We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Birthday and Christmas I will never forget, truly increadible!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Oscar

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vinales
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Oscar
Adela Azcuy | # 43, Vinales 22400, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 149 Vinales B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Birthday and Christmas I will never forget, truly increadible!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We came to Vinales for two weeks to rock climb over Christmas. We stayed at Oscar's casa for 12 nights and had a fantastic time. We were given a room on the top floor with a balcony that caught the evening sun, a great place to chill out in the rocking chairs with one of Oscar's homemade Mojitos. The food was fantastic throughout the 12 nights and Oscar and his wife made sure we never had the same meat 2 nights in a row. Lobster, pork, beef, chicken and various types of fish are all on the menu. A birthday cake was even produced for my special day.
Oscar will also organise taxis for your days out if required and knows a lot of people around town who can guide walks, horse rides or climbing. If you get the chance you can't do much better than staying with Oscar.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
13
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We came to Cuba to rock climb and experience a new culture and absolutely loved our stay in Vinales with Oscar and his family.
Our cottage was comfortable and immaculate. Breakfast and dinner was delicious and healthful, with plenty of it.
Sadly our Spanish is poor; it would have been nice to have had more elaborate discussions!

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage behind Oscar's brother's house. Very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Unbelievable experience...Oscar and his family are over the top amazing...everything about the experience was top shelf...the most desirable casa particular in Vinales...the food was beyond expectations, fresh fruit with every meal, lobster, fresh pork (as in alive that morning), friendly, accommodating, helpful, and if you have any interest in adventure activities, Oscar's place is the hub...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

A group of us from Canada went to Vinales to rock climb and we stayed with Oscar and his family. It was perfect! The rooms were great, the family was super friendly and the food was great. It's a very social and fun place to stay. Would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: We had the room up on top with a balcony. It was really nice to chill and have a beer there in the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

We were guided to Casa Oscars by another casa owner. Once we got to his place, we realized that he was actually listed in our guidebook. Casa Oscar is close to downtown Vinales. There is a courtyard/living area down a sidewalk off of the street. Oscar was very friendly and happy to have us. We stayed in a small but comfortable room. It was on the second floor so we had a very nice warp around balcony. While we didn't eat at the casa, the guidebook said that the food at Oscar's is excellent. After checking the menus at most of the restaurants in downtown Vinales, I would suggest trying out the food at the casa. The family was very friendly as we came and went. Oscar set us up with a guide for a hike to the caves which ended up being one of the funniest and best experiences on our whole trip. If you're going to do a hike or rock climb, ask Oscar to call Adrian. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leydisbel, Owner at Casa Oscar, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Winning the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence is a true source of pride for the entire team at Casa Oscar and we’d like to thank you for taking his time to complete a review on TripAdvisor.
Thanks a lot Oscar and Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Oscar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Oscar

Address: Adela Azcuy | # 43, Vinales 22400, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Pinar del Rio Province > Vinales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Vinales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Casa Particular in Viñales is exceptional. The house, amenities, and particularly the food are excellent, but, once again, it is the family of Oscar Jaime Rodriguez and Leyda Robaina Arteaga that become your hosts, friends, and protectors. The Jaimes and Robainas families envelope you you with love and joy. The compound of several houses include grandparents, brothers, sisters, nieces, nephews, and cousins. There are so many familly members that one must set aside time for daily Cuban ritual of shaking hands with each man and kissing all women and girls. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Oscar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Casa Oscar to your Saves list