We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, beautiful grounds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crane Residential Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Crane Residential Resort to your Saves list
The Crane Residential Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great staff, beautiful grounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My wife and I just returned from 5 fabulous nights at the Crane celebrating our babymoon. As many reviewers have pointed out, The Crane is a bit out of the way but that's part of the beauty of it, it's completely isolated! I booked an ocean view room with plunge pool as this was a feature that we had on our honeymoon and i wanted to recreate it for our babymoon, i must admit, however, the plunge pool is shaded for most of the day and the water is not heated so unfortunately it was not useable at all. After mentioning this fact to reception, they refered us to Dennis the guest relations manager who took it upon himself to get us upgraded to a beautiful ocean front room with the 28' private pool! This is when our vacation got so much better! Thanks Dennis, you really made our trip! The rooms were identical with the only difference being the pool but what a difference!

The room is equipped with a kitchenette that had everything we needed so we were able to eat breakfast in the room most days and few lunches. On the Friday night we booked the shuttle to go to the Oistins fish fry which was an awesome experience!!! Definately a must do when in Barbados on a Friday night. We also purchased fresh flying fish that night which we cooked in our kitchenette the next day and it was one of the best meals we had on the trip!

The General Store on the property is no where near as overpriced as i thought it would be so we had no issue buying eggs, milk, bread, flour, oil, spices, hot sauce, icecream, etc. to make breafast and lunch in our kitchenette.

The beach is very beautiful but i must say the waves were way too rough to actually enjoy a relaxing swim. You're constantly being tumbled and on the lookout for giant waves so we could only swim for a few minutes every day.

Special thanks to Keisha Boyce at guest services who helped me set up a private in room dinner for my wife with chef Antonio which was fantastic! The food we chose came from the L'Azur menu and the food and experience were wonderful.

We booked the Sunday gospel breakfast which was a bit of a let down food wise. The gospel group were great and certainly brightened our day with their joyful songs. The food however was subpar. The only good thing was the egg/omlette station which is certainly not worth the price you pay for the whole breakfast. However, the amazing view from L'azure restaurant combined with the gospel group and some really good coffee might just be enough to make it worthwhile!

We booked a Couples Harmony package at the Spa and i must admit, it was one of the best spa experiences we've had in the world!!! The staff are extremely professional, friendly and competent (made sure they gave my wife a prenatal massage instead of a deep tissue) and the products they use are of very high quality. Definately worth the extra money!!

The people in Barbados are some of the nicest and friendliest we've ever met and are almost always smiling or giggling which really puts you in a good mood. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Shadym82,

We are thrilled you enjoyed “5 fabulous nights” here with us at The Crane. It sounds as though you took advantage of our Babymoon Luxury Getaway 2013 Package which features a number of fantastic inclusions - spa credit, catamaran cruise for two and dinner for two in L’Azure.

Each department and member of staff mentioned was delighted to learn that they played a special role in creating your fantastic vacation experience. I’m especially thrilled that Guest Relations Manager Dennis was able to go above and beyond to deliver a memorable babymoon for you.

We also appreciate your candid comments about your L’Azure experience. Please be assured that Management continues to focus on continuously improving our Food & Beverage offering and we have taken note of your points.

Barbadians are indeed among the nicest and friendliest people you’ll ever encounter and it was our pleasure to welcome you to The Crane. We look forward to doing so again soon.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    923
    361
    115
    87
    93
See reviews for
347
795
44
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We just arrived back from our 4 night stay at the Crane Hotel March 31st.

We had stumbled on an awesome deal on groupon, and decided to head out to barbados.

SERVICE:
Was immpecable from the bell boys, to the front desk, and the lady all the way to the right desk at guest services was so much fun to talk to and did a great job helping us plan our trip (i wish could remember her name) Overall the staff personnel here are very freindly and would always say hello and exchange goodmornings or even walk us to our destination.
Restaurant service lacked a sense of urgency, and was too "relaxed" for my taste (I am a New Yorker)

**** JUNIOR our cab driver for the entire trip who we found at the hotel was the HIGHLIGHT of our trip. He was our driver, body guard lol, photographer, tour guide, and most importantly friend! Junior you really made out trip and i hope you get to read this! Thank you for everything ! and we MISS you!
If you need a cab driver (which you will because everything is so far) call or ask for him
(246)237-2773 great rates + always on time


FOOD:
We had breakfast in La azzure by the beach, lunch at the carriage house, and drinks at the bar.
Prices for food are overpriced, as expected. I'd make the trip else where for dinner.

ROOM:
Were Beautful, and well kept, spacious. The room attendant always did a great job. My only complaint here was that the floors looked clean but didn't feel clean. Expect your feet to be black after 15 min of walking barefoot. House keeping really needs to start mopping those floors!

HOTEL:
The views in this hotel are AMAAAZINGGGG EVRYWHERE!! from the beach to the pool at the restaurants . JUST BREATHTAKING . Location wise, the crane is pretty far from everything! My advice rent a car or hire JUNIOR. The hotel itself is beautiful too, but is need of better upkeep.
Beach is public but so secluded its really just your own.

Overall I do think the groupon price is fair and would return for a second stay, however if you are paying full price for your stay i dont think its worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear KelzTravels,

Thank you for taking the time to post this comprehensive review. We are thrilled you enjoyed so much of what The Crane has to offer and remain committed to ensuring that a stay at The Crane is truly “worth it” at any price point. We sincerely appreciate your feedback as it allows us to strategically make improvements.

Each department mentioned was thrilled to learn that they played a special role in creating your fantastic vacation memories. I will also make sure that your taxi driver Junior sees your rave review.

It was our pleasure to welcome you to The Crane and we hope to see you again soon.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Hotel rooms and staff are stellar. Hotel location is very relaxing. We used the exercise room daily which was never crowded. Beach has ample space for all guests and the waves are rough, probably not the best for young children to go deep into the water. Food is fairly expensive but you do have a full kitchen. If you bring food from home you will save a lot of money. Building 5 overlooks the ocean but you are a little far from the rest of the hotel and beach. Building 8 which we stayed in has fine views of the ocean and was close to the beach. Taking taxis to attractions gets pricey. If you book excursions get them to pick you up. All in all I would return to the Crane.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Gary M,

Thank you for taking the time to post this terrific review. It definitely sounds like you had a fantastic family vacation with us at The Crane.

We are especially thrilled that you took advantage of the full kitchen that all of our suites offer. Many guests over the years have done the same – whipping up delicious meals with ingredients bought from our onsite convenience store.

Don’t become strangers! We look forward to welcoming your family back to The Crane soon.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was our first trip to the Crane and we had read reviews, but obviously missed the ones about air conditioning. Our first room (a garden suite) did not have a working air conditioner or hot water. The manager moved us to another room across the street (1 bedroom villa with a private pool). It was further from the ocean, but provided great views and our own pool to lay out. There is not much to do outside of the resort (you need a car or a driver to take you around), but the beach is GREAT, the views are FANTASTIC, and the staff is VERY FRIENDLY, albeit a little slow at honoring request. We ate at the Carriage House (great food), the ZEN (average food and slow service), and the L'Azure (dinner was above average and breakfast was ok, but the view cannot be beat!!) Overall we enjoyed the trip and will probably stay at the Crane again, but will definitely check on air conditioning status as soon as we get in the room.

We do recommend the Crane if you want a relaxing vacation with wonderful views.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view for a breeze or a room in the residences to make sure you have air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Dena P,

We are pleased you enjoyed a “relaxing vacation with wonderful views” here with us at The Crane. Our removed location on Barbados’ south east coast certainly lends itself to the total relaxation of our guests with its secluded beauty.

I was sorry to learn of your initial AC challenges. However, I’m pleased that Management was able to able to facilitate a room upgrade for you so as not to detract from your overall enjoyment of your stay. The widespread AC challenges referenced in previous reviews have actually been resolved with the purchase and installation of an additional chiller system. Any intermittent disruptions to service in individual rooms certainly do not represent the norm and are resolved quite quickly. We have also taken note of your comments regarding our Food & Beverage outlets and assure you that these points have been discussed with relevant staff.

Thank you for your recommendation and we do look forward to welcoming you back soon to experience even more of what The Crane has to offer.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We have just arrived home from the Crane resort. We had a fantastic time. The service was excellent! I have never experienced such politeness in my life. Absolutely everyone greets you when they pass you and it's sincere. They can't do enough for you. The food in all the restaurants is amazing. I have food allergies and they were very accommodating and ensured I had great meals. What I like about the Crane, also, is, it is very contained. In the center of the resort there are some little stores set up like a small town. It's very nice! They have a General store where you can buy groceries, an ice cream parlour, a jewellery store and a small tourist type store. There are also other services.

If I had to complain about anything, our room had very tiny ants in the kitchen area. The Management and housekeeping went out of their way to address this problem to our satisfaction. We did check with other guests and it seems the problem is not throughout the resort but was just in our building. This small issue is why I did not give it 5 out of 5.

Do not let this deter you from enjoying the Crane. You will have a great relaxing holiday at this resort where the staff have only one goal and that is you having a great holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear C1rn,

It definitely sounds as though you enjoyed a terrific holiday with us at The Crane. Genuine friendliness is indeed the hallmark of our staff, and we all take great joy in creating memorable experiences for each and every guest.

We are also pleased that Management was able to resolve the ant situation promptly so as not to detract from your overall enjoyment of The Crane.

Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review. Don’t become strangers – we hope to welcome you again soon.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We have been visiting The Crane for over a decade and every year is a delight. We love our apartment, the staff, the grounds, the beech and all of the great Crane friendships that have grown over the years.
The apartments are big, elegant and practical. Fully equipped and comfortable, they are truly a home away from home. The resort staff is friendly and eager to help.
Barbados is a beautiful and welcoming island and we spend a lot of time exploring off the beaten track. We discover something new every year and it is wonderful to know that every day will end in peace at The Crane.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. Building 5 is right on the cliff so you sleep to the sound of the waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear E M,

It has been an absolute pleasure to welcome you over the years and we are thrilled you continue to enjoy the relaxation and peace that has become synonymous with The Crane. In addition to the elegant suites, fantastic views and friendly staff, we believe that the most endearing thing about returning here year after year is the enduring friendships formed.

Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you home again soon – there are still more things to discover!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I just returned from an 8 night vacation with my wife and 2 young kids (aged 7 and 9) and really enjoyed myself. The Crane is a newer time share so the rooms are spacious and very well annoited with washer/dryers and all the modern amenities of home. It also means you can try and find owners directly and save on listed rates. We booked a 1 bedroom suite with a Plunge pool and were upgraded to a room with a larger swimming pool in Building 8 - which is closer to the beach and we preferred. The issue that a lot of other reviewers mention concerning the location is valid - The Crane is somewhat isolated but to me that is the point! There isn't the hustle and bustle of staying right outside Bridgetown and you feel like you are truly away. Most things - sights, activities, and dining is within a 30 minute drive and even those are along island roads soaked with picturesque lanscapes and towns. The resort has 3 restaurants (Italian, Asain, and Continental) which are all good so it is easy to stay "home". The rooms also have kitchens so you can cook if you want and the general store in the mock "Crane village" has groceries and sells fresh meats and fish as well. There also the bar 1887 which has surprisingly good local live music almost every night; from reggae and jazz to 70's covers and blues. The beach is one of the prettiest in the world - it reminded me of a mix of Cabo and the Amalfi coast because of the deep blue water surrounded by wind strewn cliffs. There are 3 cliff pools that flow into one another and a more "adults only" pool off of the spa.
The package that we booked with a 3rd party provider included breakfast each morning for the adults and also allowed kids under 12 to eat free throughout our stay. This is where we had a few issues. At first they said only children under 4 eat for free but I had my contract and they honored it. There is also only 1 restaurant with a dedicated children's menu so we had to go through the entire vacations bill the night before check-out and figure out who ate what and when. Lastly, they stated that the asian rasuarant, Zen, wasn't included but they told this on day 8! Again, after 2 wasted hours, they made good on the contract and made everything right but it would have been much easier to have things explained, and stated clearly, upon check in.
We took 2 day trips that I highly recommend. The 1st is to Harrison's Cave which is amazing and worth the trip even if you think you may not enjoy it. You go over 200 feet below ground level in a tram and it is an experience to remember. for the more adventurous type there is a 3 hours hike into the caves that you literally crawl on your hands and knees. We combined caves with a drive to the wildlife preserve where there are wild monkeys that come right up to you - the kids loved it. We then had the cab driver take us to Bathsheba (visually stunning coast) and down the east coast of the island that is peppered with sugar cane fields and rolling hills. The 2nd trip we booked was snorkeling on a catamaran on the western/Carribean side of the island. this is where the majority of hotels are and the water is crystal clear and very calm. The reef and wreck snorkeling was great and the kids had a blast. visability was perfect and the depth approx 30 feet. We then swam with 4 sea turtles that was another fantastic memory and finally anchored off the shore and had a decent local lunch aboard our boat, The Silver Star, followed by jumping and swimming around the ship. We chose the Silver Star because thye limit the capacity and we didnt want a boat with 65 people on it. Another must trip is to Oistin Fish Fry on Friday nights where there is local fresh food, music, and crafts.
All in all, this is a really great resort. The location and landscape is visually astounding and the cliff pools and village that they have created really "work" well. The gym needs updating for a place of this caliber and there are no kid's activities either - both really easy fixes and a great return on inventment for the management. I have no problem paying premium rates for 5 star resorts and the Crane has this potential but should try and avoid nickel and diming guests on the smaller issues. Like the Four Seasons model, charge people a ton for a room but give them a free breakfast and they are happy - perceived value! They did have free wifi! The Crane is certainly trying and I believe they will get there - in the meantime, I will certainly go back and am so happy that I didn't stay on the west coast of the island or Sandy Lane.

Room Tip: Building 5 is further away from the main building but much quieter - not that any area is anywhere n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Slammy25,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post this detailed review of The Crane. We are thrilled your family discovered first-hand that our removed location on the island’s South East coast lends itself to the secluded relaxation our guests typically seek while on their Barbados vacation.

It definitely sounds as though you took advantage of The Crane’s many world-class amenities – especially the restaurants! The Crane actually has five – L’Azure, Zen, D’Onofrio’s, The Carriage House and The Grove Bar & Grill – each offering unique dining experiences at various price points to fit any budget.

We do apologise for the inconvenience you experienced with your restaurant billing. This was certainly avoidable with a simple explanation during check-in and we will be sure not to have a repeat of this occurrence. We also appreciate your vote of confidence and have noted your suggestions for improvement to be discussed with our plans for future development.

Again, thank you for taking the time to post this review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to experience even more of what The Crane and Barbados have to offer.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crane Residential Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crane Residential Resort

Address: Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Philip Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint Philip Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crane Residential Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched dramatically on the cliffs of Barbados' pristine south-east coast, The Crane Residential Resort, established since 1887, is the island's oldest operating hotel. Transformed into a world-class luxury resort, The Crane features ultra-spacious, fully appointed ocean-view one & two bedroom suites and three bedroom Penthouses, many with their own private plunge-pool. Facilities include the acclaimed Zen Restaurant serving classic Thai and Japanese cuisine and the consistently popular L'Azure Restaurant. The casual Carriage House Pool Side restaurant is another favourite along with D'Onofrio's Trattoria located in 'The Village' which offers duty free shopping, a General Store, Bar 1887 (with nightly live entertainment) and The Village Cafe. Last but not least is Crane Beach voted by Lifestyle's of The Rich and Famous as one of the Top Ten most beautiful beaches in the world, now with a fabulous Beach Grill! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Crane Residential Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crane Residential Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Saint Philip
Crane Barbados
The Crane Barbados
Crane Hotel Barbados
Crane Resort Barbados
The Crane Residential Resort Barbados/Saint Philip Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crane Residential Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.