We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Food. Beautiful House and the Best Host we can ask for!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Particular Ridel y Claribel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vinales
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Particular Ridel y Claribel
Save
You added Casa Particular Ridel y Claribel to your Saves list
Salvador Cisnero (Pasaje B), 203 C, Vinales 22400, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 153 Vinales B&B and Inns
South Pole
1 review
“Amazing Food. Beautiful House and the Best Host we can ask for!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Note: contact Ridel at his new Email: Ridel326 [at] gmail.com Or his Phone Number: +53 48 695127 or cell: +53 01 58233677

Amazing Food. Beautiful House and the Best Host we can ask for!! We really enjoyed our times here. Coming into Vinales, we didn't speak much spanish. Ridel helped us arranged everything during our entire 3-day stay. a horse riding trip to the valley (amazing), a trip to the beach in a 1950s Chevy (loved it) and even helped us reserved our return bus tickets ahead of time before it's fully booked. Claribel & her mom (Maria) also prepared us sandwiches to bring to the beach.

loved every minute of our stay here in Vinales. Thank you for the wonderful hospitality Ridel! Be sure to ask to taste the Pork steak for dinner! It's so tender & juicy, seriously the best food I've had in Cuba. Ridel is a doctor, his wife Claribel is a dentist. both are very well educated. Ridel speaks great english, so communication isn't too much of a problem. When you come, if possible, bring some some items like soap, shampoo, bodywash, toothpaste for them. it's very expensive to acquire these things in Cuba. And they'll appreciate these things very much!

Their young daughter Laura, is very warm, outgoing and smart. be sure to teach her few words in your own language, she's a quick learner! Will come back in the future, we'll definitely miss this place! Thanks Ridel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ridel326, Propietario at Casa Particular Ridel y Claribel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
It is a pleasure to read, these words, can't imagine how miss them while we remember, those special moments spent in our home, with this assessment requires us to be better everyday, and at the same time is recognized the sacrifice of our work, once more we thank and it has been a great pleasure having them known
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
68
266
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I would recommend this Casa Particular for a number of reasons. Ridel and Claribel are wonderful, warm, friendly hosts. They made sure our stay was very enjoyable. We had everything we needed!

They arranged for a knowledgeable, local guide to hike with us through the beautiful Vinales valley. The day hiking was one of the highlights of our 30 days in Cuba. We discovered a 'picture' at every turn, from the oxen pulling the plow to the tobacco farmers transplanting their tobacco. It was an amazing five hours!

The meals here were delicious, including the lunch they had prepared for our hike. I would recommend eating at this Casa, if you can. The bedroom we stayed in was very nice, with a fridge, our own bathroom (super clean!), private entrance and everything you need.

My husband and I found the location excellent for exploring the area. We were able to easily walk down town, yet were far enough away to enjoy the country side. We had a private bathroom that was very clean. We really enjoyed talking with Ridel and learned more about Cuba. This Casa was one of our favourite stops in Cuba. The lovely roof top terrace was a great place to relax! We left the Casa feeling like we had new friends.

When you are looking for this place be sure to drive past the Farmers Market near the bakery. Everyone in town seems to know and like Ridel and Claribel and are more than happy to help point the way. You will enjoy your stay with this lovely family!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ridel326, Propietario at Casa Particular Ridel y Claribel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hello friends
It's great to hear from you also help us with this, and at the same time make our work better every day, people like you are unforgettable, here they always want
Thank you very much for the recognition of our work and for choosing our home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I liked very much my stay at Ridel and Claribel's casa. A warm and family atmosphere while enjoying a 5 star service! They have always been very helpful during the stay providing with all you could hope for in terms of food (very very good and tasty food, one of the best we tested in Cuba, perfect mojitos and pina coladas!), excursions to discover Vinales or visit a tobacco farm .... Rooms are very clean and the house is charming with a very nice terrace and a great view where you can have a good and fresh breakfast ! I'm very glad to have met and stayed at Ridel & Claribel's casa ! Very nice and interesting people ! Thanks a lot !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ridel326, Propietario at Casa Particular Ridel y Claribel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your beautiful criticism, is very important to us to have known and at the same time recognize the sacrifice of putting their views on the web site, since we understand the daily work they have, your opinion makes us be every day more professional, try to please and respect more guests, we will always remember them and we are eternally grateful. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay in this casa, I frankly enjoyed the best food in Cuba there. Rooms are clean, hot water, mini bar, very much above what we had in Havana. The family that hosted us is simply so authentic, and so pleasing. We had much luck in being their guests, and I will come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ridel326, Propietario at Casa Particular Ridel y Claribel, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Hello friends
We thank infinitely so cute gesture of writing a review for us on this website, it is important for us and other visitors to the site, we like you we are very, very pleased with your stay in our home, and always remember, thanks once again this makes us strive to be better every day with our clients
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Ridel y Claribel's casa, and it's been a very nice cuban experience. Amid amazing food and cocktails, clean place, great surroundings, good location, the family's welcoming is very warm and discussions are enthralling. Ridel has very good advice, don't hesitate to trust him. We even became emotional when we had to leave...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ridel326, Propietario at Casa Particular Ridel y Claribel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Hello dear friends
Thank you very much for writing such nice review, spectacular, I hope we always remember the three are wonderful are very good people infinitely happy we have had them as guests and we hope in future to return to Cuba and our new home, know that they have friends here, many greetings and good luck too, thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We have never tried to stay in a Casa Particulare before coming to Cuba, and I think Ridel met two very nervous norwegians that did not know what to expect from this beautiful little town so far from Havana. We understood quite early that even though there where many nice and beautiful Casas in Vinales, even the people who lived in the city thought Ridel and Claribels house was the best. After being in Havana we where a bit sceptical with what to expect from the rom standar, bathroom and so on, and got pleasently surprised to se our room with all that we needed just like in a hotel.
We stayed there for 4 days and Ridel guided us trough what we should see and what to do. The indian caves, two days horseback riding with a fantastic tourguide Jasmani that we met at a locak salsa place the day after. a fantastic trip to the island where they have the most lovely beach, and the best mojito in the ehole Cuba! We got to try out three different tobacco hasiendas from the small local to the official Cohiba tobacco farm. and we even got the chance to get a salsa dancing course, but had to say no at the very last minute because there was so much to do so we could not find the time. The family took great care of us, cooking lovely dinners, fantastic mojhitos, and delicious fresh pressed juice. To have the chance of living in a house like this, with the most spectacular view, a beautiful roof terrace that we where so lucky relax and to eat dinner under the stars at night. We loved that the house was so close to the city, not far to walk from the bus station, and we also liked that we where welcome like a family, with Ridel and Claribel doing their best to hjelp us having the best trip of our lives. We do recommand that you stay in this casa, and we also recommand that you have at least 3-4 nights here if you like the nature, the food and the tranquility that the people in Vinales have. We whent to 4 different places in Cuba, and this is the place we want to travel back to! From Eli and Kjetil, Norway (ps. The next time we will bring our daughter too, she would love to Get to know your daughter, and just to have a field trip up in the mountains or riding horses. A very family friendly city to visit! )

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ridel326, Propietario at Casa Particular Ridel y Claribel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
It is a pleasure to read, these words, can't imagine how miss them while we remember, those special moments spent in our home, with this assessment requires us to be better everyday, and at the same time is recognized the sacrifice of our work, once more we thank and it has been a great pleasure having them known
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Deutschland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Ridel and Claribel's Casa is the best place to stay in Vinales. They have two rooms to rent, both have their own entries and look bright new. They have ensuite bathrooms and a refrigerator. The rooms are newly painted in very tasteful colours with beautiful pictures of the scenery of Vinales. The choices and prices of the drinks in the Minibar are very reasonable and Claribel makes a fanstastic Mojito which is best enjoyed on their rooftop terrace, overlooking the beautiful valley of Vinales.
On top of rnting out these perfect rooms, Ridel and Claribel are the most amazing hosts. They are so friendly, courteous and helpful. Their daughter Laura showed us the local tobacco and coffee farm, Ridel organized trips for us and picked us up from the bus station and Claribel cooked up a feast for us every night.
What I liked best here and what distinguished their house from all the other houses we stayed in in Cuba, was their naturally friendly and open behaviour. We had some very interesting conversations with them about Cuba and they truely helped us understand the country a lot better. Stay here when you are in Vinales, you won't regret it! Thanks again, Ridel and Claribel, we loved staying with you!

Room Tip: Both rooms are equally nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ridel326, Propietario at Casa Particular Ridel y Claribel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Hello Dear Friends
For us was a privilege to have them, YOUR REVIEW IS VERY BEAUTIFUL, EVERY DAY MORE Strive for giving better service to our guests, thanks to God in the world there are people like you, warm, honest and values, our family is very grateful AND NOW SINCE WE WISH YOU A HAPPY NEW YEAR AND A NEW YEAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Particular Ridel y Claribel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Particular Ridel y Claribel

Address: Salvador Cisnero (Pasaje B), 203 C, Vinales 22400, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Pinar del Rio Province > Vinales
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Vinales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside of it just 5 minutes walking to downtown, offers 2 rooms for rent, independent, grills and windows with high security, with the following characteristics1ST Room: located on the first floor, balcony, separate entrance, 2 large beds for 4 persons, mini bar, fan, air conditioning, indoor bathroom with hot and cold water.2ND ROOM: First floor, independent within the home, indoor bathroom with hot and cold water, 2 beds, one large and one staff, up to 3 people, fan, air conditioning, and the possibility of enjoying a large terrace on the 2nd floorThe owners are persons, responsible, honest, and professional (doctors) in the house speak the English language.Laundry services are offered, cocteleria, guides to organize different excursions to the National Park, including visits to snuff and coffee plantations with stories and examples of the same processThe most important is the relationship between the visitor and the native, so in this way may prove healthy and sweet Viñalera peasant family, traditions and customsWe invite you to meet us, come MY HOUSE IS YOUR HOUSE ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Particular Ridel y Claribel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.