We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3.5 stars - good service but doesn't feel quite 4 stars” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Crane Residential Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Crane Residential Resort to your Saves list
The Crane Residential Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
new york
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“3.5 stars - good service but doesn't feel quite 4 stars”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I definitely highly praise the resort on service. Janine at the front desk went out of her way to put me in a room in which she thought I would be comfortable and Sandra Cumberbatch, the bldg. mgr, introduced herself and promised to take care of any problems. Having said all that, on my 2nd day, there was a huge dead bug in my room and the next day a gecko / lizard. There is too much vegetation around and it contributes to some of the shabbiness feel (although other parts of the resort are very elegant). The kitchens feel a bit 70s like and there are no paper towels provided so it's hard to keep clean. The smaller pool has very cheap plastic chairs. I think this hotel could be 4 star but needs some work. I liked having the grocery store which was very reasonable because the restaurants were fairly overpriced except for breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear uesny,

The Crane prides itself on being an island oasis for our travellers, with the gardens complementing the beautiful architecture of the buildings. In fact, the resort’s lush green vegetation holds appeal for many of our travellers, with many commenting on the relaxing effect it has on them as they explore the property.

However, we do acknowledge that occasionally the outdoors has a way of making its way indoors, and we do apologise for any discomfort caused by the presence of the bug and the gecko. We do trust however, that our Housekeeping department was swift in removing the insect.
Janine and Sandra were both delighted by your special mention. They certainly are exceptional members of our team, having both received the prestigious Crane Diamond Award for service excellence.

I assure you we remain committed to making continuous improvements at The Crane and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    883
    351
    107
    84
    90
See reviews for
339
757
44
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We have been travelling to Barbados and The Crane for many years now. We had the pleasure once again to stay at The Crane and thought we'd try something different and stayed in the Park Residences, a one-bedroom penthouse with the rooftop pool. I must say the room was amazing and met my expectations. The rooftop deck along with the view was incredible. I was in awe every time I went up, with a corner unit we had almost 360 degree views - wow! Having the barbeque was a bonus for us as gave us the opportunity to cook a lot of things we normally wouldn't as didn't want to start up the oven.

My only small complaint of the trip was the roof top pool cleaning. with the heat it started to grow some algae/grime which didn't make it very appealing. I didn't realize we needed to ask to get this done but I now know for next time. And when it was finally cleaned it wasn't done thoroughly. A very minor technicality overall.

I can't wait to go back for a quick one week trip in February.

Yes, The Crane is one of my favorite things :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Love2Travel2BBD,

Thank you for taking the time to post this great review! We are thrilled you opted to stay in one of our newest categories of suites – One Bedroom Deluxe Penthouse. These Residences in the Park are becoming increasingly popular with our guests, who despite the absence of our world famous ocean views enjoy the added amenities of private roof top pools and bbq grills.

I do apologise for the inconsistencies you experienced with your rooftop pool. Based on our established standards, you should not have had to call for maintenance. You can rest assured that we have taken the opportunity to address this with the offending department.

It has been our pleasure to welcome you to The Crane over the years. We look forward to seeing you again in February!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My family owns a time share at the Crane and we travel to Barbados every year around the holidays. We simply adore this place! The setting is unparalleled, the rooms are spacious and comfortable and the hotel staff is very helpful. We love coming to the Crane to spend some quality time and to just relax. There's nothing like waking up in the morning and looking right out your balcony at the most beautiful ocean view ever. If you're an activity person, this is probably not the resort for you--the location is somewhat isolated and the big thing to do is go to the beach and/or the pools! Also, I will warn anyone travelling to Barbados that everything seems to take longer to get done in Barbados, but we've just adjusted to that. Just relax--it's worth it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Traveler9523,

Your review has captured everything that is fabulous about The Crane and we couldn’t agree with you more! Nothing compares to waking up each morning and walking out onto your private balcony to behold the most magnificent views.

The Crane certainly isn’t for everyone. But those who value relaxation, natural beauty and friendly service will find that our Resort meets their every need!

It has been a joy to have your family visit us each year. We all look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

We love the Crane. Full disclosure, we own time there at a couple of different suites. But that just shows how much we love it that we have to go back on a regular basis. We travel a lot but we love our time at The Crane. This trip we brought friends with us and they loved it too. They could not believe the views from our 4th floor suite, building 9 which looks over the beach. Ok the beach is the best on the island. We used to stay on the other side of the island which is the lee side and as a result has calm water and no breezes. Most of the big hotels and fancy restaurants are on the other coast, but honestly, we do not miss any of it. The Crane is 10 minutes from the airport, vs. 45mi ute drive to the other side. And the breezes are heavenly. We never orry about the air conditioning as we just leave the windows open. At night the tree frogs signing put us to sleep. The staff is always pleasant and helpful. The rooms are beautiful. Our teenaged daughters love it there too! And if you have any of your own you know they are the worlds biggest critics. We eat out at LAzure and the Carriage House or Cutters just across the street. We have breakfast on our balcony. Heavenly, although Sunday buffet with the Gospel signers is very special. We will be back, again and again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear sandybeachsareus,

Thank you for taking the time to post this terrific review! The Crane definitely appeals to a specific type of traveller – one who values tranquillity, breathtaking beauty and friendly service above all else.

Our location, off the beaten track on the South East coast of the island, is perhaps our strongest selling point. With the spectacular Crane Beach, multiple pools, world-class facilities and award winning restaurants, there is hardly any reason to ever leave The Crane!

It has been a pleasure to welcome your family and friends over the years. We look forward to welcoming you back, again and again.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Michael, Barbados In the Caribbean
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Usually I go regularyly for breakfast at the Crane but I was invited to lunch which I willing accepted. Had a fantastic buffet lunch. Wonderful food, and great tasting grilled Mahi Mahi. The beef stew was exceptionally soft and taste like it was marinated in red wine. Hope to return for Christmas lunch or dinner.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear CGG06,

Thank you for this brief but glowing review! We are thrilled you enjoyed a fantastic buffet lunch with us at The Crane. It sounds as though you experienced Sunday Lunch or one of our special Banquet Menus, which are always in high demand for corporate and private functions.

We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy our sumptuous Christmas Lunch – with all the trimmings!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed last week of November into the first few days of December. We were met with a beautiful smile courtesy of Janine and welcoming hands of Matthew to take care of our luggage. A refreshing welcome drink was well very welcome! after a tiring trip. Room was a junior garden suite but had pleasant views of the ocean at the side and the pools being on the 4th floor. Restaurants were outstanding, we took advantage of a meals plan. Hard to separate the ZEN or L'azzure but all restaurants were of outstanding quality. The staff were superb in looking after us, in no order, Ivan, Yvette, Ronald and Wesley took great care of us and colleagues whose names I cannot recall. Erica for the pleasant conversation and the 2 fabulous omelets chefs. Nothing was too much trouble, well it ought not to be and the friendliness was just excellent and without doubt natural and genuine. Only grumble please rotate the music at breakfast and retire the Commodores! Every day was too much. Guest services provided some great trips and outings. Cool Runnings the Catamaran trip was amazing and brilliant fun, the crew were superb, food excellent and great value for money. Harrison's Cave and the church at St. Johns was very memorable, we took a taxi and Jefferson our driver gave us the full run down on the scenic journey and was again excellent local knowledge and great value. The views at St. Johns were quite brilliant. Oistins fish fry is not to be missed, we used guest services and took the taxi down. Why drink and drive? We even rode the bus there and back to Bridgetown, wow what an experience although little nerve racking. Bridge town was great for shopping, haggle why not, the deals are there if politely and non cheeekily delivered. Barbados is a fantastic holiday destination but it was the Barbadian people who iced the cake and staying at the Crane iced the icing. And finally upon checkout Janine and her beautiful smile. Thank you all for a fantastic holiday, just what the Doctor ordered. The Crane is a friendly, welcoming and relaxing stay and truly deserves its reputation. Ok maybe our room was a little tired and the aircon struggled but its under going maintenance and upgrading so they are not resting on their laurels and a working on keeping everything top notch. Thank you and finally James a job well done, please convey our thanks to all those we named and those sadly I forgot. Merry Christmas and a very happy and prosperous 2013 to you all and the great people of Barbados. Oh nearly forgot some of the purest water on tap, why waste money on bottled.

Room Tip: Go high up and ocean view to capture the breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear SteveCart,

Thank you for taking the time to post this glowing review of our country, resort and our staff in particular. Your review has left very little for us to add! Each member of staff mentioned was positively delighted to learn that they “iced the icing” on the cake of your Barbados trip.

We sincerely appreciate your patience and understanding as we continue our scheduled maintenance and upgrades to the Resort. You’ll be pleased to learn that I have passed on your comments about the music played during breakfast to the F&B team and some new music will be rotated in. (It just doesn’t do to have our guests grumbling during their delicious breakfast!)

On behalf of the Management and Staff of The Crane, I wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. We do hope to welcome you again soon – next year perhaps, to ring in the New Year with us!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester England
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed for two weeks in unit 522 at the Crane Residences during November and December 2012. This is a one bed, two bath ocean view apartment with full kitchen and plenty of space. About 1050 sq ft including the balcony. The Crane is an excellent resort but there were a few issues which I will try to be objective about to give the right balance. Would we stay here again? Definitely!

The Crane property is well looked after and the gardens are lush and beautiful. Many of the pools are full of fish and waterfalls are lit up with coloured lights at night. Security is at the gate to the property and patrols the grounds day and night.

The unit was beautifully clean on first inspection but some deep clean items were noted. There are also some maintenance issues and the kitchen equipment can only be described as adequate. That said and rather puzzlingly we asked for extras and got them without delay. For example we had to ask for wine glasses, an item that should be standard in a Gold Crown resort and within an hour, 4 had been delivered.

For those wishing to cook, there was only a very small pan and an equally small steamer. I asked for and got a chopping board, a baking dish, a large cooking pot, a can opener a plug for the kitchen sink and a Pyrex serving dish. It’s just strange that we needed to ask for the above.

The furniture is delightful and there were two large flat screen TVs with a decent selection of programs. Sad that they didn’t work when we arrived and it took two engineers to get a picture so my husband could watch the Barclays Premier soccer. Again, once I asked it was done but there seems to be a lack of pro-active maintenance here.

The above comments serve to detract from a really top mark for this resort which is otherwise probably the best timeshare on the Island. The four poster bed is enormous and the bathroom is huge containing a Jacuzzi bath, walk in shower, and two sinks. The maid came daily but unless you ask, there are only two dishwasher tablets to last the week! Ask and they shall be delivered.

Best things about resort, the beach, the pools, Zen restaurant (Thai and Japanese) and the friendly nature of the staff. Free Wi-Fi in unit and free phone calls including international calls via VOIP. The tap water is also drinkable and pleasant.

There is a cooling breeze off the sea and we did not need to use the air-conditioning (there is a charge of $1 US per hour for the air-con so the breeze is REALLY good). I note that another guest staying at the same time as us complained about the air-conditioning. Firstly I would not recommend closing the shutters in this apartment as it simply cuts out the cooling breeze but the resort replaced the air-con condenser in block 5 the week after the other guest left.

The Crane is an excellent resort for couples, families and for singles who want to relax without night life. The staff is friendly and helpful, with daily housekeeping.

Room Tip: Ocean view as you get the breeze off the ocean. The ground floor sea view apartments have their own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Greylady2,

We couldn’t agree with you more – The Crane is indeed excellent for couples, families and singles who simply wish to get away from it all. It certainly sounds as though you did just that, taking advantage of world-famous Crane Beach, our spacious suites and award winning restaurants.

We also appreciate you drawing the few in-room discrepancies you experienced to our attention. I have communicated your experiences to both the Housekeeping and Engineering teams to immediately address the issues you outlined. Valuable feedback such as yours, greatly assists us in our continued commitment to exceptional experiences for each of our guests.

Just to clarify one point, the AC charge per hour varies per building and is only applicable to Crane Members and bookings made through RCI Points. However, as noted, the famous cooling Trade winds which circulate our suites negate the need for AC.

Thank you for taking the time to post such a comprehensive review of your Crane experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crane Residential Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crane Residential Resort

Address: Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Philip Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint Philip Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crane Residential Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched dramatically on the cliffs of Barbados' pristine south-east coast, The Crane Residential Resort, established since 1887, is the island's oldest operating hotel. Transformed into a world-class luxury resort, The Crane features ultra-spacious, fully appointed ocean-view one & two bedroom suites and three bedroom Penthouses, many with their own private plunge-pool. Facilities include the acclaimed Zen Restaurant serving classic Thai and Japanese cuisine and the consistently popular L'Azure Restaurant. The casual Carriage House Pool Side restaurant is another favourite along with D'Onofrio's Trattoria located in 'The Village' which offers duty free shopping, a General Store, Bar 1887 (with nightly live entertainment) and The Village Cafe. Last but not least is Crane Beach voted by Lifestyle's of The Rich and Famous as one of the Top Ten most beautiful beaches in the world, now with a fabulous Beach Grill! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Regatta Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Crane Residential Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crane Residential Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Saint Philip
Crane Barbados
The Crane Barbados
Crane Hotel Barbados
Crane Resort Barbados
The Crane Residential Resort Barbados/Saint Philip Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crane Residential Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.