We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“honeymoon 090909” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crane Residential Resort

Save Saved
You added The Crane Residential Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Crane Residential Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Santa Clara, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“honeymoon 090909”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

It is a resort away from the crowd. The beach is secluded where the only access is through the gate entrance... we loved the resort too much that we ended up staying for another week. An elevator heading down to the beach? nice!! everyday and every morning... the pinkish peach powder sand beach is being cleaned by crane's staffs even before the guests arrives for sun bathing and swimming. when making a reservation ASK for the penthouse or the units on lower level, you'll have your own pool. Otherwise the rooms are more than worthy to still get your zzzzz's and relaxation. The guest relations representative and staff are very accommodating.

honeymoon 2009
"wedding 090909"

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
Dear 090909tiburon,

If you stayed for another week, then you clearly enjoyed your stay!

Yes, The Crane is definitely removed from the noise and constant activity of other parts of the island. However, for clarity, I must add that while Crane Beach offers seclusion, there is a public access since all beaches in Barbados are public. However, employees of the resort are always on hand to ensure security and that guests' needs are met. They provide beach chairs, umbrellas, and replacement towels, along with drinks and food which can be charged to the room. Everyone agrees that the beach elevator offers a nice alternative to climbing the 99 steps cut into the cliff.

Thank you for your review. We hope you'll come and visit us again soon.

Warm regards,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    880
    351
    107
    84
    90
See reviews for
338
757
44
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

This was our seventh stay at The Crane. The Crane is situated at the edge of a cliff overlooking the ocean and is truly a unique property where the views, the pools and the beach simply can't be beat. The units are well appointed and have all the amenities you could want. Each time we visit and bring friends, they can’t believe how beautiful and comfortable The Crane is. I have read complaints from others about the air conditioning, but with the wonderful breezes coming off the ocean, if you closed the windows and used the A/C you would really miss out on hearing the waves crashing and feeling those breezes. If there is an area where it falls short, it is in keeping all the little things (ice makers, coffee makers, dishwashers, etc.) in the units at 100%, which is a tall task for such a large place. I have been told that this is a top priority and that a new system and staffing changes are in place to assure that this happens.

Everyone working at The Crane is friendly and helpful, but on each trip there are a number of Crane staff who really help to make our stay special. This time our special thanks go to Sabrina, our wonderful housekeeper and Lisa, who made sure we had everything we needed in our unit, Susan and Errol at the Carriage House, who make lunch by the pools overlooking the ocean even more enjoyable, Michael and Patrick at the 1887 who made us feel at home, Peter at L’Azure who always managed to find us a table outside even when they were all booked, Maureen who gardens at the pools and makes the plantings look so beautiful and Darnley who is patient and takes the time to listen. I cannot forget Korey, who we met on this trip and got to know a little – thanks for everything.

This is a place you will not forget. We can’t wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
Dear NYSbeachgirl,

Thank you very much for your review. We hope that you will continue to build a lasting relationship with us here at The Crane.

As you have pointed out, the resort’s staff is one of our greatest assets. While The Crane team is dedicated to ensuing guests have a truly memorable experience, each employee brings a unique quality to the resort.

In reference to the up-keep of the “little things”, we have indeed implemented a new management structure to ensure that the maintenance of individual buildings is more effective and efficient. We are pleased to report that we have already seen improvements and the resort will continue to build on its strength to ensure that guests have a wonderful vacation.

See you again next year.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the Crane -our 2nd visit in 3 months. Once again
we have had an excellent time and cannot wait for our next visit in November where we will meet up with other friends.

Each time we visit I am glad to say there has been improvements. We found that the maintenance of the rooms i.e. appliance not working has seen a vast improvement under the mangement of Debbie, each building has two staff on call, and after my phone call they were there within 5 minutes.

We stayed in own apartment in the park then moved to one of the garden view rooms, which was brilliant - owning both properties in the park and also in block 5 we were surprised at this room and will certainly stay in one again.

We did intend to move to the west coast for 4 days, but decided that the Crane was best value as we knew what we were getting. We had a car so driving arount the island was not a problem.

The staff were brilliant and we saw Diane our housekeeper from block 5 who deserves a mention as she looks after us in November and is always so helpful and kind.

If I had to say one bad one, it would be that Azure is still not open, and the current location is not as good for service.

Well done the Crane staff for a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
Dear maureenjeffers,

Twice in three months!!! We are happy to see that you are enjoying all that The Crane has to offer.

We are continuously working on ways to better serve guests. To this end, a new structure has been implemented to ensure the seamless resolution of all maintenance issues. But it is only through feedback from guests that we know how well things are working, so thank you for your comments. Debbie was extremely pleased to hear that you have noticed the improvements.

We are also delighted that, as an owner, you were able to experience and enjoy another room category. This is testimony to the flexibility which our property ownership program offers. As to the re-opening of L’Azure, which is scheduled for this Summer, you can look forward to some changes in décor and menu - a complete rebranding! L’Azure is set to once again become the favourite dining choice of our guests.

We look forward to seeing you again in November!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London Ont
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

Our third trip confirms this as the best long stay resort we have been to. As with all of Barbados it is expensive, but you get what you pay for. My husband and I love the beach pools and restaurants. Our young adult kids give it an equally strong thumbs up... Which led us to invest in the timeshare. Jackie and Kim were marvelous,patient and helpful. Roomy classy with authentic feel. We travel extensively and feel very comfortable with this endorsement.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
Dear psychlone,

We are delighted that as a seasoned traveller, you have now decided to make The Crane your home away from home.

As you hinted, the property is quite diverse and can be enjoyed by both the young and the young at heart.

I have passed on your comments to both Kim and Jackie. Don’t forget to pop in and say hi to them when you return, as we will all be looking forward to welcoming you back as a new owner.

Warm regards,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

From the moment we arrived at The Crane we knew we would be returning. This is a beach only comparable by Elbow Beach in Bermuda. The staff service, lead by Karen Oliver was impeccable with everyone making us feel as special our occasion. I had asked the bartender upon arrival to get some ginger beer which he did by going to a local store. The beach service provided by new employee and generally good guy Andrew Dey made our time at the beach as perfect as the vistas. The two major restaurants were very good but please make the time, expense and effort to go to The Cliff, which may be the greatest culinary experience a couple of foodies with a romantic side could desire, It was so good we begged to come back the next evening. Expensive but worth every penny.
I wonder when reading some negative comments if these people are just so miserable in their lives or relationship that they just can't enjoy anything. This is the best vacation spot in the Caribbean and the value is beyond belief.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
Dear Lifeisgreat1964,

We truly agree with you: Crane Beach is most definitely a gem not only in Barbados, but also within the Caribbean.

Our staff is also committed to delivering a level of service which surpasses all expectations. And yes, our Reservations Supervisor, Karen Oliver is quite pleasant and precise as she strives to ensure that guests book the category of room that truly suits their needs.

We are happy that you found The Crane to be the best vacation spot in the Caribbean and look forward to seeing you again.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn, nyc
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011 via mobile

Admittedly I got a "deal" on jetsetter but this was a major letdown at over $350 a night. In short

Pros - lovely beach

Cons -
--no room service after 8: understandable for a boutique hotel but for a supposed 5 star hotel? We arrived late, starving
--No minibar: there is a fridge and a stovetop, probably catering more towards the residents than vacationers looking for a hotel atmosphere
--poor service: we asked to check out 1 hr later and were told it was impossible, with attitude. The hotel is completely empty so not clear on why this is such an impossibility
--towel policy: someone else commented on this but who pays $300+ a night to steal towels?!
--ongoing construction and eyesores: grounds are covered in scaffolding. Dug up dirt trenches covered in planks of wood.

All in all I'd say this place is stuck in the 80s, resting on the laurels of tv popularity from lifestyles of the rich and famous. and as another reviewer mentioned, I believe they cater to owners more than actual guests. So if you are looking for a hotel, try the Hilton. If you are looking for a longer, residence type stay, there are a million other villa rental options. This place purports to be both, meets the standards of neither.




hen we asked for a one hr extension on a late checkout we were denied with attitude.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
Dear dailln4n4,

We’re pleased that you found Crane Beach to be lovely. However, we are a little disappointed that in the short 12 hours that you stayed at The Crane, we did not meet your expectations. From reading your review, it seems as though your overall experience hinged on the fact that we were unable to accommodate your request for a late checkout and that you were unable to dine when you arrived late. However, you have made a few inaccurate statements, so we would like to address your list of 5 cons individually.

1. Room service: We take our last request for in-room dining at 9:00 pm (not 8:00pm) since this satisfies the needs of virtually all of our guests – which is not to say that it satisfies the needs of guests who arrive hungry at midnight as you did. Our decision to not offer 24-hour room service helps us reduce unnecessary expenses and enables us to fulfil our overriding mission of providing affordable resort luxury to our guests. Most Crane guests typically stay with us between 4 and 14 nights. We understand that we can’t be all things to all people and, in fact, we do not even accept one-night bookings until just a few days prior to arrival. To ensure that all arriving guests receive the same information, we have recently contacted all of our travel partners to double check that they notify all guests of our restaurant and room service hours and that we offer a pre-arrival stocking service for groceries and/or late-night snacks.

2. Mini bar: It is true that our suites do not feature mini bars, but we believe that The Crane offers something far better – a small kitchen with a fridge in every room, along with a General Store that offers 100 times the variety of a hotel mini bar, at prices as low as 25% of typical mini-bar prices. Unfortunately, you did not have time to take advantage of this feature. We find Crane People want luxury as much as anyone, but do not mind if they can save money at the same time. For vacationers looking to get away from the chore of cooking, we also offer four great restaurants to choose from.

3. Poor Service: I understand your disappointment that we could not accommodate your request for a later checkout, but our firmness on this was because we had to ensure that the next guest was able to check in on time. I can also understand how you could have misinterpreted this as an unhelpful attitude since you thought that the resort was completely empty at the time. We have to take this as a compliment, since we designed everything from the spacious accommodation, private swimming pools, spectacular, multiple public pools, the choice of activity centres (from tennis courts, spa, fitness centre and amazing beach) and the ample 40 acre grounds to make every guest feel as if they were almost alone in our island paradise, even when the resort is completely full, which we were during your stay. We would also point out that any guest who wants to stay on at The Crane after check-out is provided complimentary use of showers, lockers, amenities and a changing room in the new Crane Village so that they can go on enjoying their day and even evening, while the room is prepared for our next guest.

4. Towel Policy: We do keep track of our beach towels for several reasons. First, it is a simple way to be cost effective (and save local beaches from abandoned towels) and to help deliver on The Crane’s promise of “sensible luxury”. It is also an effective way of ensuring that only Crane guests use our facilities.

5. Your last con was the sight of on-going construction. We note that there is construction visible from only 6 out of 230 rooms, which is fully disclosed to potential guests and discounts are offered as a result. Your room was not one of these 6 rooms. There is also no other construction visible from any of our public spaces with the exception of less than 600 sq. ft. of scaffolding under one of our restaurants, due to recent damage from the passing of tropical storm Tomas. This is out of about 1 million sq. ft. of public space at The Crane. Our guests are almost all unanimous that the views from virtually anywhere at The Crane are nothing short of spectacular. I’m not sure if you saw it when you were making your booking, but we found that your tour operator, Jetsetter, provided an old notice of general "ongoing construction" activity at The Crane along with our booking information. We have now advised Jetsetter that this notice should be limited to the 6 rooms listed above as opposed to the entire resort.

As you pointed out, The Crane advertises that it strives to provide the best of both worlds – a luxury resort and a residence at the same time. We also aim to deliver our luxury, residential resort experience sensibly and affordably. The fact that many of our guests are Crane members is in no way a negative. Quite the contrary, our experience is that Crane members, many of whom have spent US$1–3 million for their accommodation and all of whom have a long term interest in The Crane as a luxury resort community, are justifiably as discerning as (if not more so than) our hotel guests who come for a week or two. Both benefit from our team’s dedication to providing the very best sensible luxury, residential resort experience.

We believe that with a longer stay, you would have been able to truly enjoy all that The Crane has to offer. However, we are committed to continually improving our service delivery and thank you for your feedback. We do hope that you will try us again in the future.

Best regards,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

I had heard that this was a 5 start resort and after having stayed for 9 days/8 nights, I think this needs to be clarified. This is a 5 star resort FOR BARBADOS. I would say that there are maybe one or two other places on the island that are as picturesque or nice as The Crane, and one of them, Sandy Lane, is ridiculously expensive. But if you think you are going to a 5 star hotel like you would find in the US, you should temper your expectations and just know that it doesn't get better than this on this island.

Air conditioning? There is really only one room that I found that actually had it, and that is the exercise room. If you are so hot you can't stand it, then go there to cool off. We were lucky in that the time we were there the weather was just perfect for being by the pools by day (there are at least 6 of them not including the private pools) and sleeping with the windows/doors open at night in total comfort. And we didn't see one bug or mosquito the whole time we were there on the whole island so that was not an issue. But air conditioning at this resort is a folklore. When you get to your room, they will throw the switch and you will hear something that sounds like an A/C unit, but it won't do much. Just look around your room for an A/C register - there aren't any. The A/C comes down from concealed air ducts that are in the recessed lighting. Get a chair and stand up there and see if you can feel air coming out. It is a dribble if anything. But A/C was not an issue for us and that may have just been the luck of the draw.

But you can't beat the views at this place, and the beach sand is like powdered sugar. There is plenty of privacy to be had on the grounds, so a room on the bottom floor with the private pool seems like a waste to me. You lose the view that the higher floors enjoy. The rooms are HUGE and nicely furnished. We had a room with a plunge pool, which as another reviewer noted, are mostly in the shade during the day so they are refreshingly cool. We would work out every morning and then take a plunge to cool off. I would do the same just before going to bed, but in the evening it was a challenge taking that plunge.

The one thing about The Crane is that it is away from everything. It is up to you whether this is bad or not. If you think that you would want to eat the restaurants at the resort a couple of times, then you probably don't need to rent a car. You could take a cab for the nights that you want to go out. We like to eat out so we didn't sample the restaurants at the resort, so no comment on them except to say that Azure is still under re-construction until the summer due to hurricane damage. It is partially open but the window seats over the ocean are not available.

We are drinkers and taking the challenge of driving on the left was not something that we wanted to take on after having a couple, so we had a driver for the entire time we were there. I highly recommend him:
Ivor Lashley at http://travelmywaybarbados.com
He is fantastic and will cater to your every need. And he is also a Karaoke star, so have him sing to you during your rides. Some other things to ask him about are motorcycles (he likes "Ninja" bikes), his Cricket skills and his volleyball career. He was on the Barbados national team in the 90's. A very interesting and charming man. My wife loved him.

We had a great time in Barbados and I would return to The Crane knowing that this is one of the best on the island. If you are a foodie like we are, the restaurants on this island are fantastic, but they are all on the other side of the island. That was not an issue for us since we had a great driver that made the trips fun.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crane Residential Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crane Residential Resort

Address: Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Philip Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint Philip Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crane Residential Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched dramatically on the cliffs of Barbados' pristine south-east coast, The Crane Residential Resort, established since 1887, is the island's oldest operating hotel. Transformed into a world-class luxury resort, The Crane features ultra-spacious, fully appointed ocean-view one & two bedroom suites and three bedroom Penthouses, many with their own private plunge-pool. Facilities include the acclaimed Zen Restaurant serving classic Thai and Japanese cuisine and the consistently popular L'Azure Restaurant. The casual Carriage House Pool Side restaurant is another favourite along with D'Onofrio's Trattoria located in 'The Village' which offers duty free shopping, a General Store, Bar 1887 (with nightly live entertainment) and The Village Cafe. Last but not least is Crane Beach voted by Lifestyle's of The Rich and Famous as one of the Top Ten most beautiful beaches in the world, now with a fabulous Beach Grill! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Regatta Hotels, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Crane Residential Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crane Residential Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Saint Philip
Crane Barbados
The Crane Barbados
Crane Hotel Barbados
Crane Resort Barbados
The Crane Residential Resort Barbados/Saint Philip Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crane Residential Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.