We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent! Superb! Loved It!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crane Residential Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Crane Residential Resort to your Saves list
The Crane Residential Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
atlanta, georgia, usa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent! Superb! Loved It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2007

How lucky i would be for choosing the Crane Resort as my vacation spot. The resort was beautiful... the beach was amazing. The hotel itself is under construction, but did not affect our stay. We had the most awesome room.... with a veranda and private plunge pool. Our view was the ocean.... and a few palms...... swaying in the wind. The rooms were more than plush. We didn't want to leave...... it was so great, i even proposed on the cliffs of the resort. We will be back.... and many more times at that.

  • Liked — luxury/secluded
  • Disliked — no mini bar in room
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    985
    388
    127
    90
    98
See reviews for
378
839
46
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, KY
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2007

My family and I traveled to The Crane April 8-13th - it was absolutely fabulous. There were 4 adults and three children (two three year olds and one 8yo). We had a first floor two bedroom suite which was in Building 3 (untis A and B that were very closely connected - not really private if you don't know who is in the other room). But for us it was wonderful! Construction did not bother us although we saw it as we entered and departed the resort. The resort really overshadowed the "bad stuff."

In general the service was good - but communication among the staff could have been better. For example, we asked for help with internet connection in our room one evening - the IT guy had already left, we were told he would come the next day - the next day the message was not delivered - and the problem never did get fixed - wireless works in the lobby and by the pool, so we weren't that bothered by it - also there are two PCs in the lobby you can use for free - full internet capabilities and fast.

We brought alot of dry goods with us (packed in suitcases), went shopping for perishables spent $120 US for milk, cheese, beverages, some frozen foods, etc - expect to pay about 33%-50% higher than you would in the US - however this fed us for the entire week - 7 people! My sister and her husband ate at L'Azure on night - their dinner was $80US. Other than that - we ordered pizza from a quick mart (Cutters) just down the street (walking distance) that cost $15US - also has some grocery items. If you want to save $on food you can definately get by with the kitchen, it just takes some planning for meals before you leave.

Please take a look at the pictures for awesome views!

The room was GRAND! We were very pleasantly surprised by the accomodations. Have never stayed in a nicer place. Furniture was not cheap at all - everything seemed top notch. We especially loved the jacuzzi tub and multiple shower heads in the master bath! The private pool was phenomenal! The kids had a blast and it was big enough for everyone - deepest part is 4 feet. Nice patio with table and chairs for 6 plus two very nice lounge chairs.

Can't say enough about the beach - it is the best i have ever seen for bogie boarding - too rough for snorkeling so forget that. Never crowded or uncomfortable - even with the kids the stairs weren't a problem - it was very well maintained and clean. No seaweed or shells! Pink sand - especially noticable at dusk.

Will definately go back when my timeshare allows.

Did have a bunch of mosquito bites the first night we were there - used repellant after that and not as much of a problem.

Went to Bridgetown and the grocery store on the free shuttle - it was great! Saved us about $60US each time.

Watch out for the airport and luggage delay - my sister who was 5mos pregnant had a 2 day luggage delay - there are very limited flights to Barbados and if your luggage doesn't make your connection, then expect it will be a while - we arrived on Sunday, she didn't get her stuff (all 3 suitcases for 3 people) until midnight on Tuesday night more than 48 hours later - that was a real drag. Also, there are no retail stores open on Sunday AND the next day (Monday) was a bank holiday. She made due with some borrowing but wasn't happy about it. The airport and Delta could have handled that much better. They didn't even give her any compensation! When her stuff arrived customs at the airport called to say that camoflauge is illegal and they would be holding those items at the airport - who knew? Next time, we take the necessities as a carry on - esp a swim suit!

  • Liked — The beach
  • Disliked — mosiquitos
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2007

Spent a night at The Crane - very nice place. It reminds me of the mega-resorts in Mexico between Cancun and Playa del Carmen. Awsome pools, and all the rooms on the first floor have small private pools. The staff is nice and friendly. I think I just happened to have a bad experience. The room I stayed in was on the 1st floor, and it was a "B" unit that is attached to the nice '"pool" units and can be opened up and used as a 2 bedroom. The door that connects the 2 offers little in the way of privacy. The family that was staying in the nice unit had little kids, and it sounded like they were in our room. The next morning when they decided to cook breakfast in their kitchen, I had to put a towel under the crack of the door to try and keep the bacon smoke out. It still sounded like they were in the same room as us. Next time, I will ask for a single room upstairs. We also happened to be there on Easter morning. Apparently Sundays are buffett days, and they had a Gospel Buffet that sounded nice (we abstained), and a lunch buffet. There were no other food options besided buffets.
The hotel is located on a cliff, and there are no fences or any other safety measures to prevent anyone from walking off it. It is a long way down. If you have children, you may want to consider this.

  • Liked — Pools
  • Disliked — Room Service
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2007

Breath-taking views from this cliff side Resort were just a few of the hightlights of our trip to The Crane. The crystal clear waters rush up along the beach, crashing waves allow hours of fun and powder pink sand really does exist! Pools upon pools to choose from with a picture perfect view of the ocean.

The one bedroom suite was equiped with a full tub with jets to relax in, a grand king-size 4 poster bed and a view of the ocean (and the construction site!)... The Crane does not keep secret the fact that it is undergoing considerable construction - if you have an issue with noise during the day (from your room only) you will not like your stay - but if you frolic on the beach or in the pool you won't even know it is happening.

The staff is extremely friendly - the ZEN restaurant is one of the best on the island but the beach is what made this trip for us - even the locals call it the best beach on the entire island!!

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2007

The Crane Hotel is set atop a cliff over Crane Beach. The grounds are widespread and airy. One of the key selling points of the Crane is their phenomenally gorgeous main pool. It sits right on the cliff over looking the beach and is complete with white Roman columns. Simply gorgeous.

And Crane Beach? Breathtaking. It is one of the only pink sand beaches on Barbados and is truly amazing. It is very long and wide, with plenty of space to lay out in privacy. There were also plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas. The water is a bit rough, so I would be wary if traveling with small children, but it’s definitely fun to play in. You also have to maneuver a many steep stairs to get down to the beach, but I never found it to be a problem.

The Room
We stayed in a one bedroom suite on the ground floor. The room comes equipped with a TV, DVD player, etc. The bed is grand and huge. There are wood and tile floors throughout. There is a sitting area with a couch and table. A kitchenette also contains a sink, minifridge, and many untensils and plateware. The bathroom is spacious and lovely with a separate shower and Jacuzzi tub.

There were a couple of cons about the room. The biggest issue we had were with tiny mosquitos. There would be random mosquitos buzzing in our room waiting to bite us! We were very conscious of opening and closing the door quickly to avoid having them in our rooms, but we still had a few here and there (probably from when the maids came to clean). We simply requested bug repellent (which took an entire day to bring to us) and used our own insect repellent and sprayed the doorway which solved most of the problem. Another con was that some parts of the room didn’t seem new. The wooden shutters which covered all the windows had many broken slats.

The Food
There are two main restaurants, L’Azure and Zen. L’Azure was right on the cliff and had a great balcony view of Crane Beach. The food was good, but nothing special. Zen is an Asian restaurant that served Thai food and also sushi. The décor at Zen was very sleek, dark, and modern which was an interesting surprise compared to the rest of the bright and tropical island. The food was very good (we ate here twice). Needless to say, both were quite expensive as is typical of the entire island.

The construction was not an issue for us. Perhaps it was because the building we stayed in or something, but we never heard it. The new pool was also NOT opened when we visited, so I didn’t get to experience it.

The Crane offers shuttles to the Emerald City Supermarket, so that is a good way to stock up on breakfast and snacks should you not want to eat out as much. They also provide shuttles to Bridgetown to do some excellent duty-free shopping! Taxis are also available, while it can be expensive, it is much more convenient.

The service was good, but not exceptional.

Overall the Crane was a good experience. It’s a great location on a gorgeous beach. Strictly based on the resort, I prefer the Fairmont Royal Pavilion (where we also stayed on this trip), but I would still recommend the Crane.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2007

My wife and I traveled to the Crane for our 13-year wedding anniversary and her birthday. We were at the resort from February 18th - February 25th. We booked the Crane because we wanted something different than the all-inclusive Caribbean and Mexican resorts that we have gone to in the past... and also for the amazing rooms and beach.

We had booked a one-bedroom ocean view room package that included flights off of the Internet. We had spoken to the resort concierge and reservations staff before we arrived and requested a room in Bldg 5 because it is the newest and the closest to the ocean. This was confirmed in an email that we would be located in bldg. 5 but upon arrival we were told that they were sold out and we were going to be in Bldg. 3. Also I noticed that we were slated to check out of our room a day before we were scheduled to leave... upon discussion with the reservations they said that they were able to get us into bldg 5 for the last night of our vacation. Now this seemed to be more of a hassle than a upgrade... and when it finally came down to it we were told that we had to move out of our room because the owner of the room was coming in to the resort and we needed to be out. This was all resolved later in the week and we stayed in the same room the entire stay. Also Bldg. 5 is still experiencing construction in from of the building (a crane was digging from 8:00am – 5:00pm for a few days) so it was kind of a blessing that we weren’t put there.

Well with very low expectations and an already bad taste from the initial reservations problems we went to our top floor (5th floor) bldg 3 room 353.... and once we were in the room all of our troubles seemed to vanish. Go to the Crane for the rooms and the ocean/beach/pools.... they are amazing. Our room overlooked the new pool complex and the aqua blue Caribbean and we couldn't have been happier. Our room was ~1150 sq. feet and has all the comforts that you would expect from a resort apartment... two full bathrooms, full kitchen, dishwasher, clothes washer and dryer, fridge, stove, microwave, etc. Also a balcony accessible from the bedroom and living room and hardwood floors throughout. Because we were on the top floor we also had vaulted ceilings, ceiling fans and arched windows with a great view that looked out to the pools and the ocean… beautiful. Now if you are expecting a stocked mini-bar and excellent room service don't go to the Crane. These are very nice resort residences and not your typical hotel room. I did get to see one of the rooms in bldg. 5 and it had granite countertops and newer, nicer furnishing, but the room was about the same. We were very happy where we were at.

On the second day I went to the grocery store and stocked up on food and drinks for the week. Everyone should do this because food and drinks at the Crane are very expensive. Our final food and bar bill at the resort was $750 for the week in addition to our two trips to the grocery for $225. We did eat dinner from L'Azure (via room service) which was expensive and forgettable, Zen (we only ate sushi) was much better, but don't expect anything too exotic... and the simple sushi dinner with beer and saki was ~$110. Nice atmosphere with the sushi bar overlooking the Crane beach below, but not worth it by any standards. Thanks to the sushi chef though for attempting to make a special order of octopus rolls for me… he was willing to try. They are very busy at both restaurants during the dinner rush and with two restaurants to serve about 120 rooms (with more to come) they need to expand their restaurant options. But then you have to remember these are resort residences and not much around the resort so once it gets built up it may be better.

We did have a few problems during the week... the concierge booked us a reservation for Zen on my wife's birthday and that was the night that the restaurant was closed!!! They offered us to go to L'Azure instead, but this exposed the major communications problems with the staff and growing pains of the resort. Also they had the grand opening of the Carriage House(?) pool bar the week we were there. This is a much needed bar by the new pool complex, but they had no phone, and no way of creating any checks so we were asked to sign our charges without even knowing what the totals were... more kinks that will be worked out over time. We did experience the completely slow service as reported by others, and after a while we realized that the Crane, although it is trying to be a 5-Star resort, is a very magnificent resort residences complex. You will not be pampered with great service, restaurants, spas, or amenities, but it will provide a perfect vacation for people going in with the right expectations.

The construction is still going on all around the resort and at times it was unavoidable, but never ruined anything we did. Every day we would notice a new tree planted and new landscaping by the amazing pool complex. And they are in the process of building the traditional shops and features you would get from a beach resort. One missing amenity that my wife was upset about was the lack of any type of spa or salon services. All of these things are being built and construction is set to go through 2009, but the resort is a work in progress and knowing that before you arrive will make your stay much better.

With all that said, the rooms and the beach were the best we have ever seen in all of our Caribbean and Mexican vacations. The beach is 99 steps down from the resort and it is well worth it. Sure the waves were rough at times, but the sand is powdery soft pink and the water was about 75 degrees in late February. Another thing missing is any type of bar/restaurant on the beach (other than the huts that sell you expensive rum punch that tastes like whisky - actually like a Washington Apple if you have ever had one) so take your own insulated cooler glasses filled with whatever you like to the beach. You will feel the trek back up the 99 stairs after lounging at the beach all day, good exercise for us (they are building an elevator).

I did go to Cutters (the small store within walking distance of the Crane) and the friendly owner had a British accent even though he said he was from Barbados. They have only the basics, but it is all you need for quick things. The EmeraldCity Supermarket shuttle will take you to and from the resort and you get a glimpse of the real Barbados life when coming back and dropping off the locals. We felt safe everywhere we went and it was much different from Jamaica.

We did go to the Restaurant at SouthSea for our anniversary dinner. It was a nice atmosphere with the ocean and waves right next to the restaurant… but kind of hot with all the tables being outside. The food was outrageously expensive and not all that great, but the service was excellent and it is the closest nice restaurant to the Crane. We were happy we went.

One important note: all of the tips you leave on any checks go into a big pool that gets shared by everyone working at the resort. This tends to cause bad service and no reason for anyone to try…. but give tips in cash to the people that do provide great service. We met many nice people at the resort (Susan - the room service waitress, Big Dave - the pool bartender, our maid - Cynthiana (I think that was her name) and Karen in reservations), and other people that did make the attempt to make our stay a happy one. We did have a few problems with the food and reservations, but we did get things worked out and by the end of the eight days we wanted to stay... we could have lived there.

Check out all of our trip at http:// community . webshots . com / user / tcmarley (remove the spaces or it wouldn't let me post this link).

Would we go back... most definitely, in a heartbeat. The Crane is different, but wonderful and we had a great vacation.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2007

My spouse and I just returned from a week’s stay in a junior bedroom suite.

The Room
We were pleased with the size and views from our room. We were placed in building three and were able to see a partial view of the ocean from our terrace, despite not having an “Ocean View” room. The room was clean and spacious. Our only complaint would be the inconsistent air conditioning. We had it checked, but it still seemed to be ineffective at times. The inconvenience of switching rooms didn’t appeal to us so we decided to stay. My wife also noticed a waterbug in the bathroom after the first morning. We were told that housekeeping would take care of it. Who knows if anything was actually done, but we didn’t see any other bug for the rest of the week.

We really liked the décor of the room, which included cherry wood furniture and floors and stone walls. The bathroom was also nicely designed and spacious.

Service
The staff at the Crane are generally first rate. Everyone is friendly, from the concierge to the groundscrew. Be prepared to say “hello” to everyone. The cleaning staff varied from very good to mediocre. The cleaning person who cleaned our room the last night didn’t do nearly as a clean a job as the one who handled our room for most of the week.

The Hotel
The new pools and spa area were great surprises. We didn’t expect to see these new features since they are not on the hotel’s website. The cascading pools are great but more shade should be added to accommodate people. There is a shaded area at the top that can accommodate maybe 15 people, which probably is inadequate for a resort of this size. The lounge chairs at the cascading pools are very plush and comfortable. I was disappointed in the state of the fitness room. It was rather small and the weightlifting equipment was very outdated. The resort can also use a spa facility. I assume that creating a spa is in the works. Don’t expect to see any shows or activities at the hotel. This resort is very low key.

The Restaurants
We tried both restaurants and generally were pleased with the quality. We both were generally happy with the Thai sampler at Zen. We didn’t eat dinner at L’zure. The ambience and views were indeed fabulous at both.

Construction
We were told that construction should last 3 more years. The noise wasn’t too troublesome—eventhough our terrace faced the construction site. Maybe once or twice did I find the noise annoying. Since we spent most of our time at the beach or pool, we didn’t hear any construction noise.

Conclusion
If we return to Barbados, we will definitely return to the Crane.

  • Liked — Beach
  • Disliked — Ongoing construction
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crane Residential Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crane Residential Resort

Address: Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Philip Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint Philip Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crane Residential Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched dramatically on the cliffs of Barbados' pristine south-east coast, The Crane Residential Resort, established since 1887, is the island's oldest operating hotel. Transformed into a world-class luxury resort, The Crane features ultra-spacious, fully appointed ocean-view one & two bedroom suites and three bedroom Penthouses, many with their own private plunge-pool. Facilities include the acclaimed Zen Restaurant serving classic Thai and Japanese cuisine and the consistently popular L'Azure Restaurant. The casual Carriage House Pool Side restaurant is another favourite along with D'Onofrio's Trattoria located in 'The Village' which offers duty free shopping, a General Store, Bar 1887 (with nightly live entertainment) and The Village Cafe. Last but not least is Crane Beach voted by Lifestyle's of The Rich and Famous as one of the Top Ten most beautiful beaches in the world, now with a fabulous Beach Grill! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Regatta Hotels, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Crane Residential Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crane Residential Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Saint Philip
Crane Barbados
The Crane Barbados
Crane Hotel Barbados
Crane Resort Barbados
The Crane Residential Resort Barbados/Saint Philip Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crane Residential Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.