We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterside Dining at its Finest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oceana

Oceana
8A Honduras | Villa Olga, Frenchtown 00802, St. Thomas
+1 340-774-4262
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Frenchtown
Price range: $28 - $65
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, International, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Waterside Dining at its Finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Open air restaurant puts you feet from cresting waves, with delicious food and superb service. This is what you went on vacation for. To enjoy the best water views, make a reservation, request a table along the water, show up on time, and get seated before sunset. Then relax and enjoy. You will pay a bit more for this dining experience, among the best on the island, but you won't regret it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    62
    28
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic setting and ambiance with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My wife and I just returned from 2 weeks of vacation in St Thomas and loved Oceana so much that we went twice. The first time through we had our 16 mo old daughter with us and it was hard to fully appreciate the experience. Thank god we brought our 25 year old niece with us on the trip to help out. The second time through, our niece stayed at the hotel with the baby and we were able to enjoy the experience. The restaurant is a bit off the beaten path, but we were able to find it just fine driving ourselves. Once at the restaurant, the setting is very romantic and relaxing with an open air arrangement right next to the water. The sound of calm waves and warm breeze makes for a very unique setting. Service was excellent the food was among the best I've had at any restaurant. Definitely the best fine dining we had in St Thomas.

Dishes we ordered are - Starters: crab cake quartet, seared diver scallops, yellow fin tuna appetizer special, artisinal beet salad. Entrees: toasted coriander dusted mahi-mahi, 14 oz ribeye steak, Oceana bouillabaise, snapper special. Dessert: sorbet trio, key lime pie ice cream, and blueberry white chocolate ice cream.

Everything was was outstanding, including the ribeye steak that was one of the best I've had. All of the seafood was fresh and amazing flavors.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Lovely Spot in a historic building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We wanted an alternative restaurant to our old favorite Blue Havana. This restaurant was just about as good for food and service. The ambiance is relaxed and romantic. One of our group ordered the asparagus soup and she raved about it. The dessert menu was just okay, nothing really grabbed us. As far as the comments about a "sketchy" location, we walked from the far end of the harbor without any incident or hesitation.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Meal with the Best View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I can't say enough about how much our family enjoyed this dinner on our last night. The food was superb and the service perfect in every way. But the venue in this historic building right on the water's edge is over the top!!!!

For an expensive family dinner out (all adults, not for kids), we felt like the experience was well worth it. The place surpasses our expectations.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte Amalie, null, United States
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Poor show and food poisoning to boot”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Usually this restaurant is well rated. i have had a few good meals there but yesterday was a disaster. while the ambiance was nice the lighting was horrific - almost like a search light on our faces - which took management 20 mins to rectify. the full moon and ocean view were terrific and we selected the 10 tasting menu items to try as my guest was a first timer.
the portions were large so no issues there (although i usually prefer much smaller if possible) - but not one was something i could write well of. there were two meat dishes and i did not eat much of those, but my friend did. it is that i believe caused her to have significant problems later - with horrific symptoms of food poisoning. this is likely due to the food being left out for a while as we ate other off the menu. in a climate like this that is not a great idea and one we suffered from.
the service was great however and pleasant, but getting our check was an ordeal and took time. the chairs were not comfy at all, hence the need to get the check more rapidly that one might hope. i really dont understand why a restaurant does not try to make patrons comfy rather than ready to leave early.
the other saving grace was the chocolate soufflé - but not a soufflé at all, rather more like a lava cake.
oh well - i cannot recommend except for the view and the desert.
it is a shame after being so well thought of all these years.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceana S, Manager at Oceana, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to review Oceana on Trip Advisor. I do regret that your review is poor. I would like to address the issues that you encountered individually, as they are all important.
To begin, the lighting in the Ocean Terrace, where you chose your table, certainly should have been adjusted as soon as you made mention to your server. Unfortunately, the first I heard of the situation was from this review. I can only surmise that your server had intended to adjust the lights himself and perhaps got sidetracked, which is not an excuse but a likely explanation. It seems as though the lighting was in fact adjusted - just not in a timely enough fashion. My apologies.
An allegation of food poisoning is one we take extremely seriously at Oceana. The items on our Tasting Table are individually portioned and rotated from our walk-in refrigerator on a regular basis, to avoid the possibility of food taint. We have received no complaints from other guests who dined with us that evening and enjoyed our Tasting Table, which were actually very many, as it is a popular feature on Friday and Saturday nights. I am very sorry to hear that your friend fell ill but without concrete proof that it was due to what she consumed from the Tasting Table, I would be remiss to accept responsibility.
I am pleased to hear that you found your service to be great and your server pleasant. From your review, I understand that you were in quite a hurry to get the check due to the chairs you were seated in. I am sure that your server would have been delighted to bring you another style of chair from the moment you arrived, had you informed him of your seating discomfort. We are in the hospitality business and are happy to adjust what we can to each of our guest's individual needs and requests.
I hope that you will allow us an opportunity to win back your loyalty. We would like to invite you and your friend to dine with us, as our guests. Again, my most sincere apologies for the disappointing experience that you had.

Kind Regards,
Kimberly Johanson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oceana also viewed

Frenchtown, St. Thomas
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Water Island, St. Thomas
 

Been to Oceana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.