We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expecting three days of bliss” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Crane Residential Resort

Save Saved
You added The Crane Residential Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Crane Residential Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“expecting three days of bliss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We arrived late because once again Liat was not on time. I guess they do mean (leave island any time). At this point it was already dark and after our cab driver tried to over charge us. We arrived at the front desk and explained that we wanted to have a drink and a small bite to eat before we checked in and had dinner. We were offered a rum punch and told that there is not any food at the bar and no bars at the restaurants. I went to The General Store and grabbed some nuts and met my husband at Bar 1887. Dining at the bar is our pleasure and always sit there. We were expecting three wonderful days at The Crane at the end of the most fabulous vacation to Bequia. My husband looked at me and asked what was wrong? I told him that the clerks at the store were terribly rude. I went to the counter and the woman was on the phone. She told me to go over there. I greeted the other clerk and all she said was the price. I gave her the money, took my change ,said thank you and she said nothing else. The next day we went in to The Village Cafe and were treated with total disrespect. Happily asking if i could please taste the coffee ice cream, she handed me a spoon. We ordered our cone and I asked where I should put the tasting spoon, she just pointed. We received the cone and I said thank you. She said nothing. I pointed to the tip jar and said please and thank you make tips. They both just laughed at us. They are not just rude and arrogant they should be fired. Telling my husband that I think we made a mistake and should of stayed at the Silver Point again. That is were we stayed before we went to The Grenadines. The Silver Point get top grade from us. After having a Banks (good beer) and our cashews, checked into our lovely room and got ready for dinner. The first night we ate at L'Azure. Food service and atmosphere just perfect. They were just as great at breakfast, they took such good care of us. I wish I had taken names to give praise where it belongs. Susan is the only one I can recall but there are many more. Zen is over priced but pretty good .D'Onofrios is a disgrace to The Crane. Our waitress argued with us when we said we were very unhappy with our meal. I started to think maybe our standards are to high until we were told by staff that other people had the same as us. When we woke up in the morning our room was not what we asked for. I am a painter an I wanted to paint. Last room in building 5 looking off property. Most of 5 in my opinion has the best view. The elevator was down and my hips wont take 100 stairs. Coming from paradise in Bequia where we were totally distressed and ending our holiday here was getting more and more stressful for us. Our room was changed after talking to Bernise, I am not sure if the desk made the change or it was a misunderstanding with Bernise. We were put in building 9 at the end again on the 3rd floor with a plunge pool. Far away and no view to paint from that high. Back to the front desk . They gave us a ocean front room in 5 on a high floor. Too high to paint but a great view. Way to much inside not enough deck space. Dennis was very helpful and understanding. Karah in the red dress is just the best you could have. She go will go far if she chooses to stays at The Crane. Just love the big pool. The Carriage House is very nice. Despite all the issues we had a great time. Please bring this to the attention to the food and beverage manager John Doyle. If you could clean up the food problems and lighten up on the militant rules you could have a good thing.

Room Tip: rooms have more room than they need and balconies are too small building 5 is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Marlanacat,

We were terribly disappointed to learn that your stay failed to meet your expectations. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay.

The Crane prides itself on having the most genuine and friendly staff you could ever encounter, with Susan, Dennis and Karimah being shining examples. We do apologise if any of your interactions were anything less than warm and engaging. Your observations have been taken very seriously and will be investigated further. Thank you for drawing this to our attention.

Please be assured that food & beverage continues to be an area of focus for the entire Management team and we will continue to systematically review our offering, with the goal of implementing effective improvements.

We were indeed cognisant of your needs as a painter and tried to accommodate appropriate room moves for you, within the constraints of availability. However, we are pleased you were able to have an overall “great time” despite the inconsistencies and hope you will give us another opportunity to create the true Crane experience for you.

Sincerely,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    880
    351
    107
    84
    90
See reviews for
338
757
44
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centreville, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We had a wonderful 5 night stay at the Crane and had a fabulous vacation. We were on the top floor with a beautiful ocean view. Everything was clean, the staff were very friendly. Even the young men who fed the koi would hold up knowing we loved to watch. Food at each of the restaurants was great. There were so many lovely poolside areas on the property, we had a hard time deciding where we would lounge each day! I took lots and lots of pictures from every vantage point.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear JanU57586,

It definitely sounds as though you enjoyed an overall “fabulous” time with us here at The Crane. Friendliness is indeed the hallmark of our staff and it was our pleasure to ensure that you enjoyed everything that The Crane has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon – next time, for a longer stay!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We booked the Gospel breakfast at The Crane resort in L Azure restaurant last Sunday and we were disappointed. Firstly we hadn't realised or been made aware on the website that you need to book for the 9am sitting to get the far better tables with the views. The breakfast was pretty average and the gospel choir were just ok. We felt it was done purely for tourists and you are so much better off finding a local church and just asking to go in and listen to their genuine church choir. You are made just so welcome and its so much more part of the Bajan local culture. Sorry!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear southcoastgilly,

We were surprised to learn that you didn’t enjoy your Gospel Breakfast experience in L’Azure. Its combination of breathtaking views, uplifting music and delicious food has long established The Crane as a Sunday tradition for locals and tourists alike.

We usually encourage our guests to book as early as possible in order to secure their desired tables and do apologise if this was not communicated to you at the time of booking.

However, we do hope that this initial disappointment does not deter you from returning to The Crane to experience all that we have to offer.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Just returned from The Crane where we stayed for 8 nights. Would highly recommend this hotel as location, service and food are all excellent. Wonderful views over the ocean from L'Azure Restaurant each morning with lovely breezes wafting through. We stayed in Building 5 to start with and had a garden view and an ocean view being on the corner, which was just amazing. However the bay window flooded every time it rained and we were stepping into puddles when we got out of bed. This was reported 3 times and they moved us after 2 nights to one of the owners suites in the Residences. Whilst this was considered an upgrade as it had its own pool and jacuzzi, the jacuzzi did not work and we were completely enclosed in by the garden wall. Nice for privacy but then you get eaten alive by the mosquito's (suffered 40 bites despite using DEET day and night) so the pool became useless to us as we could not go in the garden. I would have preferred another room of the same standard, junior suite in any of the other buildings. Plus the incessant noise contained within the garden area as we were surrounded on 3 sides by garden with an infinite number of Whistling Frogs going all night, we hardly ever slept.

All that said, we had a wonderful time, the hotel and grounds are superb with lots of places where you can be and have privacy. Pools are great also. Staff are all friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble wherever you were on site and this is always a good sign. Beach is wonderful but the lift was out of order down to the beach for 3 days and there was something like 60 steps to negotiate - fine if you are 20 something but not if you are over 60!! But it did not stop us going up and down.

Food was just fantastic in both L'Azure and D'Onofrios. Only crib I have with the Zen was that the half board meal plan was not available in there and was chargeable. The L'Azure had items on the menu that were additional, ie. Fillet Mignon or Lobster which would be expected so why could the Zen restaurant not apply the same principle? The restaurants are very expensive but as we were half board this time, I would recommend anyone planning to stay go with the half board option as you will find that you probably saved quite a good some of money as the food is superb, always presented beautifully, cooked to perfection and served with a smile, and you can eat Crab, Fillet or Lobster every night if you wish.

I am sure you will have a great time at The Crane, it is as good as all the other reviews say and more.

Room Tip: Corner suites are huge have garden view and sea view and are just wonderful. Building 5 is furtherst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear gjrlcr,

Thank you for your high recommendation! It was truly a pleasure to welcome you to The Crane and we are thrilled you enjoyed an overall “wonderful time.”

However, we do apologise for inconsistencies you experienced in your suites. Please be assured that these irregularities are in no way indicative of the overall service standards at The Crane. We have taken note of each area highlighted and passed on to our Engineering team for immediate rectification. We were also sorry to learn of the discomfort you experienced due to mosquitoes. We do have a regular fogging schedule in place but these pests do tend to multiply following heavy rainfalls.

Zen, our flagship restaurant, is rated Barbados’#1 for Food by Zagat. It is not included on the meal plan as its authentic Thai and Japanese cuisine comes highly demanded by locals and visitors alike. However, we are pleased you enjoyed our restaurant offering overall.

Don’t become strangers! We hope to welcome you again soon.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We just returned from a five night stay at the Crane and had a wonderful time!! We had a one bedroom suite with an ocean view. The room itself was very spacious and clean. Checking into the hotel was a breeze. All the staff were very friendly. Crane beach is so beautiful! We loved having breakfast at L'Azure every morning and enjoyed the view from the restuarant. Guest services was very helpful in booking golf times for us, and arranging dinner reservations outside of the resort. They also helped us with a car rental. It was all too easy!! I would definitely return to the Crane!!

Room Tip: Rooms in building five have the best view of the water and the cliffs!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear michelle h,

Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review. We are thrilled you enjoyed a “fabulous time” here with us at The Crane. From check-in to check-out, our employees go above and beyond to ensure that each of our guests have exceptionally memorable vacations.

Don’t become strangers! We hope to welcome you again soon – next time, for a longer stay!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPRUCE GROVE
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Crane and had the most wonderful time! The service was impeccable and they did everything to make us feel welcome and look after our every need. We ate dinner in the beautiful restaurant with an incredible ocean-view. The view is breathtaking from almost anywhere on the property. Staff were friendly, location was beautiful and the room was very clean and nicely decorated. We really enjoyed the many pool options. Only one thing detracted from this great experience was the construction that was going on. Wasn't noisy, just an eye-sore. Overall we had a wonderful time. It's such a beautiful and quiet place. I would recommend to anyone to stay here!

Room Tip: We stayed in a garden room and it was lovely with plants all around. We didn't choose an ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear RELLA G,

It definitely sounds as though you enjoyed almost everything The Crane has to offer. From our naturally spectacular location on Barbados’ South East coast to our world-class amenities just steps away from your suite, The Crane is perfect for a truly relaxing vacation.

The Crane is indeed a growing brand. However, we have confined construction to one area of the resort and every attempt is made to ensure that any disturbance to neighbouring guests is minimal.

Thank you for taking the time to post this fantastic review. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed in a one bedroom suite with pool/ocean view. Check was smooth and simple. The room was huge and had everything you could want or need. Had no issues with any appliances or the room at all. The A/C is not super cold nor do you need it to be. We slept with the window open and it was fine. The elevator broke upon our arrival and we were on the 3rd floor - wasn't fixed too quickly either. If we had stayed more than two nights would have been asked to be moved. Food and service was excellent. Recommend the Carriage house for lunch. Will be returning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear flyboyaircan,

We couldn’t agree with you more – The Crane certainly is "an excellent place to relax". Our spacious suites tastefully blend colonial architecture with modern conveniences, making us the perfect “home-away-from-home” choice for our guests.

We apologise for the inconvenience you experienced with your building’s elevator. We are currently working with the manufacturers to resolve this issue and expect the elevator to be operational soon.

However, we trust that this minor inconvenience did not detract from what sounds to be an overall enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crane Residential Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crane Residential Resort

Address: Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Philip Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint Philip Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crane Residential Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched dramatically on the cliffs of Barbados' pristine south-east coast, The Crane Residential Resort, established since 1887, is the island's oldest operating hotel. Transformed into a world-class luxury resort, The Crane features ultra-spacious, fully appointed ocean-view one & two bedroom suites and three bedroom Penthouses, many with their own private plunge-pool. Facilities include the acclaimed Zen Restaurant serving classic Thai and Japanese cuisine and the consistently popular L'Azure Restaurant. The casual Carriage House Pool Side restaurant is another favourite along with D'Onofrio's Trattoria located in 'The Village' which offers duty free shopping, a General Store, Bar 1887 (with nightly live entertainment) and The Village Cafe. Last but not least is Crane Beach voted by Lifestyle's of The Rich and Famous as one of the Top Ten most beautiful beaches in the world, now with a fabulous Beach Grill! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Regatta Hotels, Priceline, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Crane Residential Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crane Residential Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Saint Philip
Crane Barbados
The Crane Barbados
Crane Hotel Barbados
Crane Resort Barbados
The Crane Residential Resort Barbados/Saint Philip Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crane Residential Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.