We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crane - Better than Expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crane Residential Resort

Save Saved
You added The Crane Residential Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Crane Residential Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Crane - Better than Expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My wife and I traveled to the Crane from 6/5 - 6/9 to celebrate our 15 year anniversary. I checked the TripAdvisor site frequently prior to our trip to get a feeling for what it would be like. I tried to break down the main resort details below.

Check-in: Was a breeze. We were greeted at our taxi by an associate from the hotel. He took our bags and escorted us into the lobby. He offered us a rum punch (um, YES!), which is a great way to get the vacation started. There was no wait at the front desk and the checked us in promptly. We arrived about 2.5 hours before check-in, yet our room was already ready.

Room: Someone from guest services escorted us to our room, providing details about Barbados and the Crane along the way. We were placed in Building 5 (which I requested). Quite simply, the room was phenomenal. 1 BR/2BA ocean view. You'd pay about double this price in a large US city, and without a view of the ocean.

THE SOUND: I'm not sure what combination of animals awaken at night here, if they are crickets or tree frogs, or what, but they are LOUD. I can't imagine what it would be like in a garden view room. By our last night, we couldn't take it anymore and had to shut the windows and turn on the AC.

General Store: The store has a nice selection of items. Is it more expensive than a store at home - yes. But you are paying for convenience and nothing so ridiculous I wouldn't expect to pay for on a vacation.

Beach - the sand of the beach is to die for. There is a reason that beach is consistently ranked in the top 25 for the best in the world. Very little sea debris and the chairs and umbrellas are usually being setup by 6:30am. We were only approached one time to buy a coconut our entire stay. The waves are fairly strong.

Food Allergies: My wife has food allergies and I must say we were pleasantly surprised at how well the Crane handled them. My wife was "red-flagged", meaning each time we went to a new restaurant, the servers were immediately aware. Servers at D'Onofrio's, L'Azure, and even the Carriage House were incredible, namely Dale and Shelly.

Restaurants: We did not try Zen due to the above mentioned food allergies, but D'Onofrio's and L'Azure were fantastic. I'd seen mixed reviews about D'Onofrio's, but we thought it was fantastic. We like our Italian food, and found everything we ordered to be quite tasty. We ordered a pizza to go one evening for our departure day, and even the next day it was fantastic!

Bar 1887 - great selection of outdoor seating to sit back and relax. There was a musician playing most weekday nights, which served as great background.

Guest Services - we had pre-booked a sunset catamaran cruise for our 15 year anniversary day. When we went to guest services the evening before, the mentioned the likelihood of it being cancelled was high because they only had 4 people. The only thing I would have liked would to have had more notice or even when we booked to say they often cancel since it is low season. Guest Services was very helpful in organizing the taxi's to go to Oistens for the Friday Fish Fry

On other side note, we had a blast at the Barbados Turf Club. If you are there when the horses are running, I would recommend it. Our taxi driver, Michael (26-251-7125) was fantastic! I would recommend getting a grandstand seat ($20 BDS) as the seating options arel imited otherwise.

Room Tip: Building 5, ocean view rooms are fantastic and close to the Carriage House
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear 315Rob44,

Congratulations on your 15th wedding anniversary! We are thrilled you chose to celebrate this milestone with us at The Crane and sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post this fantastic and thorough review.

Cliff Cot (Building 5) certainly does enjoy breathtaking ocean views but we were sorry to learn of the disturbance you experienced due to the whistling frogs. This is not a complaint we often hear as guests regularly comment on the soothing nature of this background “music”.

However, we are pleased that The Crane exceeded your expectations. It definitely sounds as though you had an overall enjoyable experience from check-in to check-out.

Again, thank you for taking the time to post this review and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    880
    351
    107
    84
    90
See reviews for
338
757
44
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Just returned from another wonderful stay at The Crane. We have part-ownership here and have to say that on each successive visit (bi-annually) the service and standards at the resort improve.
Units are set amongst very well tended grounds serviced by an army of gardeners.
Check in is swift and if your room isn't ready (depending on your arrival time) then you can sit and relax with a complimentary rum cocktail - the first of many!
We have a 2 bed turret pool apartment, which is very spacious and well equipped. We have never yet had to use the air con as the breeze off the sea combined with the ceiling fans is more than sufficient for our needs.
Love nothing more than an early morning amble along Crane beach and a paddle in the sea. The current and undertow is very strong here, so not advised for swimming unless you are a strong swimmer, followed by a coffee or ice cream at the cafe before retiring to one of the 5 pools. All of which are carefully positioned to screen one from the other and plenty of sun beds to choose from.
Lunch can be at The Carriage House Pool bar, D'Onofrio's Italian with Shrimp Rissoto to die for,
L'Azure or Zen. There is plenty of choice from bar food to fine dining.
Car hire may be advised if you want to explore the island fully or local buses run from just outside the resort.
Shuttle bus service to Bridgetown is on Thursday for shopping and to Oistins fish fry on Friday night. This is a brilliant outdoor evening with music, local food and craft stalls with a good mix of tourists and locals which is not to be missed for a casual fun evening.
The resort is kept very clean and staff are friendly and helpful. Housekeeping can be a bit of a mixed bag. Our apartment was serviced the first week by someone who really went the extra mile, due to her vacation, the second week was by assorted staff which although was OK, her extra diligence highlighted a slightly haphazard approach by others.
Treat yourself to a late night drink at L'Azure, sat outside, overlooking the beach, listening to the surf - this reminds you what it's all about.............
One must do is the Wednesday trip on 'Cool Runnings' catamaran cruise - book through guest relations for shuttle service, which is a must if you are going to sample the free bar. This is a fantastic trip, 3 stops, great lunch, snorkel with Turtles or just swim. Boats are well stocked, staffed by a great crew, who despite being a huge laugh, remain professionally alert to the safety of passengers at all times.
All in all, for us, being in Barbados at The Crane, is like a home from home!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear PollyH5679,

We were thrilled to welcome you “home” once again. Your review certainly hasn’t left much for us to add! From the beautiful and unique design of our suites to the timeless Crane Beach, you’ve highlighted almost everything that is alluring about The Crane.

The hallmark of The Crane is the friendliness and attentiveness of our staff and we are delighted you’ve had the opportunity to experience this first hand. We remain committed to ensuring that our service levels remain consistent and have noted your observations.

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back “home” for many more years to come.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Augustine
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Incredible resort if your not incredibly picky. You need not leave the resort as everything is right on the property as well as the best beach and views. I traveled all over the island and nothing we saw compared to the Crane. Just don't wear camo in public not even blue and white camo boardshorts like I had on. The police frown on anyone wearing camo anything aside from the military there. If you like sushi like I do than ZEN is heaven. The tuna sashimi is the best Ive ever had anywhere. The rooms are spacious and with great views if you are ocean view in Bldg 5, 8 or 9. Plunge pools are pretty but not really functional as they are covered and way too cold to get in. Hotel should make them heated and it would make a huge difference. All in all great trip and Id recommend The Crane over anything else we witnessed in Barbados.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Steve M,

We couldn't agree with you more – The Crane is indeed all you need in Barbados. From the culinary delights in Zen to the breathtaking views of Crane Beach, it definitely sounds as though you enjoyed almost everything that the Resort has to offer.

You’ll find that none of the pools at The Crane are heated as over the years we’ve found that our guests enjoy the cool respite from the typically hot Barbados weather.

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. It was our pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to doing so again soon.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Just love this resort! We arrived and check in was a breeze. We enjoyed our complementary drink and had a late lunch at the Carriage House (we recommend the Bajan Flying Fish Cutter or the Grilled Chicken - both were tasty). We stayed in the Historic Hotel for the view and sea breeze. We loved sitting on the balcony of our room, enjoying a drink, and listening to the surf pound against the cliffs and beach below. Every day we went on a excursion to a part of the island and were always welcomed back with a smile and a quick chat about our outing. The General Store on the property has everything you need for your stay, although we found ourselves going to the nearby supermarket (less than 10 minutes away by car) partially to simply experience a bajan supermarket but also to get some local treats (like bajan sugar to bring back home). Although the resort had lots of guests, we had no problems at all in finding chaise chairs for the beach nor were any of the pools too busy. We recommend the Managers Cocktail Party on the Tuesday night - it is neat to talk to some of the other guests staying at the resort. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed eating at all of the restaurants - the pizza at D'Onofrios (the Italian restaurant on the property) in particular was surprisingly good. Bring one set of nicer clothes (slacks and a nice shirt or a dress) to eat dinner at Zen.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Allan W,

It seems to me that you had the true Crane holiday while here in Barbados. Since 1887, The Historic Hotel has stood as a testament of The Crane’s rich history. You have described in great detail the perfect Crane regime for how to enjoy your holiday and the importance of taking time to simply relax and enjoy the island at your own pace.

We agree that the resort seldom feels crowded; this is in part due to the resort layout and a range of amenities to choose from including four restaurants, a café, six pools, retail shopping, a cocktail bar and the pink sands of Crane Beach. In fact, you can now enjoy light lunch on the beach from The Grove Bar & Grill which also serves your favourite tropical drinks.

Thank you for choosing The Crane on your Barbados holiday and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on-Sea, Essex
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We swapped our Hilton points through RCI to visit this resort and we are delighted that we did. The Crane is only about 10 minutes from the airport in a taxi. The taxi rank was very well organised and the fare was US$16.00. Reception was quick and efficient and a welcome drink and cool towel was offered whilst we were checking in. We were shown to our apartment which was in Harrismith, room 822, overlooking perfectly groomed gardens and a glimpse of the sea. Best of all was the wonderful sea breeze which meant that we could sleep with the patio doors open to enjoy the natural air-conditioning. You really do get used to the sound of the tree frogs in the evening. Our accommodation comprised a well-equipped kitchen which included washing machine and tumble drier. Tea towels, scourer, washing-up cloths, dishwasher tablets, tea bags, coffee, sugar, salt and pepper, were all supplied. The dining/through lounge was tasteful and comfortable. The bed was comfy and the bathroom spacious and well-stocked with products, Everything was spotless! Access to the beautiful Crane beach was via a lift. Sunbeds and umbrellas are plentiful. The sea is quite challenging and you would have to be a strong swimmer to venture out into it. It was good fun watching people body-boarding or just jumping the strong waves. The restaurants at the resort are top class and the grocery store supplied our basic needs. Bar 1887 has Happy Hour between 5.30pm and 6.30pm where all alcoholic drinks are half price. We enjoyed a trip to Bridgetown on the local bus which you can get if you exit the resort, turn right and the bus stop is about a 5 minute walk, on the same side of the road of the Crane. The fare is $2.00 (Barbados dollars and they like the right money handed to them) to go anywhere.. The return bus is accessed from the bus depot in the centre of Bridgetown, gate 12. The journey took about an hour. The Crane organises a weekly Friday evening shuttle to Oistins which is well worth doing.

Room Tip: I believe that all rooms have different benefits but our room, 822, benefited from a sea breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Rosyglow,

Thank you for taking the time to post this delightful review, it is truly a pleasure to know that you had a thoroughly enjoyable holiday with us.

Many of our guests often comment about the “natural air-conditioning” at the resort as The Crane is favourably positioned on the south-east coast and benefits from the cooling trade winds which affect the island.

In addition to a weekly shuttle service to Oistins, we also offer our guest a weekly shuttle service to Bridgetown and the Limegrove Lifestyle Centre. Our Guest Services team is also available to arrange taxi services so that can explore the island at your own pace.

Thank you for choosing The Crane on your Barbados holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back to “peaceful luxury”.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This resort was very beautiful, wonderful pools and gardens and views over the sea.. we shared a ground floor apartment, so had own pool which was wonderful, clean and well looked after with spectacular views over the gardens, and other pools, a humming bird visited us almost every day. We had studio part, at rear, so own patio, surround by lovely gardens, and loads or birds visited us.. Gardens well maintained.. its own private beach, which although small, really lovely with fine pale pink sand...Fab.. Restaurants food was very good, especially L 'Azure. service very good with happy and friendly staff all over this resort, even chatting to gardeners, we got tips and very impressed with young gardeners knowledge.
Enjoyed trips round the island; Mount Gay rum, good tour, and best cocktails afterwards, hic,, we had a great afternoon there... Andromeda gardens, sensational... also flower forrest... Harrison Cave, best trip, great tourist venue, well planned and organised with video first, then underground on a big trolley train, cathederal and great hall areas, a wonderful site to see.. Earthworks pottery a good place to visit as well,... islanders we found a very friendly happy people, especially at church service, which by husband went to.. Mothers day was a great celebration.... we had an excellent holiday....
one complaint, although apartment pool excellent, patio did not seem to be on a regular list to clean, also the same with small patio at rear on to gardens, also apartment patio chairs and sunloungers, were very worn, that let down the appearance somewhat... all other areas we found were well maintained... an second complaint as well, although apartments looked good, the smart wooden floors did not keep rooms cool, they were always warm at night, it took a long time to cool apartment... and Aircon, was approx £4 an hour, so expensive, it the ceiling fan was not sufficient..... whereas the bathrooms with marble floors were much cooler.
on a positive note. our family hired a car, and at end of first week, car had two problems, so we called in at car hire as we headed back to apartment, and within 15 min we were out with another car... brilliant service, to enjoy our second week...

Room Tip: take a good mosie repellent, ours did not work.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Murphy-edin,

Thank you for taking the time to post this detailed review. We are happy that you had an opportunity to spend two weeks enjoying all that The Crane and Barbados have to offer. It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us.

We have also taken your comments regarding the patio chairs and sun loungers into consideration. Just one small clarification, all beaches in Barbados are in fact public beaches and although The Crane Resort is located on the cliff above the beach we do not in any way own this beach.

I have also spoken to our Housekeeping Manager who confirmed that every occupied room in the resort is cleaned daily by attendants between the hours of 9am- 4pm unless guests have specifically indicated otherwise.

In terms of your air conditioning charges, these are in line with rates published by the Barbados Light & Power for fuel/energy surcharges. Our members are advised of air conditioning fees and required to sign their agreement to the necessary terms and services when checking in to the resort.

A belated ‘Happy Mother’s Day’ to you and we look forward to welcoming you to the resort on your next Barbados holiday.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a one bedroom ocean view suite. The room was well equipped (two full bathrooms, full kitchen, washer/dryer). The ground were well kept and clean. The pools and beach had enough chairs and were kept extremely clean.
The food and the quality was below a fast food outlet. Breakfast was a nightmare: one day ordered eggs over easy, the eggs came out brown and hard with raw bacon. The waiter was shocked when I sent it back. Another morning the same waiter was surprised when I asked for the fruit plate that was included in my order. Ate at the Italian restaurant and became violently ill later that evening. Zen had the only eatable food, but it was over priced for the quality of the ingredients. Found this the problem at all off the dining outlets, poor quality of the food. I thought being on an island there would be fresh seafood and fish. Dining at the Carriage House the waiter informed us the crab salad was not real crab. It seemed like the property did not have any trained chefs. Thus hungry for the entire stay, I would not recommend the Crane.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crane Residential Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crane Residential Resort

Address: Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Philip Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint Philip Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crane Residential Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched dramatically on the cliffs of Barbados' pristine south-east coast, The Crane Residential Resort, established since 1887, is the island's oldest operating hotel. Transformed into a world-class luxury resort, The Crane features ultra-spacious, fully appointed ocean-view one & two bedroom suites and three bedroom Penthouses, many with their own private plunge-pool. Facilities include the acclaimed Zen Restaurant serving classic Thai and Japanese cuisine and the consistently popular L'Azure Restaurant. The casual Carriage House Pool Side restaurant is another favourite along with D'Onofrio's Trattoria located in 'The Village' which offers duty free shopping, a General Store, Bar 1887 (with nightly live entertainment) and The Village Cafe. Last but not least is Crane Beach voted by Lifestyle's of The Rich and Famous as one of the Top Ten most beautiful beaches in the world, now with a fabulous Beach Grill! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Regatta Hotels, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Crane Residential Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crane Residential Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Saint Philip
Crane Barbados
The Crane Barbados
Crane Hotel Barbados
Crane Resort Barbados
The Crane Residential Resort Barbados/Saint Philip Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crane Residential Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.