We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dissapointed with how they handled my reservation” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Yolanda y Tomas Mederos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vinales
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Yolanda y Tomas Mederos
Save
You added Casa Yolanda y Tomas Mederos to your Saves list
Calle Camilo Cienfuegos 52 | Calle Camilo Cienfuegos 52, Vinales 22400, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 158 Vinales B&B and Inns
berkeleyb
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very dissapointed with how they handled my reservation”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I gave this place a glowing review after my visit last year (See Nov 25 2012) and I couldn't wait to get back there when I returned to Cuba this year. I was in Havana for work but found Tomas and Yolanda's house to be so relaxing and delightful that I decided to take a weekend to get some work done on their lovely patio. I'd even thought to bring a gift for their family from the U.S.. I booked my reservation in their house a few weeks out and confirmed my arrival time the day before I arrived, so you can imagine my shock and disappointment that when I arrived in Vinales, Tomas had sent his sister to pick me up and take me to her house instead, because Tomas had another reservation (for a larger group, i.e., more lucrative) in his house. I was stunned. His sister was very kind and welcoming and understanding of my disappointment but Tomas's story about what had happened to my reservation changed a few times and he didn't accept any accountability. I do think he genuinely couldn't comprehend why I was upset - he kept saying "Her house is just like my house!" It wasn't just like his house (her patio was under construction), but that wasn't the point.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
odalys m, daughter of the house at Casa Yolanda y Tomas Mederos, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Hello rebecca, It's a pity totally that happened in Vinales, Cuba. You remembered that you stayed in a casa-particular in havanna that we don't know. Rebecca you said to the lady in havanna that she make a telephonecall to yolanda and tomas in Vinales for a reservation. The answer of my parents to her is that the house is occupid the month april completely.My parents explain to her when you come to Vinales we can organise other casa-particular and that is the house of my aunt isabel. That is what we explain to the lady in Havanna but she changed the words and we can understand very well your reacion and she lied to you. My father tomas trie to
explain the whole situation but you were a litle bit upset but i can understand your reacion.
It's not true that their are a great group in the house at that time only two persons and they made their resevation a lot before and we respect every reservation that is made. For my family one person is equal like four or five. The most important thing is respect and honesty. I feel sorry for what has happened. The lady in havanna was not honest with you. Yours Sincerely, Odalys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    14
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
33
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very friendly and caring people and nice atmosphere, they let you spend time in peace if you want to but are always willing to talk or help in any issues. The food was good, basic cuban food. The garden was peaceful and sunny with beautiful hummingbirds.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
odalys m, hija de la casa at Casa Yolanda y Tomas Mederos, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hello tiina, thank you very very much for your beautiful opinion of our guesthouse. We are very pleased that you liked your stay in our house. We always like to do everything right for our guests.
We wish you good luck and the most important, a good health for the future.
Thank you very much again.

Kind regards, family Mederos-Padron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I really cannot understand the excellent/very good ratings of this casa.

The room was cleaned, but it smelled strangely. The ceiling is wet and it is molding in the room. There needs to be some repair and renovation done in the room! Basic daily room service which is standard in all other casas we had does not go without saying.

We had ordered dinner before our arrival. It was ok, but nothing more. The breakfast was as well ok, but we had much better food in many other casas.

All in all, we had much better casas for 25 CUC/night!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
odalys m, hija de la casa at Casa Yolanda y Tomas Mederos, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Google Translation
hola lidibe,muchicimas gracias por tu opinion acerca del alojamiento ,nosotros respetamos tu criterio ,cada cual es libre de opinar lo que decee,pero lo que no entiendo es porque nunca le comunicastes a nadie de la familia sobre tu insatisfacion ,tu dices que la habitacion tenia mal olor ,pero en realidad es que siempre se husa un aromatisante en la habitacion ,pero quizas lo que paso es que a ti no te gustaba ese olor y esta muy bien lo podemos entender y que eres la primera turista que no le gusta ese olor del aromatisante de la habitacion,tambie lo podemos entender,pero lo mas bonito y preciado del ser humano es la cinseridad y si no estabas satisfecha con la habitacion ,ni la comida ni con la familia,no los hubieras dicho y nosotros sin ningun tipo de problema te hubieramos buscado otra casa ,con otra familia que tubieran mejor condiciones y calidad como tu misma dices que nosotros, que costara el mismo precio 25 cuc,pero todo el mundo es libre de opinar lo que decee y las criticas hay que saberlas aceptar,sean buenas o malas,pero por otra parte la gente hablando personalmente nos podemos entender.porque somos seres humanos.
muchicimas gracias por tu opinion y un saludo cordial de odalys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My girl friend and I had a completely satisfying stay at the Mederos Family’s Casa. The smiling family made a warm welcome!

Actually we should have been there for two nights but my girl friend strained her leg (watch out for the kicking horse in the tourist place at the great painting “Dos Hermanas”!!) and the family kindly made sure that we could stay there for two nights more – no problem!

We had a great time on their lovely porch watching the hummingbirds and other birds in their lovely garden.

Thank you very much!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Just came back from a wonderful stay in Viñales with this lovely family. It was perfect - great people who made us feel very welcome in their home and perfect little house with an adorable garden and patio. The room, with its private bathroom, is in a very good condition and is very cozy. We stayed 3 nights at Casa Tomás y Yolanda and spent a lot of time in the house, relaxing and enjoying the peaceful atmosphere of this unique place. It was the perfect balance between socialising with the familiy and being on our own.

I recommend this casa to anyone who is looking to go to Viñales and also recommend having breakfast and/or dinner at the house. It was really good food! Enjoy!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
odalys m, Director Comercial at Casa Yolanda y Tomas Mederos, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Google Translation
muchicimas gracias christel j por su linda opinion acerca de nuestro alojamiento ,nos da muchicima alegria de saber lo bien y acojedor que lo pasaron ,esas palabra son muy satisfactorias para nosotros y al a ves elojiadoras ya que lo atendimos con muchicimo placer.
muy agradecidos de todo corazon y muchicima suerte y salud en su vida personal.

un saludo cordial de la familia mederos padron de vinales,pinar del rio,cuba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norway
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Great hospitality!
Best food we got in Cuba!
Felt at home the one night we stayed there. Did not get too much sleep but that was caused by music downtown untill 3 am.
You do not really have to book your casa before you arrive but if you book at Tomas and Yolandas place you will not be dissappointed. It is very close to centre of Vinales but it is still tranquille.
Guide Pablo, a friendly of the familly, was good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
odalys m, hija de la casa at Casa Yolanda y Tomas Mederos, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Google Translation
hola raffen,muchas gracias por su reaccion y opinion tan positiva de nosotros y de nuestro alojamiento,que satisfacion saber que les gusto mucho la estancia en nuestra casa y ademas la comida y hospitalidad,muy agradecidos por su gentil opinion .

y un saludo cordial de la familia mederos padron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkeleyb
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed with Tomas, Yolanda and family in June and it was absolutely lovely. My favorite part is the little porch just in front of the private room that sits in a little internal garden area. I could sit there reading for hours, listening to the birds. Absolutely lovely. I'm heading back to Cuba in April and will definitely spend a weekend with them again if they aren't all booked up!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
odalys m, hija de la casa at Casa Yolanda y Tomas Mederos, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Google Translation
hola berkeleyb ,muchicimas gracias por su opinion acerca de nuestro alojamiento y de nosotros.muy agradecidos por su reaccion tan pocitiva,claro que si regresan a cuba en abril,estariamos encantados de atenderles nuevamente,solo deverian de avisarnos con tiempo para hacerles la recervacion y de seguro que sera muy agradable la estancia con ustedes.

muchicimas gracias nuevamente ,un saludo cordial de la familia mederos padron,en vinales,cuba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Yolanda y Tomas Mederos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Yolanda y Tomas Mederos

Address: Calle Camilo Cienfuegos 52 | Calle Camilo Cienfuegos 52, Vinales 22400, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Pinar del Rio Province > Vinales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 158 B&Bs / Inns in Vinales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The house is situated in the village of Vinales and offers one room with independant entrance, airconditioning, fan,refrigerator, two double-bedrooms, closet, private bathroom with cold and hot water, balcony with view over the garden and patio and one terrace at the rooftop with awesome views over the mogotes (mountains) and valley. The house offer also gastronomic services like breakfast, lunch and a dilicious cuban dinner, and coctails too. The daughter of the house speaks english and organise excursions for example with horses or bicicle or walking-tours or trips to the caves and mountains. The house is very close to the village-centre and all the touristic attractions nearby and very close to banks, bars stores etc. The house is very comfortably and clean. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Yolanda y Tomas Mederos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.