We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic 2 week stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crane Residential Resort

Save Saved
You added The Crane Residential Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Crane Residential Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic 2 week stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We have visited Barbados many times before, and of course Crane beach, always lunching at L'Azure restaurant after some time on the beach, but had never stayed at the residences. We decided we would try the east coast for a change and were not disappointed. Standard of accommodation was excellent very comfortable beds, ample living space functional kitchen and luxurious bathroom. Staff in both Zen and L'Azure were very friendly and attentive. The ocean view from our room was outstanding. In summary, fantastic accommodation, great food, wonderful staff, can't wait until next stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear James C,

We are delighted you took the leap and enjoyed all that The Crane has to offer. Our naturally spectacular location here on the South East coast of the island inspired us to design suites that could rival our views.

It definitely sounds as though you experienced a fantastic stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back for many more.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,504 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    876
    350
    106
    83
    89
See reviews for
336
754
43
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ottawa, ontario
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have just returned from the Crane and cannot say enough good things about it. We have visited Barbados before, but have always stayed on the West Coast so I had concerns that the resort might be a little too out of the way. If you are looking for a hotel where you can walk to restaurants or see the town, this is not the place for you. We loved it's location and were constantly in awe of our surroundings. The East coast is beautiful and rugged and the Crane takes advantage of it's location.
Before we arrived at the hotel Juanita in guest services took care of booking surf lessons for my daughters and a catamaran cruise for our family. She was very helpful and offered suggestions as well. Upon our arrival, my daughters were delighted to be given cool facecloths and fruit punch and felt completely spoiled. Cheryl made our check in process seamless and in no time were were on the beach.
We ate at all of the restaurants and have few, if any complaints. Our first meal at L'Azure was a little disappointing, but as we had been travelling all day and were out of sorts, I cannot say whether it was actually the restaurant or ourselves to blame. We loved D'Onofrios and Zen and had lunch almost every day at the Carriage House. It's location is beautiful and the children loved being able to swim while we waited for our meal. My daughters also loved the ice cream shop.
The exercise room is adequate and I never had a problem finding a machine available, and the pools are lovely. The waves at the beach may be a little too rough for smaller children, but my girls loved body surfing every day. It was also a relief to not have to fight for beach chairs. There were plenty of chairs and umbrellas and the staff made sure everyone had somewhere to lounge. So many times you go to big resorts where people put their towels out first thing in the morning but never use their chairs. This was not the case at the Crane.
We were in a 2 bedroom garden villa with pool and it was perfect. I missed not having an ocean view, but the garden provided privacy that some of the ocean villa rooms do not get. The only oversight when constructing the garden units was that the second story rooms actually overlook the pool villas. We were fortunate in that the room above us was only occupied one evening, but it is slightly uncomfortable feeling that you are being watched while in your backyard.
Building 5 seems to have the best location in terms of rooms with pools. The other buildings have lovely big pools and ocean views, but everyone walking to the pool or the beach can see right into your room. If you are in building 5 you do not get the foot traffic in front so would have a little more privacy.
One thing that really stood out for us was the friendliness of everyone working at the Crane. Everyone we encountered, from the landscaper to our friendly waitress Suzanne at L'Azure made a point of saying hello. Not once did we encounter anyone who wasn't completely pleasant.
It was a thoroughly enjoyable holiday and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: Building 5 offers the most privacy with ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear travelwiththegirls,

We are thrilled that your family enjoyed “a perfect holiday” here with us at The Crane. Your review hasn’t left much for us to add! You choice of suite category – Two Bedroom Deluxe Suite with Garden Pool – was perfect for a family vacation providing ample space for each family member.

We were especially delighted by your wonderful comments about the friendliness of everyone working at The Crane. Juanita, Cheryl and Susan were thrilled by your special mention. It was their pleasure to welcome you to The Crane.

Thank you for taking the time to post this fantastic review. We hope to welcome you again soon!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This resort was such a good decision! I had just resigned from my intense job and wanted to get away and be completely relaxed. I chose the Crane on a whim and was very happy with the service and the room. I was upgraded to a room with a full kitchen, which was such a nice amenity to have as I could make a healthy breakfast/lunch and not spend a fortune. There is a general store on the property to buy groceries, and the price wasn't as bad as I thought it would be (prices are in Barbados $). I will say the wine was a bit overpriced though. The room was massive though....huge bed, jacuzzi tub, separate shower, and a nice balcony. I had a garden view balcony and kind of wished I paid for a sea view, but it was still quite lovely. Wi-Fi worked perfectly in the room....not so much at the rest of the resort (restaurants, pool) so keep that in mind. The beach is so so so fantastic. The pinkish sand never gets hot and the breeze is much better at the beach than the pool. The waves are very rough though, so beware if you have little ones. The staff that work on the beach are so so sweet....they really made my experience, especially Joshua and Mel. There is a hidden beach bar/lunch shack that you must hit up....the fish sandwich is so wonderful and very healthy. As far as the other restaurants......Zen has some amazing sushi as it is so fresh it melts in your mouth. The Italian restaurant was nice, but I found the seafood restaurant, L'Azure, to be a bit overpriced. I will say the resort is secluded, so be prepared to stay on the property or rent a car if you want to explore. Average age of the clientele here is either new families with 1 toddler/baby, or older couples 45+. I traveled alone and felt very safe here. I would def return, but next time with my boyfriend and will probably rent a car!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear CaddyCK,

Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review. It certainly sounds as though you had an enjoyable and relaxing time with us despite travelling alone. Our removed location certainly lends itself to any relaxation needs and our friendly employees like Joshua and Mel are always on hand to make sure you feel welcome and safe while with us.

We’re pleased that you enjoyed the free WiFi. It’s available even on the beach so sometimes traffic can be quite heavy when lots of users are logged on. Service in each room is much better with the dedicated routers.

Don’t become a stranger! We look forward to welcoming you and your boyfriend on your next Barbados trip.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

It's hard not to fall in love with this place: spectacular scenery, best beach in the world, wonderful breezes. But perhaps the best thing about the place is the people. On the beach yesterday, I thanked "Happy" Corey for his help. (And tipped him of course.) But he asked me to do something else: Write a review in Trip Advisor. So, I am doing just thank. Happy Corey, Tall Corey, Marlin, Sheila, Jackie -- virtually everyone you meet at the Crane is friendly, nice, pleasant. And that's the real reason I'll be coming back as long as I live -- which I hope is a long time! One other thing: Unlike many Barbados resorts, the Crane has some wonderful tennis courts. Not many people, which is a shame, but the courts are secluded, with lights. I highly recommend them.

Room Tip: I like the old hotel, but that's just me. The old hotel does not have washer - driers. I've...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear jmower,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post this review as we always encourage our guests to share their fantastic Crane experiences with the world. Each member of staff you mentioned (especially “Happy” Corey) was thrilled by your special mention. It was their pleasure to welcome you.

We are also thrilled you enjoyed a game or two on our floodlit tennis courts. As you correctly mentioned, The Crane is among the very few resorts in Barbados that offers this amenity and we take great pride in doing so.

Again, thank you for taking the time to post this review. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville, Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have stayed at The Crane twice, each time absolutely loving our stay. The resort is secluded, the beach is gorgeous, the rooms very spacious and clean. Barbados is undoubtedly one of our favorite vacation spots.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear JTilman,

Thank you for taking the time to post this brief but terrific review! In just a few short words you have captured many of the alluring features of The Crane.

We have had over a century to perfect our service and with our grand luxurious suites designed to rival our naturally spectacular location, The Crane is definitely a favourite vacation spot for many travellers.

The third time is a charm! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had a lovely lunch today at The Grove which is on the beach at the Crane Resort.
Wonderful fish and superb service at the bar from Orwin. What a fantastic spot in Barbados.
Thank you Orwin - we shall return soon!
Judi, Nick & Helen

Room Tip: Did not stay there but had a wonderful lunch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear SouthamptonSteph,

Thank you for this rave review of The Grove Bar and Grill. Recently reopened just a stone’s throw away from the lounge chairs on Crane Beach, The Grove offers delicious light grill cuisine and signature Crane cocktails – the perfect lunch after an invigorating swim!

Bartender Orwin was thrilled by your special mention. We both hope to welcome you back soon –next time, as a resident guest!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Crane is a sprawling resort on the island's east coast that is currently undergoing expansion, although that did not have any negative impact on our time there. We stayed for five nights, and there was plenty to do in terms of food (four restaurants, two of which were excellent, Zen and L'Azure) and relaxation. However, the resort is simply far away from the island's high end restaurants or watersports and activities. It's a great place to unwind and relax, the Cliffside scenery is spectacular, the staff is friendly and knowledgeable, the food was good to very good, and the room was huge and extremely comfortable.

On the downside: the place runs on "island time". Nothing is rushed, restaurants that are supposed to open for lunch at noon open closer to 1230. The hot tub near the carriage house is not heated at all, and the place shuts down fairly early in the evenings. Also, on weekends grabbing lunch can be a bit of a chore, as it seems there are too many guests for not enough lunch spots. And as I mentioned, you can expect a fifty to sixty minute cab ride to the island's high end restaurants on the island's east coast.

On the upside: our trip was booked through a third party website that informed us there were no cancellations or scheduling changes. However, when a major snowstorm cut us off by two days, The Crane eventually refunded the portion of our trip we missed. It took some time and many calls, but they did the right thing. BIG points to them for that.

Room Tip: We didn't have an ocean view room, but we still enjoyed our terrace and our scenery wasn't a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear JasonAllison,

We are pleased you had an enjoyable time with us overall at The Crane. Our key selling point is our location off the beaten track on the South East coast of Barbados. This removed location allows guests to relax and unwind in comfort away from the hustle and bustle typified by the West Coast.

We appreciate your candid feedback about your service experience. These comments have been noted and communicated to the team for immediate improvement. Also, while it is typically not our policy, we understood your extenuating circumstances and it was our pleasure to refund that missed portion of your stay.

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. Even though The Crane was not quite what you expected in terms of location, we do hope to welcome you back to enjoy our world-class amenities.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crane Residential Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crane Residential Resort

Address: Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Philip Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Saint Philip Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crane Residential Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched dramatically on the cliffs of Barbados' pristine south-east coast, The Crane Residential Resort, established since 1887, is the island's oldest operating hotel. Transformed into a world-class luxury resort, The Crane features ultra-spacious, fully appointed ocean-view one & two bedroom suites and three bedroom Penthouses, many with their own private plunge-pool. Facilities include the acclaimed Zen Restaurant serving classic Thai and Japanese cuisine and the consistently popular L'Azure Restaurant. The casual Carriage House Pool Side restaurant is another favourite along with D'Onofrio's Trattoria located in 'The Village' which offers duty free shopping, a General Store, Bar 1887 (with nightly live entertainment) and The Village Cafe. Last but not least is Crane Beach voted by Lifestyle's of The Rich and Famous as one of the Top Ten most beautiful beaches in the world, now with a fabulous Beach Grill! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Regatta Hotels, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Crane Residential Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crane Residential Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Saint Philip
Crane Barbados
The Crane Barbados
Crane Hotel Barbados
Crane Resort Barbados
The Crane Residential Resort Barbados/Saint Philip Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crane Residential Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.