We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at the Crane” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crane Residential Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Crane Residential Resort to your Saves list
The Crane Residential Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Stay at the Crane”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Crane in January of 2011 (note 2011, not 2013). We've traveled to a few other places in the Caribbean and this was definitely one of our favorites. We were looking to relax by the beach, pool and bar and this is definitely the place for that. It's a bit secluded, but we found that to be a very good thing. Being isolated in a beautiful place, with a lovely room and view, staffed by really kind and helpful people is a good thing--as long as you like your traveling companion (I got lucky there). The rooms are very spacious, and the plunge pool (although a bit cold at times) is an absolute must. I rarely go back to the same hotel but if I do go back to Barbados, i would absolutely stay at the Crane again.

Room Tip: Ask for a plunge pool, and a room with a balcony overlooking the water (not the parking lot)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear thayer1974,

It was certainly a pleasure to have both you and your wife stay us. We often say to our guests that ‘relaxation’ is spoken here and if you are looking to disappear and just kick back, then The Crane is the perfect place for you.

We are happy that you enjoyed your one bedroom suite with plunge pool and we look forward to welcoming you again on your next Barbados vacation.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    923
    361
    115
    87
    93
See reviews for
347
795
44
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Really expensive, but worth the money. This is The 5* hotel all over its plush, grand, massive complex which is so clean just amazing in every way. The rooms are to die for, contemporary colours mixed with solid woods making it feel homely too. People you NEED to stay here if you ever visit Barbados

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Yolo79,

Thank you for this brief but rave review! It certainly sounds as though The Crane met and surpassed your expectations, especially with our grand, luxuriously appointed suites.

It was a pleasure to have you and we certainly hope to welcome you again soon.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My husband and I bought two weeks at the beautiful Crane Resort several years ago and we are thrilled each time we return to our lovely and well appointed apartment. Nothing compares with Crane beach and those wonderful Crane breezes. The grounds, the pools, the restaurants, bars, staff---all come together to make for a fantastic experience. We have traveled all over the world, and find the soft pink sand and turquoise sea at Crane Beach unmatched!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Rhonda C,

Thank you for taking the time to post this terrific review. We are delighted that you continue to enjoy fantastic experiences with us each year. We couldn’t agree with you more – nothing compares to Crane Beach and our wonderful Crane breezes.

It has been our pleasure to welcome you both to The Crane over the years. We look forward to your next visit!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had tired of the intensity of luxury all-inclusives, and decided to go to the Crane for 2 weeks in January. It was perfect… Paradise!
The suites:
we stayed in a one-bedroom suite in building 8, which overlooks the beach. It was exactly what we wanted: clean and quiet with a wonderful covered balcony a full kitchen a large living room, 2 bathrooms, 2 large televisions, and a very comfortable bed. Suites with the private pool on the first floor looked inviting, but people hardly ever used them it seemed. Some say the plunge pools in the one or 2 bedroom suites were cold but others seem to enjoy them. I think it is worth upgrading to an ocean view, but even the one-bedroom lockout garden view suites are large and comfortable. There is a charge for air-conditioning, but we never needed it. Breeze just blows right through. The only bugs I saw were sand fleas on the beach.
The grounds:
the grounds are very well-maintained, with gardeners constantly working. There are orchids attached to palm trees, and a wide array of ornamental plants. There are mischievous monkeys eating the mini banana trees that the Bajans call fig trees. The pools are out of this world, with a large formal pool near the spa, used by quiet adults. The multilevel main pool area has quiet nooks, comfortable lounges with brand-new deep chair pads, and multiple waterfalls. It has a shallow section for little kids, and a good mix of sun and shade. There is a large bubble pool, like a hot tub but not hot, overlooking the ocean, and a wonderful lunch and bar area.
The restaurants:
they are all good, from the expensive Zen (where Mick Jagger was dining one night) to the inexpensive carriage restaurant at the pool and Italian restaurant in the village area. The signature restaurant, L'Azure , has a stunning view. We had earlier read complaints about the service, and it was slow and disorganized one night at L"Azure for some reason, but otherwise perfect. Food in Barbados can be expensive, but you can make meals in your fully equipped kitchen, and buy food nearby supermarkets or at the minimart in the hotel "village".
The beach:
incredible. There were always waves, but lifeguards made sure that small children were looked after and kept people away from the undertow area near the cliffs.
Lots of umbrellas for shade, at no cost to people staying at the Crane, handy elevator down, shower at the bottom of the elevator, and wonderful soft pinkish sand.
Entertainment:
thankfully there is no loud music at the pools throughout the day, no group sports, and just a fun guitarist or band at the central bar at night. If you are looking for nightlife or big shows, you will have to go elsewhere, and the Crane is quite a distance from the busy spots on the social war and the elegant places on the West Coast. It was perfect for us because we were looking for relaxation.
Overall:
staff was friendly and very anxious to help. We had no problem getting extra towels or taxis anything we needed in the room. This is quiet beautiful well-maintained resort. Don't go if you're looking for action, but for romance and relaxation, this is an excellent choice. We will be back.

Room Tip: Buildings5, 8 and 9 are quiet, with great views of the beach and ocean. Building one is the historic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear exeter_12,

We are delighted that you enjoyed “a perfect winter vacation” with us at The Crane. It certainly sounds as though you made the right choice in search of romance and relaxation away from the spotlight typically shone on the West Coast of Barbados.

We do apologise for the singular inconsistency you experienced with service in L’Azure. Please be assured that we remain committed to the minimisation of such occurrences.

Just to clarify one point, the AC charge does not apply to direct hotel guests, but is only applicable to Crane Members in our Shared Ownership Programme or to guests who have exchanged through RCI®. However, we couldn’t agree with you more – the constant breezes that circulate our suites completely negate the need for AC.

Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review. It was our pleasure to welcome you to The Crane and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm wishes,
Michael Philips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I recently returned home from just over 2 weeks at The Crane - I had read some pretty negative reviews on here just before we went and was a little worried to say the least. Well each to their own, but I feel these reviews are just not an accurate representation of this hotel. The architecture of the place is lovely, the extensive gardens are kept immaculate by an army of friendly gardeners, the restaurant staff at breakfast were always efficient and became charmingly warm once we became more familiar with each other. The beaches around the Crane - Crane Beach. Bottom Bay and Foul Bay are out of this world. The Island itself is wonderful - we saw and did plenty and were greeted with warm courtesy without exception. We hope to come back very soon and can only hope that we are in a position to return to The Crane. It would have been perfect except that our room was a little dark - facing away from the coast onto the garden which was a bit disappointing - oh and the beds are a little hard! But I am nitpicking!!

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra chose and ocean facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear rebeccaneil,

We are thrilled you didn’t allow any previous negative reviews to sway your decision to stay at The Crane and it appears that this decision was rewarded!

It was our pleasure to welcome you to The Crane to experience all that we have to offer. With breathtaking ocean views, world-famous Crane Beach and warm friendly people, The Crane is indeed “a very special place.” You’ll also be pleased to learn that we provide mattress pads for those guests that require that extra bit of cushion.

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Crane.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We honeymooned at The Crane in mid-October 2012 on our first visit to Barbados.

The grounds are beautiful and well kept. A "village" at the center of the resort houses a few shops including a souvenir shop, and ice cream/coffee shop, as well as the resort's bars and restaurants where the food was all good and the prices reasonable given the venue. Price-wise, you can do a little better by shopping at the nearby grocery store but not dramatically so, especially if there's just two of you. That said, the lovely breakfast with amazing views at Azure will run up your bill real quick.

The highlight is the world-renowned beach. The sand is made of coral, so it's pink, soft, and always cool. Lounge chairs and umbrellas are at your disposal, and the guys at the hotel cabana and their unofficial coconut-drink-slinging counterparts will make you have whatever you need to enjoy your time there. An "at your own risk" climb from the beach to the cliff outcropping provides a secluded moment for you and yours as the brilliant blue waves crash below you. Most take the adventurous route back by jumping in, but the faint of heart will trek back the way they came. Stay near the cliffs for afternoon shade.

We stayed in the "Residences in the Park." The room was beautiful and clean. The full kitchen had everything we needed and the private roof-top lounge area with gas grill, outdoor shower and plunge pool took it to the next level. It was really great. Our side of the building we were in faced the ocean (tho we couldn't really see it), but I believe the other side faced hotel new construction. Consider this when booking. The Crane is not especially close to Bridgetown or other "cities" on the island, especially on the windy roads of Barbados; excursions from the resort require a little bit of planning, though there are always taxis waiting to serve guests. It's not unusual that your driver hangs out and drives you home.

The staff at hotel was very nice and always helpful.
We had an amazing time at The Crane!

Room Tip: Many of the third floor "Residences in the Park" units have private plunge pools and gas g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Mike K,

Thank you for taking the time to post this terrific review. It certainly sounds as though you enjoyed everything The Crane has to offer – especially Crane Beach! Crane Beach is famous for its pink sands, turquoise waters and exhilarating surf and is widely regarded as among “the top ten best beaches in the world.”

The completed Residences in the Park are our newest additions to the available accommodations at The Crane. The “standard” suites in the inner circle are discounted to reflect their close proximity to an active construction site. However, we have found that the additional features of lush private gardens, roof top pools and barbeque grills effectively buffer the construction.

Don’t become strangers! We look forward to welcoming you back to Barbados and The Crane again soon!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 10th anniversary by staying a the luxurious Crane resort. We had a fabulous time. The property is simply stunning with spectacular views of the ocean. We spent 3 nights there and it was so relaxing. We spent our special day lounging by the pool, having a delicious lunch followed by a sumptuous dinner at their restaurant L'Azure.

While there we also had a lovely dinner at Zen which offers Japanese and Thai cuisine. The sushi at Zen is amazing. A treat for the true connoisseur.

The only thing I thought they needed to improve was the temperature of the pools. We stayed there in December and the pools were freezing. Other than that we thoroughly enjoyed our staycation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear CathyMBeck,

Congratulations on your 10th wedding anniversary! We are thrilled you chose to celebrate this momentous occasion with us at The Crane. It certainly sounds as though you enjoyed everything that the resort has to offer.

Note that our pools are unheated because we have found over the years that our guests (the majority of whom are from temperate climates) enjoy cool dips in the pools during the typically hot Barbados days.

It is always our greatest pleasure to welcome our fellow Barbadians to The Crane. Don’t become strangers – we hope to see you again soon!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crane Residential Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crane Residential Resort

Address: Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Philip Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint Philip Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crane Residential Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched dramatically on the cliffs of Barbados' pristine south-east coast, The Crane Residential Resort, established since 1887, is the island's oldest operating hotel. Transformed into a world-class luxury resort, The Crane features ultra-spacious, fully appointed ocean-view one & two bedroom suites and three bedroom Penthouses, many with their own private plunge-pool. Facilities include the acclaimed Zen Restaurant serving classic Thai and Japanese cuisine and the consistently popular L'Azure Restaurant. The casual Carriage House Pool Side restaurant is another favourite along with D'Onofrio's Trattoria located in 'The Village' which offers duty free shopping, a General Store, Bar 1887 (with nightly live entertainment) and The Village Cafe. Last but not least is Crane Beach voted by Lifestyle's of The Rich and Famous as one of the Top Ten most beautiful beaches in the world, now with a fabulous Beach Grill! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Crane Residential Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crane Residential Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Saint Philip
Crane Barbados
The Crane Barbados
Crane Hotel Barbados
Crane Resort Barbados
The Crane Residential Resort Barbados/Saint Philip Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crane Residential Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.