We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have been happier!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mango Bay Cottages

Save Saved
You added Mango Bay Cottages to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mango Bay Cottages
Woodford, 0000, Grenada   |  
Hotel amenities
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Could not have been happier!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband and I spent one week at Mango Bay and completely loved it. The property is beautiful - it is perfectly maintained in a gorgeous setting. Peggy, Syisha, and their staff are helpful, personable, fun, and interesting. The beach is the best place to swim on the island I think. We hope to return and would recommend Mango Bay to anyone who asks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    12
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
4
43
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My wife and I had a great honeymoon at the Mango Bay Cottages.

The location is gorgeous, with fruit tree surrounding the property (lots of mangos, as you would expect!). The beach is pretty easy to access as long as you are reasonably mobile as there is a steep staircase to negotiate.

Be aware that the cottages are situated around a 20 minute drive away from central St. Georges town, so either plan to use your own transport or use the very regular bus service.

The team at Mango Bay were really great and couldn't have been more helpful and friendly.

We would love to come back one day!

Chris

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012 via mobile

The Cottages are clean, cozy and in a beautiful location. Kai and Anja have a very nice place with a lot of potential. The web site advertises a Restaraunt but when we were there I couldn't seem to get a straight answer on whether or not we would be able to eat at the restaraunt. I was told we had to give 2 days notice so they could get supplies. Tried to make a reservation for dinner and was told that he didn't know if they could get fish and would not make a reservation for us. I suggest you don't count on the restaraunt for food, make other plans.
The owners would do well to polish up their hospitality skills because they truly have a beautiful place and we have no complaints about the accomodations. Kai would do well to tone down his defensive attitude with his guests because as paying customers it doesn't make you want to return no matter how nice the accomodations and location is.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We stayed for 10 days late January 2012. The apartments are clean and well furnished with all you need. Very comfortable kingsize bed with full mosquito netting, (but if you are easily bitten you will need repellent when inside the cottage as the louvred windows are not screened). The beach was even better than expected, clean black sand, clear calm waters with very good snorkelling and almost private for much of the time. Regular pelicans, storks and frigate birds visit.
We enjoyed the luxury of being the only ones staying for the first 5 days which was wonderful because as another reviewer mentioned, the apartments are close together. However, there are only 4 of them so it will never feel that busy.
Kai collected us from the airport and had offered to stop at a supermarket for us to shop for groceries which was very helpful. If you don't plan to hire a car immediately, think about arranging this as there was no other option within walking distance to buy fresh food and evening meals are not offered every day at the cottages.
If you like to be away from the main resorts and want your own little bit of Caribbean paradise, I would thoroughly recommend Mango Bay Cottages.

Room Tip: probably a bit more privacy in the top floor apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

The owners and host Anja and Kai, are second to none when it comes to hospitality. Very freindly people, who have a heart to serve thier guest. The meals Kai prepared where all outstanding, with some specialties from the island at each meal. The cottages where immaculately clean and well taken care of. This is not your 5 star luxary resort. It is 4 remote cottages setting up on a cliff, with views of the caribbean that have the WOW factor everytime you look out from the balcony. The beach is small but mostly private and there are steps that have to be taken to get to the beach, but well worth it. Very nice reef for snorkeling just off the beach. A must do is the island tour with Kai as your guide.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

My girlfriend and I just came back from our holidays in Grenada and we already
miss the island with their friendly people.

We went to other Caribbean islands before but Grenada is one of our favorites
now. Especially our accommodation was better than we expected. Everything was
clean and well organized and the view from our veranda was great. After some
unpacking and a refreshing shower we joined Kai and Anja for a small meal at
their restaurant and because of the long trip we were really tired and went to
bed early. In the morning we went down for a swim. There a quiet a few steps but
it is worth it. The clear water was warm and calm.

After the swim and the walk up to our room we were ready for breakfast which Kai
served us in their restaurant. We really enjoyed it especially the fresh fruits.
After breakfast we decided to take the bus and go to town. It was quiet a ride
and when you getting seasick very easily you should think about it twice. But we
liked it because the bus was cheap and brings you almost everywhere you like to
go. Just knock on the roof or window and the driver will stop immediately; it
doesn’t matter if it is in the middle of nowhere.

We went a couple of times by bus but if you like to see some of the specials you
should rent a car or book a tour with Kai. So we went on a full day tour with
Kai and we saw and learned a lot about spices, rum, cocoa and so on.
My girlfriend liked the chocolate most but I preferred the rum. On the way back
we stopped at the Concord waterfall to take a swim in the cold clear water. Al
together another perfect day!

Only a few days left. These days we spent either
snorkeling, swimming or just liming on the beach.

Before finally packing our stuff and saying Goodbye we went down to the beach
for our last swim……and we hope to come back soon!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mangobaygrenada-com, Owner at Mango Bay Cottages, responded to this review, May 9, 2010
Thank you for your review. We also hope that you come back soon. And next time just stay a little longer :-).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

I have just returned from a week's holiday with a friend and we both agree that Mango Bay Cottages on the West Coast of Granada is a hidden gem with the wow factor. We walked into the delightful cottage set high on the hillside and over to the balcony and both said "wow", as the view to the ocean and towards the south-west is stunning. You overlook the lovely tropical garden and walk through this and down the steps to the next "wow" factor the beach. This is virtually a private sandy beach with calm, warm, clear water and very good snorkeling. The cottages are very well designed and equipped. Delicious breakfasts and evening meals can be requested on most days and are taken on a separate balcony next door to the cottages. The young owners, Anja and Kai, are a delightful couple and made us feel so welcome. They gave us a great deal of information about the island and their very enjoyable company and sense of humour made our stay extra special. We had a truly memorable island day tour with Kai, which is also highly recommended, as are the airport transfers. We hope we will be able to come back and we wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theo69, Owner / Manager at Mango Bay Cottages, responded to this review, December 16, 2009
Thank you both for these really nice review, we hope to see you soon "back" in Grenada...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mango Bay Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay Cottages

Address: Woodford, 0000, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint John Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Saint John Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Bay is an intimate, private cottage resort located on the western coast of Grenada with breathtaking views of the Caribbean and 300 feet of secluded beach. With bar and restaurant service on the beach, kayak and snorkel rentals available, and complimentary beach towels, umbrella, and lounge chairs, we make your relaxation our number one priority. Located just 20 minutes from St. George's, 15 minutes from Gouyave, and minutes from the Concord Waterfalls, Mango Bay is an ideal location for exploring the island. For the adventurous, we also offer mountain bike and scooter rentals and a variety of island tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Mango Bay Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Cottages Grenada/Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mango Bay Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.