We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Crane Residential Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Crane Residential Resort to your Saves list
The Crane Residential Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2006

First of all, i will say we had a nice week at the crane. Definately the resort is old but has alot of charm. The only real problem we had was the air conditioner. We stayed in a 1 bedroom oceanfront suite with private pool. Our room was very nice ; just HOT!
I mentioned it 3 different days to 3 different members of the stay and was promised it would be checked out. The maid said it was as good as it gets . The temperature was well above 80 in our room 95% of the time. Our suite was missing several key items such as blender, toaster alarm clock. It took 3 days to get these items. The staff was always very friendly except at lunch on thursday the dining staff were all non-emotional, not rude, just not too pleasant to be around. Construction was definately visible, but was never really an issue for us. We knew in advance about the construction. I think if we would have had a cooler room it would have been great. I guess these problems are common with time-share properties. The beach was beautiful! The pool was nice but the water was very COLD! Not sure if i would go back, not because it was that bad, but there are many resorts much better.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    921
    361
    115
    87
    93
See reviews for
347
795
44
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Leonards on Sea, UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2006

We spent much time in selecting the right place to stay for our two week stay in Barbados, and after reading numerous reviews on The Crane and visiting their website we decided this was the dream destination. We discounted the poor reviews, believing only the good ones, what a mistake.
On arrival at the Hotel the porter/doorman grudgingly removed our cases from the car and just managed to point us in the direction of the check in clerk. Check in took 20 mins and we were then given complimentary vouchers to have a Rum Punch while the receptionist checked to see if our room was ready. A charming young man saw us to our room which was in the historic old building. The lounge, bedroom and bathroom were large with very high ceilings and natural airconditioning (open the widows, close the shutters and you get a continual breeze through the room) . There was also a ceiling fan in the lounge and bedroom. We also had a small kitchen area. The rugs in the lounge and bedroom were soaking wet and took two days to dry out. One of the window shutters was broken and could not be closed. After a week and two requests to have it repaired a bodged job was done, but unfortunately the securing bar was two inches too wide and on checking out two weeks later the problem had still not been resolved. When it rained part of the bedroom flooded as the guttering has been removed from the adjacent balcony.
Trying to get to sleep was an experience,the noise of the crickets throughout the night was unbearable, luckily we had some earplugs which we had to use every night of our stay in order to sleep. These also meant you could not hear the mosquitoes which bit my wife continually, I was lucky they left me alone.
We were determined to enjoy our stay and were up at the crack of dawn for breakfast, this starts at 730 and is off a set menu. Sadly no fresh fruit . The Gospel brunch every sunday was a different set up , large buffet with quality food and fruit. We went to two of these and although different choirs each week, they were both excellent. Worth booking 80bds for two plus service. We reserved a table for Zen their Thai/ Japanese restaurant, ten minutes after confirming we received a call to say no table was available. No apology just an abrupt woman with a tough luck attitude. We ventured out into St Lawrence Gap, where there are many good restaurants the better ones were Josefs ( magical flavours) and the Restaurant at Southsea (superb service and food).
Next day we gave Azzure the hotels other restaurant a try. The setting is beautiful, the staff lacked training and the food was flavourless, at least the wine was good value, which helped to drown our sorrows. Not recommended.
When we eventually got to Zen, we ate their twice, the food was superb, different class to Azzure and up to par with any restaurant in Thailand. The service here was excellent, try and book one of the private booths, there are several of them. Zen also has a Sushi bar which looked good.
The location of the hotel means it is continually breezy, so much so that there are no umbrellas to shade you in the pool area, there are however trees just beneath the pool area where you can find shade. The beach is reached by 90+ steps, beautiful sand, there are loungers and sun umbrellas here. The sea has quite a strong current, so be careful. We saw only two beach vendors who were very friendly, not forceful and loved their cricket. The beach and the views from The Crane are very beautiful, but one of the world's top ten beaches, I dont think so.
There are massive building works going on as you will be aware, in all fairness this did not affect us, although one day there was piling work going on which although noisy was tolerable.
The rooms were only once cleaned before 2pm and the toiletries were only replaced once during our stay. One day no water for some time, but as usual the front desks atttiude stunk.
Staff worth a mention, Pauline in reservations, if the management were as efficient as her the hotel would be a better place. Julie (foyer ambassador) a charming and helpful girl, Lynette (concierge) most helpful and Errol who fluctuated between Zen and Azzure a really nice guy.
To summarise The Crane is the worst managed hotel we have ever stayed at, the staff are generally poorly trained, the front desk are the slowest I have ever encounterd. It took me 40 minutes to pay the account. Perhaps the timeshare occupiers post the good reviews or receive better service than we did. The good points are the location and the privacy, massive rooms, great views, ten minutes easy drive to airport.
I hope you find the review helpful and if you decide to stay at The Crane, I hope yours is a better experience than ours. That all said it was an experience and we did enjoy our stay in Barbados. Have a good one.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Crane for our anniversary and had a fantastic time! The construction is really not as bad as it sounds in some of the other reviews. Unless you plan on sitting in your room all day (which we certainly did not!), you should not find the construction an issue. From the beach, pool, and restaurant areas, it is barely noticeable. We received a great deal (due to the construction) on a fabulous room including a spa tub, outside patio, kitchenette area, etc.

The beach is gorgeous, but the water can be rough (we found it great for bodysurfing!), and it is a little difficult to get to - you have to walk down a lot of steps! We loved the pool and wound up there after the beach most days (and would frequently come back to swim at night!)

The only downside (if you want to call it that) is that the resort is very far from town and the west coast restaurants. Luckily both restaurants (L'Azure and Zen) are top notch - in fact, my favorite dinner of the trip was from L'Azure, and we spared no expense eating at other top restaurants on the island including The Cliff and Pisces.

If you're feeling adventurous, rent a jeep and explore the island. If not, expect to spend a decent amount of money on cabs. We had a great time touring the island, and even managed to get ourselves around quite well.

Definitely hope to visit The Crane again...

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2006

We were at the resort the begining of June. I had previously stayed at the Crane 2 years prior. There was some construction but, not intrusive. We had a wonderful stay. We arrived on Saturday, it was quiet. Sunday was quiet. Monday, was quiet. It was a holiday. Tuesday, was non stop construction in our face. My husband in construction and we consider ourselves pretty tollerent however, this began at 8am and never stoped until 5pm. We had a lovely patio with lounge chairs and a 27' pool that we could never use becaues of the dust, dirt and noise from the 20 some workers in our face, a large yellow crane loading huge stones into the backs of large trucks making lots and lots of noise. This had to have been the worst vacation. I think the reason we work so hard is that we can reward ourselves with some relaxtion and quiet. We litterly had to be gone from our room from about 9 to 5. Need I say more!!!! Most places with class close or at least offer half price and are very clear about their construction. NOT the Crane!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2006

We were looking forward to a relaxing seven nights at the Crane. Using our time share points from RCI and advised by RCI and the Crane that we would not be bothered with the construction we decided to trust that advise and book our vacation at the Crane. Needless, to say we had to use alot of our points to get the reservation and we had to book one year out from our travel date. (We booked two suites, one for us and one for our friends who had vacationed at the Crane a few years back with very little construction and had a great time). We reserved the suite with the private 24ft pool and was elated as the suite was large and had very nice furniture and an oversized bathroomn. Then....our view was right in the middle of the CONSTRUCTION ZONE. Cranes and heavy equipment everywhere all day long.. No privacy, dirt and dust coated our patio and the noise was unbelievable. It was worse than going to the Dentist. We tried to move but the hotel was full and we would have had to move to a smaller room or one without air conditioning and somewhat unfinished outside and still close to the construction zone. On top of this the air conditioning did not work in our room and it was HOT! Thank God for the hospitality of the staff and that the two restaurants were satisfying and offered a flexible schedule. If RCI (and the Crane) had been honest with us we would have spent less time here and more time on the westside of the island. Instead we spent 3 nights on the westside and 7 nights at the crane. We will not be back to the Crane anytime soon! We will wait for the spa, fitness center, gift shop and full service bar, and NO CONSTRUCTION before returning.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2006

i visited the crane with the intention of having a relaxing couple of days away from the city bustle - boy did it live up to expectations!! the view was fantastic, room lovely, food delicious (though i would've expected nothing less with their reputation), and service very good - wonderful staff...a few asides - the breakfast menu was a bit too paltry, and if they do have a buffet breakfast option, it certainly was not made known to me...maybe more pillows for the bed and a working jacuzzi?...but all in all - definitely a place worth staying at and i do intend to return in the near future..

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2006

We have just stayed at the Crane for 1 week they couldn't do enough to make our stay special, we went with our children (2 year old and 3 year old) and the staff were excellent with them. Our room was fantastic it was a home from home, the construction work that was going on didn't affect our time there. We can not fault this hotel, the pool was fantastic the beach was out of this world and the views were amazing, we stayed in block 5 (546a) which had a plunge pool and a view of the sea we couldn't ask for more. We dealt with Sophie and Alexander who certainly made our stay extra special. Thanks again to everyone there you were the best and would definately go back again

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crane Residential Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crane Residential Resort

Address: Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Philip Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint Philip Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crane Residential Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched dramatically on the cliffs of Barbados' pristine south-east coast, The Crane Residential Resort, established since 1887, is the island's oldest operating hotel. Transformed into a world-class luxury resort, The Crane features ultra-spacious, fully appointed ocean-view one & two bedroom suites and three bedroom Penthouses, many with their own private plunge-pool. Facilities include the acclaimed Zen Restaurant serving classic Thai and Japanese cuisine and the consistently popular L'Azure Restaurant. The casual Carriage House Pool Side restaurant is another favourite along with D'Onofrio's Trattoria located in 'The Village' which offers duty free shopping, a General Store, Bar 1887 (with nightly live entertainment) and The Village Cafe. Last but not least is Crane Beach voted by Lifestyle's of The Rich and Famous as one of the Top Ten most beautiful beaches in the world, now with a fabulous Beach Grill! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Crane Residential Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crane Residential Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Saint Philip
Crane Barbados
The Crane Barbados
Crane Hotel Barbados
Crane Resort Barbados
The Crane Residential Resort Barbados/Saint Philip Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crane Residential Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.