We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better late than never in reviewing..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crane Residential Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Crane Residential Resort to your Saves list
The Crane Residential Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Crane Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Better late than never in reviewing..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

As owners since Jan 2001, we were on site for 6 weeks in Jan-Feb ‘13. We enjoyed our time immensely this year in an upper floor of bldg. 9. Trick to avoid mosquitoes is to be located as high as possible. What a difference that made, with the fabulous sea breezes. Most of the time we didn’t even need to have the ceiling fans on; of course it helped that we had the best continuous weather EVER, since we started going to Barbados in 1991; 23 consecutive years !
How wonderful it is to be welcomed every year by the same staff members, starting with the men at the Bell desk. Being able to request our ‘special lady Brenda’ from housekeeping every year, also makes a huge difference for us, as she always remembers the way we like things done. How she does this, with hundreds of others to remember as well, is beyond me. It’s really our comfortable ‘second home’.
We have made so many great friends from various countries since buying at The Crane, that a wonderful social group has developed, which again adds tremendously to our level of comfort. As we regularly entertain friends and visiting family members, the supervisors have always been so helpful in making sure I have all the necessary equipment needed for any function I host in our unit. This year it was Sandra, last year Dionne, then Lisle, and Francia, etc. All have been extraordinarily helpful. I can’t write this without including Dwayne, the carpenter, and Rashid, who have been there whenever we needed anything made or fixed. Keisha T from Guest Services ‘rocked’ !
The beach was back to its normal ‘flawless’ feel this year, after a couple of years of ‘seaweed’, but then, that’s nature. Just can’t get enough of those walks on the perfect beach in the early morning.
D’Onofrio’s menu was very good, though it would be so much better if the servers didn’t have to start listing all the food items and wines they DON’T have at every meal. It can be very frustrating.
It would also be a GREAT idea if the Carriage House would serve dinner during the winter season again, particularly on Tuesdays when Zen is closed, and on Fridays, when most owners/guests are out of food in their units, and Saturdays when new people are arriving. At the moment, there are only D’Onofrio’s (which is small) and L’Azure and Zen (which are both very expensive and not really casual for dining on the last night). For Friday nights I realise many visitors go to Oistins, but most owners or returning guests have been there so often, they have NO need to go again.
The previous dinner menu at the Carriage House was limited, but the food and service were both EXCELLENT; kudos to Errol, Suzie and Jason, etc! It was so very pleasant to sit and eat there, following their casual Happy Hour (which we all truly miss !!!), with the incredible evening breeze enveloping you; aaahhhhhhh….
Dinners at Zen are amazing, though my favourite is the Thai Sampler with the ‘curry’ dish being so good you just don’t want the taste to ever stop !
Needless to say, the new Café is a very popular outlet for all ages, and early morning get-togethers with friends are a wonderful way to start the day. Of course the after-dinner desserts are good TOO !
No resort is without issues, and there are some at The Crane as well, but we all still love it and hope that one day soon, the construction will be done and that it will only be a need for regular maintenance, which is a constant struggle with anything on a Caribbean island, surrounded by the sea.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear jaznmag,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a fantastic review – you really haven’t left much for us to add! Perhaps the most endearing thing about returning to The Crane year after year, is rekindling those friendships you have formed with both guests and employees. Indeed, each member of staff mentioned was absolutely thrilled to learn that they played a special role in creating your wonderful vacation memories.

We appreciate and have taken note of your suggestions regarding our current food & beverage offerings. We too share your vision for The Crane and look forward to completing construction while maintaining the functional beauty of the resort.

Again, thank you for taking the time to post this review. We look forward to welcoming you home – for many more years to come!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,028
    425
    134
    91
    100
See reviews for
403
876
49
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgetown, Barbados
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The Crane is an excellent resort with wonderful staff, breath taking views of the south of the island, pleasant trails for early morning walks in lush tropical gardens. The view from the balcony was so relaxing with the smell of the sea spray, over looking aquamarine waters during the day and the silver streaks of the moon on the water by night. It was so romantic.....ooh the memories. We had a fantastic time there and would recommend it to anyone whether you are going with children or for a romantic vacation.

Room Tip: If you are an early riser and want to lounge on the balcony, ask for a room that get minimum morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Linda F,

We are thrilled by your high recommendation! It is always our pleasure to welcome our fellow Barbadians to experience all that The Crane has to offer. We couldn’t agree with you more – our views are what memories are made of.

Thank you for taking the time to post this terrific review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon – many more fantastic staycations await!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Listowel, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

It was our first visit to Barbados (friend & I from Toronto Ontario) and we were absolutely thrilled to be there from beginning to end. The room was breathtaking with an amazing view of the ocean. The best part of the whole trip was meeting Cory Grazette who works down at the beach. He was so helpful and showed us around the area which was fantastic - he really made our stay extra special and enjoyable. (Anyone visiting, find him - he's amazing & extremely nice). Overall fantastic trip and will be back for sure!

Room Tip: Ask for Building "5" - best views and the newest building. Close to the Carriage house and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Melissa C,

Thank you for taking the time to post this brief but fantastic review. It was truly our pleasure to welcome you to Barbados and The Crane.

Corey was absolutely delighted by your special mention. He, like all of our employees here at The Crane, takes great pride in his duties and always goes above and beyond to ensure that our guests’ expectations are surpassed.

Don’t become strangers! We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I've visited The Crane on a number of occasions and think it is a wonderful resort. What I love most about this resort are the spacious rooms. They are the biggest hotel rooms that I am aware of on the island. The shopping facilties, restaurants, private and public pools, outdoor facilities and the whole experience of staying there is worth it all. The Sunday morning Gospel Brunch is a "must experience" event.

Room Tip: As long as you're in a room at The Crane, it's perfect. I was on the ground floor with priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Cheryl H,

Thank you for taking the time to post this fantastic review! It is always a special pleasure to welcome our fellow Barbadians to experience all that The Crane has to offer.

The Crane’s spacious and well-appointed suites, coupled with an abundance of world-class services and amenities, definitely provide all of the elements necessary for a “great holiday.”

We are so thrilled you enjoyed yet another stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We booked the Sunday gospel breakfast and it was fab!!...there's everything you could want from a buffet breakfast .. Staff were very helpful ... Try and go for the 9am sitting you get better seats ... Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear cayenne1812,

Thank you for this rave review! L’Azure’s breathtaking views, sumptuous menu and delightful gospel choirs have made the Sunday Gospel Breakfast become a tradition for Barbadians and repeat visitors to the island alike.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to experience even more of what The Crane has to offer.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Loved our stay at The Crane.
The beach plus the entire resort are definitely a top 10.
Stayed as part of Best of Barbados package.
Stayed in a Garden View Junior Suite in building 5.

This resort is amazing and I highly recommend staying here.
The photos I attached do not do it justice.

I do recommend renting a car for a least a few days, Stoutes was excellent in this regard
The Crane is far from any nightlife and restaurants.

The Azure restaurant was very good, the free breakfast was fantastic, and it really was free even the service charge was part of the Best of Barbados deal.
Eat one dinner here, had Filet Mignon, very good, not great.
Fair value for the money, good service. Did not eat at Zen.
Service can be slow, but seems to vary sometimes breakfast took 30 minutes, sometimes over an hour.
With this view though, hard to complain.

Rooms are huge, our Garden Room Suite had a full size fridge with full ice and water dispenser, full stove, oven, micro, coffee maker, etc..
Bath had jacuzzi tub plus nice separate shower.
Room with large balcony, nice large bed, good size TV and DVD player.
AC worked just fine, got the room down to 72-73, never lower, which was fine when it is 88 out, 72 feels pretty cool.

Lots to do on the island if you have a rental car.
Service of maids, staff was always excellent and very friendly.
Beds and all towels were changed daily.
Everything was very clean and grounds were very well kept.
Pool and beach are fantastic.

Surf at beach is fun for body boarding and although you need to swim, you need not be a very good swimmer to be just fine.
I jumped off the cliff ledge, see picture, to do that you must be a very good swimmer as at this depth the current is felt.

If you don't rent a car do walk to 2 places:
1.) Foul Bay - 500 yards from Crane enterance to left toward Airport. Nice secluded beach.

2.) Cutters - 100 yards from Crane enterance to right
good deli and small grocery.
Not many groceries, just the basics, but they have Boar's Head Deli Meats!!! A cutter is their sub/hero/grinder, etc...

Extra Bonus:
wireless Internet worked on my laptop in all areas of this resort, pool and in our suite - free service!!!

Saw the entire island with our rental car and no other resort looked nearly as nice as The Crane. Maybe Sandy Lane, but that is 10x the price at the Crane.
I wouldn;t stay anywhere else in Barbados.
If you want to party all night and be near all of the tourist action:
clubs, bars, crowds do not stay here, in fact you may want to rethink Barbados.
If you want a romantic holiday at a world class resort in a beautiful setting, stay at The Crane or regret it later.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear johnmatter1,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a terrific and detailed review of The Crane – you certainly haven’t left much for me to add!

The Crane is definitely not for everyone but, we do hold a special appeal for those who simply seek relaxation in a naturally spectacular setting while on their Barbados vacation. Despite our removed location on the South East coast, we are the perfect base from which to explore the island. After all, as one guest so aptly put it, “it’s all about where you want to wake up.”

Again, thank you for your high recommendation. We trust you won’t become strangers and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The Crane needs some sprucing up! We were disappointed with The Crane as it does not compare to other 4 to 5 star resorts we’ve visited in the Caribbean. I rate The Crane Hotel with 3.75 stars. The beach, Atlantic views, property and staff are great but in my opinion the Crane falls short of a 4 or 4.5 rating. Read on.

We had an ocean-view, one-bedroom suite in building 5 (4th floor) but our first impression was promptly tarnished. (1) Upon arrival, we noticed the toilet in the master bath had not been thoroughly cleaned from the previous occupant…disgusting! The next day & subsequent days the room was sufficiently cleaned. (2) The floor in the master shower had a wad of grout, crud, or something (the maid cannot clean) and it’s disgusting. (3) Our first evening the toilet in the powder room flooded. Although, maintenance arrived promptly to clean up, the next morning the plumber found no problem. The second day the bathroom flooded again. The maintenance man told us the same problem had occurred two weeks earlier. On the second visit, the plumber replaced the float in the tank (at my husband’s suggestion); a simple fix that should have been repaired during the problem weeks earlier. We overlooked these annoyances and enjoyed the room and fantastic view, although the beds are very hard and my husband and I were sore during our 6-night stay.

There are small details that rate the Crane low but could easily be improved: (1) one-way light bulbs in three-way lamps; (2) facial tissues that are like wafer-thin sandpaper; (3) broken toaster; (4) malfunctioning coffeemaker with burned plate; (5) malfunctioning ice-maker clogged with frost; (5) lack of paper towels in kitchen.

Restaurants & Bar: (1) D’Onofrios (one night) has nice patio seating and the food is OK; (2) Zen (two nights) is overrated. The sushi is good but other dishes were bland and no ambiance. (3) L’Azure (two nights) has a limited menu with superb food, excellent service, nightly entertainment, lovely room and dishes displayed beautifully. The 1887 bar veranda is very nice but the service was poor. On two occasions we sat for 20 minutes and no waiter came to take our order and it was not busy.

I believe with some emphasis on details the Crane could be a 4 or 5-star hotel.

Tip: Take the Cool Running Day Snorkel Cruise: First-class sailboat, fun, food, drink & staff.

Room Tip: Building #5 is right on the cliff with outstanding views. Buildings 8 & 9 are close to the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Joan D,

We sincerely apologise for the inconsistencies you experienced during your stay with us. Please allow me to categorically state that each of these instances represent gross departures from our established service delivery standards.

Unfortunately, it sounds as though you were placed in an unprepared suite on arrival. This is certainly not a typical occurrence and we will be reviewing our information systems to ensure that this does not occur again. However, I do wish you had given a member of our Guest Relations team the opportunity to facilitate a move to a suite more reflective of our standards while you were still with us.

Please be assured that we are committed to upholding the high standards of service delivery that we have set for ourselves and have taken each of your observations outlined under review. While we do understand that first impressions are indeed everything, we do hope you will visit us again, giving us the opportunity to create the true Crane experience for you.

Sincerely,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Philip Parish
8.6 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 stars 1,177 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#3 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 stars 2,208 reviews
13.4 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 stars 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
The House
The House
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 stars 398 reviews
8.2 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#9 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 1,556 reviews
14.2 mi away
Mango Bay All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crane Residential Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crane Residential Resort

Address: Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Philip Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint Philip Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crane Residential Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched dramatically on the cliffs of Barbados' pristine south-east coast, The Crane Residential Resort, established since 1887, is the island's oldest operating hotel. Transformed into a world-class luxury resort, The Crane features ultra-spacious, fully appointed ocean-view one & two bedroom suites and three bedroom Penthouses, many with their own private plunge-pool. Facilities include the acclaimed Zen Restaurant serving classic Thai and Japanese cuisine and the consistently popular L'Azure Restaurant. The casual Carriage House Pool Side restaurant is another favourite along with D'Onofrio's Trattoria located in 'The Village' which offers duty free shopping, a General Store, Bar 1887 (with nightly live entertainment) and The Village Cafe. Last but not least is Crane Beach voted by Lifestyle's of The Rich and Famous as one of the Top Ten most beautiful beaches in the world, now with a fabulous Beach Grill! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Regatta Hotels, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Odigeo, Orbitz, Splendia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Crane Residential Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crane Residential Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Saint Philip
Crane Barbados
The Crane Barbados
Crane Hotel Barbados
Crane Resort Barbados
The Crane Residential Resort Barbados/Saint Philip Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crane Residential Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.