for and then topped it off with blueberry bread pudding! The bread pudding had goat cheese in it making it very moist. All in all it was a fantastic lunch! Food and service was amazing! We were put in a corner booth to allow more room for our 13 mo old. however for the money we paid, it would have been really nice to have been provided a high chair. Being a jungle gym and trying to eat at the same time can be very challenging. Our only complaint was no high chair. Oh and the tripadvisor linked to an iPhone google map takes you to the ghetto not to the restaurant! Our best meal so far!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“What a delicious meal!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Nice and quiet in a good way, friendly and knowledgeable staff and the food was so, so delicious. We had Yellow Finned Tuna, Mussels and the Key Lime Pie was also great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Personal Service, Fantastic Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We hosted our wedding rehearsal dinner at Twisted Cork and had a superb experience. Chef Bryan coordinated our entire event via email and telephone and things ran like clockwork. We had a large party of 18 and even though we arrived 30 minutes early, the table was already set. While the serving staff was a little flustered at times and slow to bring everyone's check at the end of the evening, it is understandable with such a large group and didn't affect the quality of the meal. While tucked away in Frenchtown, the interior was beautiful and well setup for both large parties and family dinners. The food was simply divine and even with a picky group of 18, there wasn't one complaint. The Twisted Bread and Portabella Crustini appetizers are delicious. The Twisted Burger is fantastic and a must try. You'll fall in love! Chef Bryan worked tirelessly to provide us with a special meal and even hand picked a wine selection for the large party. His specially created vegetarian dishes were perfect and he even made is a squash flower appetizer from his own garden. What a way to spoil a vegetarian bride!! Even though the food is amazing, make sure you save room for desert as Chef Bryan's creations succeeded in actually silencing our large table. I hope he adds his peanut butter and caramel corn pie to the full time menu. I passed it around the table for everyone to take a bite and only had a sliver left for myself. I'm not even keen on Key Lime Pie but I couldn't help myself from stealing a few bites from my husband's plate. Despite drinks, appetizers and a full meal for 18, we actually came in under budget! Great place to visit and we can't wait to come back! Thank you to the entire staff for creating such a special night and a special thank you to Chef Bryan. You are amazing!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Pines, Maryland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Food!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were directed to this restaurant by our Marriott concierge and boy were we glad we listened! Great food! Such a welcome change from what is really mediocre food on this island. Especially loved the salmon risotto. Wine list is much better than any other restaurant in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Twisted Cork Cafe also viewed

Frenchtown, St. Thomas
Frenchtown, St. Thomas
 
Frenchtown, St. Thomas
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to The Twisted Cork Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Twisted Cork Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.