We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing in all Details” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crane Residential Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Crane Residential Resort to your Saves list
The Crane Residential Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Experience The Crane
Certificate of Excellence
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
“Relaxing in all Details”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We enjoyed a beautiful room on a high floor overlooking the gardens, pools and the Atlantic Ocean beach. The staff at The Crane are excellent in all aspects.. from greeting and room registrations... to service... and in the restaurants. Their scrupulous attention to detail and was very nice. The room was quite comfortable. The grounds and pools are beautiful extensive and very enjoyable. We enjoyed the beach and ocean a lot. We did not rent a car and spent most of our time on the property. We did take the catamaran "Cool Running" on a day sail with snorkeling .. very enjoyable..saw quite a bit of the island traveling on roads to Bridgetown on the bus to the dock. The catamaran enabled us to see more from the ocean as well.

Room Tip: Request a high floor with balcony overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear YamGandy,

Thank you for this fantastic review. We are delighted that you had an opportunity to enjoy The Crane as well as our beautiful island Barbados.

Our staff truly is our greatest asset and we will certainly circulate your wonderful comments about the property as well as the hospitality you received while on the resort.

The weather in February has been absolutely extraordinary and many of our guests enjoyed days relaxing by the pools and the sounds and sights of the beautiful Atlantic Ocean.

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you to the resort again soon.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,009
    407
    130
    90
    99
See reviews for
390
861
48
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
268 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I loved the crane for brunch including the crane beach afterwards. However i think that the main attraction is not the breakfast brunch but the bajan gospel singers. Delightful. Spectacular views from the restaurant and the grounds,including a view of prince andrew's house!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear belbest,

Thank you for this short review on the fantastic Gospel Breakfast! Our guests agree that the gospel singers are a fantastic addition to our Sunday breakfast buffet. The stunning views from the L’Azure balcony are also a welcome treat.

I would just like to add that L’Azure is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The restaurant has also been recently refurbished and features a revamped menu which includes an eclectic mix of International and Caribbean cuisine.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I were planning a romantic trip to Caribbean. Barbados was my decision, but Crane was a surprise for me. Best surprise ever!!! This hotel is the most beautiful I've ever seen (believe me, I've been all over the world!). Pink sand was like WOW! Laying down at their own beach with rum punch with all the beauty around - was like a honeymoon! Our room was big with a terrace at the beach front. Monkeys and hummingbird were our morning guests))) ..There are no words to express all fillings that The Crane gave to us! It was the most lovely trip ever, only because of this hotel! We are very thankful and wish to come back again!

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Kristina N,

Thank you for this fantastic review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your surprise trip to The Crane.

It’s heart warming to know that you have described us as the ‘best trip ever’ especially when compared to your past travels. We encourage our guests to simply relax, and enjoy the beauty and sounds that this side of the island offers, and it seems you did just that!

With breathtaking views, an array of dining options, resort spa, fitness centre, The Crane Village, a café, flood lit tennis courts and one of the world’s top 10 beaches we work hard to create exceptional value for all of our guests.

We thank you for choosing The Crane for your Barbados holiday and certainly look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beijing, china
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I didn't stay at the Crane, but after reading some negative comments about the way daytrippers were received, I wanted to relay the experience I had earlier today. I'm here with a group of fellow grad students who have been studying in Barbados for the past few weeks. On our first real day off, we bused it over from Oistins to check out Crane beach. The beach, though not a great swimming option, was stunning. Umbrella and chair sets were a bit expensive at 20 dollars US, but we got there early and kept them all day. We were given no resistance as far as accessing the resort (weren't asked to pay anything) and enjoyed a great lunch at the Carriage House. One of my friends had a birthday, and completely unsolicited she received a free cocktail and dessert, even though it was clear we weren't guests. We were treated great by the staff there and it made what was for us quite a splurge an enjoyable experience. Coffee shop with very reasonable prices made for a great mid afternoon treat. Iced coffee has been a hard thing to come by in Barbados for less than a small fortune. The only critical note I'd make is that the glass plating on the beach elevator is in desperate need of a wash. I'll probably never be able to afford to stay there, but will definitely visit again on this trip or the next.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear lebsam11,

We are delighted that you had an opportunity to experience The Crane for the day. The entry to the resort is $12.50USD per person and is 100% refundable in food and beverage. Our policy is just to encourage guests to use the restaurants, so anyone coming to do just that is not required to pay an entry fee.

The Carriage House is certainly a fantastic option for light lunch with a view overlooking the 1.5 acre pool complex as well as views of the Atlantic Ocean.

Our Village Café is the perfect way to cool off from the afternoon temperatures here on the island. The best part is that everything is made right here on property.

We have also taken your comments regarding the beach elevator into consideration. Even though the elevator is cleaned twice daily, the salt spray is relentless and quickly builds up.

Belated birthday greetings are also in order for your friend from the entire team at The Crane!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I spent a week at the Crane, Barbados, with my family. It was excellent in all aspects. Accomodation was fantastic, we had a wonderful view from the Crane beach, the rooms were spotless clean and the service at the hotel was good even though we were there on Xmas and they had fewer employees. The resort restaurants were also fantastic, we had great food and wine and charming environments. Pool is enrmous and amazing. We are definitely going back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Ana_Bertelli,

Thank you for this short but delightful review, we are certainly happy that you and your entire family had a wonderful stay with us over the holidays. Our ocean front residences feature stunning views of the Atlantic Ocean and our housekeeping department works tirelessly to ensure that these rooms are cleaned to the highest standards.

With four restaurants on property, we offer an array of dining options from classic Thai and Japanese cuisine to delectable cuisine from southern Italy.

It has been our pleasure to welcome you to The Crane and we look forward to your next visit!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Crane in January of 2011 (note 2011, not 2013). We've traveled to a few other places in the Caribbean and this was definitely one of our favorites. We were looking to relax by the beach, pool and bar and this is definitely the place for that. It's a bit secluded, but we found that to be a very good thing. Being isolated in a beautiful place, with a lovely room and view, staffed by really kind and helpful people is a good thing--as long as you like your traveling companion (I got lucky there). The rooms are very spacious, and the plunge pool (although a bit cold at times) is an absolute must. I rarely go back to the same hotel but if I do go back to Barbados, i would absolutely stay at the Crane again.

Room Tip: Ask for a plunge pool, and a room with a balcony overlooking the water (not the parking lot)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear thayer1974,

It was certainly a pleasure to have both you and your wife stay us. We often say to our guests that ‘relaxation’ is spoken here and if you are looking to disappear and just kick back, then The Crane is the perfect place for you.

We are happy that you enjoyed your one bedroom suite with plunge pool and we look forward to welcoming you again on your next Barbados vacation.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Really expensive, but worth the money. This is The 5* hotel all over its plush, grand, massive complex which is so clean just amazing in every way. The rooms are to die for, contemporary colours mixed with solid woods making it feel homely too. People you NEED to stay here if you ever visit Barbados

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Yolo79,

Thank you for this brief but rave review! It certainly sounds as though The Crane met and surpassed your expectations, especially with our grand, luxuriously appointed suites.

It was a pleasure to have you and we certainly hope to welcome you again soon.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Crane Residential Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crane Residential Resort

Address: Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Philip Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint Philip Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crane Residential Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched dramatically on the cliffs of Barbados' pristine south-east coast, The Crane Residential Resort, established since 1887, is the island's oldest operating hotel. Transformed into a world-class luxury resort, The Crane features ultra-spacious, fully appointed ocean-view one & two bedroom suites and three bedroom Penthouses, many with their own private plunge-pool. Facilities include the acclaimed Zen Restaurant serving classic Thai and Japanese cuisine and the consistently popular L'Azure Restaurant. The casual Carriage House Pool Side restaurant is another favourite along with D'Onofrio's Trattoria located in 'The Village' which offers duty free shopping, a General Store, Bar 1887 (with nightly live entertainment) and The Village Cafe. Last but not least is Crane Beach voted by Lifestyle's of The Rich and Famous as one of the Top Ten most beautiful beaches in the world, now with a fabulous Beach Grill! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Odigeo, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Crane Residential Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crane Residential Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Saint Philip
Crane Barbados
The Crane Barbados
Crane Hotel Barbados
Crane Resort Barbados
The Crane Residential Resort Barbados/Saint Philip Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crane Residential Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.