We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Casa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa El Porry

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vinales
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa El Porry
Calle Salvador Cisnero | near the Sala de Rehabilitacion on Calle del Policlinico, Vinales, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 149 Vinales B&B and Inns
Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A Special Casa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed at El Porry's for four nights in early February. This casa is special. It is on the edge of town(10 minutes from the Viazul stop)which makes for peaceful sleeps and grand vistas. Porry met us as we got off the bus and had a car and driver there to take us to his casa. We arrived there to be greeted by Lila and a plate of fresh fruit, just the right touch after a three hour bus ride from Habana. Our room was spacious and clean with a well stocked fridge-- water, refrescos and beer. The bathroom was modern and a good size with a shower that had nice warm water. We ate both breakfast and suppers at the casa and we were always impressed by the great food Lila prepared. We especially loved her bean soup. The view from the rooftop terrace is amazing and the dipping pool is a special treat on a hot day after exploring the valley. Porry can arrange any kind of tour you want and always with a smile. Porry. Lila, Juan and the other staff provide great service. It was definitely a home away from home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
87
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We did not book in advance, simply showed up late afternoon. The casa was booked, but porrie found us a room across the street with his family. Food here was the best we had in Cuba. Super friendly, definetly the place to go in vinales. Going back next year, going to stay 7 days. We were Only at this casa for 2 nights of our 16 day trip and wish we'd stayed the whole time here.
Thank you Porry!
Joanne and Patrick.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a place to call Home!!. The house and the food is excellent, even if you dont stay at this house, please book a meal with them, you will be amazed.... El Porry and his wife Lila are very nice people..very friendly.

As soon as we arrived we felt welcome. We arrived at sunset and the place was easy to find. Roof top terrace with the pool, lounge chairs over looking the mogotes. The mounitains.

The room we stayed at was well-kept and clean. Whenever we needed anything, help was a short call away. The neighbourhood is quiet, so we slept well during the night or at siesta time.
The casa owners also ensured we had our privacy whenever we were in our room. Our room felt like a place we could call our own. Having come with a plan to visit certain places around Vinales, we were glad to be able to learn additional information about the area, the way of life and places to visit, from the casa owners. We were also able organized horseback riding tour of the nearby farms and caves. Our stay there was one of many in our road trip around Cuba, but we wish we could have stayed there longer. Next time, we are definitely staying more time at the casa .

Overall, a very pleasant experience!

Please be aware that due to the internet problem in Cuba El Porry can only check 1 time a day. Give him at least 3 or 4 days to answer your reservation.
email: porri@correodecuba.cu
53-5-829-1881
53-5-331-1744

Room Tip: Host speak English.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We enjoyed very much our stay at casa El Porry, in mid December 2012. The location is where you want to be in Vinalles, enjoying the breakfast with the view of the tobacco fields. The food is the best we tried in Cuba, try the camarones (large shrimps) or the langostina (lobster). He also arranged a guide for us (Jasmine, great guide, fluent english, interesting stories to share about Vinalles and the surroundings) to do the typical Vinalles horse riding sight seeing (caves, tobacco fields) - we definitelly recommend it.
Vaida and Grigoris

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We went for dinner at this Casa. As we are vegetarians, we emailed him before to ask if it was possible to accomodate us as we heard being vegetarian is difficult in Cuba.

Not expecting much, we were suprised on how welcoming Porri and his family were and what a lovely spread they provided for us. They made quite a few things and it was very tasty and the portions were very generous and we were unable to finish it all. We had dinner on the roof terrace of the Casa.

Porri showed us around his Casa and our only regret was not staying there as we had already booked a hotel as part of our package. We would highly recommend this Casa for its location and stunning views at night and most of all the hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteli, Nicaragua
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Our 3 weeks in Cuba led us to conclude that the Porry family's warmth and generosity made our trip better than we expected it to be. This is a nice and quiet place. It is located less than 7 minutes easy walk form the shops in the city center. Regards, Wendy, Okko and Ronald

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Petersbourg, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed at this casa for 3 nights in mid-November 2012 and really enjoyed it!

Actually I can't even think of a better location in Vinales - situated on the 'outskirts' of this quiet small town, Casa El Porry offers a great view of the valley and famous mogotes from its terrace. Yet it's just a couple of minutes from the main street of Vinales.

Porry and Lila were really amiable and did their best to make us feel comfortable. Porry kindly explained us where were the main sights to see and organized a horseback riding trip for us which came out to be one of the best experiences during our whole visit to Cuba.

The rooms were nice and clean and the homemade meals were vast and delicious. The hosts would willingly cook a dinner for you according to your own tastes: beef, chicken, lobsters, camarones, whatever you wish. It was relaxing just to sit there at the rooftop sipping a mojito or daiquiri in the evening.

All in all, we had a great time at this place! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa El Porry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa El Porry

Address: Calle Salvador Cisnero | near the Sala de Rehabilitacion on Calle del Policlinico, Vinales, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Pinar del Rio Province > Vinales
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Vinales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa El Porry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Casa El Porry to your Saves list