We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Amarilis Leon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vinales
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Amarilis Leon
Save
You added Villa Amarilis Leon to your Saves list
Salvador Cisneros #75 (calle principal)entre Adela Azcuy y Ceferino Fernandez, Vinales 22400, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 153 Vinales B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This a really great place to stay in Vinales. My friends and I spent 3 nights there and it was amazing. First of all, Amarilis is a great cook. All the meals were wonderful but the lobster was out-of-this-world! The rooms are clean and the location is perfect. It is right in the centre of Vinales, close to shops, bars, the bus stop and casa de musica, You can hear the salsa in the evenings. It feels amazing to just sit in a rocking chair on the front porch and watch the life go by.
All of the family are very friendly. Alvaro, the son, speaks English and French and is a great guide around the Vinales valley. We went on a 6 hour hike and it was very informative: we saw caves, tobacco farmers at work and had a chance to make sugar cane juice.
Overall, this place has an authentic Cuban feel to it and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
22
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

It was a great accommodation! The room was clean. Our dinner and breakfast were excellent and you should have hunger, one if the best meals while my Cuba tour. After this experience I would recommend to have such experience and living by a family. Our host was realy nice, we had really great 2 nights there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The villa was beautiful. I loved it because it gave a sense of the real Cuba, not just the main tourist hotspots. It's a very unique and interesting place and I'd definitely go again and again.
There was a lot to see and the people were great. There was a real sense of culture, the Cuban culture is beautiful and experiencing it in such an amazing village really brought the culture alive.
There's a lot to see around where the villa is located. Coffee farms were great. The mountains and hillsides made for great scenery,
The food was awesome! At the Villa, we got a real Cuban breakfast with the most delicious guava juice, I dont think I could ever forget it.
In total, it's the best place I've ever been to!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuba
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Excellent food, nice people, talkative, quite, clean, cool place!!!
They took us to historic and interesting places in Viñales, there is a marvelous nightclub nearby and Internet service included.

Room Tip: Villa Amarilis
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Amarilis Leon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Amarilis Leon

Address: Salvador Cisneros #75 (calle principal)entre Adela Azcuy y Ceferino Fernandez, Vinales 22400, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Pinar del Rio Province > Vinales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Vinales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alvaro and Amarilis’s family home is colonial style. They give a warm welcome to travelers worldwide with a fresh fruits cocktail in season, in a natural, friendly and hospitable environment. Alvaro speaks fluent French and English, enabling you to enjoy a better stay. This house is located in the Viñales Valley, exactly in the center of the town. It is about 50m from the main square, the lovely church, the travel agents and trade centers. Its safety and comfort are excellent. "Villa Alvaro and Amarilis" offers two air-conditioned rooms for rent, with private baths, inside and outside terraces, a balcony with a panoramic view over the city and parking service. On this site you can enjoy excellent cocktails and Cuban cigars. Amarilis has a passion, its peculiar cooking! She will offers varied menus of delicious breakfasts and dinners. The hosts also organize guided tours to visit the mogotes (famous mountains around Viñales), tobacco plantations, caves, beaches and natural pools. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Amarilis Leon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.