We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crane Residential Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Crane Residential Resort to your Saves list
The Crane Residential Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay with us in 2015!
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Serene”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed at The Crane, which is mostly apartment-like rentals, than it is a hotel. However, my friends and I rented a 4-bedroom suite and it was immaculate! From the restaurant, to the beach, to the location - it was serene! I'm not sure about many other places in Barbados, but this would be the one others would need to beat, in my eyes...my standard has been set with this great place

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear IntlGal77,

Thank you for this brief but wonderful review. We are thrilled that The Crane has set the standard for you.

Just to clarify, while our suites certainly are grand, none of our room categories include a four-bedroom option. Instead, it sounds as though you and your friends rented our Three Bedroom Penthouse which features four beds (one bedroom with two single beds) which is perfect for families or a group of friends travelling.

Don’t become strangers! We hope to welcome you again soon.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    935
    366
    117
    88
    93
See reviews for
354
801
45
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have just spent the past three days visiting friends with a timeshare at, as they call it, "the Crane". The Crane is a self-contained resort built on a hill-side along the southeast coast of Barbados. While it abounds in the most modern of amenities, it is, in fact, the oldest continually operating hotel on the island. The complex consists of a group of five story buildings surrounding the "town center". The "town center" is the heart of the complex where you will find the registration area, the fitness facility, a small grocery, bakery and so forth. All of this is a part of the original hotel structure, a coral stone building dating from 1887. The unit we stayed in consisted of approximately 4,000 square feet with three large bedrooms, three and one half baths, a very generous kitchen, a large living and dining area and a beautiful balcony overlooking the beaches and ocean. Our unit also had a roof deck with a wet bar and grill. Adjacent to our balcony was a lovely little pool, large enough for four people to soak in listening to the waves and the winds. Many of the units also have small pools as a part of their units. Within the property there are a number of very large, lovely asymmetrical pools with lots of seating areas, both with and without shade. The property is beautifully maintained. The feeling is of being within a botanical garden. The Crane also has four or five restaurants within the grounds catering to tastes ranging from fresh fish and burgers, to Italian, to Thai and Japanese. The resort is also very child friendly. This is a lovely place to stay with one caveat. It is a bit of a drive to get from here to there and one will need a car with which to see the sights of Barbados. That will entail, for American tourists, the challenge of driving on the left side of the road. If that is not a hardship nor a constraint, I would highly recommend the Crane.

Room Tip: The one bedroom suites with kitchenette and balcony are highly sought after.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear BBQUEMAN,

Thank you for this detailed review, you certainly have not left much for us to add.

Note that we have recently completed two new buildings in our Residences in The Park. Guests can choose from ground floor rooms equipped with private gardens, dining gazebos and outdoor jacuzzis, or a penthouse with a completely private sundeck with rooftop pool, BBQ and bar.

Not everyone that stays at The Crane will require a private car; many guests choose to use public buses which stop directly outside the resort. In addition, we have many taxis operating from the resort who can take guests anywhere they need to get on island.

Again we are pleased that you recommend us so highly, and we hope that you will return again soon.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We enjoyed a beautiful room on a high floor overlooking the gardens, pools and the Atlantic Ocean beach. The staff at The Crane are excellent in all aspects.. from greeting and room registrations... to service... and in the restaurants. Their scrupulous attention to detail and was very nice. The room was quite comfortable. The grounds and pools are beautiful extensive and very enjoyable. We enjoyed the beach and ocean a lot. We did not rent a car and spent most of our time on the property. We did take the catamaran "Cool Running" on a day sail with snorkeling .. very enjoyable..saw quite a bit of the island traveling on roads to Bridgetown on the bus to the dock. The catamaran enabled us to see more from the ocean as well.

Room Tip: Request a high floor with balcony overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear YamGandy,

Thank you for this fantastic review. We are delighted that you had an opportunity to enjoy The Crane as well as our beautiful island Barbados.

Our staff truly is our greatest asset and we will certainly circulate your wonderful comments about the property as well as the hospitality you received while on the resort.

The weather in February has been absolutely extraordinary and many of our guests enjoyed days relaxing by the pools and the sounds and sights of the beautiful Atlantic Ocean.

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you to the resort again soon.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I loved the crane for brunch including the crane beach afterwards. However i think that the main attraction is not the breakfast brunch but the bajan gospel singers. Delightful. Spectacular views from the restaurant and the grounds,including a view of prince andrew's house!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear belbest,

Thank you for this short review on the fantastic Gospel Breakfast! Our guests agree that the gospel singers are a fantastic addition to our Sunday breakfast buffet. The stunning views from the L’Azure balcony are also a welcome treat.

I would just like to add that L’Azure is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The restaurant has also been recently refurbished and features a revamped menu which includes an eclectic mix of International and Caribbean cuisine.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I were planning a romantic trip to Caribbean. Barbados was my decision, but Crane was a surprise for me. Best surprise ever!!! This hotel is the most beautiful I've ever seen (believe me, I've been all over the world!). Pink sand was like WOW! Laying down at their own beach with rum punch with all the beauty around - was like a honeymoon! Our room was big with a terrace at the beach front. Monkeys and hummingbird were our morning guests))) ..There are no words to express all fillings that The Crane gave to us! It was the most lovely trip ever, only because of this hotel! We are very thankful and wish to come back again!

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Kristina N,

Thank you for this fantastic review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your surprise trip to The Crane.

It’s heart warming to know that you have described us as the ‘best trip ever’ especially when compared to your past travels. We encourage our guests to simply relax, and enjoy the beauty and sounds that this side of the island offers, and it seems you did just that!

With breathtaking views, an array of dining options, resort spa, fitness centre, The Crane Village, a café, flood lit tennis courts and one of the world’s top 10 beaches we work hard to create exceptional value for all of our guests.

We thank you for choosing The Crane for your Barbados holiday and certainly look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beijing, china
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I didn't stay at the Crane, but after reading some negative comments about the way daytrippers were received, I wanted to relay the experience I had earlier today. I'm here with a group of fellow grad students who have been studying in Barbados for the past few weeks. On our first real day off, we bused it over from Oistins to check out Crane beach. The beach, though not a great swimming option, was stunning. Umbrella and chair sets were a bit expensive at 20 dollars US, but we got there early and kept them all day. We were given no resistance as far as accessing the resort (weren't asked to pay anything) and enjoyed a great lunch at the Carriage House. One of my friends had a birthday, and completely unsolicited she received a free cocktail and dessert, even though it was clear we weren't guests. We were treated great by the staff there and it made what was for us quite a splurge an enjoyable experience. Coffee shop with very reasonable prices made for a great mid afternoon treat. Iced coffee has been a hard thing to come by in Barbados for less than a small fortune. The only critical note I'd make is that the glass plating on the beach elevator is in desperate need of a wash. I'll probably never be able to afford to stay there, but will definitely visit again on this trip or the next.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear lebsam11,

We are delighted that you had an opportunity to experience The Crane for the day. The entry to the resort is $12.50USD per person and is 100% refundable in food and beverage. Our policy is just to encourage guests to use the restaurants, so anyone coming to do just that is not required to pay an entry fee.

The Carriage House is certainly a fantastic option for light lunch with a view overlooking the 1.5 acre pool complex as well as views of the Atlantic Ocean.

Our Village Café is the perfect way to cool off from the afternoon temperatures here on the island. The best part is that everything is made right here on property.

We have also taken your comments regarding the beach elevator into consideration. Even though the elevator is cleaned twice daily, the salt spray is relentless and quickly builds up.

Belated birthday greetings are also in order for your friend from the entire team at The Crane!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I spent a week at the Crane, Barbados, with my family. It was excellent in all aspects. Accomodation was fantastic, we had a wonderful view from the Crane beach, the rooms were spotless clean and the service at the hotel was good even though we were there on Xmas and they had fewer employees. The resort restaurants were also fantastic, we had great food and wine and charming environments. Pool is enrmous and amazing. We are definitely going back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Ana_Bertelli,

Thank you for this short but delightful review, we are certainly happy that you and your entire family had a wonderful stay with us over the holidays. Our ocean front residences feature stunning views of the Atlantic Ocean and our housekeeping department works tirelessly to ensure that these rooms are cleaned to the highest standards.

With four restaurants on property, we offer an array of dining options from classic Thai and Japanese cuisine to delectable cuisine from southern Italy.

It has been our pleasure to welcome you to The Crane and we look forward to your next visit!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crane Residential Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crane Residential Resort

Address: Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Philip Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint Philip Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crane Residential Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched dramatically on the cliffs of Barbados' pristine south-east coast, The Crane Residential Resort, established since 1887, is the island's oldest operating hotel. Transformed into a world-class luxury resort, The Crane features ultra-spacious, fully appointed ocean-view one & two bedroom suites and three bedroom Penthouses, many with their own private plunge-pool. Facilities include the acclaimed Zen Restaurant serving classic Thai and Japanese cuisine and the consistently popular L'Azure Restaurant. The casual Carriage House Pool Side restaurant is another favourite along with D'Onofrio's Trattoria located in 'The Village' which offers duty free shopping, a General Store, Bar 1887 (with nightly live entertainment) and The Village Cafe. Last but not least is Crane Beach voted by Lifestyle's of The Rich and Famous as one of the Top Ten most beautiful beaches in the world, now with a fabulous Beach Grill! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jetsetter, Booking.com, Regatta Hotels, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Crane Residential Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crane Residential Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Saint Philip
Crane Barbados
The Crane Barbados
Crane Hotel Barbados
Crane Resort Barbados
The Crane Residential Resort Barbados/Saint Philip Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crane Residential Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.