We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great casa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Villa Silvia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vinales
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Villa Silvia
Rafael Trejo #9, Vinales, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 149 Vinales B&B and Inns
As, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great casa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

As we arrived, Silvia's daughter was waiting up at the bus terminal. 5 minutes walk to the casa.
Casa was very clean and cosy. Perfect for a stay at vinales. Breakfast & Diner is very good and home made.
Silvia speaks only Spanish, but she knows what her clients need if they ask her a question. Very good price/quality!

Room Tip: When you're in Vinales ask for Nick at the bookshop. You have Nick who's friendly to guide y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
84
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
co,durham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We recently returned from our first trip to Cuba and mainly stayed in casa particulars and Casa Villa Silvia was a great choice after reading TA reviews. We don't speak Spanish and neither do the hosts (mainly mother and daughter although there was always other family members around) but this didn't cause any major problems, just a few laughs as we exchanged hand signs and played guessing games for the correct word! The casa is very welcoming, in a quiet street with quite a few other others that rented out rooms, and the room was large and clean with its own fridge and bathroom, although the water pressure was limited, and this was something we found during our stays at other casas around Cuba. Food was very good and certainly excellent value and the hosts arranged a wonderful horse trail to a tobacco farm at short notice and are happy to help arrange other types of trips around the Vinales area. We had to leave the casa very early on the day of our departure, but "mother" was up to make our breakfast and see us off to the bus station with a smile and a wave! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: choose the room at the back of the house, the other room is in the centre of the family living area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We spent 2 nights here and this was our first experience of staying in a casa in Cuba. I only had a bit of Spanish which was useful but by no means essential. She and her family were very warm and welcoming. We stayed at the room at the back which was large and clean with air conditioning and a fridge. The water pressure wasn't great but that was OK. They also have a parrot which adds to the charm but is naturally prone to a few noisy outbursts, although it didn't happen at night. The breakfast was good and ate dinner here on the second night, realising we should have done the same for the first night too!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was a wonderful Casa to stay at, We needed two rooms as we were two families traveling together. Both rooms were clean and comfortable. We ate breakfast and dinner at the Casa both days we stayed there and the food was fantastic, as were the cocktails!
Silvia and her family were very hospitable and welcoming to their home. I would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: The room separate to the house through the courtyard is a bigger room and away from the morning nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My 3 days at Villa Silvia were great! I was welcomed at the Viazul bus station by a smiling Maritza who was always very joyful and helpful during all my staying there. I had my dinners at the house every night (excellent lobster and "chuleta"). I recommend it! Also the breakfast was very nice with tasteful sweet tortillas, in addition to fruits, eggs and juice! Very clean room and perfectly functioning bathroom facilities. Silvia was also very helpful in organizing great salsa lessons for me and my day-trips (I had two very interesting trekking days in the area around). You will enjoy staying here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in February. Silvia's was not our first choice, but that was only because she spoke no English, and we do not speak Spanish; however, it was not a problem as we got by with gestures and a few phrases, and Silvia's son spoke English. The casa is immaculate, and was the cleanest casa we stayed in during our month-tour; the food was consistently excellent (especially the breakfast); and the family were very friendly throughout. The casa is close to all amenities in a road that runs parallel to the main street, so you don't get traffic noise. There are two rooms, one attached to the house, and one in a self-contained annexe in their courtyard.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We've literally just returned from a 2 week holiady in Cuba and Vinales, and Casa Villa Silvia was definitely a highlight. We were met from the Viazul bus station with a sign and umbrellas in a torrential downpour and enjoyed 2 warm and friendly nights at the house. The room is large and the bathroom well equipped and clean. Silvia and her family were very welcoming, even though they speak little English and we spoke little Spanish. They helped us to book a horse riding tour and cooked us the most delicious food. The best place we stayed in Cuba :-) We'd both recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Villa Silvia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Villa Silvia

Address: Rafael Trejo #9, Vinales, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Pinar del Rio Province > Vinales
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Vinales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Villa Silvia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Casa Villa Silvia to your Saves list