We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crane Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crane Residential Resort

Save Saved
You added The Crane Residential Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barbados Tourism Orbitz.com
and 11 more sites!
The Crane Residential Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Crane Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We visits our friends here for a few days, the resort is fabulous, the apartments are top class, with many bars and restaurants serving delicious food, the staff are really friendly. Situated on a cliff overlooking the ocean with a lovely beach below, the Atlantic ocean can get a bit choppy so be careful when going in the sea if you are not a good swimmer, the resort has lots of pool areas with comfy sunbeds, spa, jacuzzii and areas to lie out of the very hot sun. There is a private access to the beach via a lift. Car park area is available. Perfect wedding location. On Sundays you can have breakfast or lunch listening the singers which was lovely. Not the cheapest drink prices but you do expect to pay more for drinks and food in a resort of this standard

Room Tip: My friends have a 2 bed suite which has a bedroom and terrace overlooking the ocean and one overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Christine J,

In just a few short words you have captured almost everything that is fantastic about The Crane. From the breathtaking ocean views and the well-appointed suites, to the warm friendly smiles that greet you everywhere, The Crane certainly is a very special place.

Crane Beach is actually the safest swimming venue on this side of the island with an encircling natural coral reef that breaks the wave and daily lifeguard presence.

Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review. We hope to welcome you back in the near future – next time, as resident guests!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,414 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    819
    331
    103
    78
    83
See reviews for
310
714
38
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I've just spent a week at the Crane Resort with my mother (80) and aunt (62). I was looking for a place where I could take these two wonderful women; a safe, stress-free, guaranteed good-weather place, a place to decompress after what had been an emotionally stressful year.

I was directed to the Crane by a trusted source, and I wasn't disappointed.

Our first night was in a simple one bedroom suite in the Park residences. The suite was beautiful, but our move on the second night to a one-bedroom, ocean-view with plunge pool was a very, very good move. (#515)

I cannot stress this highly enough. I wouldn't go back to the Crane if it was just to one of the Park residences. They were "fine", but ... it was utterly fantastic to be able to walk straight into our unit (without having to use an elevator) and enjoy the sound of the surf crashing below us, and dips throughout the day into our private pool, with an unimpeded view of the Atlantic ocean.

N.B. The next time I go - and I WILL go again - I wouldn't book a transfer through Expedia, I would just walk right out of the airport and hail a cab. Faster, and cheaper. You can trust the cabs.

The General Store in the "the village" was fine for wine, bread, peanut butter, orange juice, milk, etc. - i.e. "essentials" - that sustained us through the morning and lunch meals. We loved having our own kitchen, and our white wine conversations on the patio at cocktail hour. I know that other guests use a grocery store off-site (an easy $20 cab ride if you negotiate with a driver who will drive you there and wait while you shop and then bring you home), but I was happy to pay the "premium" at the village store, and not have to worry about ferrying around aging passengers. They have a good assortment of crackers and cheese, and will order meat if you want to do more engaged cooking.

I thought the food at the restaurants - especially D'Onofrio's - was fantastic, and the staff were wonderful. Very accommodating, very patient, and knowledgeable. I'm a foodie - and the meals there were wonderful, especially their thin-crust pizzas and the arugula salad.

The beach is spectacular. REALLY spectacular. Clean. Stress-free. The beach chairs are comfortable, and there is shade under every umbrella. Talk to the staff, secure a beach chair, and lie back and enjoy an unparallelled view.

Our suite was beautiful. SO much storage room. Marble counter tops. Beautiful showers. Comfortable beds. Great linens. And our view from the "oceanview suite" was unparallelled.

My previous "hot-weather" trips have been to Bonaire, Mexico, Belize, Nicaragua, Argentina, etc. Because my "aging coterie" was so happy in our suite at the Crane, we didn't explore any of the many options available (aside from my one day off, snorkeling), so I'm embarrassed to say that we didn't "learn" anything about this fascinating country. However, my experience with my mother and aunt was unabashedly wonderful.

Mission accomplished.

We will return. And I can hardly wait.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view, plunge pool rooms. You will pay for it, but they're worth it. Room 515.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Patti L,

Thank you for taking the time to post this terrific review. You certainly haven’t left much for us to add! It was an absolute pleasure to welcome your family to The Crane and we are thrilled that everyone was indeed comfortable.

We are ever cognisant of The Crane’s location off the beaten path and as such we continue to introduce world-class amenities and services to complement our beautiful surroundings. We are thrilled you enjoyed so many of these during your stay.

Don’t be embarrassed! We look forward to welcoming you back to The Crane and helping you to discover even more of what beautiful Barbados has to offer.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

We recently had our wedding at the crane and also spent 5nights there. We must say it was a fantastic day, the hotel was the perfect setting and the crane out on a brilliant service. Canapés, drinks and the food were just faultless, well some comments from guests were that the rum punches during our cocktail hour were too strong!! But that's certainly not a negative point in my view! Keisha Yearwood the wedding coordinator was just superb on the day, she worked her socks off to ensure everything went as we wanted and that it ran smoothly, which it did considering we had quite a big wedding of 70 people (well big considering we live in the UK).We also used the services of colorbox for our wedding video, which Kemar did superbly!! We absolutely loved the video. Our stay at the crane after the wedding was also just so special. The room was wonderful, with our own pool. Staff made us feel extra special being the newlyweds and we must say dinner at the Zen restaurant was the best Thai food we have eaten! We would most certainly return to the crane again and recommend it to anyone who wants that extra special trip or added luxury for their stay in Barbados

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear SimoneJB,

Congratulations on your recent nuptials! We are thrilled you enjoyed a “perfect wedding and a wonderful stay” with us at The Crane. I communicated your praise to Keisha and she was absolutely delighted by your special mention.

Colorbox Photo Studio certainly has been a welcome addition to The Crane allowing guests to capture their Crane memories for posterity.

Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you back to celebrate many anniversaries to come!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We just returned from a wonderful vacation at The Crane. There are so many things that I could tell you about this property. We stayed as a family in the Penthouse suite of building 9. It was absolutely amazing and the views were breathtaking. A gorgeous sunrise every morning. More than enough space and bathrooms for a family of 5.

The grounds were beautiful and very expansive. You could walk around the grounds for over an hour, discovering all the pools and pathways that The Crane has to offer and taking some pretty amazing pictures.

I love the history of the Crane as well. It was a port for the ships from Europe and because it is situated so high on a cliff, there was an actual Crane that would raise and lower the merchandise. There was a hotel built on the top of this cliff and it is still there today. You can rent the rooms in the original hotel. And the restaurant The Carriage House, was the original carriage house where the horses and carriage were kept. One more tidbit of history. Back in the day when the women weren't allowed to be seen by men while in the ocean, there was a stairway that was built for the women to reach Crane beach. Parts of it are still there today! Really neat.

Aside from the cool history, The Crane has everything going for it. Private pools where you have no problem finding a chair, restaurants that are really great, a village where you can buy almost everything you would need and 1 of the top 10 most beautiful beaches in the world. Crane beach does have some pretty powerful waves, so it's a little nerve wracking for parents of younger kids. But the older kids and adults really loved the body surfing and boogie boarding that can be enjoyed here.

The Crane really had everything you could possibly want on a holiday. And the staff at the Crane were very accommodating, helpful and friendly. Especially Cory at the beach hut. He was there every morning with a smile and a helping hand. And whenever you needed a drink or some food, he was there for you all day. The guy was amazing. He even gave my hubby fishing advice on the days when my husband would throw a line in off the rocks. He added a lot to the ease of being on the beach.

And a final shout out to Sandra and her cleaning crew for keeping our place clean and tidy and for helping us out on our last day.

All in all it was a great vacation for the family and we will definitely go back if the opportunity arises.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Penthouse of building 9. It was spectacular. We had ocean breezes all day so no n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
DKEVERYDAY,

Thank you for taking the time to post this detailed review – you really haven’t much for me to add! We too are extremely humbled by the tremendous piece of Barbadian history we have inherited in The Crane. In fact, you’ll be pleased to learn that an Art Gallery dedicated to preserving the history of the resort over the past 125 years is scheduled to open soon in Crane Village!

Sandra and Corey were both delighted by your special mention. They each exemplify the typical Crane employee – warm, friendly and helpful. It was their pleasure to welcome you to share in our small piece of paradise.

We are thrilled you enjoyed a fantastic family vacation with us and we hope to see you all again soon!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My husband and I spent our honeymoon at the Crane and it was the most amazing resort I have ever visited. I have been to numerous Caribbean island resorts and this one surpasses every expectation. We plan on returning again and loved it so much that we are considering a time share here! The rooms are gorgeous and from he second you arrive the staff goes above and beyond to accommodate your every need.

The restaurants at this resort are the best! The seafood is amazing and the vegetables are locally grown, so you can tell you are eating fresh, delicious food every single meal.

Everything you need from activities to shopping to dining are at this resort so there is really no reason to leave. Oh yes, allow me to mention that the crane beach is one if the best in the world!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Cara n,

Thank you for taking the time to post this fantastic review! We are delighted you opted to create those first special memories of your lives together with us at The Crane. It was truly our pleasure to surpass your every expectation.

We are also thrilled you are considering joining our shared ownership programme. I’m sure you’ll find that we offer the world’s best value in luxury shared ownership.

It certainly sounds as though you have fallen in love with The Crane and we look forward to welcoming you back – for many years to come!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We really enjoyed our vacation at the Crane in February and are glad we went, but wouldn't rush back. It was our second time in Barbados, first time at The Crane. It is about a 45 min drive from the fabulous restaurants and activities of the west coast, which is a sort of big deal since the restaurant options on site leave much to be desired. It just depends what you are looking for. There are really no dining options for breakfast other than your room or L'Azure. The breakfasts were just average and either buffet or a la carte depending on the occupancy of the resort. Menu was the same daily and frankly, boring.

Lunch options were good. L'Azure did a nice job at lunch time however,on Valentines Day, despite the fact that we were guests at the hotel, it was pouring rain and the only other restaurant open for lunch was mostly open air and overflowing with patrons in the covered areas, we were refused a table at L'Azure as we did not have a reservation for lunch! As a guest at the hotel, I would think that they should be a little more accommodating. Especially since most of the tables were empty. Their reservation book was in clear view and they could have accommodated us, it was just the two of us. If we had been informed that we must make reservations for lunch that day due to it being Valentine's Day, we would have had no problem doing so. The Carriage house had the best food and best service but was only open for lunch. D'Onofrios only open on certain days for lunch, but very good. The beach bar served nice salads and sandwiches. Our favorite was to walk down the street to Cutters, although they do have delivery service to Crane beach!

For dinners, Zen was just ok. D'Onofrios was our late night pizza go to - especially after having a very poor experience at L'Azure. Most nights we took a cab to dinner and were able to find some excellent options within the 20 minute range. Champers and Brown Sugar were excellent and we would have gone back to one of them had we not wasted a night on L'Azure. Most of the guests we spoke to that week felt the same regarding L'Azure.

We were in building 9 in an oceanview 1BR suite with plunge pool. While we liked our location, the room was tired and in need of some refurbishing. The plunge pool was too cold to use and overlooked a shed with hoses and spare parts, etc in full view. Really that could be addressed with minimal expense! As for the past reviews where people had complained of mold and dirty windows, yes it's there, but the window situation is understandable with the salt air and constant breeze. For the most part it was as clean as could be expected, it did look as though they tried to address the mold situation in the ceilings. Did we see roaches? Yes. One in the room and many out by the main pool. They really should have cleaned them up they were all along the path. It is the tropics, they do thrive there, but really...clean them up. The showers had excellent pressure and temperature. Air conditioner wasn't working when we arrived. A quick call and someone was right there to fix it. The constant breeze was lovely and we found ourselves using the air only to get ready to go out and to sleep at night.

The pools were disgusting and in need of some algaecide. First time we have gone away and had no desire to step foot in the pool. The beach however, makes up for most everything. We did a few excursions - Cool Runnings was a lot of fun. The concierge staff was efficient in handling everything from excursions to dinner reservations to taxis.

The spa was excellent and we had a wonderful couples massage. The fitness center had the basics and was clean and in good repair. Shame it doesn't have a view.

Overall, the resort was nice and the staff, other than at dinner in L'Azure, friendy and helpful. I was glad we had a discounted rate and breakfast included, as if we had paid full price for accommodations and breakfast, I would have been a little disturbed at some of the experiences. I wouldn't discourage anyone from staying here, but I think there are other places I'd recommend first.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear longing4sun,

We appreciate you taking the time to post this comprehensive review of your Crane experience. While we are pleased you had an enjoyable time with us overall, we have taken note of the highlighted areas in which you suggested improvements.

The Crane’s location on the South East coast of the island is perfect for those who simply wish to relax while on their Barbados vacation. To this end, we have introduced all of the imaginable amenities and services into one location, eliminating the need for guests to leave the resort, save to explore the island.

Were disappointed that this stay fell short of your expectations and hope you will allow us another opportunity to create the true Crane experience for you.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom garden villa with another couple. Booked one excursion with the concierge on the boat cool runnings. Great breakfast spot right down the road at Cutters (they also deliver). Great rum punch at the beach, also, locals sell fresh coconut drinks for 5 us. The accomidations, staff, and grounds where amazing. Already planning a return trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Baxelr,

Thank you for this brief but wonderful review! It definitely sounds as though you have indeed discovered “an excellent vacation spot” here with us at The Crane.

It was our pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to sharing even more of what The Crane and Barbados has to offer.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Crane Residential Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crane Residential Resort

Also Known As:
The Crane Residential Hotel Saint Philip
The Crane Residential Hotel
Crane Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Saint Philip
Crane Barbados
The Crane Barbados
Crane Hotel
Crane Hotel Barbados
Crane Resort Barbados
The Crane Residential Resort Barbados/Saint Philip Parish
Address: Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Philip Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Saint Philip Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crane Residential Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched dramatically on the cliffs of Barbados' pristine south-east coast, The Crane Residential Resort, established since 1887, is the island's oldest operating hotel. Transformed into a world-class luxury resort, The Crane features ultra-spacious, fully appointed ocean-view one & two bedroom suites and three bedroom Penthouses, many with their own private plunge-pool. Facilities include the acclaimed Zen Restaurant serving classic Thai and Japanese cuisine and the consistently popular L'Azure Restaurant. The casual Carriage House Pool Side restaurant is another favourite along with D'Onofrio's Trattoria located in 'The Village' which offers duty free shopping, a General Store, Bar 1887 (with nightly live entertainment) and The Village Cafe. Last but not least is Crane Beach voted by Lifestyle's of The Rich and Famous as one of the Top Ten most beautiful beaches in the world, now with a fabulous Beach Grill! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Regatta Hotels, Orbitz, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Otel, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Crane Residential Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crane Residential Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.