We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cocktail Fun” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Betsy's Bar

Betsy's Bar
Frenchtown, Frenchtown, St. Thomas
774-9347
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 7 restaurants in Frenchtown
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
US Virgin Islands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cocktail Fun”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Betsy is a fixture in Frenchtown. She's most likely around schmoozing and laughing with locals. It's a lively local bar with good food. Try the HO soup. Stir fry is my niece's favorite meal on St. Thomas. Stays open late serving breakfast early morning (til 3 am?) to soak it all up.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    23
    11
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Thomas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A great friendly place to eat and or drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Betsy's bar is one of our weekly eating locations in St. Thomas. Since we live here the more well known tourist locations are just too expensive to use. Betsy's fills the void and is a less expensive restaurant ,located in a safe area to visit.
The best and probably the most expensive on the menue is the T Bone steak.
Flame cooked and best on the island for about 25% less than other locations.
On a lighter note the H O soup is excellent sea food soup or try the grilled chicken and apple salad.
Fridays try the local West Indies fare along with normal menue.
Don't go expecting table clothes and candles. Betsy's is a blue collar friendly place.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Yum!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We play every week on the field across from Betsy's, so it's easy for us to go to Betsy's after our game.
The food is just great. We normally have the H.O. seafood soup, but decided to start trying new items on the menu and it did not disappoint! Fantastic jerk chicken wings just to name another.
The menu is very varied and is sure to cater to everyone in your group. Prices are fair. The service is excellent and we were never without a drink for long.
I also love it as a bar and it's a great place to have a drink and sit back with friends. They have darts and pool tables which is very cool.
We will be back again, probably in just a few days! Keep up the good work, Betsy's!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Betsy is amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Great late night spot to go shoot pool or throw darts. Betsy is the best. super sweet. the epitome of the best business owner

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great bar food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

One of the best burgers on STT; a great place to have a drink in French Town too!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Betsy's Bar also viewed

Frenchtown, St. Thomas
Frenchtown, St. Thomas
 
Frenchtown, St. Thomas
Frenchtown, St. Thomas
 

Been to Betsy's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Betsy's Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.