We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All year round paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crane Residential Resort

Save Saved
You added The Crane Residential Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Crane Residential Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Halesowen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“All year round paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I'm writing this review after my third visit to this resort and it was a pleasure to see how the gardens and buildings have matured and the superb facilities have grown. There is superfast broadband everywhere but you won't want to be doing too much of that! As ever the staff, (in fact the majority of Bajans) are friendly helpful and happy to meet you. Special mention for Errol and Susan.
You don't actually need to go anywhere else as the beach will spoil you for any other, (lift access), free sunbeds/parasols and towels. The sea can be a bit surfy in October for toddlers/non swimmers but there is reef a little way out where the heaviest waves break. The sea as are the pools both beautifully warm to enter. Off the beach these pools are interlinked by waterfalls, so choose your own favourite spot from sunny to shady; and as we were there in "low season", there were loads of sunbeds free. Above the beach there is an infinity pool for serious swimmers to put in a few lengths and a separate huge Jacuzzi, with fantastic views all round. Nearby there is a poolside bar and grill serving you during the day. There is a shop selling basic necessities and other shops selling designer goods, and an ice cream parlour. There is a small outdoor market on one evening each weak and I treated myself to a pair of comfy handmade leather sandals. There is also a friendly family run bar and bistro, "Cutters", a short walk away, where you can chill inside or laze in the porch outside. In the evening the resort has a very nice TV bar with live relaxed entertainment and there are three themed restaurants.
It is worth hiring a car because you must visit Bathsheba, St. Nicholas Abbey and the Mountgay Rum factory amongst others, and treat yourself to a magical and romantic meal by the waterside. Barbados has many top restaurants to choose from, but if you don't venture far the Zen, in the Crane itself, takes some beating for food and location; on top of the cliff and beach. We stayed in a top floor penthouse apartment which was enormous and had every mod con. including huge comfortable Queen beds with if wanted. carved mahogany posts at each corner, for fitting a net

Room Tip: Top floor penthouses have rooftop hot tub and barbeque facilities. All have plunge pools except the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear LordHackwood,

Thank you for this fantastically thorough review – you haven’t missed a thing! It definitely sounds as though you and your friends enjoyed everything The Crane and Barbados have to offer!

Errol and Susan were thrilled by your special mention. These two Crane stalwarts have made The Carriage House Poolside Bar & Restaurant the preferred dining spot for many of our guests throughout the years with their warm and affable personalities.

It was our pleasure to welcome you and we all look forward to welcoming you back for the 4th time!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,511 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    880
    351
    107
    84
    89
See reviews for
338
756
44
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barbados
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Beautiful property, incredible beach although a bit challenging if you are not a strong swimmer!! Food is fantastic!The pools are great and the service is excellent. However do not expect any rocking party life or entertainment - you really have to go out side for that!! It is quite a distance from the action so hire a car! Taxis are very expensive in Barbados and you can get ripped off unless you get a good one!

Room Tip: Doesn't matter - the breeze is everywhere!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear BarbadosTreasure,

Thank you for taking the time to post this brief but fantastic review! From the incredible beach and pools to the food, it definitely sounds as though you enjoyed many of the physical features of The Crane. In addition to these features, it is The Crane’s renowned peace and tranquillity that our guests seek while on their Barbados vacation.

Tip: When guests opt to explore the island by taxi, we always encourage them to take one of our resort-sanctioned taxis.

We do hope to welcome you again soon.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Barbados is one of the best islands around. The Crane has wonderful grounds, lovely accommodations and superb staff. The people on the island are very friendly and beautiful inside and out. Always enjoy Sunday's Gospel breakfast at L'Azure and the views, as well as the beach, are exquisite.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear grkgoddess1,

Thank you for taking the time to post this brief but fantastic review! In just a few short words, you have captured everything that is appealing about The Crane. In particular, L’Azure’s Sunday Gospel Breakfast has become something of a tradition for locals and repeat guests alike! Everyone is reminded to book early to avoid disappointment.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My wife and i spent our honeymoon at the crane. what an amazing place! All the people who work there are friendly, laid back, and very genuine. Very responsive to your request's and needs. From the moment we arived at the crane we were helped by O'neil who made us feel very welcome and at home. He's the man! The whole place is spotless. from the front gate, to the beach. Very clean rooms. Some of the most spectacular gardens and ponds i have ever seen. And the best rum punch on the island! They have everything you need right there on the resort. so you dont have to leave the resort if you dont want to. But if given the chance you should get out and explore the island. its so beautiful! It has one of the top ten beaches in the world. "yes, THE WORLD!" And now i see why. We are already planing our next trip to go back to the Crane. Thanks to everyone at the Crane from the bottom of our hearts for one of the best vacations we have ever had. We will see ya soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear phillypeeps,

Congratulations on your recent nuptials! We are delighted you enjoyed the first chapter of your lives together with us at The Crane.

O’Neil was absolutely thrilled by your special mention! He is a relatively new addition to our team and has already won the hearts of many guests with his friendly and welcoming nature.

The Landscaping and Housekeeping teams were also pleased by your rave reviews of our resort’s cleanliness. They all take great pride in the appearance of the resort and often go the extra mile to ensure that The Crane is indeed spotless.

Don’t become strangers! We look forward to welcoming you again – many more rum punches await!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Parents + 10 y.o. daughter. Stayed at The Crane on a Dinner Bed & Breakfast basis for 16 days in August 2012. Booked via BA holidays.

Overall, had a really great and relaxing time.

Good points:

Exceptional beach, accessible by glass elevator, superbly maintained. Great for bodyboarding and swimming in the (reasonably) heavy swell.

Great pools, never crowded.

Apartment very spacious. Worth spending the bit extra to get one with an ocean view balcony and plunge pool.

Aircon worked fine and was VERY quiet (a huge plus). On the one occasion it broke down, it was fixed by the time we had returned from the beach.

Zen restaurant (Japanese & Thai) was exceptional.

On site spa was good, but daughter disappointed that under-12s could not have a massage.

Could to with improvement:
Restaurants/F&B in general: Zen (see above) was much preferable to L'Azure, the supposedly fine dining restaurant on the resort which, in our view, was pretty bland. The 'casual Italian' restaurant option was marked out by really friendly waiting staff doing their best to cover, by their good humour, the ever narrowing range of food available. On our last visit there (on the weeknight when Zen closes) only 33% of advertised starters and about 50% of the mains were actually available to eat.

Tips/advice:

Taxi from airport on arrival was zero hassle and cheap.

When you've had enough of lazing around on the beach/poolside, you can then get one of the local car rental companies to deliver a car to the Crane. Rental car really useful for exploring the island. Nowhere is very far. We particularly enjoyed visiting the rugged east coast, as well as the classic snorkelling with turtles etc. on the west coast.

Bridgetown itself is no great shakes; unless you're here for the cricket. Doesn't live up to World Heritage Site listing.

When doing the snorkelling trips, take the smaller boats from the beaches up and down the west coast, they tend to get to the turtles early, before the hordes of (usually pretty rum-punched) merrymakers on the large catamarans scare them off. The submarine trip is pretty impressive too, and a good way for non-swimmers to see the undersea life.

Take your UK National Trust membership card: you get discounts at several attractions.

Finally, unless you are gripped by a burning desire to be looked over sniffily at a gatehouse and then pay £68 each for steak and chips, avoid lunch at the Sandy Lane. We did, and were glad to have done so - the saving kept us in rum punch and ice cream for the duration.

Room Tip: Invest the little extra - go for a higher floor ocean view balcony apartment, with plunge pool. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear AJ_and_KJ,

Thank you for taking the time to post this detailed review – you haven’t left much for me to add! It certainly sounds as though you had an overall enjoyable experience with us at The Crane. Your suite of choice – One Bedroom Ocean View with Plunge Pool – is popular with families because of the level of comfort it provides in an ultra spacious setting.

We do apologise for the inconsistencies you experienced in our food & beverage outlets during your stay back in August. However, you’ll be pleased to learn that these problems have been effectively resolved with the introduction of menu changes in September by our Restaurant Consultant.

One thing to note is that Bridgetown has received the World Heritage listing because of its significance as one of the earliest established towns with a fortified port in the British Atlantic. It served as the focus of trade-based English expansion in the Americas and has retained its original footprint, based on its English medieval serpentine street layout, which bears testimony to British town layouts in foreign soil.

Again, thank you for taking the time to post this review. We hope to welcome you again soon!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Bosworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We took a last minute break and had a very relaxing time. The West coast of Barbados does not have the number of good restaurants that the East coast has so this is a resort based holiday unless you hire a car. Also, the sea is much rougher than the East coast so we spent most of the holiday boogie boarding or swimming rather than snorkelling. If you have your own boogie boards and can take them then do so as you can’t hire them from the hotel and will end up buying them or renting them on the beach.

Rooms - We were in Building 5 and the rooms were very spacious. We had 544 A and B which are interconnecting rooms. The interconnecting rooms seem to give you one garden view bedroom and one sea view bedroom with a sea view lounge/dining room which was great for us travelling with 11 and 9 year old children. We had booked two seaview rooms but would not have had the interconnecting rooms. The kitchens are fully equipped although the coffee they leave in the room is not that great so if you like good coffee, bring your own and your own coffee filters (Mr Coffee basket 10). The TVs are all flat screen and take HDMI cables along with component (useful if you take your own entertainment and HDMI cable). Each room had a DVD player but it is a region 1 player so unless you’re from region 1, your DVDs won’t play.
The garden facing room seemed to get mosquitoes at night and we had to use mosquito repellent on the children as they were quite badly bitten one night sleeping with the windows open. That said, it did not spoil the holiday and had we taken a bit more precaution we would not have noticed. The sea view room was absolutely fine and no mosquitos at all and we slept with the windows open every night. Take some DEET based repellent to be sure.

There is no kids club.

The gym has about 14 good cardio machines, a multi-gym and free weights. Good enough to have a work out so you can have the extra scoop of ice cream or glass of wine.

General store - Very basic but NOT overpriced like some resort stores. Plenty of wine, beer, soft drinks and crisps, bread, cereal and milk, limited fruit, some basic first aid and toiletries but not much to put a real meal together. If you want more, you could take a taxi to the supermarket at 6 roads.

Restaurants – All pretty good for a resort. Service is laid back but you are there on holiday so if it takes 10 minutes longer than you expect, have another drink and don’t stress! They were happy to cater for a special diet. Buffet breakfast was OK but nothing special.

We will probably go back but next time I’ll hire a car for the week ahead of time and do a shop on day 1 at 6 roads.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear BHBPCP,

Thank you for taking the time to post this fantastic and thorough review of The Crane. We have the fortune of being located off the beaten track on the island’s South East Coast. Even though this side of the island does not feature the same number of restaurants and attractions as the West Coast, this is the reason why our guests choose us: to get away from the hustle and bustle.

Your choice of room category – Two Bedroom Ocean View with Plunge Pool – is regularly favoured by families who love the space and comfort this suite provides. However, we do apologise for the inconvenience experienced with the mosquitoes. We do wish you had informed us of the issue so we could have minimised your children’s discomfort by providing mosquito nets.

Thank you for your great reviews of our amenities. You’ll be pleased to learn that a Kid’s Club in our plans for future expansion.

It was our pleasure to welcome you to The Crane and we look forward to your return!

Warm wishes
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The essence of The Crane experience is not just about the accommodation, the service, the restaurants. It is a whole experience about natural beauty of the sea and the foliage, warm hospitality, serenity, tranquility and ultimately luxury. The beach itself is so beautiful, pink sand and azure colors, not for calm swimming, the waves are not for the tame but invigorating. An evening at Zen or L'Azure overlooking the beach will fill you with awe. If Angus shows up on the menu it is distinguished, very spicy and reserved. Follow that with a walk on the grounds under natural foliage, sounds of the rain-forest and a glimpse of the stars. Don't forget to stop at the cafe for a treat, (ask Keke for Dawn's coconut cake next time). I made my reservation on a whim and will be back next October for another spell. The resort has families and many young couples but you will be comfortable solo (just dress nicely and smile). If you want nightlife arrange a taxi to The Gap or downtown Bridgetown.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and luxurious. If you want a beach view select that but the garden views are l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear biarritzblue,

We couldn’t have said it any better! The very essence of The Crane experience is indeed the natural beauty of the sea and foliage, warm hospitality, serenity, tranquillity and ultimately luxury.

It certainly sounds as though you have fallen in love with The Crane and everything it offers. We were especially pleased by your wonderful comments about our food & beverage offerings, specifically Zen, L’Azure and The Village Café.

Thank you for taking the time to post this terrific review. It was truly a pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to your return in October 2013!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crane Residential Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crane Residential Resort

Address: Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Philip Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Saint Philip Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crane Residential Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched dramatically on the cliffs of Barbados' pristine south-east coast, The Crane Residential Resort, established since 1887, is the island's oldest operating hotel. Transformed into a world-class luxury resort, The Crane features ultra-spacious, fully appointed ocean-view one & two bedroom suites and three bedroom Penthouses, many with their own private plunge-pool. Facilities include the acclaimed Zen Restaurant serving classic Thai and Japanese cuisine and the consistently popular L'Azure Restaurant. The casual Carriage House Pool Side restaurant is another favourite along with D'Onofrio's Trattoria located in 'The Village' which offers duty free shopping, a General Store, Bar 1887 (with nightly live entertainment) and The Village Cafe. Last but not least is Crane Beach voted by Lifestyle's of The Rich and Famous as one of the Top Ten most beautiful beaches in the world, now with a fabulous Beach Grill! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Regatta Hotels, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Crane Residential Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crane Residential Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Saint Philip
Crane Barbados
The Crane Barbados
Crane Hotel Barbados
Crane Resort Barbados
The Crane Residential Resort Barbados/Saint Philip Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crane Residential Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.