We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cayo Levisa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pinar del Rio Province
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Cayo Levisa
Save
You added Hotel Cayo Levisa to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cayo Levisa | Palma Rubia, La Palma, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Our experience at Cayo Levisa was very different to the review I read on this site! The ferry left a little late with a mass of Dutch day trippers which was no problem. We were met with a welcome drink but had to wait until 4p.m for or room. We did not have one of the newer rooms but were 'sea front'. The room had supposedly been cleaned but the little terrace was filthy, the door to our room was almost impossible to open and close and the bathroom filled with cockroaches as soon as the light was turned off. The resort regularly ran out of water to have showers, wash hands etc. We thought we had an all inclusive deal but found we had to pay for our lunch on the first day despite the fact we were leaving after breakfast on our last day. We had to pay for every drink, including water, which also surprised us as we had believed it was 'all inclusive'. The food was virtually the same at lunch and dinner everyday and the buffet was pretty unappetising. Having said that the chef freshly cooked fish and chicken at every meal which was great and meant there was always something OK to eat all be it a bit boring. We felt we had to hand out money constantly settling up every drink bill daily, paying to 'rent' beach towels etc. The beds were comfortable and the aircon worked well which made a change from other accommodation in Cuba! The beach was nice, white soft sand but the sea was a bed of seaweed a few meters off shore, so no snorkelling as nothing to be seen which was disappointing. We found the manager to be extremely unfriendly and unhelpful ~ perhaps he was just fed up with complaints from customers over no water etc. Certainly wouldn't go back & would need to try out a different coast line to be convinced Cuba was a good destination for a beach holiday!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director G, Director General at Hotel Cayo Levisa, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Google Translation
Sr.: Lamento mucho el incidente de su hospedaje en nuestra instalación, pues nos satisface atender clientes como Uds. que nos comentan y nos sugieren oportunidades de mejora como es la de realizar propaganda de uso racional del agua, espero que pese a la incomodidad de su estancia por nuestra instalación regrese algún día como me refirió en nuestra conversación sostenida y vea como su recomendación estará cumplida de propaganda para el ahorro de agua. Ciertamente fue un día muy confuso con una afectación muy intensa del agua, lo cual Uds. aprecio en mi poca atención que le preste cuando me hablo, pero recuerdo los detalles de la conversación: su nacionalidad, la habitación donde se hospedo, con cuantas personas venía e incluso hablamos de la hermandad entre nuestros países, le preste atención a todo lo que me planteaba pero realmente me preocupaba mucho el hecho de que muchos clientes como Uds. tenían mucha necesidad del agua desde el día anterior incluso y no podía brindarle este servicio básico del alojamiento.
Le transmito en nombre de la instalación nuestras más sinceras disculpas y su queja está siendo completamente analizada para que no se repita con otro cliente.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    156
    73
    38
    21
See reviews for
52
240
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed here for one night. The beach is absolutely beautiful! I was in a newer bungalow, so it was far from the restaurant/main area. Everything here is elevated ie walkways above ground for the preservation of the foliage, etc. My bungalow was really clean and pretty! However I could not get the A/C to work for quite some time, and after some staff came to help and got it working, it took forever to cool. Not such a big deal as I wasn't in my room much!

After the day trips left, there were only about 20 of us left, so I felt like I had much of the beach to myself, which was fantastic! This resort has really nice rooms and a great outdoor bar in the far end of the resort. However, the main bar and restaurant really aren't that good. The food was not good at all, very basic and dinner seemed to be recycled from lunch. Vegetarians won't have much option here. I found out, though, that eating dinner at the outdoor bar at the far end of the resort is much better, fresh fish and chicken option!

Not much happening when I was there at night, just a DJ playing really loud music and few people having drinks. It might be different during high season.

I really did like this place, but the food....that's where the stars are taken off. It really should be better based on price. Oh, and the fact that you need to actually rent extra towels if you need them! Otherwise it's beautiful and peaceful and worth a visit.

Also--note that the bus does NOT meet the morning ferry so if you are going back to Havana/Vinales/etc, you need to make taxi arrangement ahead of time to meet the morning ferry. The bus does meet the evening ferry, however.

Room Tip: Nicer rooms are quite far from everything, but work the walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The island is definitely worth the visit for the beach and the nice huts (we stayed in the newer huts furthest away from the main area). I would not stay here for more than a few days thought. The lobby and restaurant area is simple and the food varies from decent to bad. There is a buffet at every meal, but they also cook better food for you on order.

A let down on this beautiful island was the very noisy generator behind the restaurant area, but it wont distract you to much, that is if your not staying in one of the huts closes to it.

Room Tip: Ask for a hut furthest away from the lobby and closest to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

As this is the only hotel on the island you may think you are having to compromise due to lack of choice but this place is amazing! The cabin layout allows for privacy and you are literally staying on the beach! The rooms are kitted out with brand spanking new fittings and amenities and there is nothing you will want for staying here! Idyllic location and atmosphere, clean finely kitted out bedrooms, good food- forget Varidero and go here instead!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We arrived at Palma Rubia to catch the ferry to the Cayo just before the recommended time and found that there was only one other couple there. The ferry receptionist told us that when it was ready we would be told. Around 10:00, bus loads of day trippers arrived and boarded the ferry leaving the rest of the people behind. I wanted an explaination why we had been left behind but the receptionist just said there would be another ferry soon. We then had to wait another 45 minutes for the ferry to return. This got us off on the wrong foot to start our relaxing stay on the island. When you arrive you will have to get your own cases to the hotel through the mangrove along a poorly maintained boardwalk. At the hotel reception we were told our room wouldn't be ready until 14:00 and we weren't entitled to lunch that day as we would have lunch on the last day (even though they knew we had to get the early ferry 09:00 to continue our tour on the last day) First impressions weren't good and we were beginning to wish we had taken out tour operators advise and only booked here for 3 days.

Anyway we retrieved our swimming costumes from our cases and went to the beach which is wonderful, clean white sand, clear blue sea and considering how many day trippers arrived before us very quite.

When we were shown our room, just before 14:00 it was perfect for our 6 night stay. It was the second row, newer bungalows. Large, spacious, well appointed. The seperate shower area was excellent, it had 2 showers, even if used together they were powerful and there was plenty of hot water throughout our stay. The beds were very comfortable and aircon worked efficiently. The veranda was ideal for sitting out in the early evening to enjoy the wine that was supplied whilst watching the Jutias play as the sunset. There was plenty of seating and it had its own hammock, We weren't bothered by mossies at all whilst there in May. Though the sand flys did bite on the beach in the afternoons. If you walk fifty yards in either direction from the restuarant / bar area it turns back to nature and there are paths to deserted beaches where you can be totally on your own. The main beach however when the hotel is full is very quiet and even when the hordes of day trippers (normally turn right) arrive about 10:25 it still seems empty. They have started to build new accommodation past the 20 or so bungalows that are currently there.

The restaurant (club house) was simple and all that we needed and the food was excellent every night, There was plenty of choice, cooked buffet was hot and the cooks would prepare freshly cooked meats and sea food day and night (there was an extra charge for lobster). All staff were attentive, helpful and polite and seemed to enjoy their work. My wife would like to recommend the pina colada she believes its the best she has ever tasted if you get the right bar man that is.

Over all this was a peaceful retreat, wonderful beach, good food exactly what we were looking for and hope the new development doesn't spoil this place. We hope to return one day to see, but will stay longer next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biella
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I went on this Island at the end of may 2013 for 5 nights and I found this place great!
If you are looking for a relaxing place this is the place to go!
A wonderful beach, with great sea and sand and nice paths all around the small Island!
The colors of thisd palce are unforgettable! and the sunset is an incredible experience!
My bungalos was fantastic: directly on the sand and so at 15 metres from the sea!!
The hotel was ok and the food as well: not too much and so ok for me!
I don't like resort in which they waste and through away food because there is too much to eat!!!
The chefs are very good and available if you have particular needs!
I can say the same thing for the person at the reception: a nice man, very professional, always available and very open minded!
The assistant as well of my tour operator was always very kind and very helpful in some tecnical problem he sorted them out!
The peace and silence are sensations that I appreciated a lot!! I need exactly all of this and so I foudn the right place for me!
If you are looking for a quiet and relaxing place don't miss it!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We arrived at the port 4 hours before our boat to Cayo leVisa was scheduled due to misguided information from our travel agent. However, a boat was going to the island carrying cargo just after we arrived and they offered us a lift- the crew even made us mojitos during the journey! This meant we arrived before the majority of people to check in that day and were given cabana 25 which is in a perfect location- right in front of the beach and away from any noise. The cabana isn't luxurious but it was more than adequate, and clean. The beach is just absolutely beautiful and very very quiet. The food, as other people have mentioned isn't great but to be honest, after a couple of days in Havana I was used to this and the shop sells snacks and ice creams fairly cheaply so if you get sick of same food for every meal you can mix it up .

Cayo Levisa is the perfect place to relax- other than go on the snorkelling trip, we did nothing but swim in the sea and read books on the beach and we left feeling brilliant- I would definitely recommend it.

The drive from Havana took us 2- 2.5 miles in a taxi which isn't too long but it was also really interesting along the way.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cayo Levisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cayo Levisa

Address: Cayo Levisa | Palma Rubia, La Palma, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Pinar del Rio Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Pinar del Rio Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cayo Levisa 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Also Known As:
Cayo Levisa Hotel
Hotel Cayo Levisa Cuba/Pinar Del Rio Province

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cayo Levisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.