We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crane Residential Resort

Save Saved
You added The Crane Residential Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Crane Residential Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Splish, Splash...Bonus!
Noblesville, Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have stayed at The Crane twice, each time absolutely loving our stay. The resort is secluded, the beach is gorgeous, the rooms very spacious and clean. Barbados is undoubtedly one of our favorite vacation spots.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear JTilman,

Thank you for taking the time to post this brief but terrific review! In just a few short words you have captured many of the alluring features of The Crane.

We have had over a century to perfect our service and with our grand luxurious suites designed to rival our naturally spectacular location, The Crane is definitely a favourite vacation spot for many travellers.

The third time is a charm! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,469 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    850
    344
    105
    83
    87
See reviews for
320
742
41
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had a lovely lunch today at The Grove which is on the beach at the Crane Resort.
Wonderful fish and superb service at the bar from Orwin. What a fantastic spot in Barbados.
Thank you Orwin - we shall return soon!
Judi, Nick & Helen

Room Tip: Did not stay there but had a wonderful lunch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear SouthamptonSteph,

Thank you for this rave review of The Grove Bar and Grill. Recently reopened just a stone’s throw away from the lounge chairs on Crane Beach, The Grove offers delicious light grill cuisine and signature Crane cocktails – the perfect lunch after an invigorating swim!

Bartender Orwin was thrilled by your special mention. We both hope to welcome you back soon –next time, as a resident guest!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Crane is a sprawling resort on the island's east coast that is currently undergoing expansion, although that did not have any negative impact on our time there. We stayed for five nights, and there was plenty to do in terms of food (four restaurants, two of which were excellent, Zen and L'Azure) and relaxation. However, the resort is simply far away from the island's high end restaurants or watersports and activities. It's a great place to unwind and relax, the Cliffside scenery is spectacular, the staff is friendly and knowledgeable, the food was good to very good, and the room was huge and extremely comfortable.

On the downside: the place runs on "island time". Nothing is rushed, restaurants that are supposed to open for lunch at noon open closer to 1230. The hot tub near the carriage house is not heated at all, and the place shuts down fairly early in the evenings. Also, on weekends grabbing lunch can be a bit of a chore, as it seems there are too many guests for not enough lunch spots. And as I mentioned, you can expect a fifty to sixty minute cab ride to the island's high end restaurants on the island's east coast.

On the upside: our trip was booked through a third party website that informed us there were no cancellations or scheduling changes. However, when a major snowstorm cut us off by two days, The Crane eventually refunded the portion of our trip we missed. It took some time and many calls, but they did the right thing. BIG points to them for that.

Room Tip: We didn't have an ocean view room, but we still enjoyed our terrace and our scenery wasn't a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear JasonAllison,

We are pleased you had an enjoyable time with us overall at The Crane. Our key selling point is our location off the beaten track on the South East coast of Barbados. This removed location allows guests to relax and unwind in comfort away from the hustle and bustle typified by the West Coast.

We appreciate your candid feedback about your service experience. These comments have been noted and communicated to the team for immediate improvement. Also, while it is typically not our policy, we understood your extenuating circumstances and it was our pleasure to refund that missed portion of your stay.

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. Even though The Crane was not quite what you expected in terms of location, we do hope to welcome you back to enjoy our world-class amenities.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My family and myself have visited and vacationed in Barbados many times over the past twelve years, and enjoyed every visit

Several times on earlier trips we visited The Crane, for lunch, to wander the beautifully landscaped grounds, and to walk and lie on the magnificent beach; and said “We should stay here next year”

This year (last week) Susan and I finally decided to stay at The Crane What a wonderful experience it was.

Nuff said by other reviewers about the facilities, the food, and the grounds. The facilities are exactly as shown in the website http://www.thecrane.com ; but better in person.

What sets The Crane apart for us, is the friendly welcoming and helpful members of the team at The Crane. Starting with the warm welcome at the registration desk, to the pleasant and friendly servers in the restaurants, the maintenance people, the housekeepers, the IT guy who came promptly to help me with my laptop, and the gardening team; they all have a friendly good morning or hello or whatever. The Crane people will keep us coming back, and singing their praises to friends and acquaintances,

Sunday breakfast/brunch at L’Azure includes a performance of Gospel music by a local group who were very good, singing a variety of great gospel songs. This is not to be missed.

Our only regret is that our stay was an all too short 7 days - of outstanding service

Don and Susan M - Toronto

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear DonandSusan,

Thank you for posting this fantastic review! We couldn’t agree with you more – it is indeed our people that make The Crane such a special place. We take great pride in the fact that our employees are genuinely warm, friendly and always go that extra mile to ensure that our guests have exceptional Crane experiences.

We are so pleased you finally took the chance and decided to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Barbados and The Crane for many more years to come!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We visits our friends here for a few days, the resort is fabulous, the apartments are top class, with many bars and restaurants serving delicious food, the staff are really friendly. Situated on a cliff overlooking the ocean with a lovely beach below, the Atlantic ocean can get a bit choppy so be careful when going in the sea if you are not a good swimmer, the resort has lots of pool areas with comfy sunbeds, spa, jacuzzii and areas to lie out of the very hot sun. There is a private access to the beach via a lift. Car park area is available. Perfect wedding location. On Sundays you can have breakfast or lunch listening the singers which was lovely. Not the cheapest drink prices but you do expect to pay more for drinks and food in a resort of this standard

Room Tip: My friends have a 2 bed suite which has a bedroom and terrace overlooking the ocean and one overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Christine J,

In just a few short words you have captured almost everything that is fantastic about The Crane. From the breathtaking ocean views and the well-appointed suites, to the warm friendly smiles that greet you everywhere, The Crane certainly is a very special place.

Crane Beach is actually the safest swimming venue on this side of the island with an encircling natural coral reef that breaks the wave and daily lifeguard presence.

Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review. We hope to welcome you back in the near future – next time, as resident guests!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I've just spent a week at the Crane Resort with my mother (80) and aunt (62). I was looking for a place where I could take these two wonderful women; a safe, stress-free, guaranteed good-weather place, a place to decompress after what had been an emotionally stressful year.

I was directed to the Crane by a trusted source, and I wasn't disappointed.

Our first night was in a simple one bedroom suite in the Park residences. The suite was beautiful, but our move on the second night to a one-bedroom, ocean-view with plunge pool was a very, very good move. (#515)

I cannot stress this highly enough. I wouldn't go back to the Crane if it was just to one of the Park residences. They were "fine", but ... it was utterly fantastic to be able to walk straight into our unit (without having to use an elevator) and enjoy the sound of the surf crashing below us, and dips throughout the day into our private pool, with an unimpeded view of the Atlantic ocean.

N.B. The next time I go - and I WILL go again - I wouldn't book a transfer through Expedia, I would just walk right out of the airport and hail a cab. Faster, and cheaper. You can trust the cabs.

The General Store in the "the village" was fine for wine, bread, peanut butter, orange juice, milk, etc. - i.e. "essentials" - that sustained us through the morning and lunch meals. We loved having our own kitchen, and our white wine conversations on the patio at cocktail hour. I know that other guests use a grocery store off-site (an easy $20 cab ride if you negotiate with a driver who will drive you there and wait while you shop and then bring you home), but I was happy to pay the "premium" at the village store, and not have to worry about ferrying around aging passengers. They have a good assortment of crackers and cheese, and will order meat if you want to do more engaged cooking.

I thought the food at the restaurants - especially D'Onofrio's - was fantastic, and the staff were wonderful. Very accommodating, very patient, and knowledgeable. I'm a foodie - and the meals there were wonderful, especially their thin-crust pizzas and the arugula salad.

The beach is spectacular. REALLY spectacular. Clean. Stress-free. The beach chairs are comfortable, and there is shade under every umbrella. Talk to the staff, secure a beach chair, and lie back and enjoy an unparallelled view.

Our suite was beautiful. SO much storage room. Marble counter tops. Beautiful showers. Comfortable beds. Great linens. And our view from the "oceanview suite" was unparallelled.

My previous "hot-weather" trips have been to Bonaire, Mexico, Belize, Nicaragua, Argentina, etc. Because my "aging coterie" was so happy in our suite at the Crane, we didn't explore any of the many options available (aside from my one day off, snorkeling), so I'm embarrassed to say that we didn't "learn" anything about this fascinating country. However, my experience with my mother and aunt was unabashedly wonderful.

Mission accomplished.

We will return. And I can hardly wait.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view, plunge pool rooms. You will pay for it, but they're worth it. Room 515.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Patti L,

Thank you for taking the time to post this terrific review. You certainly haven’t left much for us to add! It was an absolute pleasure to welcome your family to The Crane and we are thrilled that everyone was indeed comfortable.

We are ever cognisant of The Crane’s location off the beaten path and as such we continue to introduce world-class amenities and services to complement our beautiful surroundings. We are thrilled you enjoyed so many of these during your stay.

Don’t be embarrassed! We look forward to welcoming you back to The Crane and helping you to discover even more of what beautiful Barbados has to offer.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

We recently had our wedding at the crane and also spent 5nights there. We must say it was a fantastic day, the hotel was the perfect setting and the crane out on a brilliant service. Canapés, drinks and the food were just faultless, well some comments from guests were that the rum punches during our cocktail hour were too strong!! But that's certainly not a negative point in my view! Keisha Yearwood the wedding coordinator was just superb on the day, she worked her socks off to ensure everything went as we wanted and that it ran smoothly, which it did considering we had quite a big wedding of 70 people (well big considering we live in the UK).We also used the services of colorbox for our wedding video, which Kemar did superbly!! We absolutely loved the video. Our stay at the crane after the wedding was also just so special. The room was wonderful, with our own pool. Staff made us feel extra special being the newlyweds and we must say dinner at the Zen restaurant was the best Thai food we have eaten! We would most certainly return to the crane again and recommend it to anyone who wants that extra special trip or added luxury for their stay in Barbados

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear SimoneJB,

Congratulations on your recent nuptials! We are thrilled you enjoyed a “perfect wedding and a wonderful stay” with us at The Crane. I communicated your praise to Keisha and she was absolutely delighted by your special mention.

Colorbox Photo Studio certainly has been a welcome addition to The Crane allowing guests to capture their Crane memories for posterity.

Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you back to celebrate many anniversaries to come!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Crane Residential Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crane Residential Resort

Address: Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Philip Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Saint Philip Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crane Residential Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched dramatically on the cliffs of Barbados' pristine south-east coast, The Crane Residential Resort, established since 1887, is the island's oldest operating hotel. Transformed into a world-class luxury resort, The Crane features ultra-spacious, fully appointed ocean-view one & two bedroom suites and three bedroom Penthouses, many with their own private plunge-pool. Facilities include the acclaimed Zen Restaurant serving classic Thai and Japanese cuisine and the consistently popular L'Azure Restaurant. The casual Carriage House Pool Side restaurant is another favourite along with D'Onofrio's Trattoria located in 'The Village' which offers duty free shopping, a General Store, Bar 1887 (with nightly live entertainment) and The Village Cafe. Last but not least is Crane Beach voted by Lifestyle's of The Rich and Famous as one of the Top Ten most beautiful beaches in the world, now with a fabulous Beach Grill! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Regatta Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., getaroom.com, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Crane Residential Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crane Residential Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Saint Philip
Crane Barbados
The Crane Barbados
Crane Hotel Barbados
Crane Resort Barbados
The Crane Residential Resort Barbados/Saint Philip Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crane Residential Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.