We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful stay at The Crane” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crane Residential Resort

Save Saved
You added The Crane Residential Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Crane Residential Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Splish, Splash...Bonus!
New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay at The Crane”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

This was our ninth visit to The Crane. I was there for three weeks and was excited to see what changes had taken place since our last stay. The ice cream & pastry shop and the beach grill are both great additions and are very reasonably priced. It was nice to be able to have lunch right on the beach without having to go back up to one of the restaurants or to our unit. While service at the beach grill was slow, it had just opened that week and, I expect, will improve.

Upon entering our unit (we have been owners since 2008) I was pleased to see the improvements to the unit and the apparent success of The Crane's new program for maintaining the units. Each building now has a Residence Manager. Everything looked great and functioned properly.

The property looked beautiful. The grounds are very well maintained, as are the pools. Each morning I watched the pool guys cleaning the pools and once a week, one of them came to clean our plunge pool. In the past, there were times when they ran out of beach towels. That did not happen even once on this trip. Small detail, but I always found the mattresses very hard (I know some people like that). There were new thick mattress pads that made sleeping to the sound of the ocean even better than before.

While the employees at The Crane are very friendly and helpful, there are always several who make our stay special. Sabrina, our housekeeper, is absolutely the best! Our unit was immaculate. I was very impressed that she must have remembered our name and remembered that I always like to have two extra bath towels. They were in our bathroom when we arrived. It's hard to explain how something so simple can make your vacation that much better, but it did. Anything and everything we asked her for was provided. Everyone should be lucky enough to have Sabrina care for their unit. I also want to thank Francia, our Residence Manager, for her help with anything special we needed in our unit.

Kerrie in Guest Services really went above and beyond. I asked her to make us a dinner reservation at a very popular restaurant and was afraid we might not get in because it was rather short notice. I asked her to mention to them that it was our anniversary. On our anniversary, there was a knock on our door and we received a bottle of wine and a plate with a piece of cake and the words "Happy Anniversary" spelled out in icing on the plate, compliments of The Crane. All we could say was "wow". That kind of attention makes you feel really special.

We ate in several of the restaurants at The Crane. Erroll and Susan at the Carriage House are always great and make us feel welcomed back each visit. This time, at D'Onofrio's, Cloethe was a star. She went out of her way and offered to ask the chef to make us a dish that used to be on the menu and isn't now. Each time we ate there she greeted us like old friends.

While we were at The Crane, D'Onofrio's was completely revamped. The new menu and food were a significant improvement. The salad with goat cheese is a must! Unfortunately, we left before all the changes planned for the decor and ambiance took place.

Another wonderful stay at The Crane.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, get an ocean view unit. It's worth the difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Dear NYSbeachgirl,

It was our pleasure to welcome you home to The Crane. We are delighted you enjoyed the several new additions we have made since your last visit and indeed over the years you have been with us. The Village Café and Coconut Beach Bar and Grill have been welcome additions offering guests convenient food and beverage options. We appreciate your patience with delayed service at the Beach Grill. This situation has been addressed, and service is now up to the standards expected.

The members of staff you highlighted were all thrilled to learn that they played a role in making your time with us as relaxing and memorable as always. An anniversary is certainly a special occasion and it was our pleasure to extend our congratulations.

We have increased our focus on our food and beverage over the last few months. Thank you for your wonderful comments about the changes in D’Onofrio’s Trattoria. The change in name reflects the exciting new menu on offer and from all reports it has been a huge hit!

Thank you for taking the time to post this fantastic review. We look forward to your tenth visit!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,471 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    851
    345
    105
    83
    87
See reviews for
320
743
41
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flin Flon, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012 via mobile

Spent the day on the beach having obtained a day pass for two for $25 we were very pleasantly suprised by the menu items that our $25 credit could be applied to. High tea on the terrace was a very enjoyable experience and rounded of the day nicely.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Dear dartnut,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your day at The Crane. The Day Pass is popular among locals and visitors alike as it allows them to enjoy a $25BDS credit towards food and beverages in four of our five restaurants – L’Azure (contemporary Caribbean cuisine),
D’Onofrio’s (casual Italian menu), The Carriage House (casual poolside menu) and The Coconut Grove Beach Bar and Grill (grilled beach side options) and Bar 1887 – as well as easy access to Crane Beach.

We hope to welcome you soon – this time, for a longer visit!

Warm regards,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

This was our third time staying at the Crane, no doubt, not our last! I must admit that you can not beat the view! We were lucky enough to experience a full moon on our stay which was breathtaking to say the least! We stayed in building #9 and was extremely pleased with the beautiful ocean view 1 bedroom villa. Sandra, the resident manager, was exceptionally helpful and extremely attentive! Very friendly staff over-all.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Dear brez27,

We could not agree with you more, The Crane certainly is known for its tranquil atmosphere. With our spacious and luxurious accommodations designed to rival the sweeping ocean views, The Crane is perfect for anyone seeking to get away from it all on their Barbados vacation.

Sandra was thrilled by your special mention! She takes great pride in her job and was delighted to learn that she played a special role in making your third stay as wonderful as the last.

It was our pleasure to welcome you. We look forward to the fourth!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

I have been staying at the crane for one month and have experienced exceptional service from cryilla and dianna our housekeepers. Cyrilla tended to us in building three and Dianna attended to our every need in bldg five.. They both made our family and friends experience delightful.
Building manager Shanelle Lewis made sure our unit in bldg five was all prepared for us and everything was in working condition.
The Farragut house has exceptional flying fish cutters, wraps and salads for lunch. It is managed by Errol....who is famous for his specialty island drinks. Make ure you ask him for a gin special. It definitely quenched your thirst. His friendliness and hospitality is over the top.
I also have to com end his entire staff at the carriage house.
Crane beach is lovely but I must admit waiting ninety minutes for a fish cutter at the beach was too long. The beach hut needs improvement. Please fix it cause I want to be able to get a fast lunch there!
All of your towel guys and beach attendants are wonderful.. Mel the manager does a great job with them. Hey how about the beach and towel guys going around the pool and beach chairs taking food and drink orders on a regular basis?
When you arrive at he crane you are greeted by Bernice, Ryvan, Brian, Mathew, Erroll, and all the bell personnel. I may not have included them all by name but each was is exceptional in their service.
Kiesha and Nicole were extremely helpful, besides being friendly and Funny, at the concierge desk. Thank you for you patience and time you spent with me.
The front desk staff personnell is always friendly and courteous. Thank you to all for a wonderful vacation and Crane experience.
Jacquueline Ince is sales rep that you want to discuss purchasing a unit from if you are interested in becoming an owner at the crane. She is both knowledgable and friendly.what a lovely experience.

Room Tip: Any room facing the ocean is fantastic, however the suites facing the rear are nice, quite, and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Dear Debra B,

Thank you for taking the time to post this fantastic review. Your comments are testament to the warm, friendly and attentive nature of our staff. Each employee you highlighted was delighted by your special acknowledgement.

The newest addition to The Crane has been the Coconut Grove Beach Bar and Grill which is now serving lunch on Crane Beach. We appreciate your patience with the delay in service at the Grill. We were overwhelmed by its popularity but the situation has been addressed.

The Beach and Pool attendants are expected to take food and beverage orders in their respective areas. We appreciate you drawing this lapse in service to our attention as we have now taken the opportunity to remind them of this.

It was our pleasure to welcome you on this visit. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Spacious room, fabulous view, friendly staff. Sandra our residence manager was cheerful and most attentive. Each evening on the property there was some sort of music or entertainment or craft tables in the main square. Since this property is a bit remote from town you really need a rental car. Our only complaint is the our stay wasn't long enough.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Dear Mary Z,

Thank you for taking the time to post this fantastic review. Sandra was delighted by your wonderful comments. She has been with us for over 6 years and certainly exemplifies the typical Crane employee – warm, cheerful and helpful.

The Crane’s location on the south east coast of the island is actually quite convenient with regards to transportation. The public transportation is easily accessible at the entrance of the resort with hourly buses to Bridgetown at the cost of $1 USD each way. Guests can also easily take one of the resort affiliated taxis or rent a car by contacting Guest Services.

We look forward to welcoming you for a longer stay.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

This was our 3rd stay at The Crane and although it has changed a lot since our first visit, it is still a wonderful place to stay. The staff were all smiling and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Zamina, our room maid looked after us well, making sure our accommodation was spotless and well stocked with toiletries, tea, coffee etc. All the staff at the Carriage House were brilliant - prompt, friendly service even when really busy. The Crane is the perfect "away from it all" place - not for anyone wanting lively nightlife, clubs etc. It's a good place for self-catering, with a very well equipped kitchen. The addition of the on-site grocery store was welcome, although for a bigger choice of groceries, Emerald City is only a couple of miles away (you can phone them, and they'll send free transport for you). The rooms are spacious and airy, with comfy sofas, big firm beds, free wifi and everything you could want.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Dear Middleageexplorers,

It was our pleasure to welcome you back to The Crane. We could not agree with you more, The Crane is indeed the perfect “away from it all” place complete with 5 unique restaurants, 2 bars, a convenience store and luxurious accommodations – there is no need to leave!

We are delighted that you have enjoyed many of the changes we have made over the years. The General Store in particular has been well received, offering a wide range of convenience and grocery items. You will be pleased to learn that we are planning to expand the store’s offering in the near future.

Zameena as well as the team in The Carriage House were delighted by your special mention. They, like all of our employees here at The Crane, take great pride in their jobs and always go that extra mile to ensure that our guests have fantastic Crane experiences.

Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review. We look forward to your fourth visit!

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Just returned from a 5 night stay in a jr garden view suite. Check-in was very efficient with Jeanine and the complimentary rum punch was a great way to start our stay!
Overall, we enjoyed our stay but there were a few negatives that made our overall experience less then perfect:
I was a bit disappointed to find that we were on the ground floor as I'm a bit of a worrier when it comes to safety and security, not to mention bugs which we found (and killed!) several large roaches and mosquito-type flies during our stay. I asked for a room change but was told the hotel was at capacity and there were no other rooms of the same category available.
Secondly, we paid for a 5 night package that included 3 spa treatments and 4 meal vouchers. We were unable to secure a single appointment with the spa during our stay as they were completely booked even with repeated attempts for last-minute cancellations. I felt like we were forced to pay for a service even though the hotel was not adequately staffed for such a promotion. A bit of a disappointment.
Lastly, we dined at L'Azure one evening with a group of friends staying at a nearby private villa. The service was absolutely horrendous! We had to pour our own wine (all 5 bottles!) and the server completely forgot to order one of the main course meals for our group. It showed up 25 minutes later when the rest of the group had finished eating. There was no apology offered by the server and my spouse had to ask to speak to the manager. Initially, he offered 10% off the missed meal which we felt was totally unacceptable and we actually had to argue with the manager who very reluctantly agreed to comp it. We left with a very negative dining experience at L'Azure.
Even though our stay was less then perfect, The Crane is a beautiful property with amazing views and amenities. We just wished they lived up to their potential.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraneGM, General Manager at The Crane Residential Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Dear jccHalifax,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall. Janine was delighted by your kind words. It was her pleasure to welcome you to The Crane.

I wish to allay any fears about security and safety at the resort. Not only is our location away from the busier South and West coasts but our security personnel are extremely discreet and are on duty 24 hours a day. One need not harbour any fears about staying on the ground floor of any of our buildings.

Please accept my apologies for the inability of our professionals at Serenity Spa to accommodate your treatment requests. To avoid any disappointments, we often advise that guests book their spa appointments during the reservations process or as soon as they arrive on property.

We were extremely upset by your description of your dining experience in L’Azure. We thank you for drawing your experiences to our attention. We investigated the occurrence thoroughly and it was revealed that you had actually spoken with our Restaurant Supervisor regarding the forgotten meal. He extended his apologies to you and offered to discount the meal by 10%. When you indicated that this was not satisfactory, he sought the approval of our Duty Manager before agreeing to comp the meal. This is perhaps what you regarded as reluctance. We do apologise for this occurrence.

We hope that you will not allow this unfortunate incident to mar your overall Crane experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Crane.

Warm wishes,
Michael Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Crane Residential Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crane Residential Resort

Address: Crane Beach | Bridgetown, BB18079, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Philip Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Saint Philip Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crane Residential Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched dramatically on the cliffs of Barbados' pristine south-east coast, The Crane Residential Resort, established since 1887, is the island's oldest operating hotel. Transformed into a world-class luxury resort, The Crane features ultra-spacious, fully appointed ocean-view one & two bedroom suites and three bedroom Penthouses, many with their own private plunge-pool. Facilities include the acclaimed Zen Restaurant serving classic Thai and Japanese cuisine and the consistently popular L'Azure Restaurant. The casual Carriage House Pool Side restaurant is another favourite along with D'Onofrio's Trattoria located in 'The Village' which offers duty free shopping, a General Store, Bar 1887 (with nightly live entertainment) and The Village Cafe. Last but not least is Crane Beach voted by Lifestyle's of The Rich and Famous as one of the Top Ten most beautiful beaches in the world, now with a fabulous Beach Grill! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Regatta Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., getaroom.com, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Crane Residential Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crane Residential Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Hotel Saint Philip
Crane Saint Philip
Crane Barbados
The Crane Barbados
Crane Hotel Barbados
Crane Resort Barbados
The Crane Residential Resort Barbados/Saint Philip Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crane Residential Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.