We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and views but only average Sushi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Enkai

Enkai
3801 Crown Bay, Frenchtown 00802, St. Thomas
+1 340-774-6254
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 7 Restaurants in Frenchtown
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Sushi, Vegetarian, Bar, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Winner of the reader's choice 'Best Sushi of the VI on St. Thomas 2014'. Enjoy an array of artisanal sushi, created with love.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great atmosphere and views but only average Sushi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

This place was way off the beaten path. We are lucky we took a taxi tha knew where to go. The view of the bay and it being right on the water was a plus. Service was very friendly and good overall.

The sushi was presented well and fresh but overall the taste was just average. Most rolls tasted the same. Rice was too big.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    17
    9
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hard to find but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

As with pretty much anything in St Thomas, Enkai is a pain to find. Down a one way, through a parking lot, and wait, is that another parking lot? Totally worth the hunt. I've eaten sushi in a lot of major cities and Hawaii, and Enkai is right up there with them. The staff is very friendly, and very helpful in providing suggestions. Some of the sushi has a Caribbean twist to it, so such info in invaluable.

The ambiance was quite nice; it's right on the water, and if you sit along the outside, you can watch 5 foot tarpon hanging around for a handout. The atmosphere was really calm, and as I can't stand loud restaurants, it was perfect for me. The servers were right on it; there when you needed them, but not overly obtrusive. We had spicy edaname (it is indeed spicy, sorry I can't spell it correctly), and a couple rolls. All were artfully prepared, and very tasty. We also had an order of tempura dim sum, which was different, and again quite tasty.
Should I make it back t St Thomas, I will definitely be finding my way to that parking lot again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Simply the best sushi in St Thomas. Good and friendly staff. Try their storm roll; you would be amaze!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in St. Thomas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

If you are a sushi lover, this is the place to go in St. Thomas. Waterfront setting with open air dining.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Loved the unique sushi roles and beautiful sunset view! I ate at the bar so I could watch the sunset, and Erik was a great server. I had a great time!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Enkai also viewed

Frenchtown, St. Thomas
Frenchtown, St. Thomas
 
Frenchtown, St. Thomas
 

Been to Enkai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enkai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.