We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views, Friendly Staff, Good Food ... BUT” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Crane Residential Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Crane Residential Resort to your Saves list
The Crane Residential Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Splash
Dallas, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Views, Friendly Staff, Good Food ... BUT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was our first trip to the Crane and we had read reviews, but obviously missed the ones about air conditioning. Our first room (a garden suite) did not have a working air conditioner or hot water. The manager moved us to another room across the street (1 bedroom villa with a private pool). It was further from the ocean, but provided great views and our own pool to lay out. There is not much to do outside of the resort (you need a car or a driver to take you around), but the beach is GREAT, the views are FANTASTIC, and the staff is VERY FRIENDLY, albeit a little slow at honoring request. We ate at the Carriage House (great food), the ZEN (average food and slow service), and the L'Azure (dinner was above average and breakfast was ok, but the view cannot be beat!!) Overall we enjoyed the trip and will probably stay at the Crane again, but will definitely check on air conditioning status as soon as we get in the room.

We do recommend the Crane if you want a relaxing vacation with wonderful views.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view for a breeze or a room in the residences to make sure you have air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Dena P,

We are pleased you enjoyed a “relaxing vacation with wonderful views” here with us at The Crane. Our removed location on Barbados’ south east coast certainly lends itself to the total relaxation of our guests with its secluded beauty.

I was sorry to learn of your initial AC challenges. However, I’m pleased that Management was able to able to facilitate a room upgrade for you so as not to detract from your overall enjoyment of your stay. The widespread AC challenges referenced in previous reviews have actually been resolved with the purchase and installation of an additional chiller system. Any intermittent disruptions to service in individual rooms certainly do not represent the norm and are resolved quite quickly. We have also taken note of your comments regarding our Food & Beverage outlets and assure you that these points have been discussed with relevant staff.

Thank you for your recommendation and we do look forward to welcoming you back soon to experience even more of what The Crane has to offer.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    899
    353
    111
    86
    92
See reviews for
340
774
44
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We have just arrived home from the Crane resort. We had a fantastic time. The service was excellent! I have never experienced such politeness in my life. Absolutely everyone greets you when they pass you and it's sincere. They can't do enough for you. The food in all the restaurants is amazing. I have food allergies and they were very accommodating and ensured I had great meals. What I like about the Crane, also, is, it is very contained. In the center of the resort there are some little stores set up like a small town. It's very nice! They have a General store where you can buy groceries, an ice cream parlour, a jewellery store and a small tourist type store. There are also other services.

If I had to complain about anything, our room had very tiny ants in the kitchen area. The Management and housekeeping went out of their way to address this problem to our satisfaction. We did check with other guests and it seems the problem is not throughout the resort but was just in our building. This small issue is why I did not give it 5 out of 5.

Do not let this deter you from enjoying the Crane. You will have a great relaxing holiday at this resort where the staff have only one goal and that is you having a great holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear C1rn,

It definitely sounds as though you enjoyed a terrific holiday with us at The Crane. Genuine friendliness is indeed the hallmark of our staff, and we all take great joy in creating memorable experiences for each and every guest.

We are also pleased that Management was able to resolve the ant situation promptly so as not to detract from your overall enjoyment of The Crane.

Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review. Don’t become strangers – we hope to welcome you again soon.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We have been visiting The Crane for over a decade and every year is a delight. We love our apartment, the staff, the grounds, the beech and all of the great Crane friendships that have grown over the years.
The apartments are big, elegant and practical. Fully equipped and comfortable, they are truly a home away from home. The resort staff is friendly and eager to help.
Barbados is a beautiful and welcoming island and we spend a lot of time exploring off the beaten track. We discover something new every year and it is wonderful to know that every day will end in peace at The Crane.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. Building 5 is right on the cliff so you sleep to the sound of the waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear E M,

It has been an absolute pleasure to welcome you over the years and we are thrilled you continue to enjoy the relaxation and peace that has become synonymous with The Crane. In addition to the elegant suites, fantastic views and friendly staff, we believe that the most endearing thing about returning here year after year is the enduring friendships formed.

Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you home again soon – there are still more things to discover!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I just returned from an 8 night vacation with my wife and 2 young kids (aged 7 and 9) and really enjoyed myself. The Crane is a newer time share so the rooms are spacious and very well annoited with washer/dryers and all the modern amenities of home. It also means you can try and find owners directly and save on listed rates. We booked a 1 bedroom suite with a Plunge pool and were upgraded to a room with a larger swimming pool in Building 8 - which is closer to the beach and we preferred. The issue that a lot of other reviewers mention concerning the location is valid - The Crane is somewhat isolated but to me that is the point! There isn't the hustle and bustle of staying right outside Bridgetown and you feel like you are truly away. Most things - sights, activities, and dining is within a 30 minute drive and even those are along island roads soaked with picturesque lanscapes and towns. The resort has 3 restaurants (Italian, Asain, and Continental) which are all good so it is easy to stay "home". The rooms also have kitchens so you can cook if you want and the general store in the mock "Crane village" has groceries and sells fresh meats and fish as well. There also the bar 1887 which has surprisingly good local live music almost every night; from reggae and jazz to 70's covers and blues. The beach is one of the prettiest in the world - it reminded me of a mix of Cabo and the Amalfi coast because of the deep blue water surrounded by wind strewn cliffs. There are 3 cliff pools that flow into one another and a more "adults only" pool off of the spa.
The package that we booked with a 3rd party provider included breakfast each morning for the adults and also allowed kids under 12 to eat free throughout our stay. This is where we had a few issues. At first they said only children under 4 eat for free but I had my contract and they honored it. There is also only 1 restaurant with a dedicated children's menu so we had to go through the entire vacations bill the night before check-out and figure out who ate what and when. Lastly, they stated that the asian rasuarant, Zen, wasn't included but they told this on day 8! Again, after 2 wasted hours, they made good on the contract and made everything right but it would have been much easier to have things explained, and stated clearly, upon check in.
We took 2 day trips that I highly recommend. The 1st is to Harrison's Cave which is amazing and worth the trip even if you think you may not enjoy it. You go over 200 feet below ground level in a tram and it is an experience to remember. for the more adventurous type there is a 3 hours hike into the caves that you literally crawl on your hands and knees. We combined caves with a drive to the wildlife preserve where there are wild monkeys that come right up to you - the kids loved it. We then had the cab driver take us to Bathsheba (visually stunning coast) and down the east coast of the island that is peppered with sugar cane fields and rolling hills. The 2nd trip we booked was snorkeling on a catamaran on the western/Carribean side of the island. this is where the majority of hotels are and the water is crystal clear and very calm. The reef and wreck snorkeling was great and the kids had a blast. visability was perfect and the depth approx 30 feet. We then swam with 4 sea turtles that was another fantastic memory and finally anchored off the shore and had a decent local lunch aboard our boat, The Silver Star, followed by jumping and swimming around the ship. We chose the Silver Star because thye limit the capacity and we didnt want a boat with 65 people on it. Another must trip is to Oistin Fish Fry on Friday nights where there is local fresh food, music, and crafts.
All in all, this is a really great resort. The location and landscape is visually astounding and the cliff pools and village that they have created really "work" well. The gym needs updating for a place of this caliber and there are no kid's activities either - both really easy fixes and a great return on inventment for the management. I have no problem paying premium rates for 5 star resorts and the Crane has this potential but should try and avoid nickel and diming guests on the smaller issues. Like the Four Seasons model, charge people a ton for a room but give them a free breakfast and they are happy - perceived value! They did have free wifi! The Crane is certainly trying and I believe they will get there - in the meantime, I will certainly go back and am so happy that I didn't stay on the west coast of the island or Sandy Lane.

Room Tip: Building 5 is further away from the main building but much quieter - not that any area is anywhere n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Slammy25,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post this detailed review of The Crane. We are thrilled your family discovered first-hand that our removed location on the island’s South East coast lends itself to the secluded relaxation our guests typically seek while on their Barbados vacation.

It definitely sounds as though you took advantage of The Crane’s many world-class amenities – especially the restaurants! The Crane actually has five – L’Azure, Zen, D’Onofrio’s, The Carriage House and The Grove Bar & Grill – each offering unique dining experiences at various price points to fit any budget.

We do apologise for the inconvenience you experienced with your restaurant billing. This was certainly avoidable with a simple explanation during check-in and we will be sure not to have a repeat of this occurrence. We also appreciate your vote of confidence and have noted your suggestions for improvement to be discussed with our plans for future development.

Again, thank you for taking the time to post this review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to experience even more of what The Crane and Barbados have to offer.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We have visited Barbados many times before, and of course Crane beach, always lunching at L'Azure restaurant after some time on the beach, but had never stayed at the residences. We decided we would try the east coast for a change and were not disappointed. Standard of accommodation was excellent very comfortable beds, ample living space functional kitchen and luxurious bathroom. Staff in both Zen and L'Azure were very friendly and attentive. The ocean view from our room was outstanding. In summary, fantastic accommodation, great food, wonderful staff, can't wait until next stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear James C,

We are delighted you took the leap and enjoyed all that The Crane has to offer. Our naturally spectacular location here on the South East coast of the island inspired us to design suites that could rival our views.

It definitely sounds as though you experienced a fantastic stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back for many more.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa, ontario
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have just returned from the Crane and cannot say enough good things about it. We have visited Barbados before, but have always stayed on the West Coast so I had concerns that the resort might be a little too out of the way. If you are looking for a hotel where you can walk to restaurants or see the town, this is not the place for you. We loved it's location and were constantly in awe of our surroundings. The East coast is beautiful and rugged and the Crane takes advantage of it's location.
Before we arrived at the hotel Juanita in guest services took care of booking surf lessons for my daughters and a catamaran cruise for our family. She was very helpful and offered suggestions as well. Upon our arrival, my daughters were delighted to be given cool facecloths and fruit punch and felt completely spoiled. Cheryl made our check in process seamless and in no time were were on the beach.
We ate at all of the restaurants and have few, if any complaints. Our first meal at L'Azure was a little disappointing, but as we had been travelling all day and were out of sorts, I cannot say whether it was actually the restaurant or ourselves to blame. We loved D'Onofrios and Zen and had lunch almost every day at the Carriage House. It's location is beautiful and the children loved being able to swim while we waited for our meal. My daughters also loved the ice cream shop.
The exercise room is adequate and I never had a problem finding a machine available, and the pools are lovely. The waves at the beach may be a little too rough for smaller children, but my girls loved body surfing every day. It was also a relief to not have to fight for beach chairs. There were plenty of chairs and umbrellas and the staff made sure everyone had somewhere to lounge. So many times you go to big resorts where people put their towels out first thing in the morning but never use their chairs. This was not the case at the Crane.
We were in a 2 bedroom garden villa with pool and it was perfect. I missed not having an ocean view, but the garden provided privacy that some of the ocean villa rooms do not get. The only oversight when constructing the garden units was that the second story rooms actually overlook the pool villas. We were fortunate in that the room above us was only occupied one evening, but it is slightly uncomfortable feeling that you are being watched while in your backyard.
Building 5 seems to have the best location in terms of rooms with pools. The other buildings have lovely big pools and ocean views, but everyone walking to the pool or the beach can see right into your room. If you are in building 5 you do not get the foot traffic in front so would have a little more privacy.
One thing that really stood out for us was the friendliness of everyone working at the Crane. Everyone we encountered, from the landscaper to our friendly waitress Suzanne at L'Azure made a point of saying hello. Not once did we encounter anyone who wasn't completely pleasant.
It was a thoroughly enjoyable holiday and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: Building 5 offers the most privacy with ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear travelwiththegirls,

We are thrilled that your family enjoyed “a perfect holiday” here with us at The Crane. Your review hasn’t left much for us to add! You choice of suite category – Two Bedroom Deluxe Suite with Garden Pool – was perfect for a family vacation providing ample space for each family member.

We were especially delighted by your wonderful comments about the friendliness of everyone working at The Crane. Juanita, Cheryl and Susan were thrilled by your special mention. It was their pleasure to welcome you to The Crane.

Thank you for taking the time to post this fantastic review. We hope to welcome you again soon!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This resort was such a good decision! I had just resigned from my intense job and wanted to get away and be completely relaxed. I chose the Crane on a whim and was very happy with the service and the room. I was upgraded to a room with a full kitchen, which was such a nice amenity to have as I could make a healthy breakfast/lunch and not spend a fortune. There is a general store on the property to buy groceries, and the price wasn't as bad as I thought it would be (prices are in Barbados $). I will say the wine was a bit overpriced though. The room was massive though....huge bed, jacuzzi tub, separate shower, and a nice balcony. I had a garden view balcony and kind of wished I paid for a sea view, but it was still quite lovely. Wi-Fi worked perfectly in the room....not so much at the rest of the resort (restaurants, pool) so keep that in mind. The beach is so so so fantastic. The pinkish sand never gets hot and the breeze is much better at the beach than the pool. The waves are very rough though, so beware if you have little ones. The staff that work on the beach are so so sweet....they really made my experience, especially Joshua and Mel. There is a hidden beach bar/lunch shack that you must hit up....the fish sandwich is so wonderful and very healthy. As far as the other restaurants......Zen has some amazing sushi as it is so fresh it melts in your mouth. The Italian restaurant was nice, but I found the seafood restaurant, L'Azure, to be a bit overpriced. I will say the resort is secluded, so be prepared to stay on the property or rent a car if you want to explore. Average age of the clientele here is either new families with 1 toddler/baby, or older couples 45+. I traveled alone and felt very safe here. I would def return, but next time with my boyfriend and will probably rent a car!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear CaddyCK,

Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review. It certainly sounds as though you had an enjoyable and relaxing time with us despite travelling alone. Our removed location certainly lends itself to any relaxation needs and our friendly employees like Joshua and Mel are always on hand to make sure you feel welcome and safe while with us.

We’re pleased that you enjoyed the free WiFi. It’s available even on the beach so sometimes traffic can be quite heavy when lots of users are logged on. Service in each room is much better with the dedicated routers.

Don’t become a stranger! We look forward to welcoming you and your boyfriend on your next Barbados trip.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crane Residential Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crane Residential Resort

Address: Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Philip Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint Philip Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crane Residential Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched dramatically on the cliffs of Barbados' pristine south-east coast, The Crane Residential Resort, established since 1887, is the island's oldest operating hotel. Transformed into a world-class luxury resort, The Crane features ultra-spacious, fully appointed ocean-view one & two bedroom suites and three bedroom Penthouses, many with their own private plunge-pool. Facilities include the acclaimed Zen Restaurant serving classic Thai and Japanese cuisine and the consistently popular L'Azure Restaurant. The casual Carriage House Pool Side restaurant is another favourite along with D'Onofrio's Trattoria located in 'The Village' which offers duty free shopping, a General Store, Bar 1887 (with nightly live entertainment) and The Village Cafe. Last but not least is Crane Beach voted by Lifestyle's of The Rich and Famous as one of the Top Ten most beautiful beaches in the world, now with a fabulous Beach Grill! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Amex, Booking.com, Regatta Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Crane Residential Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crane Residential Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Saint Philip
Crane Barbados
The Crane Barbados
Crane Hotel Barbados
Crane Resort Barbados
The Crane Residential Resort Barbados/Saint Philip Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crane Residential Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.