We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely Preserved House” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunbury Plantation House

Sunbury Plantation House
6 Cross Road, Barbados
246 423-6270
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Sites, Museums, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The only 17th-century plantation house in Barbados entirely open to the public.
Somerset, England
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nicely Preserved House”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

A visit to a plantation house seemed like a "must do" in Barbados. Sunbury is a good example.
The tour guide was quite knowledgeable and the house is very well kept.
Entrance fee is reasonable.
I have to say - it is a little dull & doesn't take long (sorry) - but seems like one you should tick off when you are on the Island.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    50
    26
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Henlow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
86 attraction reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
369 helpful votes 369 helpful votes
“18th Century Life as a Plantation Owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This house has been restored to its original state, showing how the Plantation owner & family lived in past years. Life must have been very luxurious compared to that of the workers who at one time numbered over 200. As part of an island tour lunch was included, which was an excellent Caribbean Buffet in a seating area overlooking the back gardens.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bah humbug to nay sayers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I had a very nice time looking aound Sunbury. It was pouring that day and a good place to get out of the rain. Didn't see the garens but was told I could come back when it wasn't so inclement! Great! The buffet looked great and if I hadn't gone to the Atlantis I believe I would have been happy eating there. For 10$ usd I felt the money well-spent. I learned something and enjoyed the camera and optician room. I will return to see the garden!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“History and a nice lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We visited here and had a lovely time. The house is quite eerie as so well preserved. We also had a lovely carribean lunch afterwards.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Interesting old house”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is a nice step back in time. The interior of the building has numerous antiques. Worth visiting, if you have some extra time. They also serve a Bajan buffet lunch.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunbury Plantation House also viewed

Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Saint Thomas Parish, Barbados
 
Saint Joseph Parish, Barbados
Saint Philip Parish, Barbados
 

Been to Sunbury Plantation House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunbury Plantation House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.