We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasure to have met you” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Carib Territory Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marigot
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carib Territory Guest House
Save
You added Carib Territory Guest House to your Saves list
Crayfish River | Carib Territory, Marigot, Dominica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Marigot B&B and Inns
Antigua
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a pleasure to have met you”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

Contrary to the previous review, my wife and I were very happy to have been guests at this guest house, we were impressed with the humble and honest approach by the owner and his wife and will definitely prefer to stay here again, as soon as we decide to go visit Dominica again. We offered to go on a guided tour, knowing exactly what the costs were before the car's engine started up and the price and service we agreed on BEFORE we even arrived there was exactly what we received. This also included the wireless internet connection, a gym with absolutely fabulous equipment right on the property and hospitality as if we were old friends we enjoyed the 4 days we were there. I honestly feel the previous review is malicious and meant to cause really good people unnecessary harm. We went there, not expecting much, especially not superior 5 star quality, we went for the experience it turned out to be, being able to share the kindness and love for his nation and actually received more than what we expected - the bed is only to sleep, isn't it?

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    5
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
18
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
FLorida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

Very warm and friendly people. Will do their best to make your stay comfortable.
If you wanna meet the natives of the island and see their traditional way of living and really have a Dominican experience then it's a good place to stay.
The price is very reasonable. It's not a 5 star but then you're in a small community in a 3rd world country. You get all the basic amenities and the food is great!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

The rooms were in a poor state, the mattress and pillows were dirty, if you forgot to order breakfast the night before then there was none and there is no where else to get food.
Worst of all we were stung with a 'reduced' bill of US$350 for 'guided tours' by the owner, when we did not ask for these services, expecting instead to pay a fair amount for the times we were driven to locations.

Our time in the Carib Territory was spoilt by this dishonesty of the owner who saw us as just a way to fleece extra money from us. Don't stay there. Stay outside the territory. Dominicans on the whole are honest and kind and you can get on a local bus for a few EC dollars and visit the territory that way. Most bus drivers will take you whereever you would like to go.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elm
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

I stayed in the Carib Guest House for 7 weeks (March, April 2010). A friend of mine with whom I worked together stayed for 3 weeks. We were working with the Carib people for solar and wind energy in the Carib Territory(CT). The Guesthouse has an excellent location, centrally in the CT. From the large open terrace there is a stunning view over the lush vegetation towards the Atlantic. The rooms are OK. Margret and Charles Williams are excellent cooks, even for a vegetarian like myself. The wireless Internet Connectiobn made our work much easier. Charles is a very good and knowledgable teacher about Kalinago culture. I will go back and stay in the guesthouse in the future.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwood, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2008

We had a lovely time at the Carib Territory Guest House. We didn't get to meet Charles, who was away on business, but Margaret was a warm and kind hostess. What a neat experience -- to be right in the Carib territory, within walking distance of the Kalinago Cultural Village. The people were very friendly, and the setting was natural and beautiful. Margaret and her helper, Theresa, are great cooks. And if you get hungry between meals, Paul at the snackette next door has a few snacks and drinks. You can also walk the road and buy a fresh mango or five from one of the locals. Don't forget to bring home a Kalinago basket!

The rooms are simple and some have not been completely repaired since an earthquake (nothing major, just a crack here and there). You may have to finagle the toilet. But everything is perfectly comfortable and the view is outstanding. Remember, you're not in Cancun! You will not be insulated from the local culture, you will be part of it. Most people here live very simply, and the guest house is a palace compared to the average Carib home. What's great is that the Carib Territory Guest House is just that -- a home away from home.

If you're looking for a tourist resort, don't stay here (in fact, don't go to Dominica at all). But if you're looking to experience a truly unspoiled island, to eat fresh fruit and swim in clean rivers, to meet wonderful people, there's no better place. We had an outstanding time at the and can't wait to go back.

  • Liked — The hostess, location, culture, and local people.
  • Disliked — No ocean swimming (within walking distance).
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2008

Very poorly run guesthouse - everything is falling apart, rooms in need of maintenance, furniture water damaged, everything was leaking in the bathroom. They should rent the rooms with a canoe to be able to use the bathrooms. Avoid to stay there. They charge US$60/night - which we were told is inclusive of all taxes. To our surprise, at the end of our stay, we were charged 10% Service Charge on accommodation, 10% VAT on accommodation and another 15% VAT on Service Charge......
We asked about all these taxes and the owner - Charles Williams - told us that these are taxes they have to charge even though he said that everything is included in the price when we booked. He told us he never said that. Since we were there on vacation, we left it there. There was no point into arguing about it. We were the only ones there and we realized too late that there must have been a reason for that. Too bad there were no other reviews of this place because we would have booked someplace else.

Best advice is not to go there. There are plenty of good accommodations on the island for the same price without the hidden fees. If you have to go there make sure you get the price in writing, otherwise you'll have the same surprise we had at the end of your stay.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlohotel, Owner at Carib Territory Guest House, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
you can please some of the people some of the time, you cannot please all the people all the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2008

This may have been an ok guesthouse in the past, but not anymore. The beds sag, the furniture is water damaged, the walls are cracked and need paint, the toilets run, the showers leak, the restaurant seems to only serve food occassionally, and
the killer -- the owner's wife is terribly rude to the guests. She charged an additional 10% sevice charge on top of the quoted price. Her husband too, alas, although friendly enough to talk to, seems only interested in guiding and is not forthcoming about things to do in the area - if you do them on your own, he makes no money. I know that the web site for this guesthouse makes it look good, but things have changed and it no longer is. I would say away. There are plenty of other good value guesthouses and apartments in the area that are the same price. US$60 whose owners are genuine. Try Domcan's Guesthouse in Castel Bruce instead.

  • Disliked — the owners
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carib Territory Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carib Territory Guest House

Address: Crayfish River | Carib Territory, Marigot, Dominica
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint Andrew Parish > Marigot
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Marigot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Carib Territory Guest House Dominica/Marigot

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carib Territory Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.