We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crane Residential Resort

Save Saved
You added The Crane Residential Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 17 more sites!
The Crane Residential Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Splish, Splash...Bonus!
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Paradise on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We love BArbados, ahve been going for 9 years but we really did not realize how much we loved it until we moved our vacation from the West coast condos and hotels to the east coast and stayed at The Crane. That breeze! Those waves on the ocean! The rooms! It was perfect. And we brought our two teenaged daughters whom complained all the way there that they were not going to like it and then did not want to leave.
We slept with the doors open and never had to turn on the air once. The sound of the waves at night put us to sleep like babies. Our girls loved having their own bedroom with their own bathroom and TV. We had a two bedroom. We did buy groceries for breakfast on the balcony. most mornings but went to the Sunday Gospel brunch , lovely. We also ate most nights in the restaurants there. Our favorite is L'Azure and for lunch The CArriage House right by the pools. Zen is supposed to be the best on the island but I disagree, I'll take L"azure over it any day. We were there during the spring break time and it was never crowded. We would go to the beach then the pool then movve to teh shade and never had to worry about all of the chaise lounges being taken at 8am, my personal pet peeve. We will be back

Room Tip: Try to get a room higher up to catch the breeze. I think if I had little ones I would go for the gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear sandybeachsareus,

It was our pleasure to welcome you to the beautiful South East coast of the island and The Crane. The Crane is ideal for those visitors who simply wish to unwind on their Barbados vacation away from the fast pace of the West Coast.

With unrivalled residences, multiple pools, five fantastic restaurants and 2 bars as well as a Spa, Fitness Centre and a world renowned beach, the Crane is perfect for any family vacation (as I’m sure your two teenaged daughters discovered).

Chef Michelle Maloney and her entire team at L’Azure were thrilled by your compliments. There certainly are very few things more enjoyable than a delicious lunch on the terrace of L’Azure overlooking the breathtaking Crane Beach.

We look forward to your return!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,466 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    850
    342
    105
    82
    87
See reviews for
319
741
41
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Patchogue, New York
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Please read all of the negative reviews about this resort before you go.(I wish I had)Why would I accentuate the negative -simply because it may be true for you and why waste your time and money.
We stayed at the Crane from 03/08-03/13.Very simply stated our room was not nearly what you should expect from a 4-5 star resort.The room was not clean and fit for occupancy.The room smelled musty and damp,the appliances were rust stained as were the walls under the windows that leaked.Both showers also leaked and there was evidence of patch work having been recently done in the ceiling in the bathroom probably to fix another leak,leading to a great amount of dust in the room.The hair dryer was dirty and full of hair.All of this made the room totally unacceptable.While we were offered a room change-beware-in certain buildings the air conditioning does not work well at all.You can however sleep with the windows open under mosquito netting.
If you read the general managers responses to the negative reviews you will see a pattern.The responses are placating and even condescending.For instance,he will say well I'm sorry your room was terrible but wasn't the beach nice.I'm sorry about the bugs in your room but didn't we give you a free breakfast.If seems that this makes it all ok.
Do not go to this hotel unless you are willing to chance a very bad experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, John Alleyne, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Dear GlennSSA,

I checked into the discrepancies you described and I am extremely disappointed that you found your room in such a state. On behalf of the entire Housekeeping team, I’d like to extend my apologies. This was not in keeping with the room preparation standards we have established for our housekeeping staff.

I hope that this diversion from the norm in housekeeping service will not completely deter you from visiting The Crane again. We have many things that are fantastic about the resort such as the many pools and exciting restaurants.

If you grant us another opportunity to create an exceptional Crane experience for you, I’m sure you will be amazed by the difference you will see on entering your room.

Sincerely,
John Alleyne
Housekeeping Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012 via mobile

We have been vacationing at The Crane 6 of the last 7 years. Now that we have learned to go with theIr flow, we love it. Home away from home. As it has evolved into a real resort there are a few restaurants and several amenities as well as one of the most beautiful pink beaches in the world. D'Onofrios is a good addition and The Crane House is turning into a great hangout. The pools are great, we still prefer the oldest one off to itself by the original hotel. The Goapel brunch is a wonderful experience on Sunday- make reservations. Try Cutters for the best rum punch- easy walk. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. Still could use a few extra shops- why don't they carry pool stuff like a ball? Love the new ice cream shop. Looking forward to our next trip back already!

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear Jefelang,

Thank you for taking the time to post this fantastic review. It has been our pleasure to welcome you into The Crane family.

The Crane continues to grow with the several new additions made and many more planned! We are delighted you enjoyed D’Onofrio’s Trattoria which now has a fantastic new Italian menu as well as The Village Café’s array of Crane signature ice cream flavours and sweet treats.

You will be pleased to learn that the shops are going to be expanded this year and we have also passed on your merchandising suggestion to Cave Shepherd, the main retail store in The Village.
On your next visit, be sure to enjoy a meal at the newly opened Coconut Grove Beach Bar and Grill. We look forward to welcoming you for many more years to come!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

This was my 4th visit to the Crane Beach Resort and it yet again surpassed my expectations. The accommodations, building #9 for the first time, the weather, the ambiance and best of all was the wonderful care that the staff took of our 'home away from home'. Sandra was darling, efficient, and took care of our suite to the best of her abilitites. Thank you, thank you again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear Mila P,

It is always our pleasure to welcome you back to your “home away from home”. Guests who stay in building 9 always leave with rave reviews of Sandra, the Residence Manager. Her warm, caring and helpful demeanour helps guests to truly relax while on their Crane vacation.

Thank you for taking the time to post this fantastic review. We look forward to your fifth visit!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

This is by far ,one of the best locations on Barbados...we have just had a fantastic 10 days staying at this lush developement,the whole complex is large but it is easy to find your way round the great pools ,spas,walks ,beach etc..The tropical gardens are lovingly cared for and the complex is spotlessly clean.....
We ate in all the resturants ,and have to say that this is where we had our only, minor complaints...the staff were friendly enough but in comparison to other top eateries around the island,we felt the service was not up to par and could be improved..
We had a car for the duration and did every road on the island WATCH OUT FOR THE POTHOLES !!!
We will be back in the near future..

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear oddbodSuffolk,

We are pleased that you enjoyed a “fantastic” holiday with us. The Crane certainly enjoys a breathtaking location on the South East coast of the island. Our entire property from the lush gardens to the magnificent rooms was designed to rival the gorgeous views.

I was concerned by your comments about the service in our restaurants and I assure you that we have been working tirelessly over the past months to improve our performance in this area.

Thank you for this wonderful review. We look forward to your return to experience these improvements firsthand!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

I have been a member of the crane for the past 10 years and have a fractiional ownership where we go twice a year. I have just returned from our Februay trip and was pleased to see that the 'advertised' entainment has finally come to the resort. We were at the Crane last November and there was no entertainment for 3 weeks. We ended going out of the resort every night.

This year they had a band called Strategy which performed a couple of times a week and was a breath of fresh air and had all guests dancing and finally bought life to the resort. I have overhead several times from other guests that the entertainment was very minimal and was not as advertised in promotional material.

I hope the Crane keeps continues with Strategy and when I return in November the entertainment is as good. I have 5 guests coming out with me who are expecting some live entertainment on their doorsteps.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, try to go up higher if you have a garden suite for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear M S,

We are thrilled that you enjoyed the energetic performances of Teejay from “Strategy” in Bar 1887. She definitely knows how to get a crowd moving! This review is just one of the many rave reviews that we have received about her performances. We also try to cater to different tastes, including the quieter, more relaxed guests. Three days a week we welcome pianist, guitarist and blues singer, Wesu.

We always value the feedback of our guests and try to implement their suggestions when ever we can. Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review. See you in November!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oromocto
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

I just recently come home from a 3 week stay at the Crane Resort. The place to me was absolute paradise, The staff there were so friendly and made us feel very welcomed.
There were two Lovely ladies in particular with there welcoming smiles and sparkling personalities that made every day at the Crane a wonderful place to stay,Kendra from Property Sales, and Jowin from Guest Services. The two of them seemed to go out of there way to help us in any way they could .[thank you so very much ladies ] The food and service at the resort was excellent. The Resort over looks a beautiful beach that kept us all very entertained, But the real entertainment for us was Monday and Wednesday nights when a very Talented singer named T.J. sang . She would bring the Resort to life with her incredible voice . so thank you Crane for making my stay at the resort an unforgettable time where i met great people and made great friends. Hope to see you all aging in the near future.

Room Tip: My room was in building number 9 and over looked the beach where i watched the sun rise every mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear Mike L,

We are thrilled that you regard The Crane as “absolute paradise.” Kendra and Jowin were pleased by your special mention. It was their pleasure to ensure that you enjoyed a relaxing Crane stay even while on business.

Crane Beach provides wonderful entertainment with its playful waves and singer Teejay certainly brings Bar 1887 to life with her lovely voice.

Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to experience a true Crane vacation.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Crane Residential Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crane Residential Resort

Address: Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Philip Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Saint Philip Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crane Residential Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched dramatically on the cliffs of Barbados' pristine south-east coast, The Crane Residential Resort, established since 1887, is the island's oldest operating hotel. Transformed into a world-class luxury resort, The Crane features ultra-spacious, fully appointed ocean-view one & two bedroom suites and three bedroom Penthouses, many with their own private plunge-pool. Facilities include the acclaimed Zen Restaurant serving classic Thai and Japanese cuisine and the consistently popular L'Azure Restaurant. The casual Carriage House Pool Side restaurant is another favourite along with D'Onofrio's Trattoria located in 'The Village' which offers duty free shopping, a General Store, Bar 1887 (with nightly live entertainment) and The Village Cafe. Last but not least is Crane Beach voted by Lifestyle's of The Rich and Famous as one of the Top Ten most beautiful beaches in the world, now with a fabulous Beach Grill! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Regatta Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Splendia, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Crane Residential Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crane Residential Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Saint Philip
Crane Barbados
The Crane Barbados
Crane Hotel Barbados
Crane Resort Barbados
The Crane Residential Resort Barbados/Saint Philip Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crane Residential Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.