We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paqua Bay "Awesome"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas to your Saves list
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pagua Bay, Hatton Garden | 10 Minutes South of the Melville Hall Airport, Marigot, Dominica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marigot
Commack, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Paqua Bay "Awesome"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

The best that Dominica can offer. Very close to the airport, very accessible to all sites, beautiful rooms, excellent food, and the best service of any hotel I have been to in the Caribbean.

Very caring, and attentive staff, always looking to please your and accommodate your needs.

Also the best food I have ever tasted, a true GEM!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful, My favorite is Cabana #1 - If you are a runner great 2 1/2 run from Paqua B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
153
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Our stay at the Pagua Bay was truly extraordinary.

We were greeted very warmly by the staff upon our (late) arrival – they even kept the kitchen open just for us! It was the start of an 8-day stay during which we felt more like we were visiting old friends than staying at a hotel. (Of course, the hotel’s dog was ours for the duration of the stay and that helped too!)

Dominica is a fabulous island to visit, but there are sometimes some logistical challenges to planning activities and getting around – but not at the Pagua. Every morning, Rick and Alicia came to see us at breakfast to see how the day before had been, and to suggest activities or help us plan the ones we already had in mind. They hooked us up with the very best guides, restaurants and sightseeing spots, with the help of their MANY connexions and friends throughout the island.

During our excursions, we were driven around by the Pagua’s charming and knowledgeable driver and guide, Mikey, who was the perfect driver for many reasons: his careful and cautious approach to driving, which was very comforting when we got to the ‘bumpier’ parts of the roads and the hairpin turns; his skilled manoeuvring of the LandRover (yes, right down to Batibou Beach), as well as his discrete and pleasant company. Indeed, he never made us feel rushed or late (even though we often were!), and he even took a hike to Victoria Falls with us!

At the end of the day, we would gather round the bar and recount our adventures to the friendly bar and kitchen staff, sharing with them the day’s exploits.

Initially, we were hesitant as to which hotel we should stay at in Dominica. After checking out some other choices in the same price range as the Pagua, we felt extremely happy and satisfied with our choice. The Pagua turned out to be well-located, right on the coast yet with many and varied activities close by (contrary to several other hotels in the same area which were literally in the middle of nowhere). At the Pagua Bay, the wonderful Charles Warner secret waterfalls, lazy river tubing, Kalinago Territory and model village, several segments of the Waitukubuli National Trail, and charming village of Marigot, just to name a few, were just minutes away.

Thanks again Alicia, Rick, Mikey, and all the other wonderful staff people!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Awesome Pagua Bay House! It was like we never left the comfort and safety of home. The Hosts and Staff were the Best! approachable, helpful and very friendly. Beautifully designed Cabanas, Fresh natural drinks and mouth watering food from the Pagua House restaurant. Make sure to Try and book the Garden Suite. Thanks for the wonderful vacation experience Pagua!

Room Tip: Make sure to Try and book the Garden Suite and Indulge yourself!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Dominica is a small Island with a low population. The Island is relatively untouched as compared to most of the other Caribbean islands. The homes are generally small and appear worn from the outside. Pagua Bay House is special in that its design blends perfectly with the Island. The facilities are modern and comfortable. Stayed in Ocean suite 6 which has lovely views of the bay and plenty natural breeze. The room is air-conditioned but with the airflow there was no need to use the air condition. The owners Nick and Alicia were very attentive. They were on site daily during breakfast and ensured that your every need was met from offering useful places to visit on the Island, uploading an app on my iphone to assist with finding places on the Island and providing medication when I was feeling unwell. The staff at Pagua who appeared to be mostly local were also really very helpful and always sought to enquire as to whether you were ok. The Dominican people on the whole were really warm and friendly. There's a dog on site that is really friendly. If you love dogs you would love her. I have no complaints about Pagua Bay and would visit again. The roads in Dominica are mostly narrow and winding and I found Pagua Bay because of its close proximity to the airport to be an added advantage in terms of driving.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a height from the road so most rooms should offer good views of the bay. I particul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

First thing to note is we were checking in late and the kept the restaurant open for us. Good start! The people that work here are amazing, they feel like new friends. Now let's talk about the room and the view. The cabanas are adorable and very comfortable. The view in a word is breathtaking!

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomp
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

I am a charter pilot, for the last 29 years living is South Florida. I have been to so many places I can not count or even remember. Not so here. This is the crown jewel of the Caribbean. I have had the pleasure of staying here several times. There is not enough good things to say or write about the owners, staff and the property itself.
I look forward to each return visit with greater and greater expectation and excitement. Serious traveler heed my advice. Stay at Pagua Bay House,
Tim G

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Whether you're looking for a romantic get away from the hustle and bustle of your daily life or are looking for a good home base from which to explore the rest of the island, this place has it all.

Disregard the review below, the property and the rooms are amazing with every detail carefully considered. But while the environment looks like it came out of a photo shoot, it is also extremely comfortable at the same time. You could find a place for cheaper on the island, but I doubt you'll get the same value for your money as you will here.

The property is a short 15 minutes from the airport, on the Atlantic side, sitting on it's own overlooking a beautiful, tranquil bay, making it perfectly situated. Rick, Alicia and the staff are the added bonus, as they are all extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the island and go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and at home. Rick and Alicia were both there in the mornings and helpful in giving advice on the best places to see and eat at during our honeymoon.

Thanks again to everyone at Pagua for going out of your way to make our honeymoon as perfect as you did.

Room Tip: All rooms share awesome view but suite #5 has a kick @ss private pool and outdoor area as an added b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas

Address: Pagua Bay, Hatton Garden | 10 Minutes South of the Melville Hall Airport, Marigot, Dominica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint Andrew Parish > Marigot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marigot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10 minutes south of Melville Hall Airport, Dominica's newest boutique hotel integrates a simple modern aesthetic with comfortable rusticity in a stylish ocean retreat overlooking the Atlantic Ocean & Pagua Bay. All of our rooms are equipped with a clean modern design & upscale amenities; air conditioning, ceiling fans, king beds, exquisite bedding, high-end linens and over-sized bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas Hotel Marigot
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas Dominica/Marigot

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.