We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic stay with an authentic Cuban family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Cristal

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vinales
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Cristal
Save
You added Villa Cristal to your Saves list
Rafael Trejo #99, Vinales 22400, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 157 Vinales B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic stay with an authentic Cuban family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have been staying for 4 nights in August in Villa Cristal. From the very beginning, we really felt at home at Anita's, Francisco' and Bullo's place: They gave us a lot of good advice on activities, cooked fantastic food and much more.We also had the chance to take part in the grandpa's 87 birthday celebrations-a real Cuban garden party with music and dances. The room is very nice, and you have a marvellous view from the terrace. A place we won't forget!Muchas gracias!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacristal, Owner at Villa Cristal, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi:
Thanks a lot for your kind words. We are very happy you enjoyed together with our family our father’s birthday dancing all night with cuban music ;)
You are welcome any time to stay with us.
Cheers
Bullo, Zoraida, Cary, Any and Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    15
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
189
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honley, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We arrived in Vinales after three days in busy Havana in July 2013. We were greeted by Francisco our friendly and English speaking host who immediately made us feel at home and gave us a tour of the accommodation. When you know how limited resources are in Cuba and how basic state run hotels can be this felt like real luxury! Big comfortable room with two double beds and all the creature comforts you can imagine (but certainly not take for granted in Cuba): mosquito nets on the windows, air conditioning, fridge with water, beer etc, nice bathroom with 24hr hot water, TV and more. The room is a self-contained small building next to Any and Francisco's house facing a lovely courtyard with rocking chairs, mango trees and exotic plants. An ideal place to have a quiet beer in the evening before eating Any's wonderful home made food! Fresh fruit from the garden were an added bonus (I have never eaten such sweet and tasty bananas, mangoes, pineapples and avocados!). Don't bother eating out, this is the probably the best food we had during our 18 days trip round Cuba! We went to St Thomas cave on our second day which Francisco recommended and this was fabulous (thoroughly recommended, not as touristy as another nearby cave)! However, the best thing about Villa Cristal is without a doubt Francisco and Any's genuine hospitality. When we left, Francisco even gave us a compilation CD of Cuban music and a big Cuban cigar! My only regret is that we only spent two nights there and I honestly can't wait to go back to Cuba (wonderful country) and particularly spend another few nights in Villa Cristal. You could easily spend a few days there as the area is so beautiful and there is plenty to see and discover. Thanks again Francisco and Any!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacristal, Owner at Villa Cristal, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Waoooo, we really appreciated those kind words from you and how descriptive is your opinion about Vinales area and about our home ourselves. We don’t have words to thank you. We only hope future clients in our house will have the same experiences you did have in our place.
And of course you will always know you are welcome to stay with us, and more nights if you prefer to explore more this beautiful nature.
Hope everything is ok for you, and always that listen the Cuban music CD remember us.
Cheers
Any y Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamm, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We have been at Villa Cristal, Vinales, from 24.5. to 27.5.13 as part of a 3 weeks trip on Cuba. Arriving from the loud Havana we found Vinales like an oasis of silence. We felt well throughout our stay. Right from the beginning we got a warm welcome by Any, Francisco and Family. The small guest house with it's rocking chairs and the roof terrace was amazing. The bathroom has been equipped like superior Hotel standard (Hair brush, shower shampoo, soap spender, shower cabin). Two big beds, Refrigerator (filled with water, beer, etc.), Mosquito net the windows (left open all day!) and AC (no need to use).

The breakfast was really great: (We are the one's who love extensive breakfast.)
Fresh fruits, eggs, bread, honey (!), strong cuban coffee.

Another highlight of this casa particular: The dinner! As others said, it always recommendable to have dinner at the casa. It is not a question of costs: It is almost same price having dinner out in a restaurant. But it is more tasty, made by heart and ..more food. So, don't hesitate to leave food if can't anymore. It is a sign of being satisfied.

Any organized an english speaking guide (who lives in Vinales) for a walk into the national park. We have learnt a lot about the surrounding and Cuba in common.

Believe me, if we would know from the very first day of our booking (early this year) , that Vinales and the casa particular was so magnificent, we would stay much longer than just 3 days!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacristal, Owner at Villa Cristal, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Hi:
Reading this opinion we don’t really have words to thanks you for all this kind words you wrote about our home, our family and our services.
We really appreciate that you were so detail in your review during your 3 days in stay in our home which is your home any to want you want to come again, and of course stay more than 3 days.
We hope you have nice summer in Germany.
Cheers and the best in the future
Any y Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had a really good time at this case. The room is spacious and clean, with everything you can wish for. There is a small swimming pool and the owners are very helpfull with arranging excursions. Also the food was very tasteful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacristal, Owner at Villa Cristal, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Friends:
Thanks a lot for your comments is very important for us our clients write their opinions about our home, so other persons can read it.
We hope you have excellent summer in Holland this year
Cheers
Any y Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Villa Cristal which made a peaceful antidote to Havana. Fabulous location which has views from the roof terrace of the nearby Mojotes hills in the Vinales valley. A visit to Cuba should definitely include a trip to this beautiful area, and Any and Francisco could not have been more helpful in suggesting how we make the most of it-their friend with a taxi would take us round the next day and show us the highlights. We were delighted to discover that the taxi was a 1953 Chevrolet, and had a great time exploring the delights of the valley including a stop to sample the best pina colada in the area, apparently (well, it would've been rude not to...)
Villa Cristal is a great combination of homely and private-the bedroom is a self contained unit in the garden, with its own little verandah overlooking the family garden with its exotic flowers, mango and banana trees, hummingbirds in the daytime and fireflies at night.
The room itself is really well equipped-air con, kettle, TV/DVD, fridge with beers and soft drinks, and spotless bathroom.
Food was great! We woke each morning to the sound of mangos whizzing in the juicer: breakfast was always a huge plate of tropical fruit, followed by egg, bread, pastries and numerous condiments, all accompanied by strong coffee. We also asked for dinner and were treated to four courses of Cuban home cooking which outclassed any hotel food we had during this holiday. We could not have wished for a better taste of rural Cuban life during our short stay, and have already recommended Villa Cristal to other holidaymakers we met during our trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacristal, Owner at Villa Cristal, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hi:
Thanks a lot for all the nice words you wrote about our home, our family and our beautiful region.
Is good for us to know Vinales was a quiet place for you where you could relax the 2 days you stayed in our home.
When we read this opinions make us feel very happy and every day we realize of the importance of work harder in our business and show our client they real Cuban way of living in Vinales.
We hope you have nice summer in London this year and you can come back again and visit us.
Here you have new friends
Best Regards
Any y Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The time we spent in Vinales was the best part of our trip in Cuba! The location is stunning and the family of Any, Francisco, Efrain and Flavia is so friendly and welcoming. Villa Cristal is spotlessly clean and comfy. You can find there all those little things that maybe are not necessary but make your life so much easier: the room is equipped with tv, dvd (with some movies for you to watch), well working air-conditioning and the electric kettle (the only place in Cuba we had it!!). In bathroom there is a soap, hair dryer and the best shower in Cuba - with hot water 24/day!!! It's also the only casa we stayed in during our 20-days trip, which had screens in the windows to protect agains insects (it's a lot of mosquitos in Vinales!). The food was marvelous (try pancakes for the breakfast! :) and in amounts we did not manage to eat. The host family is just lovely and very helpful: they helped us organize the horse riding through the Vinales valley (which was the highlight of our stay there) and gave advise on everything and anything we needed. Both Any and Francisco speak very good English, which helped a lot :) Our kids just loved this casa! It's special bonus is the small pool in the garden (which was a bliss on those hot days) and a beautiful hummingbird Zunzun that visits it's garden on a regular basis.
We would love to come back there one day!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacristal, Owner at Villa Cristal, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Waooo, thanks a lot for all your nice and detailed comments’ you wrote about our home and our region in Vinales. Reviews like your make us feel proud and also keep working hard so we can have more clients in the future and have the same impression.
Always we receive families with kids we are very happy because then our kids too can have fun together and learn about other cultures in other countries, so for our children was very grateful share with yours, and of course you are welcome to come any time you decide and we are sure we will have very good time together.
The best for all the family and we really hope C U again
Flavia, Efrain, Any y Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

2 night stay - and we had wonderful meals here each night.
Great accommodation - including the 'wiggle your toes in the pool' experience.
Any also gets our 'best mojito in Cuba' award.
Any's travel industry knowledge was also very helpful.
You won't be disappointed here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacristal, Owner at Villa Cristal, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Hello:
We really appreciate your nice comments and is good for us to know our mojitos were good as well as our dinner. Vinales is a beautiful place to visit and learn about nature and way of living of Cubans in country side, and we realize of the importance for the visitors find a nice place where to stay to make it even more comfortable.
You are welcome any time to our home
Best Regards
Any
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Cristal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cristal

Address: Rafael Trejo #99, Vinales 22400, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Pinar del Rio Province > Vinales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Vinales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Cristal is your friendly home in Vinales! If you don’t speak spanish! Don’t worry we speak english or french. Our philosophy is that we welcome our guests as members of our family. Our guest accommodation is in an annex of the main house with all minimum conditions you need, so guests benefit from being part of our family, but retain privacy and quiet, as well as a veranda at the front of the house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Cristal Hotel Vinales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Cristal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.