We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Guides Hiking, tasting the fruits of Dominica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hibiscus Valley Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hibiscus Valley Inn to your Saves list
Hibiscus Valley Inn
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   10 min South of Melville Hall airport, Marigot, Dominica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 4 Marigot B&B and Inns
Kittery, Maine
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Guides Hiking, tasting the fruits of Dominica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We enjoyed the wonderful ambiance of this place, the paintings, the flowers, the great meals. At dinners meeting folks from Europe and having lively discussions was an added and unexpected delight. Hiking with the guides was the best, we learned so much about the island history and nature. Incredible treats to see the cacao and cashew plants. I had a swim in Emerald pool all to myself, heaven.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    32
    5
    6
    4
See reviews for
17
34
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Me and a friend of mine spent two amazing nights at the Hibiscus Valley Inn in July 2012.
The Inn is absolutely the best place to stay at when you are discovering the north of Dominica and the Carib territory! Malin, the swedish owner, gave us a very warm welcome and we immediately felt like a part of the "Hibiscus family" including the friendly staff, the other guests and of course the two cute dogs.
The bungalows are beautifully furnished with many thoughtful details such as wall paintings, mosquito nets over the beds that make you feel like a princess ;) and hammocks.

If you need anything, do not hesitate to ask Malin or her mother for advice. They have been living in Dominica for a long time and know the country and its nice people very well. We even went out one evening with her and her friends.
Furthermore, several activities are offered by the hotel such as tours to the most important sights and river tubing on the river closeby. We did it and it was a really fun adventure.

The food offered at the hotel was also VERY good, affordable and cosy. All the guests are dining together and we had great conversation going on. For dinner, we had chicken with local vegetables and an excellent curry-salad. For dessert, a variety of fresh fruits.

At the end of our stay, we were sad to leave the Hibiscus and I would definitely stay there again. Go there, I recommend it with all my heart.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shallotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Nigel and happy dogs, Scotty and Jack, are the most welcoming, enjoyable company. My one night in the Hibiscus Vally Inn was terrific. Beautiful grounds and location and the best salad ever, made by Nigel. Great infused rums and wonderful company.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vänersborg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My brother and I spent 10 fun days in a very cosy bungalow. We had 5 preeboked adventures which all included breakfast, lunch and dinner. Each day was a completelly new adventure. We went hiking to the boiling lake (most amazing nature on the way aswell as at the lake), rivertubing, met the carib indians, saw some waterfalls and learned about the rainforest and eveything they grow on Dominica. All the staff and guides are excellent, they are really friendly and made this a great stay. If you like the Pirates of the Caribbean movies this place is the best, they filmed many sceens on Dominca and the guides know all about them and some even worked on the productions.The hotel is situated in the middle of the rainforest so for the days you haven't booked any of their excursions we strongly recomend that you rent a car (4x4). Remember, when you stay at Hibiscus the rainforest is at you doorstep.

Room Tip: The bungalows doesn't have A/C but the rooms in the mainbuilding have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I just came back from my trip to Dominica and it was great! The Inn is such a lovely place to stay and I would definitely recommend it. Prior my arrival the staff was very helpful with answering my questions. Nora, the owner, was right on spot and very attentive. I did not rent a car but joined guided tours arranged through the Inn. Since I was traveling by myself I was glad I met a couple at the Inn and we toured together, a minimum of 2 pax is required for the activities. We loved Kim as the guide, he did a great job. The Boiling Lake Hike was my favorite one, it was definitely worth the pain!
The food - local cuisine - was very nice as well! I originally had booked a standard room but upgraded to a bungalow once I arrived. The hammock on the porch was nice to relax after a tour day.
I can only say good things about the Inn, I really enjoyed it and definitely would stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guyana
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Lovely location amidst croton-lined paths and jungle gardens. Masses of birds, whistling frogs, fire flies - a stunning location for a few days away from the built up areas. Within walking distance of Secns 5 and 6 of Waitukubuli Trail and of Carib Territory. Manager (Norah) very welcoming and helpful.

Originally booked the cheap Riverside Room via the website. Rapidly declined it on arrival as it's little better than a shed and very poor value compared with the garden lodges (even though they cost twice as much if booked on line).

The cross-island road running past the Hibiscus Valley is currently being widened and resurfaced, which makes the place difficult to reach by public bus. Earth moving machinery and vehicles also somewhat disrupt the serenity of the place.

No nearby places to eat/drink/buy food, unless you hike/travel to Marigot (approx 2 miles). Marigot expensive compared with Roseau/Portsmouth areas. We considered meal prices at Hibiscus Valley rather expensive and no access to kitchen faclities means that accessing food is a hassle unless you have transport.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

This inn is a lovely spot at good value and close to the airport. We had a very nice "deluxe" room but in March did not need air conditioning. It's a quiet place. Off the back of the house is a garden which is really lively with birds at all hours, and the sounds of the rainforest are wonderful. The food, especially dinner fixed by Nigel, is excellent and uses local resources. He's great at accommodating vegetarians. Currently the road in front of the hotel is under construction, which has caused some degredation of the river. It will come back with the next flood season. For now, the construction increases the opportunities to talk with locals who are working or observing, as you walk near the hotel. The new Waitukubuli National Trail is also nearby and is a good hiking option into the rainforest and to see small farms. Do go with a local guide if you will be in an isolated area -- there has been a spate of northeast coast beach robberies since fall 2011, so you need to be wise in your adventures.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hibiscus Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Valley Inn

Address: 10 min South of Melville Hall airport, Marigot, Dominica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint Andrew Parish > Marigot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Marigot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hibiscus Valley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hibiscus Valley is a Swedish owned guesthouse with its Dominican family atmosphere. We offer 3 different types of accommodation and 12 min from the airport. With three "Nature bungalows" in Dominican ECO country style, with two rooms in each with own bathroom and exotic veranda, they are situated in a beautiful and calm area next to the beautiful Pagua river, with a natural river pool, the rainforest and the Carib territory.All rooms are situated within a minute walk from the beautiful Pagua river with its natural pools. At Hibiscus Valley Inn, we try as hard as possible to take advantage of what the nature offers without encroaching on comfort. The beautiful garden is seen from all the rooms and the hummingbirds sucking nectar just outside your exotic veranda. Three semi-deluxe rooms and one suprim room both with AC and other amenities and a spacious bathroom.A self-contained wooden cottage by the riverside, can take 5 persons. Open air restaurants specialize in local cuisine with an international touch. An extended tour program with our popular guides, who will take you to known and unknown sites.We cater for English, Swedish, French, Creole spoken and have a German guide on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hibiscus Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Valley Inn Dominica/Marigot

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hibiscus Valley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.