We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas to your Saves list
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Pagua Bay, Hatton Garden | 10 Minutes South of the Douglas-Charles Airport, Marigot, Dominica   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Last Minute Deals 25% Off
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marigot
GreenLeadersSilver level
Troy, Michigan
2 reviews
“A quiet retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

I had the opportunity to stay at Pagua Bay several times for work between September and November 2011. Pagua captures the island appearance with all the comforts of North America. The soft feeling of wood interiors and soft colors are unlike anything else I have ever experienced in the Caribbean. All the details are attended to with soft inviting beds, luxurious towels and bathrobes, and the creature comforts of satellite television and WiFi internet. Within 15-20 minutes of the airport and overlooking a bay, you are immersed in the nature of Dominica. Everything in Dominica is spread out, so why travel across the island to stay in town when you can be settled in and resting shortly after your arrival. They tend to all your needs and go out of their way to make you feel welcomed and comfortable. This is the place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
171
10
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Working in Caribbean for few months, I was fortunate to stay, let say, almost every night that I spent overthere at the Pagua Bay House. My experiences there have been like the one you will never forget. They take cake of everything you need for your stay, airport transport, food, activities and accommodation. They are fantastique and really professional !!! Moreover, the area gorguous. Waterfront, nice view and so relaxing with song of the sea and the jungle. The villas are perfect, confortable, luxury and very clean. The bed are really confortable and the shower are huge and AMAZING. Finally, the hospitality that i received was way above my expectation and I recommend, without any doubt, to people want to visit Dominica.
Dany

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

I was fortunate enough to stay at Pagua Bay for an extended period earlier this year. I have never slept better anywhere in my life, even during the occasional thunderstorm! The villas are beautifully decked out with everything you would expect from a high-end hotel or resort. The shower/wet rooms are huge and beautifully appointed. However, the highlight has to be the resorts hosts, Rick and Alicia. Nothing was too much trouble and their exhaustive knowledge of Dominica was a real blessing. I especially enjoyed Rick's spontaneous offer of complimentary whiskey tasting on several nights of my various stays at the resort! Ever meal was fantastic, particularly when taking in the breath taking views from the restaurant. I hope to return for another visit soon with my wife.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

This place was hands down the best place to eat, sleep or just hang out on the island. I was on the island for about a year and a half, and once we found Pagua, we were there once every few weeks for a few days (and regretted not going up to try it sooner!)

The rooms are incredible, very comfortable, clean and overlooking the ocean. The weather on this side of the island is also very comfortable and there are no bugs to speak of. Rick and Alicia are always around to cater to every need, including transport back and forth from there equally nice restaurant (about a 1 minute drive up a very steep and winding road, the only reason one can't just walk) or to bring food and drinks back down to you. The food is incredible (we know, we've tried the entire menu numerous times) and they have a great bar selection, especially considering what island you are on. The view from the restaurant is amazing, as it overlooks a beautiful bay surrounded by tropical rainforest, the perfect place to relax with friends and a few drinks on hand. You will deeply regret staying anywhere else once you have been here!!

Room Tip: Rooms (Cabana) 1 and 2 share a huge covered patio, great for a group, overlooking the ocean, great b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I have stayed at Pagua Bay House several times now. I have finished my medical school education on the island now. I would stay at Pagua for those weekend get aways. I have also stayed there with my family. The owners truly cater to your every need. If you are looking for that romantic getaway, weekend escape, Family trip, and you want to do it in style there is only one place on Dominica you should stay..... Pagua bay Hosue. From the out side they are rustic bungalows, which I loved, however it might cause some to temporize their decision but on the inside it is truly a 5 star room.

Room Tip: Room 4 is the most secluded for the couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Property is very nicely laid out, not overdone and in true island fashion. Nice open porches and uncluttered cabanas. Great bathroom and shower and it even has satellite TV. It is a bit of a Trek to the "active" side of the island but Rick and Alicia do their best to make you feel most welcomed. All meals can be had at their restaurant just up the road with an amazing view from the porch.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

My husband and I had a fantastic honeymoon at Pagua Bay, after all the madness of the wedding and a pending house move Rick and Alisha made us feel very welcome and relaxed. Nothing was too much trouble and everyone was incredibly friendly. A great time had!

Room Tip: Cabana 4 is Lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas

Address: Pagua Bay, Hatton Garden | 10 Minutes South of the Douglas-Charles Airport, Marigot, Dominica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint Andrew Parish > Marigot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marigot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10 minutes south of Douglas-Charles Airport, Dominica's newest boutique hotel integrates a simple modern aesthetic with comfortable rusticity in a stylish ocean retreat overlooking the Atlantic Ocean & Pagua Bay. All of our rooms are equipped with a clean modern design & upscale amenities; air conditioning, ceiling fans, king beds, exquisite bedding, high-end linens and over-sized bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas Hotel Marigot
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas Dominica/Marigot

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.