We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HEAVEN ON EARTH” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crane Residential Resort

Save Saved
You added The Crane Residential Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Crane Residential Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Splish, Splash...Bonus!
Brookmans Park, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“HEAVEN ON EARTH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just returned from the magnificent Crane Resort. Only bad thing is having to come home. I really do not know what anybody could find to complain about. After 2-3 days of being there you can actually feel all the stresses of "normal" life just blowing away in the wind. To me The Crane is not just a place but a way of life. Ever time we go I feel like I am going home. There have been a few negative comments on Tripadvisor recently, however you really should try for yourself. We have been going there for 12 years and the amount of people that we meet that are there for the umpteenth time speaks volumes. Do not miss out by considering the negative points, instead treat yourself to a vacation at this unbelievable resort I guarantee you will not be sorry!

Room Tip: The higher up the building the better the breeze. You do not need the A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Helene W,

Thank you for your encouraging words to prospective guests! The Crane experience certainly is one not be missed. From lounging by our multiple pools to dining in our world class restaurants, The Crane has something for everyone to enjoy.

We appreciate you taking the time to post this fantastic review and look forward to welcoming you back home.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,474 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    854
    345
    105
    83
    87
See reviews for
323
745
41
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morrisville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife and I recently traveled to The Crane for our honeymoon! We had a 7 night stay at the resort and absolutely loved every minute of it! From our arrival for check-in to check-out, the staff were very friendly and helpful in all aspects of our stay. Check-in went very smoothly and it was as if they were expecting us and called us by name. The concierge offered us their signature Rum Punch while we were checking in and the drinks were ready for us the second we were done getting our room keys. The concierge helped us with our baggage and brought everything to the room for us while giving us a brief history of the resort during our short walk to our building. Once inside the room, everything was spotlessly clean, but the A/C was off so it was a little warm until we figured out how to turn the A/C on. The A/C is not very strong anyway but it cooled off the rooms enough along with the ceiling fans. My wife kept saying it was still a little too warm for her but I was pretty comfortable most of the time. The Caribbean style windows and doors opened up for a nice steady breeze but there are no screens or anything on them so mosquitos did get into our room. We did not keep any of the doors or windows open during our stay after that. We had a one bedroom suite with a kitchen and a rooftop deck with a swimming pool. The swimming pool and deck upstairs were the highlight of our accomodations. A romantic place to be for breakfast, lunch, dinner or champagne and star gazing were all enjoyed on the rooftop deck.
The grounds of the resort are in very great shape and beautiful. You can definitely tell landscapers work very hard and take pride in their work. The Crane Village has everything you would need so it is not necessary to leave the resort unless you want to go on island tours/adventures. There is a small grocery store with plenty of snacks, drinks and other food items that you would need for a vacation stay. There are four restaurants and one bar in the Village. There is Italian, American, Caribbean, and Japanese/Thai restaurants. Most are open for breakfast, lunch and dinner but The Carriage House was only open for lunch I believe. Each restaurant had something on the menu for all people. My wife is a picky eater and she was able to find things on the menu that she would eat and she really enjoyed the food. i enjoyed the food as well and our favorite restaurant was the Italian place. We ate dinner there at least 3 times and loved it each time. The service is also great at the restaurants. There was also a pastry/ice cream shop as well. The cakes and ice cream were delicious and the pastries looked great as well. Need souvenirs to take home? They have a souvenir shop as well!
The views from some of the restaurants and the grounds themselves were very beautiful. The pools were surrounded by tropical vegetation including numerous palm trees and the poolside furniture and loungers looked very comfortable. My wife and I used our private rooftop pool so we did not swim in any of the public pools. All in all, it was a very great trip at a fantastic resort and we will definitely be vacationing there again!

Room Tip: It is worth it to spend a little more and get a room with a private pool! So relaxing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Jeff M,

Congratulations on your recent nuptials! You haven’t left much for me to add. It definitely sounds as though you enjoyed an absolutely fantastic honeymoon with us here at The Crane.

We were disappointed to hear that your enjoyment of the cooling Trade winds which circulate our residences was cut short by mosquitoes. We do wish you had brought this to our attention as the Housekeeping department would have been delighted to spray your room as well as provide you with mosquito nets.

However, despite this minor inconvenience, we are thrilled you enjoyed all that The Crane has to offer. From the sweet treats offered in The Village Café to the cool dips in your private rooftop pool, The Crane has something for everyone to enjoy.

We look forward to welcoming you back for many more vacations to come!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Romantic, quiet and just absolutely stunning! The resort was perfect for our honeymoon and I can not say one negative thing about our experience. I loved the Thai / Sushi restaurant and it was perfect for me and my husband because he would be eating sushi while I ate Thai. Only words of caution: beware of the rum punch served on the beach.... They are strong!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear MIb356,

Thank you for taking the time to post this brief but fantastic review! We were delighted to learn that The Crane proved to be the perfect spot for your honeymoon. Zen Restaurant is Zagat rated “Barbados No. 1 for Food” and rightly so! Our team, led by Chef Thai Van Ly, creates exotic dishes nightly to the delight of our guests.

We do hope to welcome you again soon – perhaps to celebrate your 1st anniversary!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ordino, Andorra
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Crane Residential Resort is on the east coast of Barbados, but it is totally worth the journey. We went there for lunch and the food, service and setting were excellent. The beach is wonderful and can be reached by steps or lift. But the Crane is much more than this. It has bars, shops and, of course, accommodation either at the hotel or time-share apartments that surround the beautiful gardens. It had a feel of a posh Disneyland without the rides (or the kids), just lovely buildings, winding paths, swimming pools and so much more. A great experience.

Room Tip: Some rooms have an infinity pool on their balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear OlivellaDB,

We are thrilled you had “a great experience” with us at The Crane. We regularly welcome guests from other hotels around the island to enjoy our restaurants and they are consistently wowed by the breathtakingly beautiful surroundings and friendly service.

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We hope to welcome you again – next time, as a resident guest!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful hotel! The rooms here truly are stunning. Amazing location on Crane beach. This is the perfect spot if you are looking to just lounge at a pool or beach for the entire vacation. It is very secluded not much around there so if your looking for more of a party vibe I would recommend a hotel in Bridgetown instead. I would steer clear of bldg 3 garden view rooms however since the mosquitos are brutal there! Spend a little extra get the ocean view and the higher up means less mosquitos. Be prepared the waiters here totally move at Island speed. You will get your beer 30 minutes after you order it but it vacation so you have to be patient :) The only thing I wish they had would be a swim up bar or even waitress service coming for drink orders around the pool but I didn't see any of that. They have a great general store with everything you need like bread, soy milk, etc. We loved the ice cream shop. It was so delicious and open at 7:30 am every day so very convenient. They also sold pastries, coffee, etc. the gift shop was great also with tons of cute stuff. Out of the property to the right a short walk is Cutters where you can get breakfast or lunch and they do deliver to the Crane. Also outside the property short walk to the left is the Crane Palms for lunch and dinner. All in all the Crane has beautiful architecture on the cliffs in Barbados. From the koi ponds to bird baths to the lovely grounds it really does transport you to a state of lovely serenity.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Megatwins100,

Thank you taking the time to post this fantastic review! We couldn’t agree with you more – The Crane is the perfect spot if you are looking just to lounge at a pool or beach for the entire vacation. The beautiful surroundings really do transport our guests to a state of lovely serenity.

We do apologise for the inconsistencies you experienced in restaurant and pool service. I assure you that I have communicated your observations to the Food & Beverage team for immediate improvement.

It would have been our pleasure to spray your suite and provide you with mosquito nets to prevent any discomfort from insects.

The Village Café is one of our newer additions to The Village and it has fast become a favourite spot for both the young and the young-at-heart. We hope to welcome you back soon – many more sweet treats await!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We just returned from a 4-night stay in a private garden suite. The grounds and the hotel were beautiful, and the staff was generally very nice.

Pros: (1) The pool complex was beautiful, well maintained, and with more than adequate seating. (2) The beach itself was beautiful with well-maintained grounds and a convenient bar. There were no public restrooms on the beach, however, requiring a lengthy trip up several flights of steps up to the resort. (3) Zen Restaurant was excellent - for those who enjoy Thai and sushi I would highly recommend it. (4) We had a private pool and jacuzzi off of our room, although the jacuzzi wasn't working. (5) The staff was very friendly and, with one exception, very acccommodating. (6) The grounds were well-maintained and the exercise area was large with a great deal of equipment. (7) We had no problems with the air conditioning in our suite - in fact, our rooms became a bit chilly when left on overnight. (8) The views were beautiful from the main grounds toward the ocean, and the views from the main restaurants overlooked the ocean with fantastic sights. (9) Taxis were readily available with no wait.

Cons: (1) Our suite had a significant mosquito problem, due largely to housekeeping propping the door open to the outside while cleaning our suite. (2) The service at the pool was poor, with no waiters and a towel stand that was closed/empty more than open. (3) The concierge service was fine in person but absolutely unreachable by phone - the phones would ring unanswered, then go into voicemail that was reported as full. (4) The breakfast buffet was ok, but not at the level of most resorts (other than in price). (5) There is no good location for walking - the grounds have limited walkways for exercise, and leaving the grounds to exercise lead you to narrow roads with no shoulder. (6) Portions of the resort are a bit dated and tired.

Barbados is not easy to get to from the US, and while the Crane Resort is certainly beautiful, it's a bit below the standards of many more accessible and modern resorts in the Caribbean. If you're into more rustic and old-fashioned resorts than we are, this would be a great destination.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear EAS1972,

It sounds as though you enjoyed an overall good vacation with us, despite several inconsistencies. We do apologise for these occurrences. I would like to assure you that the majority of what you have described represents a gross departure from our established service standards and I have addressed each of the offending departments on the contents of this review for immediate improvement.

Spread over 40 cliff top acres, The Crane is a substantially sized Resort which necessitates creative solutions with regards to its maintenance and upkeep. Each summer, we undertake a schedule of renovations, with each area of the Resort placed on rotation.

The absence of rest rooms on Crane Beach is unfortunately not under the control of the Resort. Crane Beach, like all beaches in Barbados is public and as such, the construction of such facilities falls under the mandate of a specific government agency. We have been working with them for several years on this project.

Barbados is also quite accessible by US residents with our Grantley Adams International Airport welcoming flights from large US cities such as New York and Miami daily.

Although it appears that The Crane was not exactly what you were looking for, we do hope that you will return to Barbados to experience all that our beautiful island has to offer.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My weekend at the crane was spent in block 8 in a lovely 1-bedroom suite. The suite was very comfortable, the kitchen was equipped with everything you would want, and our plunge pool was particularly refreshing with a glass of wine in the moonlight. However, our first night I believe we used up our allotted air conditioning as the second night the room was only slightly cool, and the third night there was NO a/c at all. Reading the other reviews, air conditioning seems to be a problem throughout the property. The other negative of our visit was that block 8 is right next to the central kitchens with the attendant noise of setting up in the morning with clashing and banging of pots and pans. However, I highly recommend the restaurant Zen, it was it's usual high standard. I would definitely stay there again, once i could be guaranteed an air conditioning system that works!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear bajangirl2009,

We are thrilled you enjoyed a great weekend with us at The Crane. It is always our pleasure to share the fantastic physical features of the property with our fellow Barbadians. They always marvel at the classic Barbadian architecture of The Crane Village as well as the colonial feel of the suites.

We do apologise for the inconsistencies experienced with your suite’s malfunctioning AC. Recently, reports of malfunctioning AC have become exceptions rather than the norm, so we checked and made the necessary repairs to the unit.

We do look forward to welcoming you back – for a cool Crane vacation!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Crane Residential Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crane Residential Resort

Address: Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Philip Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Saint Philip Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crane Residential Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched dramatically on the cliffs of Barbados' pristine south-east coast, The Crane Residential Resort, established since 1887, is the island's oldest operating hotel. Transformed into a world-class luxury resort, The Crane features ultra-spacious, fully appointed ocean-view one & two bedroom suites and three bedroom Penthouses, many with their own private plunge-pool. Facilities include the acclaimed Zen Restaurant serving classic Thai and Japanese cuisine and the consistently popular L'Azure Restaurant. The casual Carriage House Pool Side restaurant is another favourite along with D'Onofrio's Trattoria located in 'The Village' which offers duty free shopping, a General Store, Bar 1887 (with nightly live entertainment) and The Village Cafe. Last but not least is Crane Beach voted by Lifestyle's of The Rich and Famous as one of the Top Ten most beautiful beaches in the world, now with a fabulous Beach Grill! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Crane Residential Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crane Residential Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Saint Philip
Crane Barbados
The Crane Barbados
Crane Hotel Barbados
Crane Resort Barbados
The Crane Residential Resort Barbados/Saint Philip Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crane Residential Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.