We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Barbados.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crane Residential Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Crane Residential Resort to your Saves list
The Crane Residential Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Winchester England
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Relaxing Barbados.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed for two weeks in unit 522 at the Crane Residences during November and December 2012. This is a one bed, two bath ocean view apartment with full kitchen and plenty of space. About 1050 sq ft including the balcony. The Crane is an excellent resort but there were a few issues which I will try to be objective about to give the right balance. Would we stay here again? Definitely!

The Crane property is well looked after and the gardens are lush and beautiful. Many of the pools are full of fish and waterfalls are lit up with coloured lights at night. Security is at the gate to the property and patrols the grounds day and night.

The unit was beautifully clean on first inspection but some deep clean items were noted. There are also some maintenance issues and the kitchen equipment can only be described as adequate. That said and rather puzzlingly we asked for extras and got them without delay. For example we had to ask for wine glasses, an item that should be standard in a Gold Crown resort and within an hour, 4 had been delivered.

For those wishing to cook, there was only a very small pan and an equally small steamer. I asked for and got a chopping board, a baking dish, a large cooking pot, a can opener a plug for the kitchen sink and a Pyrex serving dish. It’s just strange that we needed to ask for the above.

The furniture is delightful and there were two large flat screen TVs with a decent selection of programs. Sad that they didn’t work when we arrived and it took two engineers to get a picture so my husband could watch the Barclays Premier soccer. Again, once I asked it was done but there seems to be a lack of pro-active maintenance here.

The above comments serve to detract from a really top mark for this resort which is otherwise probably the best timeshare on the Island. The four poster bed is enormous and the bathroom is huge containing a Jacuzzi bath, walk in shower, and two sinks. The maid came daily but unless you ask, there are only two dishwasher tablets to last the week! Ask and they shall be delivered.

Best things about resort, the beach, the pools, Zen restaurant (Thai and Japanese) and the friendly nature of the staff. Free Wi-Fi in unit and free phone calls including international calls via VOIP. The tap water is also drinkable and pleasant.

There is a cooling breeze off the sea and we did not need to use the air-conditioning (there is a charge of $1 US per hour for the air-con so the breeze is REALLY good). I note that another guest staying at the same time as us complained about the air-conditioning. Firstly I would not recommend closing the shutters in this apartment as it simply cuts out the cooling breeze but the resort replaced the air-con condenser in block 5 the week after the other guest left.

The Crane is an excellent resort for couples, families and for singles who want to relax without night life. The staff is friendly and helpful, with daily housekeeping.

Room Tip: Ocean view as you get the breeze off the ocean. The ground floor sea view apartments have their own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Greylady2,

We couldn’t agree with you more – The Crane is indeed excellent for couples, families and singles who simply wish to get away from it all. It certainly sounds as though you did just that, taking advantage of world-famous Crane Beach, our spacious suites and award winning restaurants.

We also appreciate you drawing the few in-room discrepancies you experienced to our attention. I have communicated your experiences to both the Housekeeping and Engineering teams to immediately address the issues you outlined. Valuable feedback such as yours, greatly assists us in our continued commitment to exceptional experiences for each of our guests.

Just to clarify one point, the AC charge per hour varies per building and is only applicable to Crane Members and bookings made through RCI Points. However, as noted, the famous cooling Trade winds which circulate our suites negate the need for AC.

Thank you for taking the time to post such a comprehensive review of your Crane experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    923
    361
    115
    87
    93
See reviews for
347
795
44
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wading river NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We have stayed at the Crane many times and it just keeps getting better. The rooms are large, clean, and with gr8 views. The courtesy and helpfulness of the staff is incredible. They go out of their way to make you more than comfortable. The gym is kept very clean. The four restaurants offer many choices along with the cafe, 1887 bar, and general store where you can pick up supplies for the spacious kitchens. There are many pools to choose from. The Crane beach has been listed as one of the TOP 10 Beaches in the World and the pink sand lives up to it.

Room Tip: The one bedroom seaview is large with a second bathroom and large kitchen The Jr Suite is lovely fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear SherwadingriverNY,

Your brief but fantastic review hasn’t left much for me to add! It has truly been our pleasure to welcome you to The Crane over the years. I assure you we remain committed to “getting better” with each passing year.

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Me and my husband stayed at the Crane Resort for our honeymoon. Let me first say that the room was was wonderful with an exceptional view of the seaside. Large bed and hottub!!!. The service from the staff was remarkable particularly Sandra Cumberbatch, who made the stay even more memorable. The beach is easily accessible and there were 3 restaurants onsite.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Danielle D,

Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review. It certainly is always a pleasure to welcome fellow Barbadians to the resort and show you the hospitality which has made The Crane famous. Sandra is truly a Crane Diamond and I have passed on your lovely comments which have brought a smile to her face!

I am happy that you had a chance to enjoy the fantastic Crane Beach and the outstanding cuisine in at least one of our four restaurants on property.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and I look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Warm wishes
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Barbados
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We spent the last weekend at the Crane using our points from RCI. The first thing that got my attention was the friendliness of the satff - all staff. No member of staff passed us without greeting, and as Barbadians, that was not something to which we were accustomed. The room -a one bedroom suite was just great. The view was excellent, looking at the sea, and listening to the waves lapping the shore. Even the taxi drivers in the carpark were very polite, and made you feel welcome. Everyone was just so helpful. Dinner and lunch, we did not go to breakfast, were just fabulous, and the excellent service continued. We were so relaxed after the lunch that we did not want to leave the restaurant. To sum it up, Jennifer asked if I wanted to stay another night. I declined because of other commitments, but bookings were made for another stay in April.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea are most relaxing, especially if you have a private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Carl A,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review. It certainly is always our pleasure to welcome fellow Barbadians to the resort and show you the hospitality which has made The Crane famous. I'm especially pleased that, with over 4,500 RCI resorts to choose from around the world, you chose to stay in Barbados and experience what makes The Crane the #1 rated resort.

We'll be looking forward to seeing you in April and hope to exceed your expectations.

Warm regards,

Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Had a wonderful stay at the Crane, would like to thank every one who made my stay enjoyable especially Mary the Housekeeping Supervisor, who although the rain was falling, went through it to get me a beach towel, and took time out to listen to me about problems I was experiencing at home. Thanks Mary.

Room Tip: ground room had pool on patio, it was wonderful to have my own pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Harold W,

Thank you for this brief and heartfelt review. Many of our guests agree that Crane staff treat them as a part of their extended family, even if that means simply lending a sympathetic ear.

We are all delighted that you had such a wonderful stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.

Warm regards,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville,NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We spent our Thanksgiving week at the Crane in Barbados. All I can say is wow. Wonderful property - fantastic beach and stellar service. Our room attendant, Diana, went out of her way to assist with my mother, who is elderly. She helped us get in contact so we could get Mom meals in the room beyond the normal offerings and really went out of her way with her schedule to make sure the rooms were taken care of and in top condition. We spent the majority of our time on site both on the beach and beside (or in!) the pools. The property must have been full for the holiday week, but the beach never felt crowded and there were always chairs available. The pool was the same. We did partake in the catamaran trip through the Crane and really enjoyed that as well. A great week at a stellar resort.

Room Tip: If you can, opt for building 5 - best views of the ocean - you literally look down off your balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear runninginNC09,

We are thrilled that you had a fantastic time at The Crane. I have passed on your kind comments to Diana, who continues to deliver exceptional service while going above and beyond for our guests here at the resort.

I always feel especially pleased when guests have the opportunity to experience the full range of amenities across the resort and to explore a bit more of Barbados.

Thank you for choosing The Crane on your Barbados holiday. We're looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My husband and I spent 1 night at The Crane in Barbados (a chance to experience Barbados while at the same time, avoiding an awkwardly long connection at the airport).
We only stayed one night, but we were immediately captivated by the stunning views, gorgeous beach, immaculate pools and landscaped gardens. Our room (just a standard garden view) was equally magnificent, with heirloom furnishings, roman tub and large separate stand up shower....
While this resort is not an all-inclusive, every unit is fully furnished with a kitchenette (the better the room category, the fuller the kitchen I'm told) and cooking utensils (which is great if you're on a budget) On top of the 5 star amenities that the resort offers (great restaurants & bars, daily maid service, spa and fitness centre on site, duty free shops, etc), it's also got its very own self-sufficient village where you can buy groceries, go for coffee, meet for drinks, etc. (Pretty fabulous selection of wines at the General Store). We had free wi-fi at the resort and computers in the lobby too if you didn't think to bring your own laptop. This resort is also a time-share....if we were ever to consider doing a time share, we think this just might be the place!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear NTSV,

Thank you for choosing The Crane for your brief trip to the island, and for this amazing review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us.

Having kitchens in every room is definitely a plus for our guests, whether they are staying in a Junior Suite kitchenette with its mini fridge, 2-burner stove, electric kettle, coffee maker and microwave; or in a 1-bedroom or 2-bedroom suite with double-door fridge (icemaker included), stove, oven and dishwasher; or in a Penthouse with a barbeque grill and wet bar on the roof deck.

We're looking forward to your next stay with us, hopefully for much longer than 1 night this time.

Warm regards,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crane Residential Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crane Residential Resort

Address: Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Philip Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint Philip Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crane Residential Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched dramatically on the cliffs of Barbados' pristine south-east coast, The Crane Residential Resort, established since 1887, is the island's oldest operating hotel. Transformed into a world-class luxury resort, The Crane features ultra-spacious, fully appointed ocean-view one & two bedroom suites and three bedroom Penthouses, many with their own private plunge-pool. Facilities include the acclaimed Zen Restaurant serving classic Thai and Japanese cuisine and the consistently popular L'Azure Restaurant. The casual Carriage House Pool Side restaurant is another favourite along with D'Onofrio's Trattoria located in 'The Village' which offers duty free shopping, a General Store, Bar 1887 (with nightly live entertainment) and The Village Cafe. Last but not least is Crane Beach voted by Lifestyle's of The Rich and Famous as one of the Top Ten most beautiful beaches in the world, now with a fabulous Beach Grill! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Crane Residential Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crane Residential Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Saint Philip
Crane Barbados
The Crane Barbados
Crane Hotel Barbados
Crane Resort Barbados
The Crane Residential Resort Barbados/Saint Philip Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crane Residential Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.