We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Crane Residential Resort

Save Saved
You added The Crane Residential Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 17 more sites!
The Crane Residential Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Splish, Splash...Bonus!
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Amazing Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I spent 10 days over the Christmas holiday at this property. The beach is absolutely gorgeous - the staff amazingly accomodating - the property itself very nice, but definitely in need of an upgrade. The rooms/suites were very large, but the kitchen was not equipped as well as advertised. This might prove a challenge for anyone really planning to cook and eat in for most of their stay. The restaurants/room service are very pricey and I would not rate the food served much above a C. When you place a room service order for two eggs over easy, you get just that, two lonely cold eggs on a large plate. I rarely complain, but I do feel that The Crane has some work to do in the areas involving food - both what is available to order at the resort and what is offered up as a "fully equipped kitchen" in the rentals.
The resort is on a beautiful bluff overlooking the ocean. The beach is accessable by elevator or stairs. The beach is just breathtaking. So beautiful. Our stay overlapped the very busy holiday season and we did notice that once the resort filled up so did everything else - including the beach and pool (as one would expect). I would say the beach was the most crowded.....but so beautiful - you hardly notice that you are surrounded by so many others. The pool is very large and has nice shaded areas and places for family to gather.
We rented a car for a couple of days to explore and purchase groceries. You really would not need a car and we probably would not rent one again if we returned.
The property has a small grocery store and a small ice cream/sweet shop. There are three restaurants - all which require reservations - and a bar. There is also a bar/restaurant overlooking the pool and ocean - this was our favorite place to eat while visiting....but as I said....food was not our favorite part of this visit.
All in all, the best part of our stay at The Crane was the view, the beach and the staff.
One last piece of advice - not all of the buildings have the same view - especially on the first floor (suites with large attached pool) and some of the suites are time shares or rentals. We arrived late (midnight) our first night and were asked to change rooms the next day because the suite we had settled into was rented to someone else by "the owner". This actually worked out well for us as the building had no working air conditioning. You definitely need air conditioning in Barbados in December! Our second suite did have working air conditioning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear wellseasoned55,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are pleased you had an overall good stay with us at The Crane, enjoying the views, beach and our friendly staff in particular.

Please be assured that we have taken note of your food & beverage related comments and we do apologise for the inconsistencies you experienced. Our team is consistently working to improve this area and your feedback on our 4 restaurants and 2 bars is invaluable to this process.

While our suites are sometimes owned, we work hard to ensure that room moves do not have to take place. It is a very rare occurrence, and we would have typically alerted you at check-in and made sure that the move was as seamless as possible.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon – next time, to enjoy an improved food & beverage experience.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,458 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    846
    340
    104
    81
    87
See reviews for
317
738
41
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I'm a little late with this review but I wanted to make sure I gave the Crane some love...

I stayed at the Crane with a small group of family and friends over Thanksgiving 2012 weekend. We splurged and booked a 2-bedroom duplex penthouse with a plunge pool. The room was really spacious and had absolutely gorgeous views of the ocean from the huge balcony and especially from the rooftop deck (which also had lounge chairs, a hot tub, a dining table/chairs and a grill for cooking if that’s your thing).

The staff was very friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived. Everyone remembered our names every day and always said hello. We tipped generously but not outrageously and got excellent service wherever we went. Check-in was pretty simple and relatively quick. I hate when there’s a long spiel about the resort when all I want to do is get my bathing suit on and hit the beach. The beach was clean (the elevator that takes you down is pretty slow but it gets you where you need to go) and we were rarely bothered by anyone trying to sell us stuff. If someone did come by, a polite “no thanks” sent them on their way without a fuss.

The food at the resort was also very good. We only ordered room service once so I feel comfortable recommending all the restaurants because we tried them all. D'Onofrios and Zen were standouts for me. Bar 1887 is fun especially if you're a soccer fan and love a good rum-based drink. Go with the Planter’s Punch. Delicious.

Since I like to be honest...if you're expecting 5-star luxurious accommodations...you'll be disappointed. The pools and the grounds are really lovely and well-maintained but there's definitely a sense of faded glory that permeates the whole place. The good news is that there's a lot to work with! The resort just needs some sprucing up and a bit of modernizing. Get rid of some of the older and dated furniture, invest in some new artwork and change a few carpets. A little bit would go a long way.

By the way, if you go to Barbados definitely take a cab over to the Oistins Fish Fry on Fridays. The front desk can arrange the ride for you and you can make a deal with your cab driver to pick you up again at whatever time you want. We ate, drank, danced and had a fantastic time. Definitely worth the time and money. There's also a ratty little bar across the street (can't remember the name, unfortunately) that will give you some good local color!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear chsmith,

Thank you for taking the time to post this great review. It sounds as though you had an enjoyable time with us overall, from check-in to check-out. I was especially pleased by your description of your staff interactions. We all take great pride in our guests’ comfort and often go that extra mile to ensure that their expectations are surpassed.

We appreciate your candid feedback. You’ll be pleased to learn that we have absolutely no intentions of allowing our glory to fade. Each summer, we undertake an extensive refurbishment programme by building, in addition to scheduled maintenance throughout the year.

It was a pleasure to welcome you. We can’t wait to welcome you back!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugerties, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Facing the incredible azure waters of the Atlantic, boasting several beautiful pools, and located on one of the nicest beaches I've seen, I'd recommend the Crane for anyone desiring a week of total relaxation. We stayed with a friend on a top floor penthouse, roomy, breezy and well furnished. We found the staff friendly and helpful. Restaurants were good, if expensive, but when staying at the Crane it's also possible to fix your own meals in the well equipped kitchen, and the Emerald City Supermarket is a five minute car ride away. Emerald City provides free transport to and from the Crane for its guests. The only downside for me is that there is not much within walking distance on this part of Barbados. But for anyone who simply wants to relax, this is an ideal spot. Another tip: ask for mosquito netting for your beds!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear halfmoon613,

We couldn’t agree with you more – The Crane is ideal for anyone desiring a week of total relaxation and our Penthouse Suites are perfect for just that! With an expansive floor plan to accommodate up to 8 persons, luxurious finishes, modern amenities and gorgeous ocean views, our Penthouses are the perfect base from which to enjoy any vacation.

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed on a day pass after leaving a cruise at 09.30 with flight not departing until 17.25. Perfect plan for our last day on Barbados. $25 Barbadian per person is credited against lunch in any of the resort restaurants, allows use of pool, sunbeds, showers, pool & shower towels provided. Only 10 minutes from airport - perfect solution. Service friendly but a little slow in the Carriage House Restaurant but food excellent.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear MikeBGardner,

Thank you for this brief but fantastic review. We are delighted that you took advantage of the opportunity to experience The Crane for a day.

Just to clarify, the Day Pass Voucher provides easy access to Crane Beach and entitles the user to $12.50 USD credit, applicable in any of our Food & Beverage outlets. However, the use of pools, sun beds, showers and beach towels is only for resident guests.

We hope to welcome you back soon – next time, as a resident guest!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

As a repeat visitor and Owner of timeshare weeks The Crane continues to be the best of times and the worst of times. It frustrates me to no end that what management claims they want to do better,stays the same year after year.
The best of times:
The ocean is always the best. Nice breeze and wonderful pink sand.
Room staff were generally very good
The view is amazing
Weather always great in February
The worst of times
Jellyfish on the beach and in the ocean.Caution advised
Amenities in room lacking. We had asked for oscillating fans,one only Toilets in master bath stayed on and seal busted on second room of two unit.Maintenance looked at it but left it.
No frying pan,both safes in rooms not working and needed to be replaced. this was done after three calls.Fridge in main unit not getting cold. An engineer did arrive early evening and said his boss needed to be consulted next am.Fridge never did cool properly and never saw anyone come back
the Carriage House had terrible Saturday service. As a party of six ,we waited a half hour for anyone to note we were at the table. The serving staff of one could not handle the work. I believe he was trying?...We left and were served a timely and wonderful lunch at Cutters that is just off property.
Checkout and inability to extend a 10am for a half hour.Manager claimed over 100 rooms turning over and they were understaffed I had to think about that last comment for a while.

I did go to a meeting of time owners and listened to the presentations. I respect the goals and where they want to go to be competitive with other high end properties on Barbados. I am currently writing this from Fairmont Royal Pavillion,one of the properties mentioned as aspiring to achieve.the level of service for price paid. You are not even close.

As a time owner this report does nothing to add value to my interest at The Crane. I am very concerned that as years go by,all the best intentions are just words. Crane has huge potential,thet is why we bought there. However,I am still extremely exasperated.

As a parting note,why so many mosquitoes???

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear acysb87,

We were distressed by your account of your experience. Please be assured that these issues are not widespread but instead are unfortunate yet isolated incidents. On behalf of my team, please accept my sincerest apologies.

To clarify one point, Member check-out has always been 10am. This is to allow Housekeeping to effectively access and clean all suites in time for the 4pm member or rental check-in. However, to assist with bridging the gap between check-out and check-in time at the airport, we have built a large locker room and shower/changing facility so that our Members can still enjoy the Resort prior to departing for the airport. Please note that check-out for hotel guests is 12pm as this category of guest may check in or out on any given day.

As you learned whilst on property, Management has renewed its focus on achieving several service and industry goals and we have every confidence that we will be able to do so. In achieving these, The Crane will realise the potential that we all believe it has.

We ask your patience as we prepare to take the Resort to the next level and look forward to welcoming you back for the true Crane experience.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This resort is a study in contrasts. While it lives up to its billing (and price) by having a very clean, well laid out and pristine property, it manages to negate the positives by the sheer indifference of its staff. While "island time" and slow service is expected when one is vacationing in the islands, the staff at this resort took this to a new low. How is a 75 minute wait for some scrambled eggs in a half-empty restaurant sound to you? Or how about the concierge who isn't willing to explain your various dining options? To make matters worse, the beach area has a number of shady characters trying to sell weed and making things uncomfortable for those on a family vacation with kids. The rate that is charged for a stay at this property clearly doesn't match the type of product it is putting. Our recommendation is to look for another resort (if not another island in the Caribbean).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Sam M,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you appreciated the physical beauty and the effort we take to maintain our beautiful grounds. However, we are very disappointed at your reports on the service. Regarding your wait at breakfast, we apologise for this anomaly and have pinpointed that there must have been a miscommunication between the server and the kitchen. I have spoken to one of our Sous Chefs who has advised that an order for scrambled eggs takes an average of 15 minutes.

Crane Beach, like all beaches in Barbados, is a public beach. Our Director of Security is working closely with The Royal Barbados Police Force regarding any reports of illegal activity. Please let me reassure you that we have a zero tolerance policy for anyone who attempts to approach guests in this manner and take immediate steps to remove the occasional offenders when a report is received.

It is unfortunate that The Crane did not meet your expectations on your Barbados holiday. However, we hope that you will return to our beautiful island on your next vacation and explore everything else there is to offer.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Currently staying at The Crane. I don't usually post reviews but I decided to because I had used the trip advisor reviews before booking The Crane, and I am not sure if I am at the same "Crane" but The Crane I am at is not "A great place to stay". This one is dirty and in great need of upkeep. Just to name a few problems - mild/mold everywhere in kitchen and bathroom, tiny spiders all over kitchen counter, almost non-existent air conditioning, the toilet in the bathroom by the bedroom runs/fills VERY LOUD throughout the night (enough to wake everyone up), the shower in the main bath is awful. Forget using the plunge pool in your unit it is extremely cold. Bird crap all over the balcony furniture and railings. Elevator in building has been broken the whole time. Main pools are very dirty, green growth and dead frogs. I can say more, but that should cover it. Still have two days to go and have been looking at just leaving and booking another hotel for the last few days of our vacation. I have not complained to Management because I think it would be a waste of time and would only cause me more stress on what should be a great time and I don't think anywhere else would be any better on the resort, it is just in sad condition overall. I would like to go back to Ocean 2 where we stayed the first part of our vacation before coming here, but it is booked. Have also been looking at other locations on island, but unfortunately they are all booked on such short notice, so were are here until we go home unless I can find somethng else. It is just very sad because The Crane- if looked after could be very nice almost as nice as the professional pictures look! I will give one positive - that the food at the restaurants is pretty good.

Room Tip: DON'T, at this price check out OCEAN 2, very beautiful and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Cheryl B,

I am sad to hear that you were disappointed with your accommodations while staying with us. We make every effort to ensure that each guest room is cleaned and maintained to the highest standards and anything less is a gross departure from our established standards.

Our Guest Relations Managers have been appointed to bring swift resolution to any guest concerns that occur at The Crane Resort, we encourage guests to speak with any member of the team to discuss their issues. One of the Guest Relations Managers would have been more than happy assist in negating any of your concerns, even moving you to an alternative room if necessary.

We are sorry that The Crane did not live up to your expectations on your Barbados holiday but we do wish you will return to allow us an opportunity to provide the true Crane experience.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Crane Residential Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crane Residential Resort

Address: Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Philip Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Saint Philip Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crane Residential Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched dramatically on the cliffs of Barbados' pristine south-east coast, The Crane Residential Resort, established since 1887, is the island's oldest operating hotel. Transformed into a world-class luxury resort, The Crane features ultra-spacious, fully appointed ocean-view one & two bedroom suites and three bedroom Penthouses, many with their own private plunge-pool. Facilities include the acclaimed Zen Restaurant serving classic Thai and Japanese cuisine and the consistently popular L'Azure Restaurant. The casual Carriage House Pool Side restaurant is another favourite along with D'Onofrio's Trattoria located in 'The Village' which offers duty free shopping, a General Store, Bar 1887 (with nightly live entertainment) and The Village Cafe. Last but not least is Crane Beach voted by Lifestyle's of The Rich and Famous as one of the Top Ten most beautiful beaches in the world, now with a fabulous Beach Grill! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Regatta Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Splendia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Jetsetter, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Crane Residential Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crane Residential Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Saint Philip
Crane Barbados
The Crane Barbados
Crane Hotel Barbados
Crane Resort Barbados
The Crane Residential Resort Barbados/Saint Philip Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crane Residential Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.