We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Twisted Cork Cafe

The Twisted Cork Cafe
3525 Honduras, Frenchtown 00802, St. Thomas
340-775-2675
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 7 restaurants in Frenchtown
Price range: $10 - $36
Cuisines: American, Cajun & Creole, Caribbean, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Twisted Cork Cafe, located in the heart of Frenchtown,offers a relaxing, comfortable, yet elegant atomosphere while providing gracious service and exceptional cuisine.Utilizing fresh local fish and produce when available(on premise garden coming in 2013).In addition, our bar is always warm and inviting for our regular patrons, or guests passing through who wish to imbibe their favorite libation in a cozy and friendly environment.
St. Thomas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I went there for a lunch with a business friend. The food was over the top, perhaps too much so for lunch.
I had the appetizer sample plate of five. One was as good as the other.

The space has gone through a major renovation. They still need to get some stuff on the walls as the place looks spartan.

Good service, good food.......I will go back there for dinner. I think the lunch was too costly. A simpler lunch menu may be in order.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan L, Owner at The Twisted Cork Cafe, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for the review. All the input we get helps us to continue to grow and strive for excellence.

Chef Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    82
    26
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Thomas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Amazing! We went for dinner and had the Pork Ossobucco and Salmon Risotto. Very generous portions and the food was delicious! Eric who was behind the bar had great recommendations to pair the our wine with our meals. We also had a ginger spring roll appetizer and when we couldn't decide on which dessert, Eric brought out half portions of each! Great food and great service. Definitely the best meal I have had on island in a long time. If you are looking for one great place in St. Thomas to eat this is it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan L, Owner at The Twisted Cork Cafe, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for the review. All the input we get helps us to continue to grow and strive for excellence.

Chef Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I never get tired of good wine, great service and even better food. On my last visit to the islands The Twisted Cork Cafe did not disappoint on any of these categories. Having been a server for many years, I am quick to find flaws in quality and staff, but I was extremely impressed with everyone there and the service I was shown. I love the atmosphere, everyone was so inviting and quick to make you feel like family. We stopped in a few times and they even remembered our names!!! The menu was fresh, my filet was perfect and the mac and cheese was to die for! The bartender knew her way around a cocktail ;) which I always appreciate!!
Overall it was a memorable experience and I can't wait to go back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan L, Owner at The Twisted Cork Cafe, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for the review. All the input we get helps us to continue to grow and strive for excellence.

Chef Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“wow! What an improvement for this space!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Last night, our party of 4 had dinner at the Twisted Cork. Wow! We had EJ as our server and she was wonderful! She described all of the menu items to a tee and gave us some excellent recommendations. I do have to agree with an earlier poster that the Mac & Cheese was incredible. 2 members of our party had the Filet & Mac entree and it both looked and tasted awesome. The Steak was done to perfection and the Mac sublime!

I had the Duck Breast special (not the one on the menu). It was served on an incredible mushroom risotto.

My Brother had the Mahi Mahi special which he loved so much that he finished it very quickly!

We also shared the Bread Pudding dessert and enjoyed it VERY MUCH!!

I am so happy that this restaurant has replaced Craig & Sally's. We used to go to C&S often. In recent years, C&S has declined so much that we could no longer go there. It was so hot inside and Craig was always so surly. The food had also diminished in quality. It was so sad to see that happen.

I HIGHLY recommend the Twisted Cork for dining. We eat out each of the 8 nights we are in St. Thomas and choose our options VERY carefully. We have now removed one of the restaurants that we used to love (OSF) and replaced it with the Twisted Cork for all future visits!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan L, Owner at The Twisted Cork Cafe, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for the review. All the input we get helps us to continue to grow and strive for excellence.

Chef Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Interesting new approach.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

I waited for them to open and finally made it for dinner. Was there for opening night as I know the owners. Found it acoustically loud. Folks hard a hard time hearing each other. Something they told me they will work on. Friends were happy they were finally open. The food I saw looked pretty good.
The night I are there with friend we all ate the specials offered. My pork osso bucco was delicious as well as the mofongo it was served with. Others at the table enjoyed their meals as well.
I have heard people saying the food wasn't up to far but that night wasn't so. I will go back and see again what it's like. If different I will write about it. I thought the service was fine.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan L, Owner at The Twisted Cork Cafe, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for the review. All the input we get helps us to continue to grow and strive for excellence.

Chef Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Twisted Cork Cafe also viewed

Frenchtown, St. Thomas
Frenchtown, St. Thomas
 
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 

Been to The Twisted Cork Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Twisted Cork Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.