We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staycation at Crane” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crane Residential Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Crane Residential Resort to your Saves list
The Crane Residential Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Splash
Bridgetown, Barbados
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Staycation at Crane”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The Crane is an excellent resort with wonderful staff, breath taking views of the south of the island, pleasant trails for early morning walks in lush tropical gardens. The view from the balcony was so relaxing with the smell of the sea spray, over looking aquamarine waters during the day and the silver streaks of the moon on the water by night. It was so romantic.....ooh the memories. We had a fantastic time there and would recommend it to anyone whether you are going with children or for a romantic vacation.

Room Tip: If you are an early riser and want to lounge on the balcony, ask for a room that get minimum morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Linda F,

We are thrilled by your high recommendation! It is always our pleasure to welcome our fellow Barbadians to experience all that The Crane has to offer. We couldn’t agree with you more – our views are what memories are made of.

Thank you for taking the time to post this terrific review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon – many more fantastic staycations await!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    895
    352
    110
    85
    92
See reviews for
339
769
44
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Listowel, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

It was our first visit to Barbados (friend & I from Toronto Ontario) and we were absolutely thrilled to be there from beginning to end. The room was breathtaking with an amazing view of the ocean. The best part of the whole trip was meeting Cory Grazette who works down at the beach. He was so helpful and showed us around the area which was fantastic - he really made our stay extra special and enjoyable. (Anyone visiting, find him - he's amazing & extremely nice). Overall fantastic trip and will be back for sure!

Room Tip: Ask for Building "5" - best views and the newest building. Close to the Carriage house and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Melissa C,

Thank you for taking the time to post this brief but fantastic review. It was truly our pleasure to welcome you to Barbados and The Crane.

Corey was absolutely delighted by your special mention. He, like all of our employees here at The Crane, takes great pride in his duties and always goes above and beyond to ensure that our guests’ expectations are surpassed.

Don’t become strangers! We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I've visited The Crane on a number of occasions and think it is a wonderful resort. What I love most about this resort are the spacious rooms. They are the biggest hotel rooms that I am aware of on the island. The shopping facilties, restaurants, private and public pools, outdoor facilities and the whole experience of staying there is worth it all. The Sunday morning Gospel Brunch is a "must experience" event.

Room Tip: As long as you're in a room at The Crane, it's perfect. I was on the ground floor with priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Cheryl H,

Thank you for taking the time to post this fantastic review! It is always a special pleasure to welcome our fellow Barbadians to experience all that The Crane has to offer.

The Crane’s spacious and well-appointed suites, coupled with an abundance of world-class services and amenities, definitely provide all of the elements necessary for a “great holiday.”

We are so thrilled you enjoyed yet another stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We booked the Sunday gospel breakfast and it was fab!!...there's everything you could want from a buffet breakfast .. Staff were very helpful ... Try and go for the 9am sitting you get better seats ... Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear cayenne1812,

Thank you for this rave review! L’Azure’s breathtaking views, sumptuous menu and delightful gospel choirs have made the Sunday Gospel Breakfast become a tradition for Barbadians and repeat visitors to the island alike.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to experience even more of what The Crane has to offer.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, NJ
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Loved our stay at The Crane.
The beach plus the entire resort are definitely a top 10.
Stayed as part of Best of Barbados package.
Stayed in a Garden View Junior Suite in building 5.

This resort is amazing and I highly recommend staying here.
The photos I attached do not do it justice.

I do recommend renting a car for a least a few days, Stoutes was excellent in this regard
The Crane is far from any nightlife and restaurants.

The Azure restaurant was very good, the free breakfast was fantastic, and it really was free even the service charge was part of the Best of Barbados deal.
Eat one dinner here, had Filet Mignon, very good, not great.
Fair value for the money, good service. Did not eat at Zen.
Service can be slow, but seems to vary sometimes breakfast took 30 minutes, sometimes over an hour.
With this view though, hard to complain.

Rooms are huge, our Garden Room Suite had a full size fridge with full ice and water dispenser, full stove, oven, micro, coffee maker, etc..
Bath had jacuzzi tub plus nice separate shower.
Room with large balcony, nice large bed, good size TV and DVD player.
AC worked just fine, got the room down to 72-73, never lower, which was fine when it is 88 out, 72 feels pretty cool.

Lots to do on the island if you have a rental car.
Service of maids, staff was always excellent and very friendly.
Beds and all towels were changed daily.
Everything was very clean and grounds were very well kept.
Pool and beach are fantastic.

Surf at beach is fun for body boarding and although you need to swim, you need not be a very good swimmer to be just fine.
I jumped off the cliff ledge, see picture, to do that you must be a very good swimmer as at this depth the current is felt.

If you don't rent a car do walk to 2 places:
1.) Foul Bay - 500 yards from Crane enterance to left toward Airport. Nice secluded beach.

2.) Cutters - 100 yards from Crane enterance to right
good deli and small grocery.
Not many groceries, just the basics, but they have Boar's Head Deli Meats!!! A cutter is their sub/hero/grinder, etc...

Extra Bonus:
wireless Internet worked on my laptop in all areas of this resort, pool and in our suite - free service!!!

Saw the entire island with our rental car and no other resort looked nearly as nice as The Crane. Maybe Sandy Lane, but that is 10x the price at the Crane.
I wouldn;t stay anywhere else in Barbados.
If you want to party all night and be near all of the tourist action:
clubs, bars, crowds do not stay here, in fact you may want to rethink Barbados.
If you want a romantic holiday at a world class resort in a beautiful setting, stay at The Crane or regret it later.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear johnmatter1,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a terrific and detailed review of The Crane – you certainly haven’t left much for me to add!

The Crane is definitely not for everyone but, we do hold a special appeal for those who simply seek relaxation in a naturally spectacular setting while on their Barbados vacation. Despite our removed location on the South East coast, we are the perfect base from which to explore the island. After all, as one guest so aptly put it, “it’s all about where you want to wake up.”

Again, thank you for your high recommendation. We trust you won’t become strangers and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The Crane needs some sprucing up! We were disappointed with The Crane as it does not compare to other 4 to 5 star resorts we’ve visited in the Caribbean. I rate The Crane Hotel with 3.75 stars. The beach, Atlantic views, property and staff are great but in my opinion the Crane falls short of a 4 or 4.5 rating. Read on.

We had an ocean-view, one-bedroom suite in building 5 (4th floor) but our first impression was promptly tarnished. (1) Upon arrival, we noticed the toilet in the master bath had not been thoroughly cleaned from the previous occupant…disgusting! The next day & subsequent days the room was sufficiently cleaned. (2) The floor in the master shower had a wad of grout, crud, or something (the maid cannot clean) and it’s disgusting. (3) Our first evening the toilet in the powder room flooded. Although, maintenance arrived promptly to clean up, the next morning the plumber found no problem. The second day the bathroom flooded again. The maintenance man told us the same problem had occurred two weeks earlier. On the second visit, the plumber replaced the float in the tank (at my husband’s suggestion); a simple fix that should have been repaired during the problem weeks earlier. We overlooked these annoyances and enjoyed the room and fantastic view, although the beds are very hard and my husband and I were sore during our 6-night stay.

There are small details that rate the Crane low but could easily be improved: (1) one-way light bulbs in three-way lamps; (2) facial tissues that are like wafer-thin sandpaper; (3) broken toaster; (4) malfunctioning coffeemaker with burned plate; (5) malfunctioning ice-maker clogged with frost; (5) lack of paper towels in kitchen.

Restaurants & Bar: (1) D’Onofrios (one night) has nice patio seating and the food is OK; (2) Zen (two nights) is overrated. The sushi is good but other dishes were bland and no ambiance. (3) L’Azure (two nights) has a limited menu with superb food, excellent service, nightly entertainment, lovely room and dishes displayed beautifully. The 1887 bar veranda is very nice but the service was poor. On two occasions we sat for 20 minutes and no waiter came to take our order and it was not busy.

I believe with some emphasis on details the Crane could be a 4 or 5-star hotel.

Tip: Take the Cool Running Day Snorkel Cruise: First-class sailboat, fun, food, drink & staff.

Room Tip: Building #5 is right on the cliff with outstanding views. Buildings 8 & 9 are close to the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Joan D,

We sincerely apologise for the inconsistencies you experienced during your stay with us. Please allow me to categorically state that each of these instances represent gross departures from our established service delivery standards.

Unfortunately, it sounds as though you were placed in an unprepared suite on arrival. This is certainly not a typical occurrence and we will be reviewing our information systems to ensure that this does not occur again. However, I do wish you had given a member of our Guest Relations team the opportunity to facilitate a move to a suite more reflective of our standards while you were still with us.

Please be assured that we are committed to upholding the high standards of service delivery that we have set for ourselves and have taken each of your observations outlined under review. While we do understand that first impressions are indeed everything, we do hope you will visit us again, giving us the opportunity to create the true Crane experience for you.

Sincerely,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed here 1st 2 weeks of April and in the new block in a Garden room with pool
No complaints about the room absolutely spotless and very big, well cleaned on a daily basis.

The washer dryer was not working and all our laundry was taken care of free of charge by the hotel - a nice gesture


We had a few issues with noisy neighbours which was resolved by a quick call to the front desk who sent security round to the apartment which was making the noise.

We have been holidaying abroad for over 20 years and this place is by far the best hotel and best location we have ever stayed at

The resort at this time of the year in our opinion is the best time to go its not over crowded, no fighting for beds round the pools, nice and hot with little rain.

many a morning I went swimming at 6 am and just watched the sunrise as I was swimming - truly magical

We are currently looking into taking a timeshare with them

Food

We were on breakfast meal only and shopped around the rest of the time - sometimes eating in and sometimes out - We had some lovely family meals at night at L'azure and went 3 times in 2 weeks for nightly meals, we also visited the Atlanitic hotel at Bathsheba on a few nights for meals - again really nice.

Oistons is a great trip went twice - we recommend you relax have a few drinks and catch a taxi !
On recommendation we also did the Cool running catamaran trip - again such a great experience.

As I know the manager will read this comment - it was strange to be invited to a managers cocktail party and have no manager turn up

The only improvement I would recommend is the customer service area - have very little books, flyers, leaflets on trips and things to do - there is so much you can do in Barbados - make it easier for your guests and provide more information to them

Overall a great family holiday and we are already planning our return trip

To others reading reviews of the crane - we have read other comments from customers and some of the complaints are so minor - I would honestly not read anything into them - we have to disagree with 99% of negative comments other people have left - we have not found this issue at all

thank you

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear shane h,

You haven’t left much for me to add! It definitely sounds as through you enjoyed a thoroughly fantastic stay with us here at The Crane. Perhaps one of the most alluring features of The Crane is its ability never to feel crowded – even during periods of 90%-100% occupancy!

I was sorry to learn that you didn’t have the opportunity to interact with any member of the Management team during the weekly Managers’ Cocktail Party. Please be assured that several members of Management are always present at these functions and are usually identifiable by their gold name badges. I myself was absent during your stay because I was travelling.

You’ll be pleased to note that our Guest Services Department is a veritable hub of information on Barbados’ activities and attractions. Each friendly agent is equipped with informative brochures and leaflets detailing the many special offers available specifically to Crane guests and can provide first-hand reviews on many of these attractions. We also provide useful books such as Barbados in a Nutshell and Ins & Outs of Barbados in all public areas and suites.

Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review. We certainly look forward to welcoming you into our Crane family and hope to welcome you for many more years to come.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crane Residential Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crane Residential Resort

Address: Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Philip Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint Philip Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crane Residential Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched dramatically on the cliffs of Barbados' pristine south-east coast, The Crane Residential Resort, established since 1887, is the island's oldest operating hotel. Transformed into a world-class luxury resort, The Crane features ultra-spacious, fully appointed ocean-view one & two bedroom suites and three bedroom Penthouses, many with their own private plunge-pool. Facilities include the acclaimed Zen Restaurant serving classic Thai and Japanese cuisine and the consistently popular L'Azure Restaurant. The casual Carriage House Pool Side restaurant is another favourite along with D'Onofrio's Trattoria located in 'The Village' which offers duty free shopping, a General Store, Bar 1887 (with nightly live entertainment) and The Village Cafe. Last but not least is Crane Beach voted by Lifestyle's of The Rich and Famous as one of the Top Ten most beautiful beaches in the world, now with a fabulous Beach Grill! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Regatta Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Crane Residential Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crane Residential Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Saint Philip
Crane Barbados
The Crane Barbados
Crane Hotel Barbados
Crane Resort Barbados
The Crane Residential Resort Barbados/Saint Philip Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crane Residential Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.