We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Share real life of a Cuban family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Marilyn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vinales
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa de Marilyn
Save
You added Casa de Marilyn to your Saves list
Calle primera, No. 4B, entre A y B, reparto La Carbonera | (Behind he hospital), Vinales, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 152 Vinales B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Share real life of a Cuban family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

A small house in a quiet street of Vinales, where you are welcomed as if you were at home by Marilyn and her family. Enjoy speaking with her (her English is excellent) of life in Cuba, enjoy her great dinners at very reasonable price (lobster included), enjoy resting in a rocking chair on the terrace, enjoy a hikin tour with Fernando around the mogotes. Definitely a good place to stay in Vinales.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    11
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
176
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Casa de Marilyn in Vinales and we were completely impressed by every aspect of our stay.I cannot say enough good things about this Casa. Marilyn and her husband Adel were very organized, friendly and welcoming.The room was super clean and the food was so delicious. The Casa is in a perfect location and if you have a rental car, don't worry because they have parking.

Marilyn speaks English very well, so don't miss the chance to enjoy the conversation with her about Cuba.


Marilyn arranged a 4 hour horseback riding trip to the valley which was an amazing experience that you should not miss if you are visiting Vinales.

We would definitely come back to stay with you again.

If you are visiting Vinales don't hesitate to stay at Casa de Marilyn and to book your room directly casamarilyn@correodecuba.cu

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Marilyn and Adel don't just welcome you into their home, but also into their family. They have two lovely children and a beautiful home. Marilyn's cooking is outstanding. The room is great, very clean, bright and airy when you need it to be with great shutters that block out a lot of the noise from the local roosters in the mornings. I would recommend them without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Staying at Marilyn's house was one of the highlights of our vacation. We were only there one night - I wish we had stayed longer! Marilyn speaks really good English and is willing to help organize cars and horse rides if you need her to. She put us in touch with a guy called Miguel who took us on our favorite activity of the trip - a 4 hour horse ride through the tobacco fields and valleys. The food she cooked for us at night was probably one of the best meals I had so I definitely recommend getting the lobster! The room is super clean and spacious and I liked that she had 2 beds which was unusual for casas. Marilyn is super organized and really runs the accommodation well so you are definitely in good hands. Definitely recommend Casa de Marilyn for anyone passing through Vinales. You can email her at casamarilyn@correodecuba.cu to book directly. Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Marilyn and Adels casa was a great first stop outside havana on our 3 week holiday in Cuba. You will receive a great wecome from Marilyn(who speaks very good english) and her family at this lovely casa ( there is only one room so book early!) which is well situated just 5 minutes away from the main road. Nice and quiet; we loved sitting outside the front of the house watching the 'world go by' in the street, the vultures flying overhead and the beautiful countryside in the distance. The food was brilliant and plentiful. Marilyn( who is a Beatles fan!) can fix you up with walks into the countryside, salsa lessons etc. We went out walking with Francisco(he speaks good english) who knows so much about birds and the local fauna and flora.The walk was one of the highlights of our time in Cuba and and we would highly recommend it if you want to do more than just go for a walk. We went out once for an evening meal and found El Oliva on the high street to be an excellent restaurant . If you are going to Vinales this is the casa to try and book first- you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The Casa Marilyn was a great choice to spend a few days in Vinales. Has a perfect location (not in the main street, but not far away, so very good) and great view to the mountains from the roof terrace. The owners Marilyn and her husband Adel were great hosts, the food was also delicious. No hesitation in recommending. Thank you for everything.
Very easy to book in that way:casamarilynatcorreodecubadotcu

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I visited Cuba in July last year and have been meaning to sign up to Trip Advisor to share my feedback on my holiday but have only just managed to do so!

I echo the feedback below, Marilyn and her family were absolutely fantastic, by far the best casa we have ever stayed in! I was surprised at how welcome we were made to feel, incredible kindness right from the very start!

My husband and I don't speak spanish but it wasn't a problem - Marilyn's English is top knotch!

I recommend that you eat at the casa - tast meals and huge portions - you can't beat home cooking like this! my husband and I couldn't resist having the delicious lobster every day, the sauce she it is cooked in is superb, would highly recommend. And those beans - you don't come across them in London much but they were incredibly tasty!

Marylin was more than happy to organise the pony treking, walking tour and salsa lessons that I had heard other travellers recommend - all fantastic - get involved if you go to Vinales. Even for someone like me who doesn't like horses, the horse treking is very easy as the horses know the way off by heart so just sit and enjoy the beautiful scenery!

Vinales in July was incredibly humid, so appreciated the air conditioning in the room, and the well stocked supply of cold drinks in the mini bar!! Room, bathroom and casa in general is very clean and tidy! Very comfortable.

There is nothing negative i can say about Marylin's casa, just a perfect stay, great value and a great experience.

Marylin really is an increible host, she made such a difference to our trip to Vinales. If we ever come back to Vinales we would not hesitate to stay at this casa agin! Her and her family are warm and welcoming, they make such a fabulous family!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa de Marilyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Marilyn

Address: Calle primera, No. 4B, entre A y B, reparto La Carbonera | (Behind he hospital), Vinales, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Pinar del Rio Province > Vinales
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Vinales
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La casa de Marilyn es una casa muy agradable, localizada en un sitio tranquilo, dos cuadras a la izquierda detrás del policlínico de Viñales; situación privilegiada por su cercanía al centro y también al Valle Palmarito , uno de los más hermosos del Parque Nacional Viñales; escenario principal para el desarrollo de la escalada deportiva en Viñales. La casa tiene modelo Bungalow, ha sido diseñada y construida por el dueño. En ella se destaca el arte: escultura, pintura y el trabajo en madera. Posee una relajante vista a los mogotes desde el balcón, donde el visitante puede disfrutar de la pura brisa sentado en los tradicionales sillones; un amplio jardín rodea el recinto. La habitación de huéspedes es mediana con dos camas grandes, aire acondicionado, dos ventiladores de pared, clóset, espejo, refrigerador y amplios ventanales de madera y cristal. Posee además un baño con agua caliente y fría las 24 horas. Confort y seguridad son garantizados. Esta casa es muy conocida por sus servicios gastronómicos donde se ofertan deliciosas cenas y desayunos, ricos en vegetales y frutas procedentes de la finca del padre de Marilyn, idóneo para personas vegetarianas. Entre la coctelería se distingue el Mojito de Adel. La familia está compuesta por 4 miembros: Adel, Marilyn y los niños Yadel y Gissel. Un rasgo distintivo de esta pareja es su profesionalidad, ambos son profesores, poseen una cultura general integral, la cual les permite dar un trato especial a los huéspedes. Marilyn habla fluidamente el idioma ingles, le brinda al cliente una amplia información sobre diferentes temas, puede organizar las actividades al visitante con la finalidad de proporcionarle una estancia placentera. Actividades tales como: * Escalada deportiva en los mogotes de valle. * Trekking por los mogotes. * Viajes a cuevas. * Paseos a caballo. * Excursiones en bicicletas. * Clases de salsa, español * Excursiones a la playa en el Chevrolet(1948) de la familia. * Masajes terapéuticos. * Entre otros... Visítenos si quiere sentirse como en su propia casa, compartiendo lo mejor con una típica familia cubana ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de Marilyn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.