We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has potential to be world class” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Crane Residential Resort

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Barbados Tourism
and 11 more sites!
The Crane Residential Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Has potential to be world class”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We spent a week at the Crane and over all we had a great time. The location is superb exactly what you expect from the Caribbean - picture postcard you might say.
The staff are among some of the most friendly I have come across and always have a smile and a good morning/evening or alright for you.
The food in the resort is also very good especially the Thai and again the service excellent.
So you might ask what stops it being world class, well it is really the maintenance. Again it is really clean and they are always working on the gardens and the grounds but there were issues for other guests with not having hot water or air conditioning which is not funny when it is 30 degrees. For us it was the fact we had an adjoining room and the sound proofing was very poor and our neighbours were very noisy, luckily they were only there for 2 nights and then we had peace. We also had air conditioning issues on our last day but again not much of an issue as we were checking out at mid day.
I suppose the question is would I go back and the short answer is Yes.

Room Tip: Make sure your room does not have an adjoining door as the sound proofing is not good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear humphtj5,

We are pleased that you had an overall great time with us at The Crane. The Resort certainly does enjoy a breathtaking cliff top location overlooking Crane Beach and the Atlantic Ocean. These stupendous views when combined with our attentive and friendly service create fantastic vacation experiences for our guests.

During your stay, our construction team was in the process of connecting one of our buildings to our new chilling system. As a result, the hot water and AC of this building were affected and we addressed the impact on these guests directly. Also, the doors between our adjoining suites feature a small rubber gasket for sound proofing purposes. It appears as though that gasket was missing during your stay. We do apologise for the inconvenience caused.

However, we are thrilled that you have not allowed these unfortunate occurrences to deter you from returning to The Crane. We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy a disturbance free holiday!

Warm regards,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,412 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    818
    331
    103
    78
    82
See reviews for
308
714
38
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barbados
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We are currently in our second day in the fantastic Crane in block 5. It is our second visit to the resort and our tenth wedding anniversary. So here are the good point's;-
1) The Staff are really friendly
2) The food in Zen last night was excellent
3) The resort as before is beautiful and well maintained.

The bad point, which unfortunatly spoil's the above:-
1) Before coming to the resort we emailed customer services to request a room with the air-con working, as we had a few problem's on the previuos visit. However, we arrived last night and our room in Block 5 has a very poor performing air-con system. We have been down to reception four times, but each time we have been fobbed off and we are stuck in a room which is extremely hot and uncomfortable to sleep in.

We love aspects of the Crane, however, the poor perfroming air-conditioning, will unfortunatly make this our last visit. For any future customer's, please consider this before booking, as this can spoil an otherwise amazine experience at the crane.

Room Tip: Ensure you have an apartment with the new and upgraded aircon
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear marc d,

I was extremely upset to learn of your unfortunate experience with us and on behalf of my entire team I would like to extend my sincerest apologies. I have checked into your situation and it appears that Mr. James Best, one of our Guest Relations Managers was proactive in resolving your situation by facilitating a room upgrade for you.

We do hope that this action salvaged your vacation and that you will continue to make The Crane your Barbados resort of choice!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed at the Crane for 7 nights last week. We were lucky enough to have our own private garden complete with its own swimming and jacuzzi (which unfortunately did not work, but we were told it worked at certain times between certain months, which odviously did not incude the time we were there!). I must admit I spent most of my time in the garden, it was so peaceful. The clifftop setting and Crane Beach were beautiful - and the the sea breeze very welcome. The rooms were well laid, spacious and tastefully decorated with a fully equiped kitchen including ice maker and dishwasher. The staff were polite and friendly and the restaurants were good. There is no night life as such - so if you want this the Crane is not the place to go.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear 26Andrea,

We are delighted you enjoyed your time here with us at The Crane. Your choice of suite category – One Bedroom Standard Suite with Garden Pool – is among our newer range of accommodation. These boast the same elegant yet understated décor and modern amenities found in our ocean view suites but with the added feature of lush private gardens.

We do apologise for the disappointment you experienced with your Garden Jacuzzi, but we are pleased that you enjoyed your private garden and pool.

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My wife and I just got back from a 5 night package at the Crane that we bought on Luxury Link. We had a great time.
- The beach is beautiful and they have the umbrellas up and ready to go when you arrive.
- There is a general store on the property with reasonably priced items which was great.
- We stayed in a great 1BR suite with private plunge pool overlooking the ocean. It was very romantic - a great way to spend time during the day.
- The only downside is the Spa is currently being renovated so if you want a spa trip, please be aware the spa is currently operating in temporary quarters.
- Hotel was nice and quiet. Mostly families and couples enjoying a relaxing time.

Room Tip: Trip Advisor said there was construction so I asked to be moved away from the construction. Some roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Balazy,

Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review about The Crane. We are thrilled that you had a great time with us, enjoying your One Bedroom Ocean View Suite with Plunge Pool in particular.

We do apologise for any inconvenience caused by the temporary relocation of Serenity Spa as we complete the scheduled renovations on the Historic Hotel. We look forward to its reopening in its original space in the winter.

We look forward to welcoming you back – next time, for a longer stay!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Just left today and am writing review from the airport. What a beautiful resort! My husband and I had just completed a 7 day cruise on a 50ft sailing vessel, which we absolutely loved...but coming here was quite a change. Huge rooms, jacuzzi tub, kitchen! I couldn't believe it. We used our points for our stay and I'm used to sometimes getting a little shafted due to that...not the case at all. Beautiful pools and property. Wonderful staff.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear tropicalparadise1106,

Thank you for taking the time to review your “absolutely fab” Crane experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed the final stop on your vacation with us at The Crane. We were especially thrilled to learn that we exceeded your expectations with our spacious and well appointed accommodations, world-class amenities and facilities as well as our friendly staff.

It was our pleasure to welcome you too and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We booked and paid or a 10 day break. The TA reviews all read well. The property is well marketed via all the possible websites you could imagine. The staff, Beatrice, Raven, Steve and the other wonderful girl in the red dress are all magic. Keen, helpful, supportive and working hard to add value for their customers. Absolutely no issues there at all.
We booked and paid for an ocean view room/suite, we were excited about the facility which is offering some really great plus points. In turn we do not normally, due to the ocean conditions visit the east of the island of Barbados. Lured by the blurb we thoght let's have a go! We are writing to you from another hotel in Barbados because we have checked out the The Grane.
Ocean view, aghhh not there cannot see the sea at all. Zero, none, not there, absent, not part of the vista, AWOL!
Looked over by a compound of flats seen only in deprived areas of major cities. Sit coms are made of places like this.
Moreover the industrial vehicle parked in front of our "ocean view" was an added cheap line for the sit com writer. It is big, blue and no-one on sight knows why it is there. All agree it should not be there but cannot decide why it just appears to have been parked directly in line with the view from our patio. The patio does not get any sun after around 10 a.m. local time.
We now have issues I want out and the lovely staff tried to find us alternative rooms. Problem, we had booked the best rooms in the house. We were taken to see alternatives but they did not meet what we had booked or in any way meet our requirements.
Yes we got our money back only due to the effective persuasion plied by Beatrice.She made her reservations agents/people understand the enormity of the situation!. She knew the rules and performed admirably. Ergo where to next well I am deeply sorry because the people working there are not supported and in time it will fall apart around them. That makes me very sad. The Canadian owners need to get the brand sorted soonest or it will be over before they can see it coming

Room Tip: Just make sure you are getting value for money. The facility has all the ingredients it just cannot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear simondunn,

We do apologise for the inconvenience you experienced by the presence of the genie lift in front of your suite during your stay. The windows of the building in which you were staying were recently replaced and the genie lift was still there pending relocation to the next building in the scheduled rotation.

Unfortunately at the time of your visit, your category of choice – One Bedroom Ocean View with 28ft Pool – was practically fully booked, and since you did not wish to move to the only one available, we were therefore unable to facilitate a room move.

Although The Crane did not meet your expectations during this trip, we do hope you allow us another opportunity to create the true Crane Experience for you.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I'm writing this review after my third visit to this resort and it was a pleasure to see how the gardens and buildings have matured and the superb facilities have grown. There is superfast broadband everywhere but you won't want to be doing too much of that! As ever the staff, (in fact the majority of Bajans) are friendly helpful and happy to meet you. Special mention for Errol and Susan.
You don't actually need to go anywhere else as the beach will spoil you for any other, (lift access), free sunbeds/parasols and towels. The sea can be a bit surfy in October for toddlers/non swimmers but there is reef a little way out where the heaviest waves break. The sea as are the pools both beautifully warm to enter. Off the beach these pools are interlinked by waterfalls, so choose your own favourite spot from sunny to shady; and as we were there in "low season", there were loads of sunbeds free. Above the beach there is an infinity pool for serious swimmers to put in a few lengths and a separate huge Jacuzzi, with fantastic views all round. Nearby there is a poolside bar and grill serving you during the day. There is a shop selling basic necessities and other shops selling designer goods, and an ice cream parlour. There is a small outdoor market on one evening each weak and I treated myself to a pair of comfy handmade leather sandals. There is also a friendly family run bar and bistro, "Cutters", a short walk away, where you can chill inside or laze in the porch outside. In the evening the resort has a very nice TV bar with live relaxed entertainment and there are three themed restaurants.
It is worth hiring a car because you must visit Bathsheba, St. Nicholas Abbey and the Mountgay Rum factory amongst others, and treat yourself to a magical and romantic meal by the waterside. Barbados has many top restaurants to choose from, but if you don't venture far the Zen, in the Crane itself, takes some beating for food and location; on top of the cliff and beach. We stayed in a top floor penthouse apartment which was enormous and had every mod con. including huge comfortable Queen beds with if wanted. carved mahogany posts at each corner, for fitting a net

Room Tip: Top floor penthouses have rooftop hot tub and barbeque facilities. All have plunge pools except the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear LordHackwood,

Thank you for this fantastically thorough review – you haven’t missed a thing! It definitely sounds as though you and your friends enjoyed everything The Crane and Barbados have to offer!

Errol and Susan were thrilled by your special mention. These two Crane stalwarts have made The Carriage House Poolside Bar & Restaurant the preferred dining spot for many of our guests throughout the years with their warm and affable personalities.

It was our pleasure to welcome you and we all look forward to welcoming you back for the 4th time!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Crane Residential Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crane Residential Resort

Also Known As:
The Crane Residential Hotel Saint Philip
The Crane Residential Hotel
Crane Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Saint Philip
Crane Barbados
The Crane Barbados
Crane Hotel
Crane Hotel Barbados
Crane Resort Barbados
The Crane Residential Resort Barbados/Saint Philip Parish
Address: Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Philip Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Saint Philip Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crane Residential Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched dramatically on the cliffs of Barbados' pristine south-east coast, The Crane Residential Resort, established since 1887, is the island's oldest operating hotel. Transformed into a world-class luxury resort, The Crane features ultra-spacious, fully appointed ocean-view one & two bedroom suites and three bedroom Penthouses, many with their own private plunge-pool. Facilities include the acclaimed Zen Restaurant serving classic Thai and Japanese cuisine and the consistently popular L'Azure Restaurant. The casual Carriage House Pool Side restaurant is another favourite along with D'Onofrio's Trattoria located in 'The Village' which offers duty free shopping, a General Store, Bar 1887 (with nightly live entertainment) and The Village Cafe. Last but not least is Crane Beach voted by Lifestyle's of The Rich and Famous as one of the Top Ten most beautiful beaches in the world, now with a fabulous Beach Grill! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Regatta Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Venere, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Otel, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Crane Residential Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crane Residential Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Crane Residential Resort to your Saves list