We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time at Leonel y Amarilis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Leonel et Amarilis

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vinales
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Leonel et Amarilis
Save
You added Casa Leonel et Amarilis to your Saves list
Rafael Trejo (interior) 7H, Vinales 22400, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 157 Vinales B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Santiago, Chile
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great time at Leonel y Amarilis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Very charming couple with great disposition towards your needs. It's a clean place in a second floor with it's own terrace, A/C, minibar. Amarilis is a great cook who prepares excellent tipical cuban meals at your choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
71
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My partner (pregnant) and I had a fantastic time in Viñalea at Leonel and Amarilis' house. We went to several casa particular but it was by far the best for us. Leonel and Amarilis were very welcoming, always here to help and recommend things to do or place to visit. Food was excellent! Bedroom and bathroom are clean. I would recommend this casa particular to everyone going to Viñales.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pristina, null, Kosovo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Our stay with Leonel and Amaralis in Vinales was easily the highlight of our two week trip to Cuba. Their casa came highly recommended by friends and we were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived, we were struck by their warmth, friendliness and generosity. They welcomed us into their home as if we were part of their family and took excellent care of us. Amarilis's food is delicious and always came in large quantities and Leonel makes the best mojitos in Cuba! The rooms are upstairs with a separate entrance and a terrace with a gorgeous view of the lush green countryside. You can come and go as you please due to the separate entrance which means that both the family and the guests do not disturb each other. Leonel provided us with all the advice we needed regarding what activities we could do in Vinales (such as horse riding, trips to the beach, hiking etc) and went out of his way to get us good prices and even accompanied us to the bus station to get tickets. Their son, Jose, is a talented dancer and painter and provides really fun salsa classes for guests. He and his friends were also wonderful friendly people who were happy to show us around Vinales. All in all, it was the perfect stay- os echamos de menos Leonel, Amarilis and Jose!! Sarah

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed with Leonel and Amarilis in May 2013 and it really was the highlight of our trip to Cuba. They are extremely hospitable hosts and are genuinely warm and friendly. Leonel organised everything for us and all of his suggestions were excellent. Amarilis is an amazing cook and the mojitos are made with love. Jose and his friends were also very welcoming and we really felt like we were in a home away from home. We stayed with Leonel's friends in their casas for the remainder of the trip and they were also excellent. Cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pristina, Kosovo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We can confidently say this was the finest Casa experience – A highlight of our trip!! Room/bathroom were perfect (airconditioning was a welcome luxury). Fabulous food. Best of all though, A & L were so hospitable, welcoming & genuine. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We cant wait to go back and share another rum and cigar on the rooftop with A & L before too long ;)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hove
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at Casa Leonel and Amaryllis in April 2013 and had a great time - the room was nice and comfortable and the view from the veranda outside was lovely. Leonel and Amarilis wre rally friendly and welcoming - thy provided great food and arranged two excellent trips for us, one horseriding through the hills around Vinales (we don't ride - but the horses were well behaved and easy to ride), one a trip to a beautiful beach in a 50s American car. Really great experience - very much recommend Leonel and Amarilis..Nick and Linda

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Leonel and Amarilis are natural gorgeous hosts. They went out of their way to make sure I was looked after several times throughout the day, but because the rooms are on the roof terrace (with a beautiful view of the mountains), I never felt as though they or I were intruding on each other's personal time and space. They were charming, warm, funny and aimed to keep their guests happy, safe and getting the best bargains out of their travels. I was advised several times on ways to save money with my future travel plans and was helped by Leonel with bus reservations - they continually went above and beyond what I experienced with any other casa, but in a way that was always comfortable, natural and friendly. I recommend this place (despite the nearby pig, rooster, goat and dog noises that become a part of your early mornings) as the loveliest place I stayed in during my whole Cuba trip. Enjoy! Gracias, Leonel y Amarilis. Hola Robert & Jose!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Leonel et Amarilis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Leonel et Amarilis

Address: Rafael Trejo (interior) 7H, Vinales 22400, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Pinar del Rio Province > Vinales
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Vinales
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Leonel et Amarilis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.